View Full Version : John Delaney

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

22/06/2012, 1:42 PM
are you that bored that you would post such a ridiculous comment??? no offence but if you want to get a rant goin over delaney at least give everyone some decent ammo to shoot back because the above is childish. ireland qualified for a top 16 in europe tournament blame whoever ye like, trap, delaney, or enda kenny but that is over achievng so get behind them on a good achievement and hopefully we can get 2nd in our group in world cup qualifiers and maybe get there via a playoff and a bita luck in which time we will have a very good bunch of players coming threw, the robbie bradys, seamus colemans, james mccleans, shane longs and alot more in the u19/21 set up and maybe at the next euro's we can compete on a better footing.

Are you for real? The senior team's manager is being half paid by a businessman. The Under 21s have NEVER qualified for the Europeans. The u19s have done it twice in 20 years. The league is a shambles

Yet somehow you think the people should blindly back the CEO who earns €400k a year?

22/06/2012, 1:58 PM
I know the Genesis report on the league has been ripped to shreds but surely given public money going to the FAI, an Oireachtas committee should get to question Delaney on aspects of the report which have not been carried out or rowed back on?According to wiki the second Genesis report was actually an internal FAI document misleadingly named Genesis 2. Is that true?

marinobohs
22/06/2012, 1:58 PM
are you that bored that you would post such a ridiculous comment??? no offence but if you want to get a rant goin over delaney at least give everyone some decent ammo to shoot back because the above is childish. ireland qualified for a top 16 in europe tournament blame whoever ye like, trap, delaney, or enda kenny but that is over achievng so get behind them on a good achievement and hopefully we can get 2nd in our group in world cup qualifiers and maybe get there via a playoff and a bita luck in which time we will have a very good bunch of players coming threw, the robbie bradys, seamus colemans, james mccleans, shane longs and alot more in the u19/21 set up and maybe at the next euro's we can compete on a better footing.

Dead right there republican and lets leave challenging or even winning matches to those pesky countries with CEOs and managers earning a fraction of what "our" lads deservedly get. Sure every 20 years or so we are bound to draw the worst team in the playoff (as we did in Euro 2012) and maybe get to another finals. In the meantime we can practice singing the fields of athenry and watch our League slowly die.

But hey, what do you expect for 400 K :confused:

republican
22/06/2012, 2:04 PM
Are you for real? The senior team's manager is being half paid by a businessman. The Under 21s have NEVER qualified for the Europeans. The u19s have done it twice in 20 years. The league is a shambles

Yet somehow you think the people should blindly back the CEO who earns €400k a year?
not talking about how many underage tournaments we qualifed for my point is that there are quality players on all our underage squads, 21s cunningham, hendrick, brady will defo step up to seniors, along with maybe some of our current 17s and 19s squads and all combined with the likes of mcclean, coleman, long etc will giv us an exciting group come the next euros campaign. im not defending any1s inflated salary by the way all im sayng is if you sit down and reflect things are not as bad as they may seem.

marinobohs
22/06/2012, 2:09 PM
not talking about how many underage tournaments we qualifed for my point is that there are quality players on all our underage squads, 21s cunningham, hendrick, brady will defo step up to seniors, along with maybe some of our current 17s and 19s squads and all combined with the likes of mcclean, coleman, long etc will giv us an exciting group come the next euros campaign. im not defending any1s inflated salary by the way all im sayng is if you sit down and reflect things are not as bad as they may seem.

Go tell that to Monaghan fans, or Dublin City fans or Sporting Fingal or Kildare County or .........................

22/06/2012, 2:11 PM

How are Cunningham, Brady and Hendrick related to the LOI (where this thread is posted)? You're making my point for me. For you and Delaney, its all about the Senior team when Irish football is so much more than that

republican
22/06/2012, 2:18 PM
How are Cunningham, Brady and Hendrick related to the LOI (where this thread is posted)? You're making my point for me. For you and Delaney, its all about the Senior team when Irish football is so much more than that
no the loi is about dublin in the main everyone knows that and the thread i posted on was a 'john delaney' thread.

22/06/2012, 2:20 PM
no the loi is about dublin in the main everyone knows that and the thread i posted on was a 'john delaney' thread.

ah I see. So its logic you have a problem with. fair enough

marinobohs
22/06/2012, 2:21 PM

Are you John Delaney posting ? are you still drunk from Poland ?

-FORUM
-LEAGUE
-PREMIER AND FIRST DIVISIONS
- John Delaney

Even someone on less than 400K a year should be able to grasp that ?

republican
22/06/2012, 2:25 PM
if you read the rest of my comment i gave those 3 examples along with 3 other examples( mcclean, coleman, and long ) yeah your right they have nothing to do with the league either :)

republican
22/06/2012, 2:38 PM
Are you John Delaney posting ? are you still drunk from Poland ?

-FORUM
-LEAGUE
-PREMIER AND FIRST DIVISIONS
- John Delaney

Even someone on less than 400K a year should be able to grasp that ?
as i said in my last reply to dodge, i used mcclean, coleman and long as examples so now i maybe allowed on the loi thread :)

22/06/2012, 2:47 PM
as i said in my last reply to dodge, i used mcclean, coleman and long as examples so now i maybe allowed on the loi thread :)

Go on then. Tell us what Delaney has done for the league...

marinobohs
22/06/2012, 2:56 PM

Dodge , give it up.

- leave work
-head to McDowells (or similar establishment)
-have a pint (or two) and chat with like minded individuals
-enjoy the big Dublin derby (but hopefully not the result :o)

..........and laugh at the irony that someone calling themselves "republican" thinks Irish football revolves around the English premier league

republican
22/06/2012, 2:59 PM
i am not disputing that the league is overlooked by the fai but it has been for as long as i can ever remember and that is not good. my heart goes out to the clubs that have had to close their gates and the people at those clubs that have lost their jobs but unfortunately the clubs themselves are ultimately to blame for living beyond their means. i personally think that any club representing the league in europe shold have their away games travel expenses covered by the fai this would greatly take the burden off those clubs and make t worthwhile to qualify in the 1st place. the problem is from the top down tho people how many times has the aviva been full for a game since it opened a football game?? i regularly travel from the south for 95% of all friendly/qualifiers yes its expensive and often unattractive but i do my bit. not havin a pop but dublin has a population of approx 1.3 million and stadium on your doorstep and we still cant even half fill it at times.

22/06/2012, 3:11 PM
Right so its Dublin's fault. Finally we get to the crux of the matter

22/06/2012, 3:13 PM
Ole, Ole, Ole, Ole, Up the Ra, Up the Ra.

roversforever
22/06/2012, 8:23 PM
i am not disputing that the league is overlooked by the fai but it has been for as long as i can ever remember and that is not good. my heart goes out to the clubs that have had to close their gates and the people at those clubs that have lost their jobs but unfortunately the clubs themselves are ultimately to blame for living beyond their means. i personally think that any club representing the league in europe shold have their away games travel expenses covered by the fai this would greatly take the burden off those clubs and make t worthwhile to qualify in the 1st place. the problem is from the top down tho people how many times has the aviva been full for a game since it opened a football game?? i regularly travel from the south for 95% of all friendly/qualifiers yes its expensive and often unattractive but i do my bit. not havin a pop but dublin has a population of approx 1.3 million and stadium on your doorstep and we still cant even half fill it at times.

And do you attend League of Ireland games?Don't look for praise for travelling to Dublin for international games if your one of these "fans" of Irish football that completely ignore the domestic league.

Rasputin
22/06/2012, 10:53 PM

Alf Honn
23/06/2012, 1:31 AM
He's presiding over a regime that had the neck to ask LoI players to play - but not shower - at his beloved stadium last year.

This is the stadium over which he's buried the FAI into 60MILL of debt because his sales pitch to the prawn sandwich brigade went down the swanny.

In any other business, stakeholders (i.e. clubs in this case) would have shown this buffoon the road by now. The opposite seems to be the case because his yes-men on the board won't open their mouths for fear of following C. Rhattigan (a LoI rep) out the door.

MagicMon
23/06/2012, 6:23 AM
i am not disputing that the league is overlooked by the fai but it has been for as long as i can ever remember and that is not good. my heart goes out to the clubs that have had to close their gates and the people at those clubs that have lost their jobs but unfortunately the clubs themselves are ultimately to blame for living beyond their means.
the problem is from the top down tho people how many times has the aviva been full for a game since it opened a football game?? i regularly travel from the south for 95% of all friendly/qualifiers yes its expensive and often unattractive but i do my bit. not havin a pop but dublin has a population of approx 1.3 million and stadium on your doorstep and we still cant even half fill it at times.

John Delaney earns roughly twice as much as the total prize money for the Premier Division. To put that in context, that would be like Michel Platini earning €400m a year (based just on Euro2012 prize money). For all but the top 3 clubs entering the league is an instant loss of €4k, with other running costs on top of that, and prize money has halved in the last 3 years. The apathy towards the LoI comes from the top of the FAI and runs through the vast majority of 'football fans' in Ireland.

The end result of all this is that for my team 'living within their means' translates to leaving the league while the debts are still manageable, and while it won't risk the future of the entire football club.

You know that big "Monaghan Boys on Tour" flag that you see at *all* the Ireland games? They're Monaghan United fans- Homer and Bart are wearing blue and white. There are 2 former Monaghan United players in the current Ireland U21 squad. James McClean played against Monaghan United, in fact he got beaten by them at the Brandywell. See how having Monaghan Uniteds around helps further up the football structure? See why LoI fans are angry, because if the FAI really cared about football, and not about their own f*cking pockets, then we could have a system where money isn't taken out of the Irish economy and over to Glasgow or Manchester, and there could be a league to train young Irish footballers to pass and not to hoof it long, and there could be a proper option to keep more Keith Faheys in football after they get rejected by Arsenal and get them back into the Irish squad. But there isn't, and teams are vanishing and Ireland are getting shat on by Spain but its all ok because John De-****ing-laney is buying you a pint with his €400,000 for being so great and turning up to the Nations Cup.

punkrocket
25/06/2012, 10:05 AM
JD always reminds me of a minor priest that would have cropped up on Father Ted. I really think that there are people who post on here who are better equipped to do his job than he is.

25/06/2012, 10:26 AM
What effort was made by the FAI to redirect any of the Ole Ole support to LOI ? Could Trap/players not appear at LOI games when here on International duty ? it would show some level of commitment to Irish football and may encourage a small few to take an interest.
It's always noticeable in the Rugby, that there are international players are in the RDS on the Friday night when they've a home game over that weekend. Well noticeable as inevitably the camera will focus on them several times a match. Something simple, which would cost the FAI nothing to do but a bit of cop on from the CEO - all it'd take is the players to be willing to sign a few autographs at worst. What the feck else are they doing anyway? They're only killing time between training sessions.

Mind you, the players would no doubt look for an increased cut too for the player pool. More than just Delaney involved with the FAI that will bleed all they can get away with!

legendz
25/06/2012, 12:50 PM
JD always reminds me of a minor priest that would have cropped up on Father Ted. I really think that there are people who post on here who are better equipped to do his job than he is.

He looks more like the fella in the shop who was always arguing with the wife!

25/06/2012, 12:58 PM
It's always noticeable in the Rugby, that there are international players are in the RDS on the Friday night when they've a home game over that weekend. Well noticeable as inevitably the camera will focus on them several times a match. Something simple, which would cost the FAI nothing to do but a bit of cop on from the CEO - all it'd take is the players to be willing to sign a few autographs at worst. What the feck else are they doing anyway? They're only killing time between training sessions.

Mind you, the players would no doubt look for an increased cut too for the player pool. More than just Delaney involved with the FAI that will bleed all they can get away with!

That goes right down to club level as well. The likes of Paul O Connell and Jerry Flannery regularly attend Shannon and Young Munster games and even some of the Forgien players can be spotted at club games too. It's obviously handy for them and they aren't made go but it's still good to see.

25/06/2012, 1:04 PM
Michel Salgado and a few others were at the Rovers-Drogs game a few weeks back and the producers were constantly cutting to them, but that would have been the coaches' idea, not the FAI's. It seems a very simple thing to do.

marinobohs
25/06/2012, 1:20 PM

While they may not be palatable to some of us the Ole Ole brigade are at least interested in football and the league must tap into the odd international success. Similarly an announcement that the International team were going to be at Dalymount, Tallaght, Belfield etc would attract younger (and not so young*) fans to a LOI game. Some will stay.

Personally would like to see a major ad agency given a contract to refit and advertise the League image. Full co operation of all clubs mandatory and campaign paid for by the FAI. A rebranded league with a higher profile would have more chance of attracting any floating investment out there and would hopefully generate some much needed interest. Given deteriorating economic situation (and Merkels attempts to make it permanent) doing nothing is just not an option, improve or die.

* the night Trap visited Dalymount lo and behold one Bertie Ahern turned up at the game !

25/06/2012, 1:37 PM
I've seen it in Bray, albeit unannounced when Duff has turned up. Real buzz around the kids (and distracts them from annoying the away fans).

At this stage I'd support something radical, like a total rebranding, and a reformatting if necessary (as I mentioned in another thread).

25/06/2012, 2:09 PM
I've seen it in Bray, albeit unannounced when Duff has turned up. Real buzz around the kids (and distracts them from annoying the away fans).

Same when he was at a game in Belfield 6 or 7 years ago. If that was announced beforehand, I'm sure it would have added a few to the gate.

25/06/2012, 2:54 PM
I'd imagine announcing his presence in advance would defeat the point of going to a game for Duffer - he probably just wants to blend in and be normal. I saw him at a gig in the RDS years ago in my teens (Paul McCartney I think?) and to be fair people left him alone to enjoy the gig. It'd be different if a few of the less private players were showing up and didn't mind being asked for autographs etc

25/06/2012, 3:03 PM
To be fair, some players do catch a game or 2 while they're over on thier own time.

I know this is different from having an FAI initiative. Just wanted to point out that many of them have a bit of an interest in th eleague here (even if it might only be mates player etc)

25/06/2012, 3:07 PM
Didn't Keith Fahey put on a charity day in Tallaght, in memory of his late father? Not directly related to support of the LOI but related to caring about local football.

25/06/2012, 3:19 PM
Didn't Keith Fahey put on a charity day in Tallaght, in memory of his late father? Not directly related to support of the LOI but related to caring about local football.

Yep. He's been to a few Pats games too (he's going on Friday too) and went to Bohs v derry with James McLean about 6 weeks ago

Not that I'm stalking him or anything....

marinobohs
25/06/2012, 3:42 PM
To be fair, some players do catch a game or 2 while they're over on thier own time.

I know this is different from having an FAI initiative. Just wanted to point out that many of them have a bit of an interest in th eleague here (even if it might only be mates player etc)

Quite a few players do (or did prior to Dodge "stalking scandal" :o) go to games in a personal capacity. I was talking more about an "official" FAI visit advertised before hand with them signing a few autographs for kids.

Would build a direct link between LOI and International team - which I think is currently absent - and given recent high level of interest in the game would heighten profile of the League. As an alternative to going to the pictures (usual Friday players activity) I suspect players might enjoy it as well

Funnily enough I have seen pictures of Trap at junior clubs (Killester recently ???) splashed across the papers so it is not unrealistic.

irishultra
25/06/2012, 7:57 PM
Always remember Fahey in an interview after his last game saying he'd never heard of Pat's before joining them haha, always got the impression he was the type of lad who was Pats to the core.

26/06/2012, 8:30 AM
I'd imagine announcing his presence in advance would defeat the point of going to a game for Duffer - he probably just wants to blend in and be normal. I saw him at a gig in the RDS years ago in my teens (Paul McCartney I think?) and to be fair people left him alone to enjoy the gig. It'd be different if a few of the less private players were showing up and didn't mind being asked for autographs etcJust to be clear, I'm not complaining about Duff (or anyone else) not announcing in advance that they'll be going to a game. It just shows that an FAI initiative could raise some interest.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/06/2012, 3:34 PM
Seamie Coleman in the Showgrounds tonight

18/08/2012, 10:37 PM
spotted in the goalpost bar in galway this evening drinking with the GUST members, poor man is fecked if he bumps into Mr. Furey !

19/08/2012, 9:05 PM
spotted in the goalpost bar in galway this evening drinking with the GUST members, poor man is fecked if he bumps into Mr. Furey !

why wot do u mean?

DannyInvincible
20/03/2013, 9:10 AM
'FAI Chief Executive John Delaney admits to turning down a job three times his current salary': http://www.rte.ie/sport/cycling/2013/0320/377483-delaney-reveals-lucrative-job-offer/

FAI chief executive John Delaney has defended his current salary, while also stating he turned down a job that would have tripled what he now earns.

Delaney, who has presided over stringent cutbacks which have affected even Republic of Ireland boss Giovanni Trapattoni and his coaching staff, reportedly earns around €340,000 a year.

However, he has revealed he could have left for a better-paid post and believes his wage is commensurate with the FAI's income, with the country still in the grip of a difficult economic situation.

Delaney told Sky Sports News: "I was offered a job three times the salary that I'm currently on, and that's a fact.

"I didn't take the job, I didn't want the job. I'm very happy in this job.

"I think the turnover of the FAI in the mid-90s, 1996,97, was about €7million. Last year it was north of €40 million.

"We are in a tough economy in Ireland at the moment and anybody who is on a big salary is going to grab media attention."

I can only assume that was for a role outside of the FAI. Some might say he's either a liar or a fool! ;)

The revelation emanated from this glowing report into the man broadcast by Sky Sports News yesterday:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=4X4WW_3GmHo

20/03/2013, 9:37 AM
Must have been the Limerick CEO job.

20/03/2013, 10:03 AM
I remember him being linked with the Irish Olympic Council presidency in the papers last year, that job would hardly pay 3x 340,000 would it?

20/03/2013, 11:44 AM
I remember him being linked with the Irish Olympic Council presidency in the papers last year, that job would hardly pay 3x 340,000 would it?
I don't think it pays anything. Delaney would be in demand from other sports organisations though. I've said it all along, he's a snake but he's very good at getting people to dip their hands in their pockets. I'm certain if he headed a charity or something he could make seven figures.

marinobohs
21/03/2013, 12:45 PM
Had to misfortune to fall upon SKY Sports 'piece' on our own living legend JD :rolleyes: difficult to imagine a more cringeworthy bit of television than the Dr Gobbels rubbish spouted by Johnnie Boy.

The part that REALLY (and there were many contenders) annoyed me was his assertion that he is judged solely on how the International team do.

21/03/2013, 12:55 PM
Haven't watched it and don't intend to- but if he says he should only be judged on the national team then that's lunacy, but if he says he is judged on that then it's pretty much a statement of fact.

ger121
21/03/2013, 1:51 PM
The part that REALLY (and there were many contenders) annoyed me was his assertion that he is judged solely on how the International team do.

Great! So when we don't make it to Brazil and Trapp is shown the door, Delaney will then do the honorable thing and fall on his own sword:rolleyes:

marinobohs
22/03/2013, 1:51 PM
Great! So when we don't make it to Brazil and Trapp is shown the door, Delaney will then do the honorable thing and fall on his own sword:rolleyes:

Dont worry ger his well packed wallet would save him :o

marinobohs
22/03/2013, 1:54 PM
Haven't watched it and don't intend to- but if he says he should only be judged on the national team then that's lunacy, but if he says he is judged on that then it's pretty much a statement of fact.

Yes, how many FAI CEO's have lost their job due to International teams (non)performance ? Only in the deluded ramblings of Delaneys head is he so inextricibly linked to the International team performances. Remmeber his lap of honour in Russia ? :rolleyes:

cornflakes
22/03/2013, 2:11 PM
Remember this!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZ_pMX_MvGM

04/09/2014, 5:14 PM
Oh joy.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/coming-soon-john-the-baptist-30562148.html

04/09/2014, 5:20 PM
"I like to think of myself as a bit of a character first, CEO second. I'm sure the folks here would agree with that."