21/11/2009, 7:14 PM
Pointless thread imo.
22/11/2009, 7:43 PM
Pointless thread imo.
...and so the close season begins....
mr.untitled
22/11/2009, 8:18 PM
I've been reading this forum for a number of years primarily to keep an eye on the Sligo Rovers forum but also the Ireland forum.
Prior to this I have not been moved to post a reply to a thread but this thread, for me, typifies the idiotic [MOD EDIT - NOT ON FOOT.IE] that is spouted by alot of League of Ireland fans, of which I am one.
Let's make this clear, Delaneys point was a simple one: this was not a case of cheating in a League of Ireland game where the exposure to such cheating would be confined at most to supporters of both of the clubs. On the contrary, Henry's act of cheating (if you wish to call it that) was carried out on the world stage and therefore the damaging effect to football as a whole was maximised.
And he's 100% correct. Its a valid point - there isn't a soccer fan in the world that hasn't seen the handball incident in the match the other night and it is incredibly damaging to the sport to be seen to allow such things to happen without reprimand or sanction.
Just on Delaney, I've been supporting the League of Ireland since the first Sligo Rovers game I attended in the 1985-86 season against Longford. I was smitten and the League won me over over the following two weeks when we played Bohs and Derry. The latter brought an incredible crowd with them that, to a young fella, seemed to fill the showgrounds. Anyway, the league and the FAI as I've been growing up has been run like a circus. Since Delaney took over I've seen a marked improvement in the administrative structures of the association and he has overseen the implementation of a regulatory structure over the League of Ireland. Sure there have been some fudges but that is inevitable when you are trying to effect change in a political organisation such as the FAI and League of Ireland. But it is my view that if Delaney gets to finish the job he started the league will be a better place. The League this year was fantastic and the most interesting it has been in years.
Delaney has proven commercial experience which I must stress is of paramount importance if you want to run a large organisation such as the FAI. Prior to his appointment we had, for example, sales reps running the show. No offence to all who may get offended but that is a recipe for disaster and it is the reason we had the circus we had for so many years.
So give him a break. He is doing a fairly good job and to be honest lads, he's one of the few people within the game in thsi country with the intellect and desire to run the FAI.
good post!
there is alot Delaney has done that I disagree with, but on the whole I think he has done a good job and seems to be doing better and better. I heard the interview on Matt Cooper and my initial reaction was the fact that he mentioned our league and not the epl means that it is at the forefront of his mind. In order to think that he did our league a disservice, you would have to take his comments out of context and complaining about it here just adds to the paranoia among an element of LoI supporters.
22/11/2009, 11:46 PM
Pointless thread imo.
As opposed to 15 threads under 5/6 usernames on the same subject?
23/11/2009, 8:57 AM
As head of the FAI wonder was Delaney at the FAI cup game, his name wasn't read out anyway. Disgraceful if he wasn't there IMHO:mad:
prince20
23/11/2009, 9:03 AM
As head of the FAI wonder was Delaney at the FAI cup game, his name wasn't read out anyway. Disgraceful if he wasn't there IMHO:mad:
Yes he was at the game but why would his name be called out?
Straightstory
23/11/2009, 9:24 AM
He is NOT right on the button. He could have said - and maybe even meant to say - ''this is not a 5-a-side kickabout after work were talking about, its a world cup playoff..."
but no, without being prompted, the man with ultimate responsibility for stopping this league being a laughing stock further undermines it with a stupid throwaway remark.
Quite right. As an 'example' of an unimportant, meaningless game he chose a fixture from the league he's supposed to be promoting! I agree that the World Cup game was huge, and, obviously, for the vast amount of people in this country of much more significance than Bohs Waterford. But the point is: he could have contrasted it with more or less ANYTHING to illustrate it's importance. The fact that he chose Bohs Waterford (twice apparently!) is very, very telling indeed. It absolutely diminishes the league. It was just a stupid thing to do. People are quite right to be angry.
It was a stupid comment to make/ example to use, and the whole "replay" nonsense is going to create a rod for the FAI's back - their too short sighted and busy playing the populist card to see it. Long term it's going to be football in this country that suffers as we won't be too long waiting for a club to call for replay citing the FAI calls as justification.
Delaney only has the interests of one stakeholder in mind when he does anything...
23/11/2009, 10:34 AM
He was there, RTE showed him txtin on his phone.
23/11/2009, 10:43 AM
Yes he was at the game but why would his name be called out?
God I dunno - maybe as CEO of the Football Association of Ireland:eek:
or maybe more likely he didnt want his name to be booed
marinobohs
23/11/2009, 10:47 AM
Quite right. As an 'example' of an unimportant, meaningless game he chose a fixture from the league he's supposed to be promoting! I agree that the World Cup game was huge, and, obviously, for the vast amount of people in this country of much more significance than Bohs Waterford. But the point is: he could have contrasted it with more or less ANYTHING to illustrate it's importance. The fact that he chose Bohs Waterford (twice apparently!) is very, very telling indeed. It absolutely diminishes the league. It was just a stupid thing to do. People are quite right to be angry.
On the money. if this were an isolated incident then it could be ignored as an off the cuff remark (silly but no insult intended) but it is yet another derogatory remark about the League (remember Trapps comment) he is supposed to be promoting. I fail to see how saying a match in LOI is not important in any way reflects well on the League.
Calling for different rules for "big" games is so stupid and anti football as to be derisery. I was in Paris and while gutted by the unfairness of the result accept it as part and parcel of the (sometimes not so) beautiful game.
The only complaint I would have relates to FIFA changing the rules on the playoff games (introduction of seeding). This, of course, is directly related to the "hierarcy of football" concept, different teams - different rules. Sound familar Mr Delaney ??????
prince20
23/11/2009, 11:17 AM
God I dunno - maybe as CEO of the Football Association of Ireland:eek:
or maybe more likely he didnt want his name to be booed
First of all you said it was a disgrace if he wasnt there, i confirmed that he was, now his name called out? We are all aware that he is CEO but dont see why his name should have been called out. Yesterdays match was about Sligo and Fingal. To highlight who was at the game would detract from that.
23/11/2009, 11:54 AM
First of all you said it was a disgrace if he wasnt there, i confirmed that he was, now his name called out? We are all aware that he is CEO but dont see why his name should have been called out. Yesterdays match was about Sligo and Fingal. To highlight who was at the game would detract from that.
Well i didn't know he was at the game, but i would have thought of all the guys called out at the start his name would have been number 1 - as head of the FAI? So why not then?
prince20
23/11/2009, 12:03 PM
Well i didn't know he was at the game, but i would have thought of all the guys called out at the start his name would have been number 1 - as head of the FAI? So why not then?
Im sure if you get on to his PA she will give you his future intended appointments just to make sure its ok with you:rolleyes: And for your second point plaese read my previous response;)
23/11/2009, 12:31 PM
Im sure if you get on to his PA she will give you his future intended appointments just to make sure its ok with you:rolleyes: And for your second point plaese read my previous response;)
You dont get my point - as head of FAI why was his name not read out - they even read some fellas name from Castelbar - head of Connaught assoc?
Maybe it wasn't read to avoid the inevitable moronic booing. Give the guy a break, he makes mistakes but he's an intelligent guy and could do well for this league if given the chance. He's not a man I want to see chased out.
harps1954
23/11/2009, 1:03 PM
Delaney is NOT the the "head of the FAI." The FAI President (currently David Blood) is the head of the Association. Delaney is a paid employee of the FAI, he is not elected to any position within the FAI.
23/11/2009, 1:07 PM
Delaney is the the "head of the FAI." The FAI President (currently David Blood) is the head of the Association. Delaney is a paid employee of the FAI, he is not elected to any position within the FAI.
exactly, thanks:)
23/11/2009, 1:23 PM
But why would his attendance be announced? "And at the game today is FAI CEO, John Delaney!" WTF?
23/11/2009, 1:32 PM
But why would his attendance be announced? "And at the game today is FAI CEO, John Delaney!" WTF?
but surely he would have been the head honcho
like having the prez in attendance and ignoring her and introducing the head of the local county council instead:rolleyes:
im not talking about just randomly introducing to crowd - im talking at the start of game when meeting the players etc! everybody else was mentioned, about 5/6 differing people
23/11/2009, 1:45 PM
im not talking about just randomly introducing to crowd - im talking at the start of game when meeting the players etc! everybody else was mentioned, about 5/6 differing people
Oh I see, sorry. It was to avoid the inevitable booing I'd say. Mr Delaney doesn't like being booed!
prince20
23/11/2009, 2:06 PM
but surely he would have been the head honcho
like having the prez in attendance and ignoring her and introducing the head of the local county council instead:rolleyes:
Now i have you. He wasnt brought out onto the pitch to meet the players prior to the game and please dont ask why not!!:D
harps1954
23/11/2009, 2:07 PM
But Delaney didn't go out onto the pitch to meet the players. He never has in any game.
23/11/2009, 2:13 PM
Finally:)
Anyway lucky I didn't bump into him :cool:
prince20
23/11/2009, 2:29 PM
Finally:)
Anyway lucky I didn't bump into him :cool:
Perhaps if you asked was he on the pitch in your opening post we could have answered earlier;)why was he lucky you didnt bump into him?
23/11/2009, 2:32 PM
Perhaps if you asked was he on the pitch in your opening post we could have answered earlier;)why was he lucky you didnt bump into him?
sorry just took it for granted that this was shown on tv or you looked at the pre-game shakey hands of players stuff that goes on in football
boneym
24/11/2009, 1:45 PM
Delaney is NOT the the "head of the FAI." The FAI President (currently David Blood) is the head of the Association. Delaney is a paid employee of the FAI, he is not elected to any position within the FAI.
As a matter of curiousity was David Blood at the game
Uncle_Joe
20/06/2012, 11:33 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0620/1224318259016.html
Good article on Delaney.
While I don't think the man can be blamed for our miserable showing at the euros he has been running the organisation for nearly a decade now and I really can't see what he has achieved in that time apart from a big salary.
He can hardly take any credit for the redevelopment of Lansdowne road and qualifying for a first tournament in 10 years is more down to other people suggesting Trap and picking up the bill.
marinobohs
20/06/2012, 11:59 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0620/1224318259016.html
Good article on Delaney.
While I don't think the man can be blamed for our miserable showing at the euros he has been running the organisation for nearly a decade now and I really can't see what he has achieved in that time apart from a big salary.
He can hardly take any credit for the redevelopment of Lansdowne road and qualifying for a first tournament in 10 years is more down to other people suggesting Trap and picking up the bill.
Excellent article and hopefully will encourage the sychophants around Delaney to actually look at his tenure. Be it the Limerick /Barcelona debacle (surely the only assosiation in the world to turn away Barcalona ?) to the wreckage that is our national league.
While it is unfair (however enjoyable) to hold him responsible for all our woes there is little doubt the image is that managing Irish football is about organising a **** up and sing song with the fans after yet another "glorious effort" (translates as LOSS). The fact only this week that he (and the clowns around him) were caught unawares of the demise of Monaghan as a LOI team show an administration completley out of touch. The appointment of Trap was down to Denis O'Briens largesse (Trap had been ruled out prior to O'Brien intervention. And who can forget his appointment of his pal Steve "the gaffer" Staunton ?
The new Lansdowne happened as much despite the FAI as because of them (remember the ticketing farce ? It really does become difficult to see any achievement due to Delaney and the FAI.
By all means pay what people are worth but I think you would have difficulty finding anyone (except himself) to agree that is curerently the case.
Comic Book Guy
20/06/2012, 12:11 PM
What if the CEO of another competing European association had carried on in the same fashion as he did in Sopot? He'd have been sacked long since. But hey this is Ireland where unaccountability is something we're tuly world class at. IMO he has to go but I have no doubt he has surrounded himself with yes men who will stick up for him or else.
athloneman
20/06/2012, 12:18 PM
how must he look to everyone else in europe??? any wonder irish football is a laughing stock when we have this clown involved, every other organisation are surely laughing at us in uefa and to think this guy is involved in possibly bringing a major tournament to the country? why any other fa takes his seriously is beyond me!!
What if the CEO of another competing European association had carried on in the same fashion as he did in Sopot? He'd have been sacked long since. But hey this is Ireland where unaccountability is something we're tuly world class at. IMO he has to go but I have no doubt he has surrounded himself with yes men who will stick up for him or else.
Not sure it's a lack of accountability, I'm just not convinced a majority see it as a total embarrassment. In one of the youtube clips I've seen a few fans trying to give him a bit of abuse were clearly threatened for daring to!
Spudulika
20/06/2012, 6:02 PM
ComicBookGuy - how about this. The head of a major association, so cheesed off that his team lost, stormed off home on his private jet, apart from the team. As he left he insulted a number of fans and had the stupidity to tell waiting reporters that their accreditation would be pulled from home (he can do that).
Or maybe a head honcho (one of the national association selectors and buddy and partner with the manager of the team) for another 1st round loser country - who got so drunk after his country flopped in their final game, that he beat up a fan for daring to question why his players were selected for the side at the expense of those not contracted to his agency. This same gentleman "evicted" a cafe owner so brutally back in the mid-90's that there was talk that he might actually be charged with something. However as one of the national team stars then he was let off.
JD might make an eejit of himself - because the team didn't do well, but he's not the worst. He could be Jack Warner!
It's his salary really that amazes me.
"not the worst" gets 400k a year. Not good enough.
citybone
21/06/2012, 9:43 AM
Delaney out Facebook page
http://www.facebook.com/pages/John-Delaney-OUT-of-FAI/245333888841306
legendz
21/06/2012, 1:08 PM
John Delaney has to be out. The league is falling a part. Driving it into the ground he is.
horton
21/06/2012, 1:16 PM
Who would be a suitable replacement for him though? surely a promotion internally wouldn't address the problems within Abbotstown, just change the figurehead?
legendz
21/06/2012, 1:25 PM
Who would be a suitable replacement for him though? surely a promotion internally wouldn't address the problems within Abbotstown, just change the figurehead?
There shouldn't be any money coming from tax payers though with a CEO being paid so much and a league falling a part which is not of benefit to the country.
Spudulika
21/06/2012, 1:38 PM
The FAI will only appoint one of their own. If the government interferes Irish clubs and the national team could be banned from international competition. FIFA and UEFA are supranational governance in action.
legendz
21/06/2012, 1:47 PM
The government don't have to interfere. That's not what I'm suggesting at all. The FAI do get funding however so it's fair enough that questions are asked thorugh Oireachtas committees of through the department for sport.
Tom the Gom
Spudulika
21/06/2012, 2:37 PM
The government don't have to interfere. That's not what I'm suggesting at all. The FAI do get funding however so it's fair enough that questions are asked thorugh Oireachtas committees of through the department for sport.
Legendz, apologies for appearing to question your suggestion. I was posting more in an abstract, that government stepping in could result in Ireland getting hammered by the lackeys in Switzerland. There could well be an Oireachtas committee to look into how the FAI is run etc, however I would worry that some of the eejits in the FAI would spin it as an anti-football thing. The Indo (with a certain journo leading the way) starting banging the economic drum this week, which shouldn't be a surprise. Though this is something that has to be left aside and just an overall look at how the sport is being developed in Ireland. I don't see JD as the problem or cause, maybe a result of the mess that the FAI represents.
21/06/2012, 4:50 PM
If Delaney was on €100k a year, would he be doing a better job then?
Not saying Im pro-regime or anything just saying would it have made a difference to peoples views on him. Every comment about him says something along the lines of "and at that size of wage....."
If Delaney was on €100k a year, would he be doing a better job then?
Not saying Im pro-regime or anything just saying would it have made a difference to peoples views on him. Every comment about him says something along the lines of "and at that size of wage....."
My own view is influenced by it alright. I'm a lot more forgiving when i don't think someone is taking the p!ss.
I also think that 300k could be spent far more wisely elsewhere
I'm not speaking from a purely LOI point of view either. I think the FAI taking control of the league has actually improved it. or at least forced clubs to take responsibility for some of their failings. It was far worse when clubs ran it themselves
But I don't think anyone could say Irish football is in a better place because of his stewardship
Spudulika
21/06/2012, 8:14 PM
If he were to drop 300k off his salary, that could mean 6-8 full-time staff promoting the LOI, soccer and assisting clubs and leagues. It also means 6-8 more people employed, 6-8 more households with better cashflow and (please, someone with a brain tell the economists name who has this as a paradigm) that 6 people are working it creates 1.5 more jobs. So we could have 10 people off the live register if JD took a 75% pay cut. But you can be sure, the FAI wouldn't have the vision to do it, eve if the man offered it. The jobs would go to clueless insiders, nepotism would reign and pages and pages of whinges would be clogging the net.
21/06/2012, 9:03 PM
The greed of the man knows no bounds. A pariah.
marinobohs
22/06/2012, 9:47 AM
My own view is influenced by it alright. I'm a lot more forgiving when i don't think someone is taking the p!ss.
I also think that 300k could be spent far more wisely elsewhere
I'm not speaking from a purely LOI point of view either. I think the FAI taking control of the league has actually improved it. or at least forced clubs to take responsibility for some of their failings. It was far worse when clubs ran it themselves
But I don't think anyone could say Irish football is in a better place because of his stewardship
In a nutshell. Delaneys tenure has not brought any additionality to Irish football and has left us, at times open to ridicule (remember the 33rd team ?). As Dodge posted the FAI have brought some level of accountibility to clubs (albeit little) but Delaney consistently gives the impression the League is a burden he just has to take on as part of his role as Chief cheerleader for the International side. This is not and should not be good enough.
What effort was made by the FAI to redirect any of the Ole Ole support to LOI ? Could Trap/players not appear at LOI games when here on International duty ? it would show some level of commitment to Irish football and may encourage a small few to take an interest.
At a time where clubs are in dire straits the fact he is getting such an obsence salary is a slap in the face to those working to keep clubs in existence.
legendz
22/06/2012, 10:30 AM
I know the Genesis report on the league has been ripped to shreds but surely given public money going to the FAI, an Oireachtas committee should get to question Delaney on aspects of the report which have not been carried out or rowed back on?
Comic Book Guy
22/06/2012, 11:53 AM
Spud,
Your points are well made about other associations but for me his carry on in Poland was the last straw, while the poor displays of the national team are not his fault some of the travails of our clubs can be laid at the association's door.
Yes, the clubs are primarily to blame for the trouble they find themselves in but charging €19k affiliation fees, huge match official costs as well as ridiculous fines to clubs can be attributed to the association. Not to mention their outragueous treatment of Limerick FC last year.All of this places a huge burden on small clubs.
In my view the merger of the FAI and League has not worked but it looks like they have made a pact with the devil and are stuck.
republican
22/06/2012, 1:35 PM
I don't know how much truth there is to this, so I'm not going to blow my top just yet... I'm one of many (I suspect) who is always willing to believe the worst where The Laney is involved, so I'm really just posting this to see if anyone else is aware of it.
Anyhow... here's the story (heard today from a Bohs fan). In the middle of his cringeworthy efforts to obtain a replay in the France - Ireland tie The Laney (allegedly) said that the tie should be replayed as it was such an important game, and it's not like we were talking about Bohs v Waterford.. or words to that effect. Did anyone else hear anything like this ? As I said, I'm not going to go off the deep end yet, but if he did say it it's a thundering disgrace and a resigning matter. The Bohs fan in question was at the match and heard this from numerous people on his return.
are you that bored that you would post such a ridiculous comment??? no offence but if you want to get a rant goin over delaney at least give everyone some decent ammo to shoot back because the above is childish. ireland qualified for a top 16 in europe tournament blame whoever ye like, trap, delaney, or enda kenny but that is over achievng so get behind them on a good achievement and hopefully we can get 2nd in our group in world cup qualifiers and maybe get there via a playoff and a bita luck in which time we will have a very good bunch of players coming threw, the robbie bradys, seamus colemans, james mccleans, shane longs and alot more in the u19/21 set up and maybe at the next euro's we can compete on a better footing.