View Full Version : Thierry Henry

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

20/11/2009, 1:28 PM
Osarusan when i first heard there would be a look for a replay i knew in a million years this would never happen. For a man who is generally quite rational im very surprised to hear you come out with the above statement.
The only real obstacle is the FFF. Fifa wouldn't oppose it in my opinion, as it would make a great story at every level. Fair play wins through, the FFF cannot bear to go through this way, Henry repents and actively seeks a replay, the plucky underdogs get another chance.

The question is if the FFF are willing to risk a place at the world cup for this. And I'd imagine they'd think that in any replay, France would never play quite as badly as on Wednesday, nor the Irish play as well as we did.

del_carroll
20/11/2009, 1:30 PM
Thanks for your sentiments Tez. Now all you have to do is say that you don't want to go to the World Cup on this basis, and will withdraw from the french squad unless a re-match takes place.

Now that would be impressive.

LeBleu
20/11/2009, 1:30 PM
Anyone got any extremely compromising/embarassing pictures of the head of the FFF? LeBleu care to help out?! :D

No pictures but we know that Domenech is payed more than 800 000 euros because he succeed to qualify France for WC .

Too much money on the table for change something.

Noelys Guitar
20/11/2009, 1:34 PM
The FFF have just said its time to draw a line under this and "Move On". Very similiar to Hansson's 'Life Must Go On' statement. All these statements coming out within a few minutes of each other. Already Henry's comments are getting lambasted in the press for the timing.

20/11/2009, 1:35 PM
Sorry Osarusan, but you're living with in the clouds if ye beleive any of that.

The only thing i could see coming out slightly would be if cowen did actually push sarkozy. Im sure sarkozy could pull strings but i dont see that happening. I see cowen sharing a quick "well ye know ye got through but it wasn't the fairest" and thats that.

papa-j
Thanks for your sentiments Tez. Now all you have to do is say that you don't want to go to the World Cup on this basis, and will withdraw from the french squad unless a re-match takes place.

Now that would be impressive.

Yep or if he had made the statement yesterday. All hollow words considering both FIFA and FFF have officially stated non to le replay this morning.

This is CO-ORDINATED PR at its very worst AND AN INSULT TO ALL iRISH FANS

Murfinator
Hopefully people will stop having a go at Henry now. Blatter is the real f**ker here.

Players cheat in a split second without thinking about it. Irish players will do the same so get off that high horse.

Yes but would they celebrate it as vocally as Henry did afterwards?

20/11/2009, 1:36 PM
The FFF have just said its time to draw a line under this and "Move On". Very similiar to Hansson's 'Life Must Go On' statement.Fair enough, I didn't know about the FFF statement when I had the faintest glimmer of hope.

Den Perry
20/11/2009, 1:38 PM
I admire Henry for this even if I am suspicious the game won't be replayed.

Even if it is replayed, whose to say something similar won't happen in the replay.

amire Henry? very naive...

saint dog
20/11/2009, 1:41 PM
when the fai were pushing for a replay , what were they actually looking for .
A once off game in a neutral ground starting at 0-0
both legs to be replayed
A replay in France with them leading 0-1 from dublin
All outrageous anyway but just wondering

Noelys Guitar
20/11/2009, 1:44 PM
Fair enough, I didn't know about the FFF statement when I had the faintest glimmer of hope.

I thought there was an outside chance they might replay it myself. And the FFF only just issued that statement. Plus Henry's comments on his twitter page differ from what he said in his statement.

He said on his Twitter page: "I'm not the referee, but if I hurt someone I'm sorry.

"It was not a beautiful match. It was just neccesary to exploit what was exploitable.

He is admitting cheating here.

Splurge
20/11/2009, 1:56 PM
If Henry really wanted to replay it he could kick up a row, he's the captain ffs. If he really meant it he could say he's retiring from international football unless it's resolved. He doesnt want to replay it, empty gesture he can shove up his arse.

Alf Honn
20/11/2009, 2:06 PM
Where does this go from here?

As stated earlier, the only chance is the FFF bowing.

But, remember, isn't Delaney best of chums with their legend and now UEFA chief Platini (see below)! Surely it's time for some political lobbying...not a chance.

From Daily Mail:
Platini took the extraordinary step of going to Dublin last September to enrol on a three-week English-speaking course at Trinity College ¿ which had been set up for him by John Delaney, the Football Association of Ireland's chief executive.

20/11/2009, 2:10 PM
If Henry wants it to be replayed because it is unfair on Ireland and it is not repayed, then Henry if he is an honourable decent man he will refuse to play in an unfair competition.

If he does play he has shown himself to be a man without honour or integrity, like Maradona, no more than a dirty cheat.

gilberto_eire
20/11/2009, 2:11 PM
Sorry Osarusan, but you're living with in the clouds if ye beleive any of that.

The only thing i could see coming out slightly would be if cowen did actually push sarkozy. Im sure sarkozy could pull strings but i dont see that happening. I see cowen sharing a quick "well ye know ye got through but it wasn't the fairest" and thats that.

This kind of situation would have led to a war many years ago

Scram
20/11/2009, 2:13 PM
Fair play to him.

So when we play again, it's extra time only i.e. we start at 1-1 !!

Emmet7
20/11/2009, 2:15 PM
I've said on here in the interests of fairness the game should be replayed.

But it's between FIFA and the FFF and it's looking now as if they have no interest in a replay.

The whole thing shows there is something rotten in the state of FIFA and international soccer and it started with the seedings.

I doubt the game will be replayed.

Emmet7
20/11/2009, 2:17 PM
when the fai were pushing for a replay , what were they actually looking for .
A once off game in a neutral ground starting at 0-0
both legs to be replayed
A replay in France with them leading 0-1 from dublin
All outrageous anyway but just wondering

I'd agree this would be the fairest thing.

We scored a perfectly good goal and if there was a replay in Paris effectively that goal would be disallowed.

Would the FFF agree to this? Would FIFA?

Milesmayhem24
20/11/2009, 2:23 PM
No chance of a replay I'm afraid.

Where would they even fit it in with all the Champions League, league fixtures etc.?

You can view Henry's comments as only being an attempt to deflect some of the flak he's getting now but I think that's a bit harsh. Yes, it was a clear handball, but he was hardly planning it minutes in advance. It was something that happened on the spot and he stuck out his hand and controlled it. The real blame should be directed at the referee and linesman who missed something so blatant and missed Squillaci being offside when he was challenging with Dunne

Personally, I don't think there are many players who would have come out and made any comments so I think fair play to him for that.

Doesn't change the fact we won't be at the WC unfortunately...

dynamo kerry
20/11/2009, 2:28 PM
No chance of a replay I'm afraid.

Where would they even fit it in with all the Champions League, league fixtures etc.?

You can view Henry's comments as only being an attempt to deflect some of the flak he's getting now but I think that's a bit harsh. Yes, it was a clear handball, but he was hardly planning it minutes in advance. It was something that happened on the spot and he stuck out his hand and controlled it. The real blame should be directed at the referee and linesman who missed something so blatant and missed Squillaci being offside when he was challenging with Dunne

Personally, I don't think there are many players who would have come out and made any comments so I think fair play to him for that.

Doesn't change the fact we won't be at the WC unfortunately...

unless.. they defer naming that team slot at the world cup draw and play the game in january.

late arrangements have been made before when denmark replaced yugoslavia in 1992.

equally, I'm prepared to give henry some merit here, he didn't have to say anything. having said that, it is just talk and if he doesn't back it up with anything then it's meaningless.

dynamo kerry
20/11/2009, 2:31 PM
I found the one of him in a kerry jersey in the indo particularly disconcerting. very funny on some levels, disturbing on others.

I don't think picking the kingdom for that was an accident :O

20/11/2009, 2:33 PM
See how you get on as Henry tring to "score" against us

http://www.jeu-de-main.com/

Emmet7
20/11/2009, 2:36 PM
If we do get a replay, it has to start 0-0 at a neutral venue, that would be the fairest given that we scored a perfectly legitimate goal.

Penalties at the end of the 90 minutes.

20/11/2009, 2:36 PM
Whatever about a replay, I'd like to see FIFA administer some form of discipline on Henry.
He cheated, he's admitted he cheated, and now they can't let him get away with it

lopez
20/11/2009, 2:38 PM
No to a replay. 1-0 from the moment the handball took place with 16 minutes left. 1 minute, then break then 15 minutes. And if it stays that way, penalties. You'll never get another victory straight away in Paris again. Law of averages against it.

lopez
20/11/2009, 2:41 PM
If we do get a replay, it has to start 0-0 at a neutral venue, that would be the fairest given that we scored a perfectly legitimate goal.

Penalties at the end of the 90 minutes.That's another option. One-off game at Fulham. :D No. Serious. It's one rule. One for another. As far back as the 80s, UEFA made Celtic replay the game after a coin hit the head of a player. Total inconsistency.

20/11/2009, 2:42 PM

After looking at that, Im convinced henry beat us at our own games. HOw cruel.

20/11/2009, 2:44 PM
Lads please stop the talk of a replay its never going ot happen and you are only clutching at straws.

Duggie
20/11/2009, 2:47 PM
Lads please stop the talk of a replay its never going ot happen and you are only clutching at straws.

ya its just depressing thinking about it.

Junior
20/11/2009, 2:48 PM
Lads Henry doesnt deserve credit here.

Its just the PR machine in full flow. Players dont think for themselves in circumstances like this. FIFA, UEFA, FFF, Henrys Representative, Hansson all on a Teleconference deciding the contents of the various statements and what order they go out in. Thats whats happening.

Its a travesty but the Best Team lost in this instance and unfortunately in this instance that has happened to us.

Milesmayhem24
20/11/2009, 3:06 PM
unless.. they defer naming that team slot at the world cup draw and play the game in january.

late arrangements have been made before when denmark replaced yugoslavia in 1992.

equally, I'm prepared to give henry some merit here, he didn't have to say anything. having said that, it is just talk and if he doesn't back it up with anything then it's meaningless.

Yeah but France will be a top seed and we'd only be in pot 3. They'd have to sort that out - that wasn't problem with Denmark/Yugoslavia as far as I'm aware.

Not sure what he can do to back it up - he could refuse to play for France (highly unlikely) but doubt they'd take any notice of that as he's not their most integral player anymore. Apart from his handball, he was pretty anonymous over the two games

onenilgameover
20/11/2009, 3:07 PM

in this game i handled the ball but i admitted it straight away

dynamo kerry
20/11/2009, 3:17 PM
Yeah but France will be a top seed and we'd only be in pot 3. They'd have to sort that out - that wasn't problem with Denmark/Yugoslavia as far as I'm aware.

Not sure what he can do to back it up - he could refuse to play for France (highly unlikely) but doubt they'd take any notice of that as he's not their most integral player anymore. Apart from his handball, he was pretty anonymous over the two games

that's a good point too.

I must admit I'm stumped.

Morbo
20/11/2009, 3:32 PM
Hopefully people will stop having a go at Henry now. Blatter is the real f**ker here.

What? This statement by Henry has further lowered my opinion of him and I'm insulted that he expects us to swallow that crap. I'm sorry bur if you believe his PR bullsh*t then you are extremely naive.

20/11/2009, 3:35 PM
Loads and loads of sense

It's refreshing to hear someone actually think things out a little.

Ciprian Marica
20/11/2009, 3:37 PM
There isn't a hope in hell of there being a replay. Where would you draw the line for all other forms of cheating e.g. pulling someone's shirt, tripping etc. The FAI have made themselves look like idiots asking for one.
What they should be doing is pushing for video technology to be used with the current furore that has been caused

Emmet7
20/11/2009, 3:42 PM
I have a feeling there will only be a replay if Adidas agrees, such is the way international soccer under FIFA has gone.

It's the sponsors who are calling the shots.

I'd say Adidas said to FIFA a couple months ago, "get us France and Germany in the World Cup, we don't care how you do it, just do it."

Soccer is no longer for the little man or woman, it's all about big corporate interests now and FIFA is central to that.

Splurge
20/11/2009, 3:42 PM

If we were to win it we'd deserve to be top seeds, they could play it any champions league free week coming up, give options to cancel the relevant league games, ie Utd could probably do without Gibson and O'Shea but Hull would probably want a cancellation.

20/11/2009, 3:53 PM
Henry is only coming out with his crap how after FIFA have stated there will be no replay, he is just trying to protect his valuable image nothing more.

He only said it after a replay had been ruled out, to save his image, you people who are saying fair play to him have just been fooled by him, he is a fake, he said nothing untill a replay was ruled out.

20/11/2009, 3:56 PM
Whatever about a replay, I'd like to see FIFA administer some form of discipline on Henry.
He cheated, he's admitted he cheated, and now they can't let him get away with it
UEFA were quick to ban Eduardo for similar.

Lugdunum
20/11/2009, 4:05 PM
I'd say Adidas said to FIFA a couple months ago, "get us France and Germany in the World Cup, we don't care how you do it, just do it."I doubt Adidas would say something like this :D
http://www.sixthman.net/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/nike-just-do-it.jpg

Larry 'da' Wyse
20/11/2009, 4:05 PM
Wenger also keen on a replay:

Henry admitted on Friday that a replay would be “the fairest solution” and his old boss agreed when the question was posed at Wenger’s pre-match press conference.

“I feel so, yes,” said the Frenchman.

“I don’t know [if it is likely], it’s not my problem, I can only give you my feeling. We want to beat Ireland properly and that didn’t happen. It’s as simple as that. At the end of the day you can talk and talk and talk, or you make a decision to replay or not replay.

Leeside Swagger
20/11/2009, 4:06 PM

Hopefully he'll get some sort of a ban, I reckon Robbie Keane might get a sanction as well for his conspiracy comments.

Junior
20/11/2009, 4:11 PM

And even quicker to rescind it werent they?

celticV3
20/11/2009, 4:12 PM
UEFA were quick to ban Eduardo for similar.]
That ban was lifted upon appeal. I know he dived, he knows he dived but they couldn't prove beyond reasonable doubt that he did and there was the slightest contact so the ban was lifted.

Henry on the other hand (intended) can't justify dribbling the ball to gallas, and therefore should be sanctioned some how, hopefully with a ban rather than a financial sanction that would only be a nominal fee anyway to a well paid footballer.

Emmet7
20/11/2009, 4:14 PM
At the end of the day it's probably the FIFA accountants who will decide if there is a replay.

More revenue from France being at the world cup than Ireland, more TV money, more jerseys sold etc etc.

I still don't know why Trap didn't take the players off the field straight after the French goal, he would have been fully justified on the grounds he didn't want a part of the farce.

20/11/2009, 4:16 PM
]
That ban was lifted upon appeal. I know he dived, he knows he dived but they couldn't prove beyond reasonable doubt that he did and there was the slightest contact so the ban was lifted.

I think it was more to do with the case that Arsenal were building, they had hours of footage of similar situations and it would have made a mockery of the Eduardo ban if they were not going to ban every player that had taken a dive.

Billy-Green
20/11/2009, 4:18 PM
Ah isn't Henry such a nice guy. Waiting for FIFA to make their statement that a replay won't happen and then he comes out saying it is only fair there is a replay. If he feels so stongly about it why doesn't he refuse to play for france againg until they write to FIFA asking for a replay? And as for Wenger wanting a replay, sure he has to say that or feel the wrath of Brady

Kildareman
20/11/2009, 4:21 PM
Henry wont be charged. Not a hope.
He admitted he handballed it but said it wasnt intentional.
Like the Eduardo case it has to be proven that Henry intentionally used his hand, and that is downright impossible.

Park_Lane
21/11/2009, 5:44 PM
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=701490&sec=worldcup2010&cc=5739