View Full Version : Shels v Sporting Fingal Playoff

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Buile Shuibhne
04/11/2009, 10:33 PM
The Rovers Vs Franchise FAI Cup quarter-final replay in Tallaght saw only 42 tickets bought and paid for by Franchise fans.

Franchise only had 70 odd paying supporters in their away league game to Shels in the summer.

These away paying attendances at matches on their doorstep in Dublin is most indictative of their total lack of any paying support.

Even Dublin City had more. They had a football background and genesis in Home Farm.
Franchise came from nothing and have nothing.

04/11/2009, 10:44 PM
There was 201 at the most recent match they played against Limerick i believe. Not great numbers by any means but still a nice difference between 40/50 fans and 200.

Back to the actual game. Fingal have been no great shakes all season when you consider the team they assembled but its the business end of the season now and with the players they have i think its now when it will count and their class will come through. Fingal to just shade it in a very good match. I think if Fingal do win they have a great chance of going up in the second playoff. If Shels beat Fingal i don't think they will go up.

Lamper.sffc
05/11/2009, 12:42 AM
The Rovers Vs Franchise FAI Cup quarter-final replay in Tallaght saw only 42 tickets bought and paid for by Franchise fans.

Franchise only had 70 odd paying supporters in their away league game to Shels in the summer.

These away paying attendances at matches on their doorstep in Dublin is most indictative of their total lack of any paying support.

Even Dublin City had more. They had a football background and genesis in Home Farm.

You know what. Your right

05/11/2009, 9:11 AM
There was 201 at the most recent match they played against Limerick i believe. Not great numbers by any means but still a nice difference between 40/50 fans and 200.
Really don't want to prolong this mickey debate, but the 201 was a home game, with the implication being that it included Limerick fans and freebies. The 42 and 70 were for away games where no free list would have applied.

Anyways, can we get this thread back on the topic of the game? I think enough has been said about Fingal's crowds and what have you, so I think it's fair that any more discussion from either side on the crowds issue should be moved to rubbish to facilitate match discussion.

Lamper.sffc
05/11/2009, 12:27 PM
You know what. Your right

Sarcasm boys;). No need to be thanked.

Lamper.sffc
05/11/2009, 12:49 PM
Honest question for the shels lads. Really not trying to start anything.

What would yous hope the home crowd (just shels) in tolka would be.

What was it for the limerick game last year?

Again lets not make this an argument about crowds. Im honestly curious as to what size of crowd you could hope for.

1895ringsend
05/11/2009, 1:11 PM
I don't think there'l be much difference in the size of the crowd if the game is at morten or tolka. There was just over 2000 at the game against limerick last season. Where half of these people are during the season i have no idea but thats just typical of the league in general and most clubs suffer with that. I'd imagine shels will have to get to the play off final before our fair weather fans make another appearance. So basically we won't see them this season:D

I would hope that at tolka there could be close to 2000 people there and if the game is at morten then the 1500 or so that were at the league game a few weeks ago. I'm including both sets of fans in those figures. There was over 1400 against UCD a few weeks ago. In fairness i think there'l be a lot more than 70 or whatever fingal fans there this time if its in tolka.

Lamper.sffc
05/11/2009, 1:25 PM
I don't think there'l be much difference in the size of the crowd if the game is at morten or tolka. There was just over 2000 at the game against limerick last season. Where half of these people are during the season i have no idea but thats just typical of the league in general and most clubs suffer with that. I'd imagine shels will have to get to the play off final before our fair weather fans make another appearance. So basically we won't see them this season:D

I would hope that at tolka there could be close to 2000 people there and if the game is at morten then the 1500 or so that were at the league game a few weeks ago. I'm including both sets of fans in those figures. There was over 1400 against UCD a few weeks ago. In fairness i think there'l be a lot more than 70 or whatever fingal fans there this time if its in tolka.

Cheers. Just trying to get an idea of what the crowd might be. If memory serves me right it was around the 1100 mark for the league game in tolka. Should be more than that hopefully. (if it end up at tolka that is)

Ronnie
05/11/2009, 2:22 PM
The only result I don't want is Sligo and Fingal in playoff - 3 games in a few days!

marinobohs
05/11/2009, 2:25 PM
Cheers. Just trying to get an idea of what the crowd might be. If memory serves me right it was around the 1100 mark for the league game in tolka. Should be more than that hopefully. (if it end up at tolka that is)

So we all agree that the final result will be SHELS 900 SPORTING 42 ? seems a bit strange but should make for good TV :):)

05/11/2009, 2:35 PM
So we all agree that the final result will be SHELS 900 SPORTING 42 ?

It's not that much more than Shels' last home game.

05/11/2009, 6:03 PM
Can't see there being more than 1,000 at the game next Tuesday.

dublinred
05/11/2009, 6:49 PM
Whats the story with the playoffs is it 2 legs then another 2 against the premier team also what are shels like these days is it a typical keely team with big goalie, 4 choppers at the back , 2 choppers in midfield , 2 wingers and a big and little guy up front just hoping fingal might pick up a few knocks/suspensions for the cup final. Given that they are a fulltime outfft the extra games will probably be a boost for them in the run-up to the final if we miss the playofffs they could be a lot sharper than us sitting around for a few weeks.

galwayjames
05/11/2009, 7:20 PM
Whats the story with the playoffs is it 2 legs then another 2 against the premier team

exactly

05/11/2009, 11:51 PM
Whats the story with the playoffs is it 2 legs then another 2 against the premier team also what are shels like these days is it a typical keely team with big goalie, 4 choppers at the back , 2 choppers in midfield , 2 wingers and a big and little guy up front just hoping fingal might pick up a few knocks/suspensions for the cup final. Given that they are a fulltime outfft the extra games will probably be a boost for them in the run-up to the final if we miss the playofffs they could be a lot sharper than us sitting around for a few weeks.

I had thought leading up to it it was a 2 legged playoff for the first division teams and in the match against the premier team the same, but from talk here i take it it is 1 match playoffs in both games.

Lamper.sffc
05/11/2009, 11:53 PM
Whats the story with the playoffs is it 2 legs then another 2 against the premier team.

One off game and then a 2 leg game against the prem side.

GlasnevinRed
05/11/2009, 11:54 PM
The playoffs are 1 leg between the teams within division (ie one match between Shels and Fingal and one match between Drogs and whoever else) and then 2 matches between the FD and PD teams.

Edit: See I was beaten to it.

06/11/2009, 5:30 PM
so with Derry Citys imminent relegation it would be Drogheda v Bray and Fingal v Shelbourne. Correct?

galwayjames
06/11/2009, 6:26 PM
so with Derry Citys imminent relegation

Derry can only be relgated by the FAI and the time for that is February I think so the play-offs would still be Drogheda v Pats/Sligo/Ourselves. What might happen instead is the loser of the play-off might keep their place in the PD.

Lamper.sffc
06/11/2009, 7:23 PM
Derry can only be relgated by the FAI and the time for that is February I think so the play-offs would still be Drogheda v Pats/Sligo/Ourselves. What might happen instead is the loser of the play-off might keep their place in the PD.

Dont think that will be the case. Id say Bray will end up in a playoff (if Derry go down)

Buile Shuibhne
06/11/2009, 11:24 PM
http://i3.bebo.com/042a/9/large/2008/04/19/17/261895143a7496111790l.jpg

Lamper.sffc
07/11/2009, 1:32 AM

just shows the bitterness

Is this not flaming. Or is it just fingal fans who get punished for this stuff?

Ps. This is one of the times Shels said they had more than 800 at our ground :)

07/11/2009, 8:21 AM
Sorting Fingal should not exist?

What the hell have Shels got against the post office?

CSFShels
07/11/2009, 12:08 PM
Sorting Fingal should not exist?

What the hell have Shels got against the post office?
Looks to me like it says R-Ting Fingal, which is probably a petname for Robbie Doyle's latest R&B project.

CSFShels
07/11/2009, 12:09 PM

just shows the bitterness

Is this not flaming. Or is it just fingal fans who get punished for this stuff?

Ps. This is one of the times Shels said they had more than 800 at our ground :)
You know your stand is alot bigger than whats shown in the picture, there'd be alot over the other side which is where I'd be standing myself.

Lamper.sffc
07/11/2009, 12:32 PM
You know your stand is alot bigger than whats shown in the picture, there'd be alot over the other side which is where I'd be standing myself.

On your own so;)

07/11/2009, 12:55 PM
Lamper, that's not trolling, it's humour. If you don't get it, you'd be better off sticking your own forum (http://foot.ie/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=97), where inter-club banter is not allowed. And I'll tell you again, for the last time: if you have a problem with a post, report it.

Note "last time" in the last sentence. Next time you'll get an infraction for thread spoiling, and that included replying to me here.

The rest of ye, back on topic please.

Lamper.sffc
07/11/2009, 1:15 PM
Lamper, that's not trolling, it's humour. If you don't get it, you'd be better off sticking your own forum (http://foot.ie/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=97), where inter-club banter is not allowed. And I'll tell you again, for the last time: if you have a problem with a post, report it.

Note "last time" in the last sentence. Next time you'll get an infraction for thread spoiling, and that included replying to me here.

The rest of ye, back on topic please.

I said flaming:D

LeixlipRed
07/11/2009, 1:16 PM
It's just a joke. Get over it.

07/11/2009, 1:54 PM
I'd just ignore him if I was you, he obviously hasn't a brain in his head.

Infraction given for thread spoiling. Next one will be for ignoring a moderator warning.

07/11/2009, 2:36 PM
best of luck shelbourne !!

LeixlipRed
07/11/2009, 2:41 PM
best of luck shelbourne !!

Yeh good luck to them :confused:

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 2:59 PM
Yeh good luck to them :confused:

We all want you to win for the first time in history :)

07/11/2009, 3:05 PM

i dont get it, can someone explain?

"Like the human appendix, ja? Goody and light beer, a ting final should not exis"

whats with the german? Whats goody?

07/11/2009, 3:09 PM
Uh, doesn't Jade Goody already not exist?

07/11/2009, 3:10 PM
Indeed. As is right and proper.

07/11/2009, 3:13 PM
Harsh but fair.

07/11/2009, 3:16 PM

There's probably still a few bits left.

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 3:17 PM

I imagine the photo must've been taking earlier in the season or last season.

07/11/2009, 3:17 PM
I think the importance of this game is even greater than we can make out as a result of the Derry decision. Also for the sake of the LOI I hope we end up in the Prem. Boy are we and it missed!

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 3:18 PM
I think the importance of this game is even greater than we can make out as a result of the Derry decision. Also for the sake of the LOI I hope we end up in the Prem. Boy are we and it missed!

Do another First Division team have to come up or do you have to play a PD team first before promotion?

07/11/2009, 3:20 PM
Do another First Division team have to come up or do you have to play a PD team first before promotion?
The winners of this match still have to play a premier division team but if Derry are relegated, it'll be, arguably, a weaker premier team than it would have been otherwise.

galwayjames
07/11/2009, 3:22 PM
The winners of this match still have to play a premier division team but if Derry are relegated, it'll be, arguably, a weaker premier team than it would have been otherwise.

Thanks and by the way, best of luck in the Premier next year, you're one of the only proper run clubs in the league

GalwayRed
07/11/2009, 9:50 PM
Picture is from the league cup match in 2008.

Its good to get a couple of positive results to end the season with a bit of confidence so hopefully we will be up for it on tuesday now.

Philly
07/11/2009, 10:13 PM
I hope Shels go up. They have gone about things the right way since they had their troubles and are still a fairly big club support-wise. Fair play to Fingal for their professional set-up and all, but I just think Shels would add something to the Premier Division, and Fingal maybe ned more time to grow organically as a club. Mind you, they'd be challengers next year if they went up!

Should be a close game.

Forza Redz
08/11/2009, 10:20 PM
Nerves are at me already, this will be a big one alright! Hopefully Dermo picks the right squad. Hoping for a big crowd, make some noise to get behind the Reds.

flash
09/11/2009, 8:12 AM
Anyone know if Darren Quigley still available for Fingal with Derry's troubles and was his loan extended beyond the end of the regular season. If he is not available he would be a huge loss.

Buile Shuibhne
09/11/2009, 9:29 AM
Was Darren Quigley on a dual contract with Derry and will he now be suspended?

The Irish Independent understands that officials in Abbotstown became aware of the discrepancies when they were handling an issue related to the loan move of goalkeeper Darren Quigley from the Northerners to Sporting Fingal.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/derry-to-play-hardball-1937597.html

09/11/2009, 9:58 AM
Bit of a blow for Shels. Quigley's a good attacking outlet for youz.

09/11/2009, 10:07 AM

Apart from our games against Bohs, Rovers and Pats i really can't remember an away crowd bigger than 70/100 in the Carlisle this season, and i would say we have only brough 70/100 plus to away games on 2 occasions. Away support for most clubs in the League is quite poor in fairness.