Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

22/11/2009, 4:40 PM
Where was Con Murphy? Peter Collins doesnt have a clue

He does the radio coverage for RTE on Sunday afternoons

Disgrace
22/11/2009, 4:43 PM
Guys,

Is there anything that can be done about blocking the wind that seems to overshadow every game up there? Would a high wall or new stand provide enough cover.

Speaking as someone who regularly stood at the 49 bus stop at the square I can tell you it's pretty non-stop.

22/11/2009, 4:59 PM
Was it a penalty?

22/11/2009, 5:03 PM
It was definitely clumsy from the keeper. I'd say it was a penalty to be honest.

Riddickcule
22/11/2009, 5:03 PM
Can't wait to see the Cup final being played in Lansdowne next year, hopefully 2 well supported clubs will make it next year, fill maybe half the ground up.

I was thinking would a Rovers-Bohs final fill it up? be a bloody great final.

Straightstory
22/11/2009, 5:06 PM
Feel sorry for Sligo. Very gracious comments from Paul Cook.

Jicked
22/11/2009, 5:06 PM
Absolutely delighted for liam buckley. And to see paul cook fail too, how funny that players so well rested seemed to stop playing after 80 minutes! Also great that we won't have sligo embarassing the league in europe again next year.

fionnsci
22/11/2009, 5:10 PM
Can't wait to see the Cup final being played in Lansdowne next year, hopefully 2 well supported clubs will make it next year, fill maybe half the ground up.

I was thinking would a Rovers-Bohs final fill it up? be a bloody great final.

Doubt any teams would fill it. The bottom tier probably holds about 20,000 so we'd do well to fill that. I'd say the finals will be better attended in general in the Aviva though....

Vantage club members will be sent a ticket every year so hopefully that'll be a boost.

22/11/2009, 5:11 PM
Vantage club members will be sent a ticket every year so hopefully that'll be a boost.

All 3 of em.

I just cannot believe it.

22/11/2009, 5:15 PM
Was it a penalty?

Thought it was very harsh myself.

Hard luck.

22/11/2009, 5:18 PM
I am gutted for Sligo as I lived there for a time and have good mates from there..But I had a feeling this week that Fingal were the team with the momentum coming in and they proved me right in the end.Good to see ex town players Kirbs,Paiso and Collie James get their medals. Even though I hate Paisley for leavin us I suppose on recollection that he gave good service. Kirbs I am gutted that he didnt come on . As for Collie what a peno from him..

How many tickets were sold to Fingal and to Sligo in the end?

ndrog
22/11/2009, 5:29 PM
Just in from the game , it was totally and utterly freezing cold with bitter wind and rain :eek: 2 nd half was decent enough and fair play to fingal for coming back from 1 down .Atmosphere was terrible tbh , even when sligo socred there was hardly a peep out of them .

22/11/2009, 5:39 PM
Just in from the game , it was totally and utterly freezing cold with bitter wind and rain :eek: 2 nd half was decent enough and fair play to fingal for coming back from 1 down .Atmosphere was terrible tbh , even when sligo socred there was hardly a peep out of them .

I could hear the Sligo fans all game but once Fingal equalised it all changed and Fingal suddenly raised their voices! Did you pay in on the gate ndrog?

22/11/2009, 5:59 PM

The wind swept away the noise there was tbh.

Brian Boru
22/11/2009, 6:39 PM
[QUOTE=Jicked;1280369]Absolutely delighted for liam buckley. And to see paul cook fail too, how funny that players so well rested seemed to stop playing after 80 minutes! Also great that we won't have sligo embarassing the league in europe again next year.[/

No team embarrassed Ireland more in Europe than Shamrock Rovers in the 1980's. Yee were the whipping boys of Europe. We have a better European record than yee.

22/11/2009, 6:42 PM
No team embarrassed Ireland more in Europe than Shamrock Rovers in the 1980's. Yee were the whipping boys of Europe. We have a better European record than yee.

What a ridiculous post.

The LOI of the 1980's was like a different planet than it is now.

And anyway - if we do have to have the debate about which team has embarassed the league the most in Europe, it's hard to look past Longford...... :)

22/11/2009, 6:48 PM
I'm not a LOI regular attendee, but would keep an eye on whats going on, and that was a very enjoyable cup final. There seemed to be a decent crowd and a decent atmosphere despite the crappy weather.

Thought the football played (in particular Sligo) was outstanding, even more so given the conditions.

Great advert for the league but as someone already alluded to, if the production was better, the football would come across better.

22/11/2009, 6:56 PM
What a ridiculous post.

The LOI of the 1980's was like a different planet than it is now.

And anyway - if we do have to have the debate about which team has embarassed the league the most in Europe, it's hard to look past Longford...... :)

Definitely against Carmarthen in the second leg, no disputing that but I still maintain Vaduz were a better side than people gave them credit for. We didn't help ourselves with some kamikaze defending but they were very decent and would have beaten a lot of teams around our level. They had a budget of over €2m at the time which was at least three times ours. Anyhow, let's not get into it now.

roinuj
22/11/2009, 7:12 PM
I'm not a LOI regular attendee, but would keep an eye on whats going on, and that was a very enjoyable cup final. There seemed to be a decent crowd and a decent atmosphere despite the crappy weather.

Thought the football played (in particular Sligo) was outstanding, even more so given the conditions.

Great advert for the league but as someone already alluded to, if the production was better, the football would come across better.

come on out of it
that was one of the worse games of football iv seen in years.

d rovers
22/11/2009, 7:18 PM
Oh man, gutted after that. Congrats to Fingal, i though they played nice football and will be a welcome addition to the premier next season.

Brian Boru
22/11/2009, 7:20 PM
come on out of it

It was forgettable (hopefully) but the conditions were very poor. The weather was Arctic. The wind was very strong. Brazil v Spain wouldn't look pretty in that weather!

22/11/2009, 7:32 PM
come on out of it

It depends on your perspective. Two relatively small budget teams attempted to play constructive football. How many absolute gash games do we see in the "World's Greatest League" [tm], from sides with 100 times the budget of these two?
Sligo attempted and succeeded in one touch football at times in horrid conditions.

WoodquayBoy
22/11/2009, 8:03 PM
Delighted for Fingal, congrats to them and thanks to Alan Keane, the Galway man who got out of the way to allow Gary O'Neill nip in and head the winner!!
Okay, on a serious note - RTE's coverage was shocking, on the SixOne News they had Owen Coyle scoring the opener - big weekend for him, having managed Burnley to another win across the water yesterday.
Not sure it was a peno to be honest, but massive credit to Sporting for never giving up. Sligo threw it away, but weren't helped with the loss of Cretaro.
And you have to laugh at the Sligo fan suggested Shamrock Rovers were the LOI's biggest embarrasment (spelling?) in Europe in the 80s, he had a very short memory - Sligo didn't exactly cover themselves in glory in the Europa this season

22/11/2009, 8:56 PM
Many councils over here aren't doing too great at basic tasks like clearing-up gravity, sorting out housing and keeping the streets clean.

What would that involve ? Some kind of Nuclear experiment perhaps ? Bit of a tall order for a little old county council wouldn't you say ? :D

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:07 PM
Oh man, gutted after that. Congrats to Fingal, i though they played nice football and will be a welcome addition to the premier next season.

Im still in shock :)

I can feel the sligo fans pain that they didnt get anything from the game seeing that they were at times the better team and dangerous on the break. I wonder if raf hadnt gone off would the result been diffrent.
It would be good if most of the sligo's support there today turn out next season but i fear not as after all the hype most of the sligo support walked out after fingal went 2-1 up with 3 minutes still to go instead of cheering their team until the end and respecting the sligo players after the final whistle and watching them get their medals. Only the true sligo fans stayed until the sligo players left the pitch at the end and showed their appreciation towards them.

Dillonman
22/11/2009, 9:11 PM

I can feel the sligo fans pain that they didnt get anything from the game seeing that they were at times the better team and dangerous on the break. I wonder if raf hadnt gone off would the result been diffrent.
It would be good if most of the sligo's support there today turn out next season but i fear not as after all the hype most of the sligo support walked out after fingal went 2-1 up with 3 minutes still to go instead of cheering their team until the end and respecting the sligo players after the final whistle and watching them get their medals. Only the true sligo fans stayed until the sligo players left the pitch at the end and showed their appreciation towards them.

What?? Ye took the lead in the 92nd minute, there was only supposed to be 93 mins and kelly blew it up just after the 93rd minute!very hard to get an equaliser in that time frame!

Brian Boru
22/11/2009, 9:16 PM

That's not true. I'm a true Sligo fan and didn't wait to see us getting the runner up medals. Too disappointed. Genuinely. Most of the Sligo support will be back next year. Perhaps even more if we do better in the league next year. I suspect you're a bit jealous of our support and proud 91 year history. I wish your team well. I think Fingal will finish in the top 3 next year. Hopefully, we will too!

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:16 PM
There have been plenty of goals scored from the off after a goal. My point being that only the real sligo fans stayed behind to show respect to their players for the work they put in .

blackholesun
22/11/2009, 9:19 PM
Absolutely delighted for liam buckley. And to see paul cook fail too, how funny that players so well rested seemed to stop playing after 80 minutes! Also great that we won't have sligo embarassing the league in europe again next year.

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/about/european-results

p12, w2, d3, l7. Losing by more than two goals only once in 12 games isnt whipping boy form ...

Gutted for Eoin Doyle, MOTM and deserved to win but quiet happy for Cook his resting players antics backfired on him today and he showed himself to be tactically lightweight in the last 15 mins!

I dispise the idea of any club back by a developer with no or few fans paying over the odds to mercenary players, but credit to Buckley, not many mgrs in the league have won major trophies almost 10 years apart.

bhs

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:23 PM
That's not true. I'm a true Sligo fan and didn't wait to see us getting the runner up medals. Too disappointed. Genuinely. Most of the Sligo support will be back next year. Perhaps even more if we do better in the league next year. I suspect you're a bit jealous of our support and proud 91 year history. I wish your team well. I think Fingal will finish in the top 3 next year. Hopefully, we will too!

Jealous? no. impressed with the turn out? yes. 91 year history? no. Shamrock rovers are the only side im jealous of their history but we have started well so maybe we can catch up :).
The sligo players played well and deserved a larger sligo support at the end from those that was there at the start to show their appreciation for the effort they put into the game and the season and not turn their backs on them just because they were losing.

blackholesun
22/11/2009, 9:27 PM
What really really hurts the most, is after the game, the Fingal families ("fans") coming out after the match, and it meant nothing to them. Absolutely nothing. Just another game, they might go to one or two next year, but the cup they just won meant zero to them.

For us, I've never so many people devastated after a football match. Not just going through the motions of losing a match, but actual complete devastation.

That for me, is the difference between Fingal and the rest of the league

Well said, they are a joke, no asset to the league!

bhs

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:29 PM
What really really hurts the most, is after the game, the Fingal families ("fans") coming out after the match, and it meant nothing to them. Absolutely nothing. Just another game, they might go to one or two next year, but the cup they just won meant zero to them.

For us, I've never so many people devastated after a football match. Not just going through the motions of losing a match, but actual complete devastation.

That for me, is the difference between Fingal and the rest of the league

How do you know it ment nothing to them? Did you expect them to come out and do a rendition of riverdance or something.
You were probably back on the bus at the time of the final whistle and missed our celebrations .

LeixlipRed
22/11/2009, 9:30 PM
He knows because if he asked any one of them to name the SF starting lineup they wouldn't get further than "the middle eastern looking lad and frosty the snowman".

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:32 PM
Well said, they are a joke, no asset to the league!

bhs

Thats harsh on sligo, they were the better team today at times.

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:34 PM
He knows because if he asked any one of them to name the SF starting lineup they wouldn't get further than "the middle eastern looking lad and frosty the snowman".

That would also have applied to a large amount of those supporting the team in red today as well.

MMVIII
22/11/2009, 9:35 PM
Love how shamrock fans come on here, getting there snide comments over. Do ye forget about the game in Tolka? When we had a far worse squad out than we had against Bohs?

Absolutley devastated. Can't describe how low I'm feeling.

Strawberry
22/11/2009, 9:37 PM
How do you know it ment nothing to them? Did you expect them to come out and do a rendition of riverdance or something.
You were probably back on the bus at the time of the final whistle and missed our celebrations .

Come off it! I waited for the presentation and it was the most surreal atmosphere ever. Complete silence as your players collected their medals and a murmur of applause and about a five second cheer when ye lifted the cup! Hardly the actions of supporters that your success meant the world to. We'd probably still be there had we won.

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:50 PM
When you'd like to come back to reality just give us a shout.

Clearly didn't give two continentals, and would have left Tallaght with the same expression on the faces, a Sunday afternoon well spent.

The only sligo fans i have respect for and it kills me to say it is those in the far corner of the east stand that stayed and showed their respect to the sligo players until they left the pitch after collecting the medals. Those that turned their backs on their players after the effort they put in are not true fans. There was plenty of fans in red there today that never seen sligo play before or has no intention of doing so unless its a big game so look closer to home before posting silly comments about Sporting Fingal.
You were unlucky today and won nothing this year but whats done is done and its now time to regroup and come out fighting come march all nice and refreshed and bright eyed and bushy tailed for the season ahead.
Im sure sligo will be stronger next season and could push for a euro spot.

kd16
22/11/2009, 9:55 PM
Went along as a neutral not caring who won but soon as I got there the difference in fans meant I was supporting Sligo. I was in the Fingal section and most of them clearly couldn't care less, half them were probably disappointed when they equalised, the thought of another 30mins in the cold and rain. The irony of the "you're not singing anymore" chant at the end obviously lost on them.

Not a dig at Fingal by the way, new club and all, hopefully their fanbase will improve in time of they keep going as they are. For the day that was in it I think it would have been great to see Sligo win it. Fingal are a good team though and I will certainly be cheering them on in Europe next year, they could do well.

The Lep
22/11/2009, 9:57 PM
Honest to God, we didn't know when the fingal players lifted the cup. ;cause we couldn't even hear the roar from yer fans.

Fingal won it though,simple as, 2 year history or 200, it doesn't matter.

Thought it was excellent support by our fans. The wind was against us so maybe some of the atmosphere got swept away, but sure fook it. I was proud to be a rovers fan. The depression in the stand at the end was unreal, whereas the majority of the Fingal fans would have forgotten about it the next day if they lost.

Proud of our players too, hopefully we can kick on next season.

It would have been hard to hear anything from mcdonalds in the square :D

I agree up to where you say unreal,
"whereas the majority of the Fingal fans would have forgotten about it the next day if they lost." Not so, same could be said about the most of the sligo support there today.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
22/11/2009, 9:58 PM
Why aren't you out celebrating?

LeixlipRed
22/11/2009, 9:59 PM

He doesn't know any other SF fans :o

The Lep
22/11/2009, 10:02 PM

Ive until the start of next season to celebrate :D

sligofan4ever
Devastated by this, but proud to be a Rovers fan! The support was immense, wish I could've stayed after the final whistle but had to leave ASAP. Those of you in the singing section are a credit to the club, for the whole 90 minutes ye were electric and got the whole of the stand going at times, in the North Stand the singing reached over there where it continued. Altough this has left me so,so frustrated, alls I can say is we can only learn for this and will be stronger next year. Fingal were no pushovers, anyone there who tought "they're sh!t, they're only in the 1st division!" are obviously sunshiners who probably denied more genuine supporters a chance to be there, but the best obvious sign of a sunshiner happened behind me when someone was discussing Rafael Cretaro, the first person said "is that his name, Raff ?", the second person says "no it's Ralph" and the 3rd person says "For f*cks sake ye are clueless, just so you know Rovers ar ein the Red and White and his name is Rafael Cretaro", when you cant get a players name right, and try to correct someone and still be wrong, you just have to wonder. Fingal will only get stronger, and have the potential to do well in Europe. Not being bitter or starting a row over Fingal supporters, but out of all the people with Fingal flags, how many of those were genuine supporters ?

Quick question for Fingal fans: Does the bird on the crest represent anything ?

The Lep
He doesn't know any other SF fans :o

Post of the month, well done you. ;)

boris
22/11/2009, 10:03 PM
i would like to assure all the disappointed sligo fans that just because we surprised you and the rest of the league and actually had more supporters than the predicted "100" supporters at the game who paid good money to support their local team on an awful day, that today wins means a lot to most of them. sure they wouldnt all be at the games next season but then there will hardly be 6000 plus at the sligo games either. we are not a big club but a growing one and it is amazing all the negativity against us. there are enough people who put the league down without league fans turning on each other.

MeathDrog
22/11/2009, 10:04 PM
Because he has school in the morning? The crowd shots of the Fingal fans were embarrasing. The average age of the SF fanbase looked about 9.

22/11/2009, 10:06 PM
That's not acceptable Lep, your club is after winning its first ever national trophy. You should be deliriously happy and looking forward to going to meet your heroes and congratulate them in person. You shouldn't be sitting in being smug on the internet. The day of the 2003 final when we won it for the first time was one of the best days and nights I've ever had as it should be for any fan who's been there and seen the good and the bad. I don't mind Fingal too much but you're letting yourself down here.

22/11/2009, 10:07 PM

I'm disappointed for ye's, but having more fans doesn't give you any more right to win a match though. Been there plenty of times when getting put out of the Cup by UCD or losing in Europe to some team with no away supporters at the Brandy.
It does make it harder to take though. But there's no point blaming Fingal for it.

Felt that Sligo had the better game, but fair play to Fingal, who are a decent footballing side. More of the same in Europe next season please.

The Lep
22/11/2009, 10:08 PM
Devastated by this, but proud to be a Rovers fan! The support was immense, wish I could've stayed after the final whistle but had to leave ASAP. Those of you in the singing section are a credit to the club, for the whole 90 minutes ye were electric and got the whole of the stand going at times, in the North Stand the singing reached over there where it continued. Altough this has left me so,so frustrated, alls I can say is we can only learn for this and will be stronger next year. Fingal were no pushovers, anyone there who tought "they're sh!t, they're only in the 1st division!" are obviously sunshiners who probably denied more genuine supporters a chance to be there, but the best obvious sign of a sunshiner happened behind me when someone was discussing Rafael Cretaro, the first person said "is that his name, Raff ?", the second person says "no it's Ralph" and the 3rd person says "For f*cks sake ye are clueless, just so you know Rovers ar ein the Red and White and his name is Rafael Cretaro", when you cant get a players name right, and try to correct someone and still be wrong, you just have to wonder. Fingal will only get stronger, and have the potential to do well in Europe. Not being bitter or starting a row over Fingal supporters, but out of all the people with Fingal flags, how many of those were genuine supporters ?

Quick question for Fingal fans: Does the bird on the crest represent anything ?

Good post.
On the flags, i dont know there was a box full of them outside so hopefully most that had them will come to morton next season. Can i ask the same question about those dressed as santas ? :)

The bird is the Fingal Raven .