View Full Version : Shels v Sporting Fingal Playoff
LeixlipRed
09/11/2009, 10:57 AM
Apart from our games against Bohs, Rovers and Pats i really can't remember an away crowd bigger than 70/100 in the Carlisle this season, and i would say we have only brough 70/100 plus to away games on 2 occasions. Away support for most clubs in the League is quite poor in fairness.
I would argue you just proved his point. Notice the location of all those clubs you mentioned.
09/11/2009, 11:19 PM
Apart from our games against Bohs, Rovers and Pats i really can't remember an away crowd bigger than 70/100 in the Carlisle this season, and i would say we have only brough 70/100 plus to away games on 2 occasions. Away support for most clubs in the League is quite poor in fairness.
This would have a lot to do with most game taking place on Fridays. There's not a hope of me getting to any away games after work.
I lived in Drumcondra and getting out to Belfield was a nightmare after work on a Friday so I never did and I had an aversion to EVER paying money to Franchise! I refuse to go to Morton unless it's a Cup game.
I could however get to the few away games that were on a Saturday. I suspect that I'm not the only one in this boat.
Ciaran W
09/11/2009, 11:41 PM
Are rte showing either of the matches tomorrow ?
LeixlipRed
10/11/2009, 10:37 AM
Slapped a sizeable sum on SF to win tonight to numb the pain if they do walk all over us. Will be forgotten about if we win though!
dublinred
10/11/2009, 2:36 PM
Was thinking of going to this one can you pay at the gate or is it all ticket?
LeixlipRed
10/11/2009, 2:41 PM
You can buy a ticket at the ground. 745 ko
HarpoJoyce
10/11/2009, 4:35 PM
You can buy a ticket at the ground. 745 ko
Is that Slovakian Koruny?
http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi?Amount=745&From=SKK&To=EUR&image.x=45&image.y=8
745.00 SKK = 24.7295 EUR
Slovakia Koruny Euro
25 Euro? it's a little higher than I was expecting.... do you accept An Post vouchers?
LeixlipRed
10/11/2009, 5:03 PM
I've witnessed the last game of Dublin City, Kildare County and please god, the last game of Sporting Fingal will be witnessed tonight.
Shelbourne FC, franchise killers.
Ciaran W
10/11/2009, 5:48 PM
I really hope shels win tonight,when do the winner of this place the loser of bray and drogheda ?
10/11/2009, 10:15 PM
Unlucky Shels. Thought at one stage in the season ye might pull away or at least maintain the top spot for the rest of the season. Just goes to show how tough it can be to go back up to the premier and that not all teams find it so easy. Have done well to be up there in the last two seasons taking into consideration they start the team from scratch when relegated.
Riddickcule
10/11/2009, 10:19 PM
Feel for Shels so i do, oh well third time lucky!
10/11/2009, 10:22 PM
Feel for Shels so i do, oh well third time lucky!
They'll be going for fourth time lucky. Finished 6th or 7th the first season i think, lost out on the last day last season and knocked out in the play offs this season.
10/11/2009, 11:29 PM
There are no words to describe how I feel. Whilst I freely admit that on balance Fungus probably deserved to win there was an awful stench from some of the decisions made tonight. Two clear advantages that were called back to give the Fungus a card. Sending Bisto off for what he did; easily one of the strangest decisions I've ever seen at a game of soccer. Almost as weird as that reneged penalty during the summer. Calling over Colly to tell him to calm down in the 90th minute after the he had got the ball in a fair albeit hard tackle whilst his team were losing 2-1. Even the peno we were given was dodge.
Best of luck Bray! These shower do not have the suport or will of the rest of LOI fans to be in the Prem.
PS.
Oddly I counted near enough to 200 Fungi in the Riverside stand tonight and there was also a good few in the Richmond Road Stand as well.
My hole that these all paid for their tickets.
10/11/2009, 11:36 PM
Went down to this. Loads of Bohs fans there (probably more than fingal!;) ) thought the ref ruined the game, especially with the Shels sending off. If Shels had come out and played football from the start instead of hoofing it we might not be now facing the prospect of franchise in the Premier next year.
COME ON BRAY!!!
10/11/2009, 11:52 PM
Went down to this. Loads of Bohs fans there (probably more than fingal!;) ) thought the ref ruined the game, especially with the Shels sending off. If Shels had come out and played football from the start instead of hoofing it we might not be now facing the prospect of franchise in the Premier next year.
COME ON BRAY!!!
I agree. Once Hynes and Quiggo came on the game was completely changed. I'm truly gutted.
COME ON BRAY!
sean_irl
11/11/2009, 6:43 AM
Went to the game as a neutral...with a slight bias towards seeing Shels go up. The ref was outrageous, however Bisto was very very foolish in getting that first yellow.
Shels biggest problem was at the left side of defence....horrendous is the only word for it. Fingal sent everything down their right side. Exact same thing happened at the Longford game..... yeh I was at that as well (when I should have been in Dalyer..don't ask).
Its bad for Shels and the Premier leauge not to be up their next season. :(
11/11/2009, 7:22 AM
Great game.
Better team won - just about.
I thought the ref had a good game and got all the big calls right except maybe the penalty (looked a dive to me). However Fingal did seem to get the 50-50 calls.
Flood had to go. Pushing the keeper was a yellow card offence (arguably even a straight red). He was lucky to survive so long before getting his first yellow.
2 great goals from Fingal.
stickyjoe
11/11/2009, 7:40 AM
Great game.
Better team won - just about.
I thought the ref had a good game and got all the big calls right except maybe the penalty (looked a dive to me). However Fingal did seem to get the 50-50 calls.
Flood had to go. Pushing the keeper was a yellow card offence (arguably even a straight red). He was lucky to survive so long before getting his first yellow.
2 great goals from Fingal.
Have to agree with most of that, except I thought Floods yellow was a little bit harsh, was just the usual barney I thought of getting the ball off the keeper.
How did O`Neill manage to stay on? Got only a yellow card for kicking a player on the ground after the ball had well gone and then he kicked the ball away when Shels were taking a free right on front of the ref.
11/11/2009, 8:55 AM
dreadful result :S
11/11/2009, 9:14 AM
Have to agree with most of that, except I thought Floods yellow was a little bit harsh, was just the usual barney I thought of getting the ball off the keeper.
How did O`Neill manage to stay on? Got only a yellow card for kicking a player on the ground after the ball had well gone and then he kicked the ball away when Shels were taking a free right on front of the ref.
Didn't realise that would have been a 2nd yellow but yes ball was clearly kicked away to waste time and let go.
Flood was trying the patience of even his own fans long before the first yellow.
Still thought the ref had a very good game. It was a tough game to referee.
The Betting Man
11/11/2009, 9:48 AM
The ref had a nightmare of a game,it was never a peno the foul was outside the box and the sending off was a joke,that incident happens every week without a player getting booked yet last night the ref(Declan Hanney I think it was) decided to give Flood his 2nd yellow,common sense should of came into play,2-1 in the biggest game of the season with 15 mins left all Flood wanted to do was get the match restarted asap.After he was sent off everybody knew that Shels wouldnt score again pity though it would of made it an interesting last 15 mins if it was 11 v 11.
After the results last night Fingal are promoted there is no way Bray will win over the 2 legs,I hope they do but cant see it happening
11/11/2009, 10:29 AM
what will happen to the shels squad and dermot keely for next season? ie I cant imagine Ritchie Baker stayin another season in the first division no offence!
11/11/2009, 10:41 AM
Wouldn't be surpised to see one or two of the better ones head to Drogheda, the likes of Damien Brennan and Baker maybe.
11/11/2009, 11:01 AM
Wouldn't be surpised to see one or two of the better ones head to Drogheda, the likes of Damien Brennan and Baker maybe.
Damien Brennan certainly wouldn't be classed as one of their better ones going on his performance against us recently, looked to be over the hill to me. Definitely wouldn't hack it in the Premier.
The Betting Man
11/11/2009, 11:11 AM
Heard McAllister is off to Rovers
Hairy Bowsie
11/11/2009, 11:33 AM
what will happen to the shels squad and dermot keely for next season? ie I cant imagine Ritchie Baker stayin another season in the first division no offence!
Well hopefully Keely leaves. He can't take us any further than here. As for your Baker comment, you almost seem to be insinuating that he's good and not only that but good enough to play in the Premier. Not a chance, he'll be lucky if we keep him.
Daisy has been bloody woeful all season, don't think anyone would have him and i certainly don't want him at Shels but thats not my call.
Heard McAllister is off to Rovers
Possibly so, although there was talk that he may be going to travel Oz for a while, though that may be nonsense. If he did go Rovers then fair play to him, himself and Delany pretty much dragged us to that play off last night, on their own and they are both playing below themselves at Shels. Both would be good enough for a top 3 Premier side.
11/11/2009, 11:35 AM
As for your Baker comment, you almost seem to be insinuating that he's good and not only that but good enough to play in the Premier. Not a chance, he'll be lucky if we keep him.
Was your best player against us a few weeks ago. Granted, most of your other players were crap that night, but still, thought he looked like he still has it in him to play in the premier.
11/11/2009, 11:39 AM
Well hopefully Keely leaves. He can't take us any further than here. As for your Baker comment, you almost seem to be insinuating that he's good and not only that but good enough to play in the Premier. Not a chance, he'll be lucky if we keep him.
Daisy has been bloody woeful all season, don't think anyone would have him and i certainly don't want him at Shels but thats not my call.
Damien Brennan certainly wouldn't be classed as one of their better ones going on his performance against us recently, looked to be over the hill to me. Definitely wouldn't hack it in the Premier.
Fair enough, seen sweet FA of him this year really. Maybe I'm just remembering him in his heyday.
Hairy Bowsie
11/11/2009, 11:41 AM
Was your best player against us a few weeks ago. Granted, most of your other players were crap that night, but still, thought he looked like he still has it in him to play in the premier.
He's capable of a good game now and again but i honestly don't think he's Premier standard anymore, he just couldn't do it consistantly enough. His 2nd half of the season was good but not brilliant. The first half of the season, he was over weight and just pure muck.
JC_GUFC
11/11/2009, 12:29 PM
Went along last night and wasn't too impressed with Shels at all. Daisy was shocking and Richie Baker doesn't look anything like the player he was before.
I thought Peter Hynes had lost a bit of weight since I last saw him but he looks more like a Junior footballer.
The sending off seemed harsh - though I couldn't clearly see what he did - but I'd have thought it should've been a straight red or nothing.
12/11/2009, 11:00 AM
Didnt realise that things had got bad for Ritchie.. so it just shows to prove his decline started when he went to drogs.. :eek:
hoops1
12/11/2009, 2:07 PM
Just seen the sending off. It was an absolute disgrace. Hard to believe a teams season can boil down to such an awful decision.