31/10/2009, 1:56 AM
Ha ha. You beat me by 15 minutes!

Amazing night, still can't believe the Tolka result. :D

31/10/2009, 2:04 AM
Congrats. :)

31/10/2009, 8:51 AM
It may not be quite the same standard but our general play this season and tonight reminds me of the quote for the late Jock Stein after the 1967 European Cup final: “There is not a prouder man on God’s earth than me at this moment. Winning was important, aye, but it was the way we have won that has filled me with satisfaction. We did it by playing beautiful football. Pure, beautiful, inventive football. There was not a negative thought in our heads." The team have played some lovely positive enthusiastic football this season.

Our success this season is also testement to those who run the club behind the scenes like Tony Sheridan and Diarmuid McNally. To be relegated and lose almost your entire team and to have the structures in place to absorb those blows and compete with and better teams with larger budgets is a commendable feat and speaks volumes for the club. Well done to the committee, Martin Russell, Diarmuid and the players.

31/10/2009, 9:52 AM
Best team I've seen all season, congrats. Delighted we messed up Shels' hopes as well, couldn't happen to a nicer crowd!:p

Kildareman
31/10/2009, 10:51 AM
Well done lads.
Its good to see that by playing good football and not kicking lumps out of teams you can actually be successful.
Carry this on next season and you's should be ok.

Monkfish
31/10/2009, 2:12 PM
Well done to all involved at UCD.

Wont miss trying to find the ground or the half time tea :)

31/10/2009, 2:15 PM
To quote Peter Griffin - "Unfreakingbelievable"

Brendan Dillon afterwards reckoned it was the best footballing team he's ever seen us have. Paul Corry is like the missing link - seven wins and one draw in the games he started, and that one draw was the one he was subbed off in.

Gonna be some night in the Montrose next week!

But we've got to build on this next season as a club and get more through the gates. With the league in meltdown, there's a serious chance for us to steal a march on some clubs.

gufc2000
31/10/2009, 4:50 PM
Congrats lads, I certainly didn't expect ye to come up this year or figure much in the promotion race especially with a new manager. But ye have let the football do the talking and the league table doesn't lie. Ye sound like a good attacking side. Looking forward to playing ye next year in the Premier, but we have to secure our place in the Prem next year first and hopefully we will by getting the right result against Cork next week

prince20
31/10/2009, 5:44 PM
Congratulations to all involved. Without doubt UCD were the best footballing side i seen play this season.

31/10/2009, 7:32 PM
I wonder how many pints this thing holds? (http://www.sportsfile.com/id/327422/5001/)

01/11/2009, 4:47 PM
I wonder how many pints this thing holds? (http://www.sportsfile.com/id/327422/5001/)

I think Aidan Lynch got about two and a half bottles of white wine into it in the Lilywhite Lounge last year. :)

Well done to UCD, they were my second team for the year while I was out there doing a masters (although I'll always be Trinners at heart :p). Will the trophy be displayed on campus for the year or where will it go? I'm sure you could use it to promote the club around college come the start of the new season..

Youths4Ever
01/11/2009, 5:08 PM
well done on great season by far and away played the best football of the top four from what I saw this season

01/11/2009, 5:40 PM
I think Aidan Lynch got about two and a half bottles of white wine into it in the Lilywhite Lounge last year. :)

Ah the warm wine! Nicest drink ever...:p:D

01/11/2009, 6:20 PM
I hope the Budweiser and red wine experiment with the Under 21s league trophy isn't repeated.

stann
01/11/2009, 7:34 PM
Well done UCD! :)
Best team won, playing the best football, simple as that.
Popular champions too. ;)

ATFC-1887
03/11/2009, 1:56 AM
well done lads
ye simply hammered us
best team in the division by a long shot

04/11/2009, 11:54 AM
Longford highlights -

SUJm5XU0G7M

Special commentary from Terry. :)

It's lazy to call this one of the most important games of the run in, so I won't, but I think it is the best performance of the run-in. It's particularly nice to see the clock ticking down, but us still playing ball and creating chances rather than panicking and hoofing. We end up getting our just reward as a result.

Titan
04/11/2009, 12:43 PM
Well done chaps. Hopefully the squad and staff will stay together and make a decent impact in the premier.

blue til i die
04/11/2009, 3:34 PM
Fair play lads, by far the best footballing team i've seen this season, well deserved.

Btw your first goal in the longford game was a cracker!

04/11/2009, 3:49 PM
Yeah, it had a late charge for the top of the Goal of the Season charts; ended up third, which wasn't bad given many people had already voted at that stage!

(And of course, for all the good footballing stuff, it was a route one goal...)

04/11/2009, 4:05 PM
Can we not still vote? :)

04/11/2009, 4:09 PM
Nope, voting's closed!

10/12/2009, 4:29 PM
Picked up our pennant during the week. (http://www.loi.ie/index.php/about/press-office/1339-bohemians-and-ucd-presented-with-champion-flags) Far more important than the trophy!