3.Dwight Barnett

sheao
23/11/2009, 1:42 PM
1. Kevin Doyle
2. Joseph Ndo
3. John O'Flynn

23/11/2009, 2:02 PM
How many times do you have to be told to use the "search" function?!

Buzzer
23/11/2009, 3:01 PM
Joseph Ndo
Kevin Doyle
Glen Crowe

23/11/2009, 3:10 PM
Kevin Doyle is a strange one, I mean obviously he's gone on to great things but he wasn't all that good when he was playing here. He scored goals but so have the likes of Mooney and O'Donovan when they were here. I'm not sure he'd be classed as one of the top 3 LOI players ever based on his performances in the LOI. For what it's worth from what I've seen ability wise, this would be my top 3, not in any particular order:

1. Tony Sheridan
2 Glenn Crowe
3 Joseph Ndo

23/11/2009, 3:13 PM
1. Fago
2. Fago
3. Fago

Hairy Bowsie
23/11/2009, 3:26 PM
1.Tony Sheridan

Shero, without doubt is my number 1.

Captain2007
23/11/2009, 3:27 PM
1.Barry Keogh
2.Martin Bayley
3.Derek Swan

CMcC
23/11/2009, 3:34 PM
1. Glen Crowe
2. Kevin Hunt
3. Brian Mooney

Hitman
23/11/2009, 3:56 PM
Kevin Hunt, Liam Coyle, John O' Flynn, in no particular order.

shep
23/11/2009, 4:01 PM
1.Darren Mansaram
2.Michael Mc Ginley
3.Dwight Barnett

My real top 3....Liam Coyle,Tom Mc Nulty,Stephen Geoghagan(before Dundalk)

Dillonman
23/11/2009, 4:09 PM
From my time of knowing the LOI:

1.Jason Byrne
2.Tom McNulty
3.Liam Coyle

23/11/2009, 4:31 PM
I loved Johnny Speak - LOI legend, and the dodgy tache:)

Celdrog
23/11/2009, 4:48 PM
From the players I have seen

George Best
Gordon Banks
Roy Keane (P****)

roinuj
23/11/2009, 4:55 PM

Gordon Banks

over rated ever since he made that save against brazil.
peter thomas use to make saves like that every week when playing for the great waterford team of the 60s and 70s

23/11/2009, 5:02 PM

George Best
Gordon Banks
Roy Keane (P****)Roy Keane made even less of an impact that Shane Long in the LoI.

robbieos88
23/11/2009, 11:14 PM
Liam Coyle
Charles Mbabazi Livingstone
Pat McCourt

sonofstan
24/11/2009, 12:41 AM
Have we forgotten already?!

Efan Ekoku
Carlton Palmer
I'll think of another one in a minute

peadar1987
24/11/2009, 12:51 AM
over rated ever since he made that save against brazil.
peter thomas use to make saves like that every week when playing for the great waterford team of the 60s and 70s

I suggest you watch some clips of Banksy at his best, and talk to some of the Stoke and England supporters from the 60s and 70s.

He probably wishes he'd never made that save. Then he would be remembered as a legend, as opposed to having to live with the "overrated because it was Pelé" tag from the begrudgers.

Celdrog
24/11/2009, 9:44 AM
Roy Keane made even less of an impact that Shane Long in the LoI.Well the question was the top 3 players to play in the LOI, not while they were there. Sure Best didn't get a sniff against Junior Campbell when he played against Drogheda but he was still a genius.

If its the 3 players with most impact in the LOI then I would go for

Paul Doolin
Brendan Bradley
Jackie Jamieson

roinuj
24/11/2009, 12:01 PM
I suggest you watch some clips of Banksy at his best, and talk to some of the Stoke and England supporters from the 60s and 70s.

He probably wishes he'd never made that save. Then he would be remembered as a legend, as opposed to having to live with the "overrated because it was Pelé" tag from the begrudgers.

the question is. the best league of ireland players ever.
not the ones who came here for 1 season or less
if that was the case we could say bobby charlton, george best and shay brennan.

the reason i put peter thomas ahead of banks is because thomas played for waterford for 14 years winning 6 leagues 1 fai cup 1 league cup

oriel
24/11/2009, 12:23 PM
There are too many to list, maybe filter it down per decade ?

Barry Kehoe (RIP) in the 80`s - won 2 lge titles, & 1 cup (lincluding the double), also was a superb team player to the often forgotten and excellent Irish Olympic side of the mid 80`s - came very close to qualificaiton and had some great results away to Spain, Sweden, France I think.

Jackie Jamseson (RIP) - mainly 80`s - prob didnt win that much - a travesty, but not uncommon with certain great players in history. A legend. Scored in famous 3-2 win v Rangers in 83/84 ?

Liam Coyle - 90`s - pure class, surely Derry`s best player of all time ?

Paul Doolin, was also an excellent player, well deserving of these mentions, Alfie Hale, Tommy McConnville, Brendan Bradley, Peter Thomas, Al Finnuance, Mick Leech, all also dserve a mention, but I`ll stick to my top 3 as I would have watched them the most.

24/11/2009, 12:52 PM
Liam Coyle
Tony Sheridan
Peter Hutton

irishultra
24/11/2009, 2:31 PM
For a few seasons Fahey but maby he doesn't deserve the honour of best player in league ever

24/11/2009, 2:45 PM
Ken de Mange
Johnny Speake
Patsy Freyne

Partizan
24/11/2009, 3:03 PM
1. Mick Bennett
2. Jonathan Speak
3. Tony Sheridan / Dave Barry / Pat Morley.

This thread should be changed to all time best XI

roinuj
24/11/2009, 3:45 PM
1. Mick Bennett
2. Jonathan Speak
3. Tony Sheridan / Dave Barry / Pat Morley.

This thread should be changed to all time best XI

peter thomas
ger o mahoney
brian gardener
tony dunphy
al finucain
tommy jackson
vinny mccarthy
mick madigan
sid wallace
larry murry
mark meagan

well thats the best team i ever seen and the shamrock rovers team of 86 were pure class. nothing in the league today would come anywhere near the class of any of those two teams.

CarrickFan
24/11/2009, 3:53 PM
Paul McGee

24/11/2009, 4:07 PM
Three best players I've seen would be:
Jason Byrne - He's an outstanding finisher and does more than Crowe, imo.
Colm Tresson - Even though by the time I started going to Bray games, he was in the later stages of his career, he could still be class. Think he won a few POTY awards for us when he was well into his 30's.
Keith Fahey/Joseph Ndo - Either one of these would get my vote for best pure footballer I've ever seen in the LOI.

24/11/2009, 4:41 PM
Well the question was the top 3 players to play in the LOI, not while they were there. Sure Best didn't get a sniff against Junior Campbell when he played against Drogheda but he was still a genius.

If its the 3 players with most impact in the LOI then I would go for

Paul Doolin
Brendan Bradley
Jackie Jamieson

I assume celdrog Junior Campbell is the same Christy Campbell ex Longford Town asst mgr and Drogs player..He must have being a good player when he was with ye.

24/11/2009, 5:05 PM
Mark Rutherford and Gary Haylock were two I liked to watch

ccfcgirl
24/11/2009, 5:13 PM
1 Kevin Doyle
2 Ollie Cahil
3 Stephan Geoghean

eamo1
24/11/2009, 5:26 PM
Liam Coyle
Alan Gough(Best keeper i've ever seen)
Billy Clery

Owen Heary and a few others just miss out on top 3.
Incidently who did Charles Livingstone play for again?I remember the name,was it St.Pats?

Bohs11
24/11/2009, 6:15 PM
Liam Coyle
Alan Gough(Best keeper i've ever seen)
Billy Clery

Owen Heary and a few others just miss out on top 3.
Incidently who did Charles Livingstone play for again?I remember the name,was it St.Pats?

Hes playing in Vietnam now. :eek::eek:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Livingstone_Mbabazi

Finlay Harp
24/11/2009, 7:32 PM
Tom Mohan
Kevin McHugh (before he did a Judas!)
Shane Bradley

GypsyBlackCat
25/11/2009, 9:33 AM
Kevin Hunt
Jackie Jameson
Mbabazi

Flexy
25/11/2009, 11:00 AM

Barry Kehoe (RIP) in the 80`s - won 2 lge titles, & 1 cup (lincluding the double), also was a superb team player to the often forgotten and excellent Irish Olympic side of the mid 80`s - came very close to qualificaiton and had some great results away to Spain, Sweden, France I think.

Jackie Jamseson (RIP) - mainly 80`s - prob didnt win that much - a travesty, but not uncommon with certain great players in history. A legend. Scored in famous 3-2 win v Rangers in 83/84 ?

Paul Doolin, was also an excellent player, well deserving of these mentions, Alfie Hale, Tommy McConnville, Brendan Bradley, Peter Thomas, Al Finnuance, Mick Leech, all also dserve a mention, but I`ll stick to my top 3 as I would have watched them the most.
When did Jackie Jamieson pass away? he was a great player in the 80's even in his later years and a pure gentleman

25/11/2009, 11:11 AM
Kevin Doyle is a strange one, I mean obviously he's gone on to great things but he wasn't all that good when he was playing here.

Ah come on now, doyle was a class act when in the league - id not doubt he'd make it across the water (though in saying that i never thought daryl murphy was good enough to make it across the water, but sure hes done alright for himself!!)

Keith fahey was the most naturally talented player ive ever seen in this league

kd16
25/11/2009, 11:22 AM
Keith Fahey for me. His performance against Hertha in the RDS stands out, I doubt I will ever again be as impressed by a LOI player in my lifetime. Slightly disappointed with his progress this season but I'm going to put that down to injuries and being on the left wing, the Brits haven't seen anything near his best yet.

25/11/2009, 11:26 AM
1. Brendan Bradley
2. Brendan Bradley
3. Brendan Bradley

CMcC
25/11/2009, 1:54 PM

JJ didnt actually score in that game in 84. He did, however, run the Rangers team ragged both home and away.

25/11/2009, 2:34 PM
Brendan Bradley, Johnny Speak and Johnny Minnock

Georgie O'C produced one of the most accomplished performance's from one player I have see from a visiting player in Finn Park. It was the 2005 season opener and Cork won 0-2. Cork were superb that day and went on to win the league that year. They had Kevin Doyle, Joe Gamble, Liam Kearney, Georgie and co that day.

25/11/2009, 5:51 PM
Hes playing in Vietnam now. :eek::eek:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Livingstone_Mbabazi

never knew about charles mbazi livingstone.. well spotted that .:D

robbieos88
26/11/2009, 1:45 AM

He was one of the top scorers in the Vietnamese league a few years back AFAIK. My joint favourite player with Eddie Gormley, can't decide between them

26/11/2009, 10:17 AM

Got a few bob out of the stains' fans too after croaking it on the half way.

danthesaint
27/11/2009, 2:19 PM
1) Darragh Maguire
2) Eddie Gormley
3) Glen Crowe

one from section, if i was allowed a fourth for keeper.

Brian Murphy

12/01/2015, 2:20 PM
1. Frank O'Neill
2. Mick Leech
3. Johnny Matthews

Spudulika
12/01/2015, 2:36 PM
In no particular order:
Jackie Jameson - Pure talent, always looked ancient, and surprisingly full of running. Always wondered why he didn't move up a level to a large league, though he was a joy to watch when he put his foot on the ball.
Joseph Ndo - For a 60 year old he is still in great shape and one of the real class players who landed in the league. Always seemed lazy, but once he put his mind to it he could light up the place.
Owen Coyle - Have to add the man despite not liking him (as an enemy), but a really perfect striker. It was a toss up with hm and Jason Byrne, but for pure range of goals and conditions, it was Coyle.

Tempted to put in Alan O'Neill, Richie Ryan, Paul Byrne, Paul Doolin, Neale Fenn, Pat Fenlon.