View Full Version : Raf gone to Bohs
rovers100%
01/12/2009, 10:45 PM
everyone has their own choice, some will call him judas others will wish him well. i will be one of the ones wishing him well :ball:
CF1989
01/12/2009, 10:54 PM
im just pretty gutted with his behaviour over the last few months on the pitch. totally grateful to him for all his goals and helping us avoid relegation and giving us some great performances and committment over the last few years. just has spoilt it all imo. kissing the crest against fingal and the next day hes in the papers talking about leaving
rovers100%
01/12/2009, 10:58 PM
i agree that was a bit stupid, wonder if we had won the cup would he have stayed but my head says no. when he done that i was overjoyed as thought the cup was ours but also thought , lovely, raf will hardly leave after that gesture........ but. football really is a funny old game
Ah grow up for god sake, played with knocks , thats what he is payed to do, gavin peers played the final with a cast on his arm, how many times has peers been carried off on a stretcher and came back on, thats the type of player i would concentrate on keeping. If he wants to go good bloody luck to him dean marshall will fill the void no problem. As for begrudgery you couldn't be further from the truth, going to a club where you only get paid 42 weeks of the year, no thanks.
Still think it was out of order to claim a great servant of the club like Raf would fake an injury in a cup final. Sure why would he?
Happier if he went to Bohs for sure.
Shedzer
01/12/2009, 11:59 PM
Its all drama really, being played out too much now and by the media especially.
For Sligo Rovers its a loss, but not a loss we have not suffered before. We lost Turner/Hughes/Coleman and more just as we looking like building a great team.
There is a gap to be filled when he goes and some like Amond or another striker when Raf goes. To be honest, i dont think Raf is as good a player as he is getting credit for, but thats immaterial. We have Blinkhorn signed up and thats important, any striker that has an eye for goal and knows how to play off a target man will have great success when playing with Blinkhorn. Rafs overall performance level was poor, especially in the last half of the season, ironically he kept scoring and got more recognised, Blinkhorn freed up Raf as people have mentioned, obviously Raf put the ball in the net...but i genuinely never considered him a real striker with and eye for goal, so with that said it is really food for though on how a 'striker' would play with Blinkhorn.
The fans are upset for a few reasons i think
-Many dont see moving to another LoI club as a worthy reason to leave, as Rovers could possibily build towards becoming a top 3 club and when you lose a big player it hinders this progress
-Off the field motives - money and prestige. At Bohs he will will be with a club going for Champions League qualification, at the main club, mixing it with the big boys, league title prospects and to some this is him turning his back on his local team. The money issue is also a factor for negative words towards Raf, id personally see it as a 'not worth while' move unless he was earning 150% the wage in Dublin that Rovers would offer him. Cost of living may be more but also to up ship from home comforts (where he is also well respected) needs a financially sound reason behind it.
Alot has to do with his name also, the media really are loving it. Lets face it, not much happens in the transfer window bar the usual swaping of players..but now we have the Italian named lad being sought after being the two biggest clubs and bitter rivals in the league, it sells.
This badge kissing thing is going on for years, just too much television being watched, you can never read much into it, players generally do it on spur of the moment and lets face it again, football players have never being known for smart moves when celebrating.
Personally i want us to keep Peers and Boco now, i knew Raf was going since the last day in July so it has long sunk in...there is a lack of integrity (ie-the day after the Cup final) which is not pleasant but not suprising, never be suprised when its football. Loyalty is long gone in most cases.
Great servant to the jersey, i kind of wish he was leaving the league to better himself, but he isn't good enough with all due respect to play at a much higher level, i wont boo or cheer him personally....it will seem strange seeing him in a Bohs/Shams jersey, only he himself will know if the fire in his belly and trademark determination will be there for his will to win for such a club that in theory means nothing but a wage to him. Fenn is a real good example of how the mighty can fall.
I hope the money is worth the move for his sake....
Its one of these situations where you say to him if a friend 'i hope you know what you're doing...'
This club, Rovers, is bigger than Raf (most things are :) ) and will move on. While il have respect for him, il still hope we stuff whatever team he plays for next year and it would be satisfying to see our limited resourses overcome the odds and beat the big money club.
CF1989
02/12/2009, 12:53 AM
id agree about the money, he'd need to be on a considerable amount more in dublin than what we offer/offered him. alot more expense living there
dublinred
02/12/2009, 8:24 AM
id agree about the money, he'd need to be on a considerable amount more in dublin than what we offer/offered him. alot more expense living there
If its about the money I expect he will go to bohs as shams only have one season of big crowds behind them and aren't at the top table yet when it comes to paying big money as we proved that when turner signed for us . Also Shams are restricted as they have to pay rent every week to the council and seem to have a reasonable board running them at the moment who aren't paying silly money for players Bohs are still in fantasy football world so expect him to end up there they will probably sign him as a catering manager who plays a bit of football on the side as thats how they seem to operate up there.
redobit
02/12/2009, 8:38 AM
This is a complete guess but id say wherever he goes to, he could be offered as much as 4 or 500 more than rovers can offer him. To be fair that would be hard to refuse.
Personally I think hes over-rated, to many chances compared to the number of goals he scores. Best of luck to him.
red_away
02/12/2009, 10:19 AM
[QUOTE=Shedzer;1286475]
Personally i want us to keep Peers and Boco now, i knew Raf was going since the last day in July so it has long sunk in...there is a lack of integrity (ie-the day after the Cup final) which is not pleasant but not suprising, never be suprised when its football. Loyalty is long gone in most cases.
QUOTE]
I heard from a good source at the dinner dance that boco is gone and I think it will be very hard to keep peers but he would be my no.1 choice for retention and then raf.
CF1989
02/12/2009, 11:36 AM
keeping peers is a priority. remember the collections we had for keeping cook last season, we need that for peers. id be willing to pay a weekly amount to keep him, something like the trusts €2 a week scheme, he is crucial to us
02/12/2009, 12:52 PM
everyone has their own choice, some will call him judas others will wish him well. i will be one of the ones wishing him well :ball:
Fine, so can we call you Judas instead? Too good a name to remain unused.
Only1Rovers
02/12/2009, 1:34 PM
Personally I think hes over-rated, to many chances compared to the number of goals he scores. Best of luck to him.
So he should have scored 40?
redobit
02/12/2009, 2:10 PM
So he should have scored 40?
He got 15 this season, considering the number of chances he got in some games he should have had a few more. Id say one-on-one with the keeper is not his strongest asset, I can think of 3 or 4 occassions of the top of my head where should have done better.
If it sounds like im trying to put the man down well im not, sad to see a decent local go.
02/12/2009, 2:21 PM
He ain't gone yet.
bingoballs
02/12/2009, 6:59 PM
He owes us nothing. The best of luck to him if he is off. He has a couple of seasons left in him and he is right to make as much money as he can for as long as he can.His goals kept us up this season and we shouldn't forget that, regardless of his percieved bad attitude etc. Having said that, I can't see Jason Byrne or Gary Twigg doing all the donkey work for him like Blinkhorn has done since he arrived. I also don't think it would be worth paying over the odds to try and keep him here. As has already been said, I think it would be far more important to try and hold on to Peers.
rovers100%
02/12/2009, 9:37 PM
Fine, so can we call you Judas instead? Too good a name to remain unused.
what are you raving about !!!
red bellied
03/12/2009, 11:01 AM
Cretaro had talks with Rovers and couldnt agree a new contract so looks like Shams are favourites to sign him. The budget for next season will be down on last season by 15 to 20 percent.
RoversInn
07/12/2009, 9:15 PM
Whats the latest on this?
07/12/2009, 9:45 PM
Whats the latest on this?
Like I keep saying - he ain't gone yet.
akearins
08/12/2009, 1:57 PM
Whatever happens with raf good luck to him.If he doesnt want to play for Rovers and feels a move is a better option then thats his own choice.
But before he make any decision he should look at the example Gavin Peers has set.Peers I am sure had plenty of offers and probbaly all better financially too but chose to stay with us.With a kid on the way no one would have blamed him for putting his family first as who knows whats around the corner for him in his football career. But he choose to stay with the Bit O'Red.And as a Dub with no conenctions or affiliations to Rovers I commend him for this and showing loyalty to Cooke and the club.
We harp on about the financial aspect of transfers and players maybe right to follow the cash but suppose this is an individual choice.
However players should take their heads from their holes sometimes and take a look at things from the point of view of the people who go out and and try and rasie the finances to pay their wages.
In these times its next to impossible to try and get backers to invest in any club and any one who has tried it will testify its a ball breaker. But for players who are in the words of Cooke "offered very good offers" to simply wait and see if someone can better it and if they dont' then they'll take it.Then please leave by all means.
I wouldnt want a player who has this attitude. Set a timeframe and if they do not accept it wish them the best and let them move on. But before we do it should be made abundently clear that Sligo Rovers will not provide the safety net when things go belly up at other clubs. Take the big signing fee collect the big wages, sit on the bench,moan about being there and eventually you'll come to some agreemnt of a pay off and come back to the Bit O'Red.
No Way.
Other clubs may want ya but we need ya.
Its an insult to all the volunteers and supporters who dig deep to keep the club afloat and yet players ask for astronomical wages.Get real.
When the club was on its knees people with **** all gave what they had, I had lads on the dole donate what they couldnt afford.
And this is how we as supporters get treated by players.
Rememeber how the club stood by Chris Butler when he hit hard times, does this mean nothing to players or do they not notice it. Cooke made average players better, for what.For them to repay his loyalty by bailing out at the slighest chance of a bigegr pay day.
Most players have been offered contracts which will be paid on time, this cannot be guaranteed by any other club and players are stalling. Well **** off then I wouldnt want ye wearing the Bit O'Red with that attitude
rovers100%
08/12/2009, 4:50 PM
well said alan, but sligo rovers f.c. will be still going long after top players finish thier career and will always be replaced. no player is ever bigger than the club and rovers should continue with that stance.
on another note how no one has condemned you for spelling cook with an e has amazed me, usually its knives out for spelling players/managers names wrong here !!! :D
Only1Rovers
08/12/2009, 6:34 PM
But before he make any decision he should look at the example Gavin Peers has set.Peers I am sure had plenty of offers and probbaly all better financially too but chose to stay with us.With a kid on the way no one would have blamed him for putting his family first as who knows whats around the corner for him in his football career. But he choose to stay with the Bit O'Red. And as a Dub with no conenctions or affiliations to Rovers I commend him for this and showing loyalty to Cooke and the club.
I doubt Gavin is jeopardising his family by staying with Rovers in this little back water that is Sligo. And to say he has no connections or affiliations with the club is a bit of a stretch. Who has been playing center half or full back for the last 4 seasons or so? Just because he is from the glorious civilization that is Dublin, I don't think we should be giving him a extra big pat on the back. He knows he'll get paid week-in-week-out at Rovers and will more than likely get his game. Has he been offered bigger money at other "bigger clubs".... who knows?
It is great that he's staying with the club, but it's no surprise that he's decided to stay.
P.S. who's Cooke?
08/12/2009, 6:56 PM
Don't know who Cooke is but I hope he's not living in glorious civilization.
Sean South
08/12/2009, 7:11 PM
Can't see him going anywhere with him getting married building a house near Tubber sounds like he's trying to put pressure on Rovers for more money. But if he's not happy with what we offer let him move on and wish him all the best same goes for any other player.
Only1Rovers
08/12/2009, 8:04 PM
Can't see him going anywhere with him getting married building a house near Tubber sounds like he's trying to put pressure on Rovers for more money. But if he's not happy with what we offer let him move on and wish him all the best same goes for any other player.
I think you may be right. I don't think there's could be something in this. I don't think there would be a huge difference between a top salary at Shams compared to Rovers. Shams prob have more money to spread around on a larger squad. Any decision to move to Shams or Bohs would be to increase his medal count. Which in itself you cant criticize him for wanting.
CF1989
08/12/2009, 10:12 PM
Don't be suprised to see him stay. negotiations with shams/bohs have been going on a long time, that usually ends in nothing
red_away
09/12/2009, 11:57 AM
no player is ever bigger than the club and rovers should continue with that stance.
To be fair if keith foy kept putting on weight like he did during his time at sligo then he probably is bigger than the club!
red_away
09/12/2009, 12:06 PM
In these times its next to impossible to try and get backers to invest in any club and any one who has tried it will testify its a ball breaker. But for players who are in the words of Cooke "offered very good offers" to simply wait and see if someone can better it and if they dont' then they'll take it.Then please leave by all means.
Are there many players sitting on the fence?
09/12/2009, 1:35 PM
Are there many players sitting on the fence?
Bring back Ollie Davey - he won't be long getting them off it.
Fivesilver
10/12/2009, 9:21 AM
to be fair if keith foy kept putting on weight like he did during his time at sligo then he probably is bigger than the club!
:D:D:D
RoversInn
12/12/2009, 12:03 PM
According to the Star from yesterday he's going to Bohs.
12/12/2009, 12:34 PM
It's dragging on way too long,He should make up his mind one way or the other
DonalE
12/12/2009, 2:10 PM
http://foot.ie/forums/member.php?u=6632
I'm surprised this guy hasn't posted here recently, from reading his posts I'd say he knows Raff better than most. Although he hasn't been as active as usual of late
12/12/2009, 2:36 PM
http://foot.ie/forums/member.php?u=6632
I'm surprised this guy hasn't posted here recently, from reading his posts I'd say he knows Raff better than most. Although he hasn't been as active as usual of late
Some embarrassing posts by yours truly in some of the threads Maradonna posted in. :o:o
Sligo Pilgrim
13/12/2009, 4:30 PM
This is really dragging on at this stage. Think he is trying to get the max he can from Rovers. We may well see Raf a Rovers player next season.
Only1Rovers
13/12/2009, 5:12 PM
This is really dragging on at this stage. Think he is trying to get the max he can from Rovers. We may well see Raf a Rovers player next season.
I'd say it's more likely as case of he's trying to get the most out of Shams and Bohs.....
13/12/2009, 5:52 PM
I'd say it's more likely as case of he's trying to get the most out of Shams and Bohs.....
Look, how many times do I have to say it?. He ain't gone yet. Facts are, Raf doesn't want to go and Rovers don't want to match the offer from Dublin so it's a question of who blinks first and my money says Raf will.
hoops1
13/12/2009, 6:42 PM
He will be a Bohs player as soon as the embargo is lifted.
13/12/2009, 9:35 PM
He will be a Bohs player as soon as the embargo is lifted.
Good. At least he'll be joining a football team.
RoversInn
13/12/2009, 9:38 PM
Probably will get his fair share of free drinks aswell.
Only1Rovers
14/12/2009, 6:53 AM
Good. At least he'll be joining a football team.
So are you resigned to the fact that he's leaving Rovers now?
Dixie Dean
14/12/2009, 9:27 AM
Todays star says he is stalling on a deal with bohs and may sign with rovers again. Its not over til its over.
14/12/2009, 9:30 AM
So are you resigned to the fact that he's leaving Rovers now?
No. Merely taking the opportunity to have a dig at the SHAMS. Like shooting fish in a barrel, really.
CF1989
14/12/2009, 6:01 PM
im pretty certain at this stage nothings going to happen and he'll be our player next season
Jeebus
14/12/2009, 9:31 PM
im pretty certain at this stage nothings going to happen and he'll be our player next season
It was on the sports news earlier on FM104 up here that Bohs are expecting him to sign for them this week.
srfc1928
14/12/2009, 9:59 PM
It was on the sports news earlier on FM104 up here that Bohs are expecting him to sign for them this week.
It was in the Herald aswell that he was signing for Bohs.
Probably the same source
But it was in the Star he might be staying.
Who knows whats going on behind the scenes at bohs, hardly the most reliable upstanding club.
Raff would be crazy to go there imo, could be begging for his wages six months down the line
CF1989
14/12/2009, 10:09 PM
bohs cant avoid the FAI's rules forever, they're bound to be found out at some stage, and could be the next cork or derry
Only1Rovers
15/12/2009, 7:53 AM
Who listens to FM104 these days?
Jeebus
15/12/2009, 9:06 AM
Who listens to FM104 these days?
Unfortunately its on in my work all day! Cant get i102104 up here ;)
Redie
15/12/2009, 10:00 AM
Weekender Headline.....
"Ex-Rovers icon Cretaro signs for Bohemians"
goes on to say he has a medical in Dublin tomorrow and he is quoted "if everything goes well I will be a Bohs player after that".