View Full Version : Tickets on sale now at the Showgrounds
ALSO:
- Ticketmaster are selling 600 tickets tomorrow, first come first served.
- There are a small number of singing section tickets left.
- Hopefully Fingal might return some of their allocation.- If we sell out tomorrow night, we will look for more but no guarantees.
- Get the number of Robert McDonald of the ad in the Fingal Independant!!
Everybody who looks for a ticket will get sorted one way or another. For the record, there are loads of unpaid jobs going involving Sligo Rovers so feel free to give me a shout. Also if you are not happy with the way things are being run, then you have the option of going on the committee.
Everybody on the committee is working hard but there is always room for more people but it will involve a lot of hard work.
Any ideas/suggestions, get them out there and we will look at them.
Hopefully, I have answered the majority of questions.
The word is Shams supporters are buying up all the Fingal tickets.
srfc1928
06/11/2009, 8:50 AM
Kevin, Thank you for your quick reply to alay everyones fears.
As I said in my previous post, I dont think the club has ever been run aswell as it is now.
And I think everyone of us is delighted and proud of the job ye are doing especialy when you see other clubs around us falling apart.
Thanks also for your constant communication between the club and the fans, this is something that was lacking in the past and nips hearsay and potential problems in the bud.
Also Fair play to you for trying to look after everyone in relation to tickets and the singing section.:ball::)
showgies
06/11/2009, 8:53 AM
I queried the point about checking the season ticket holders- all the season ticket holders go through the same stile each home game. The season tickets are sold and distributed by one man plus himself and 2 others work that stile and would know the majority of season ticket holders to see and by name. That is why the majority of people weren't checked.
That is a weak and unacceptable excuse. It should have been policy to ask for ID regardless.
Guts&Glory
06/11/2009, 9:07 AM
[QUOTE=Kevin L;1265798]Celtic V,
When U2 have a concert sale and the tickets go on sale @ 9am or whenever, they are sold out fairly quickly and there always going to be disappointment. If you go looking for a U2 ticket @ 11am, you wont get one.
The same when Next have their sale @ 5am, and you arrive in @ 11am looking for a bargain and it aint there.
The early bird catches the worm.
It was late Monday evening when the ticket allocation was finalised and we only got the tickets yesterday morning.
[QUOTE]
KevinL that is very disingenuous.
If the club you have followed all your life have released a press statement and posted on the club website that tickets for 400 club members etc were to go on sale Thursday and were limited to 2 per person is it not reasonable to take their word for it. (There was no mention of oh BTW people who are members of the 400 club and others are entitled to 2 tickets for each membership affiliation.)
By your own admission most of the tickets are already gone where were the 2,800 - 3,000 home fans during the season when the rest of us were there week in week out home and away ?
The change in attitude from earlier in the week to your most recent points is dissapointing to say the least.
Surely the people selling the tickets (I know you say you weren’t there) knew the position re only 2 tickets per person when it was posted on the Rovers website and released as a club statement and you had said same here on the forum. I would have thought they were briefed/contacted before the sales started.
No matter what way you dice it people were getting more tickets than they were entitled to and obviously they will be used for sunshiners given our average attendance over the season.
pcsligo
06/11/2009, 9:20 AM
A mate has just been in the Showgrounds and bought 5 temporary seating tickets and was not asked for ID/Season ticket etc. Therefore the club have gone back on the statement as in theory he should have been only able to buy 2 only at 6.30 this evening.
showgies
06/11/2009, 9:25 AM
Christ, to think we all gave out about Fran Gavin's arrogant and condescending attitude on Ocean FM..........
Redzer
06/11/2009, 9:36 AM
I am a share holder, a season ticket holder and a 400 club member. There is no way in F@CK I should get 6 tickets. It would not be fair or RIGHT on everyone else. NO MORE EXCUSES.
dublinred
06/11/2009, 10:24 AM
A mate has just been in the Showgrounds and bought 5 temporary seating tickets and was not asked for ID/Season ticket etc. Therefore the club have gone back on the statement as in theory he should have been only able to buy 2 only at 6.30 this evening.
I'd hate to be a MC member if we run out of tickets tonight there are going to be hundreds of people attending tonight for the sole purpose of buying tickets as advertised by the sounds of it there can't be many of the 4500 left at this stage might be an idea buy some helmuts and flak gear and give that Coleman guy a call if he is not too busy up at Knock shrine and ask him could he recreate the "loafs and fishes" with our ticket allocation.
Fingals arrangments are much more personnel you ring them up and one of the players delivers the tickets.
06/11/2009, 10:52 AM
Fingals arrangments are much more personnel you ring them up and one of the players delivers the tickets.
They'll run out of fans :cool:
neutrino
06/11/2009, 11:08 AM
All this ticket scrambling was caused solely by the FAI. The average attendance for FAI Cup finals over the past four years (05-08) was 16,456. So i dont know how or who though Tallaght Stadium was going to be big enough. Not sure what if any logic is behind that decision.
This decision has caused all the problems here. It's left the club in a bad situation and it's given fans fear that they'll end up without a ticket. I'm not sure how the ticket distribution could have been handled better as I dont know the ins and out's but I imagine it's been trying for everyone. I think everyone who wants a ticket will end up getting one when the dust settles.
Redie
06/11/2009, 11:18 AM
All this ticket scrambling was caused solely by the FAI. The average attendance for FAI Cup finals over the past four years (05-08) was 16,456. So i dont know how or who though Tallaght Stadium was going to be big enough. Not sure what if any logic is behind that decision.
This decision has caused all the problems here. It's left the club in a bad situation and it's given fans fear that they'll end up without a ticket. I'm not sure how the ticket distribution could have been handled better as I dont know the ins and out's but I imagine it's been trying for everyone. I think everyone who wants a ticket will end up getting one when the dust settles.
Totally agree. It shows exactly how much faith the FAI have in League of Ireland soccer. Dalymount was the place for it.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/11/2009, 11:26 AM
Tallaght with bucket seats is bigger then Dalymount capacity wise
I'd say there will be some Waterford fans having a little chuckle to themselves about the ticketing.....
06/11/2009, 11:28 AM
I am a share holder, a season ticket holder and a 400 club member. There is no way in F@CK I should get 6 tickets. It would not be fair or RIGHT on everyone else. NO MORE EXCUSES.
Redzer, I admire your attitude but , as far as I am concerned, I would be quite happy with you getting 6 tickets in recognition of your support of the club.
On an unrelated matter, Celtic seems to have dropped the Mammy in the brown mucky stuff.:)
06/11/2009, 11:33 AM
On an unrelated matter, Celtic seems to have dropped the Mammy in the brown mucky stuff.:)
*And so it begins......
*For those who know what I'm on about ;)
He surely has brought her to Brown Town
DonalE
06/11/2009, 11:50 AM
Why cross the street when you can cross the hall?
Wait til da_real_rover is online....
celticV3
06/11/2009, 11:57 AM
Celtic V,
Is you Mum a member of any of the above categories?
Are you a member? Were all the tickets adults?
When U2 have a concert sale and the tickets go on sale @ 9am or whenever, they are sold out fairly quickly and there always going to be disappointment. If you go looking for a U2 ticket @ 11am, you wont get one.
The same when Next have their sale @ 5am, and you arrive in @ 11am looking for a bargain and it aint there.
If you really feel this strong about it Celtic V, then maybe you should go to your Mum and say to her that she shouldn't really have got those tickets and she should return them to the Club so that genuine supporters can avail of them.
You can give me a call if you want me to collect them off you.
You are definitely wrong when you say half the people that got tickets tonight were not of those categories. If you have names, please let me know.
You were asking asking for specifics and I gave you one I know is definitely true. She is not a member of any of those clubs which made the fact she was told she was allowed as many as she wanted even more unbelievable. If the tickets were for sunshiners and for the covered section I would not have allowed her to take a regular supporters seat but only one was for herself and the rest were for regulars who couldn't make it last night and all were for the uncovered section.
I know those selling the tickets last night were on a voluntary basis, but the fact remains that the tickets were being sold to anyone who came along. When people realised they were not getting asked for season tickets they were on the phone telling others to come up and collect there's, I was there and witnessed people doing so that's why I mentioned it before.
The early bird catches the worm.
It was late Monday evening when the ticket allocation was finalised and we only got the tickets yesterday morning.
You have to remember that everybody on the committee are all volunteers and I think thr people selling the tickets did a very good job.
It mightn't be a perfect way of doing, but if people have a better way of doing things, please let us know.
So those who chanced their arms arriving to the showgrounds last night without season tickets and not being members of any specific club should be rewarded for doing so while those who realised that it was only for those who were members of clubs or season ticket holders miss out. I don't want to be seen as having a go, I do realise the hard work put in on a voluntary basis, I just think that if the intended plan was to remain intact then people should have had to produce their season ticket on purchase and those who were not members, volunteers or season ticket holders would have to come to the Drogheda game tonight to collect their ticket.
celticV3
06/11/2009, 12:03 PM
*And so it begins......
*For those who know what I'm on about ;)
He surely has brought her to Brown Town
Off topic!!!
Blowin_Rover
06/11/2009, 12:13 PM
was told at 1oclock 700 tickets left from guys selling at showgies!!!!!!!
bingoballs
06/11/2009, 12:19 PM
Originally Posted by Kevin L http://foot.ie/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1265052#post1265052)
Hi CF1989,
The only people who will get tickets tonight will be the season ticket holders, the 400 club members etc.
with all due respect, why tell us you are going to do something and then turn around and do something totally different. I am coming to the game tonight in the hope that there will be a ticket left for me. I will be disgusted if there isn't to be frank. No more then everybody else on this site, I emailed the top brass of the FAI on this matter aswell as MNS, Liveline etc etc to try and increase our ticket allocation. We all tried to do our bit on behalf of the club and if anyone of us is left without a ticket then I'm sorry but its a shocking indictment on the club.
I don't care where I have to sit, all I want to do is see my team in the FAI cup final. I hope I'm worrying about nothing and I will be a happy man leavin the grounds tonight with our premier league status gauranteed and looking forward to a trip to tallaght.
06/11/2009, 12:27 PM
Just be there at 6.30, and you'll be gauranteed a ticket.
Knappagh Red
06/11/2009, 12:35 PM
We also have a number of junior and youth clubs who take a certain number of tickets each home game-I'm sure they got a few per club. .
Heard someone who has never been at a game gloating about the two stand tickets he got from Strand Celtic who got 20 tickets, while people who go to every game but are on the dole and cannot afford to buy a season ticket are left out, typical
prodsc
06/11/2009, 12:41 PM
Anyone know when the Ticketmaster allocation (600) are going on sale?. Can't find any reference to it on their site!
Just seen this;
http://www.loi.ie/index.php/about/press-office/1301-fai-ford-cup-final-ticket-information
T/master 9am sat. Capacity towards 8,500- does that mean only 1 end will have temporary seats?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/11/2009, 12:59 PM
Has it not been said before that everyone who wants a ticket will get a ticket? I don't care whether I get a stand ticket or a covered ticket I'll just be happy to be watching the bitored in the FAI Cup Final for the first time in 15 years.
Guts&Glory
06/11/2009, 1:08 PM
Has it not been said before that everyone who wants a ticket will get a ticket? I don't care whether I get a stand ticket or a covered ticket I'll just be happy to be watching the bitored in the FAI Cup Final for the first time in 15 years.
That may end up being the case (everyone getting a ticket in the end) however the Club weill still have handled the situation in a very poor and totally unacceptable manner.
The tickets in effect went on general sale yesterday when they were supposed to be restricted to 400 club members etc. and to 2 per person.
That is not the way it has played out and left the fans that have been going week in week out chasing tickets.
BTW the tickets have been on sale to the general public again since this morning so anyone who hasn't got a ticket before the Drogheda game will be left sweating.
Wasn't part of the reason to sell the tickets pre/during the Drogheda game to boost gthe attendance at that match???
That is unlikely to happen now given the amount of tickets now sold.
showgies
06/11/2009, 1:15 PM
It is the principle that loyal supporters of Sligo Rovers were not afforded the preferential treatment they were promised by the club, that has riled people, not the fact whether or not everyone gets a ticket.
showgies
06/11/2009, 1:21 PM
It would be interesting if everyone attending tonights game entered through the Season Ticket turnstile, just to observe how many times people are asked to show their season ticket.
06/11/2009, 1:41 PM
It would be interesting if everyone attending tonights game entered through the Season Ticket turnstile, just to observe how many times people are asked to show their season ticket.
Im a season ticket holder for the past 8 seasons and i've always been asked at the turnstile.
showgies
06/11/2009, 2:01 PM
Im a season ticket holder for the past 8 seasons and i've always been asked at the turnstile.
You mean they don't know you "to see or by name" yet......even after eight years
06/11/2009, 2:04 PM
You mean they don't know you "to see or by name" yet......even after eight years
Well, you can't just walk through the turnstile, can you? Or just say "I'm a ST holder, let me in."?
d rovers
06/11/2009, 2:15 PM
I queried the point about checking the season ticket holders- all the season ticket holders go through the same stile each home game. The season tickets are sold and distributed by one man plus himself and 2 others work that stile and would know the majority of season ticket holders to see and by name. That is why the majority of people weren't checked.
i think you might be missing the point there chief.
06/11/2009, 2:21 PM
If you mean me d rovers... Showgies asked how interesting it would be to see how many poeple were asked for their ST. I just gave my opinion and my experience. Sorry if i missed any point, if there is one. I did'nt read back through the thread.
d rovers
06/11/2009, 2:33 PM
If you mean me d rovers... Showgies asked how interesting it would be to see how many poeple were asked for their ST. I just gave my opinion and my experience. Sorry if i missed any point, if there is one. I did'nt read back through the thread.
i think the point showgies was trying to make (& i'm open to correction on this one) was that season tickets are always checked on the way into a game(that would be my experience) & the excuse used for the season tickets not being checked last night was pretty lame. i'm sure showgies will shoot me down in a ball of flames if i have got that wrong.
moving on - anyone know approx how many tickets are left for sale this evening? i know people heading to the game tonight & just wondering what their chances are of picking up a ticket.
06/11/2009, 2:43 PM
i think the point showgies was trying to make (& i'm open to correction on this one) was that season tickets are always checked on the way into a game(that would be my experience) & the excuse used for the season tickets not being checked last night was pretty lame.
I didn't read the first 2 or 3 pages. Sorry, didn't realise ST holders weren't being asked for their actual season tickets. Balls to that.
Dixie Dean
06/11/2009, 2:45 PM
Lads give Kevin a break here. From what i can see he has looked after everyone on here especially those looking for a singing section. If the club miss handled this then its no fault of Kevin's. Dont shoot the messenger.
I will be amazed if anyone who genuinely wants to go doesnt get a ticket.
red bellied
06/11/2009, 3:05 PM
I was up there this morning and they reckoned they be all gone by this evening.
MMVIII
06/11/2009, 3:13 PM
Was told there all sold out now by a friends father. So does that mean none will be on sale tonight? Or the remaining singing section tickets?
Kevin L
06/11/2009, 3:46 PM
A lot of valid points posted above-I dont have time to answer them now but I will hopefully after the match.
It appears that there was a number of tickets sold to people who were not in the above categories and I apologise for that.
There are some tickets left for the uncovered section and will be on sale tonite. For people who dont get a ticket and still want one- their names will be taken and hopefully we will have tickets for them next week.
Singing Section:
The trust have taken some more off me plus I have given some out to regulars who go in the singing section on match days.
I have 50 tickets left for this section which I will put on sale seperately from the other tickets. They will go on sale @ 6.30 pm and it will be strictly 1 per person. This means we will have another 50 people who will get tickets-it will be a first come first serve basis and it will be 1 per person.
d rovers
06/11/2009, 3:52 PM
thanks for the updates Kevin. It is great to see such a huge interest in this game & hopefully more tickets will become available so that everyone who wants a ticket will get a ticket.
sligobhoy67
06/11/2009, 5:24 PM
so how many tickets have we sold?
red bellied
07/11/2009, 10:56 AM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100502:fai-ford-cup-final-ticket-information&catid=18:fai-ford-senior-cup&Itemid=51
The 2009 FAI Ford Cup final will be held in the Tallaght Stadium on Sunday, November 22nd, when Sligo Rovers and Sporting Fingal compete for the most famous prize in Irish football.
Additional seating will be installed into the Tallaght Stadium for the 2009 FAI Ford Cup final, raising the capacity towards 8,500.
Tickets for the match are priced €25 (adult covered seating), €20 (adult uncovered seating) and €10 (Under-16s all areas). Supporters can purchase tickets through the participating clubs.
A limited number of tickets will go on sale through Ticketmaster at 9am on Saturday, November 14th.
showgies
07/11/2009, 9:25 PM
Any chance of an apology forthcoming from Sligo Rovers to season ticket holders, 400 club member etc..for their major balls up with the tickets.
If not then they will be one season ticket member less next year, one weekly lotto ticket less purchased and one less half time draw ticket purchased. Oh! you can also stuff any raffles etc throughout the year up your arse.
07/11/2009, 9:34 PM
Any chance of an apology forthcoming from Sligo Rovers to season ticket holders, 400 club member etc..for their major balls up with the tickets.
Did you not get your ticket(s) Showgies??
showgies
07/11/2009, 9:53 PM
Rovers1 I did get a ticket (uncovered stand), which may make me sound like a whinger, but that isn't my gripe. It has bugged me all weekend, particularly listening to stories of the ticketing process on Thursday night. As I stated before it is the principle that loyal supporters of Sligo Rovers were not afforded the preferential treatment they were promised by the club. No show of loyalty was reciprocated to loyal supporters by the club, despite an advertised promise.
I just feel that I cannot let it go without getting the club to admit their error and apologise. I know that I am not alone in this sentiment.
Dixie Dean
08/11/2009, 7:40 AM
I bought some tickets for the uncovered section before the drogheda game and as a season ticket holder asked about thursday nights shenagins. The reply i got was "I know there were things said on Ocean FM but its not true". When i said i know people who got tickets but arent season ticket holders they just blanked me, typical rovers thought this attitude was long gone.
You have to ask yourself what is the point of a season ticket if you dont get looked after at times like this. Why couldnt they have put 500 tickets in the stand aside for about a week. That would have given all people eligible plenty of time to get one. And we ask why the sunshiners dont attend every game.
Brain-Dead club.
roversman
08/11/2009, 8:29 PM
If not then they will be one season ticket member less next year, one weekly lotto ticket less purchased and one less half time draw ticket purchased. Oh! you can also stuff any raffles etc throughout the year up your arse.
yes typical of sligo rovers to shun the people that kept them going down through the years whats new for them they always f*** up
they should be bending backwards to look after the fans they got. even should have a section for the season tickets holders in the stand too so they will have a seat and not some sunshiner sitting in the best seat
cop on rovers get your act togeather
money signs is all you see
roversman
08/11/2009, 8:29 PM
Brain-Dead club.[/QUOTE]
so true
whiteagle
08/11/2009, 10:24 PM
fair enough , but can you just get over it and stop your whinging and moaning , if you were as pushed as you are on the forum then you should have been there when the tickets went on sale from day 1 and purchased the ticket you wanted .. there doing a great job up there in the showgies let it be and go and enjoy the game .. typical sligonian .. negative.com
whiteagle
08/11/2009, 10:27 PM
Brain-Dead club.
so true[/QUOTE]
Brain dead club .. as has been said everyone that has wanted a ticket has got one or will end up with one stop yer bitching .. shams and sligo are the 2 most stable teams in league of ireland football now they must be doing something right .. brain dead .. i dont think so .. you should commend the volunteers up there for doing such a great job in there personal time ..
showgies
08/11/2009, 10:41 PM
but can you just get over it and stop your whinging and moaning,
You are missing the point, but thanks for your insightful response. Getting over it and stopping whinging are two things the club would like me to do, but I won't.
srfc1928
08/11/2009, 10:47 PM
The club messed up the ticketing, no doubt about it.
But at least we've problems like a lack of tickets/allocation of tickets to contend with.
Lets look back to the era of the Don, how we would have loved to have problems then like we have now.