View Full Version : RIP eirebhoy

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

4tothefloor
30/10/2009, 11:43 PM
Shocked. RIP mate

Closed Account 2
31/10/2009, 12:58 AM
It's simply tragic news. The poor kid had only just moved over there. At a time of economic crisis he went to try and get a job and make a success of his life, echoing the voyage many Irishmen have made throughout our nations history. Like so many of us his love in life was football and the green shirt and he followed the team with such passion, joy and dedication.

We've lost one of our own and it's very hard news to digest.

SuperDave
31/10/2009, 1:32 AM
You know, there has been so much said on here, so obviously heartfelt, that I don't think there is anything I can add that hasn't been said already. I think his mother is incredibly strong and level headed right now and it is testament to how she raised her son as a considerate intelligent gentleman.

RIP Gearoid.

ShelsNeil
31/10/2009, 4:03 AM
I knew EB well on boards.ie (I moderate soccer over there) and also read many of his insightful posts on this site and it is a tragic loss to the Irish football community.

If there is one thing to come of this it is the enormous sense of heart warming unity shown by football fans no matter their colours.

It is certain that his name will live long in the memory thanks to those who knew and respected him.

R.I.P. Gearoid, and thanks for the memories.

gilberto_eire
31/10/2009, 4:14 AM
Just spotted this now, hadn't even heard the original story until i opened this thread.... terrible to hear, doesn't look like the type to draw trouble in the first place, reminds me of the 18 yr old who was stabbed down here outside the nightclub in town by the Polish national a few mths back

R.I.P

Don't see it mentioned here, so not sure if it's new news but according to a Sydney paper the man wanted for questioning handed himself in, so at least he won't walk scot-free after this :mad:

http://www.smh.com.au/national/beautiful-by-day-coogee-turns-deadly-at-night-20091030-hpro.html

irishfan86
31/10/2009, 7:07 AM
There will be a tribute for him at the Celtic match tonight- not sure if it will be on TV, but I'll be tuning in to a web-stream early this morning here in Canada just in case.

Just giving people a heads up if they weren't aware.

31/10/2009, 8:02 AM
I've just arrived back from holiday to find this. What a shock. :(

RIP Eirebhoy, foot.ie afficionado, the mod's mod and a true gent.

:ball: PP

backstothewall
31/10/2009, 9:41 AM
I saw this yesterday in work but was a bit to shocked to leave a reply. It really is the last thing you expect on a Friday afternoon. Terrible.

From everything I hear in the press he was as nice a lad in person as he was on here. His family also seem to be wonderful people. Gearóid's mum has said the guy who did it was just very unlucky and shouldn't go to prison. That is quite simply the most gracious and forgiving thing I have ever heard said.

RIP Eirebhoy

31/10/2009, 10:24 AM
There will be a tribute for him at the Celtic match tonight- not sure if it will be on TV, but I'll be tuning in to a web-stream early this morning here in Canada just in case.

Just giving people a heads up if they weren't aware.Can somebody tape this & stick a link up?

31/10/2009, 10:27 AM
I read (unconfirmed) that it will take the form of his photo coming up on the large screen with a condolence/tribute message.

Drumcondra 69er
31/10/2009, 10:33 AM
I read (unconfirmed) that it will take the form of his photo coming up on the large screen with a condolence/tribute message.

I'd love to see something similar at the home leg of the France game with a minute's applause, does anyone know if representations have been made to the FAI yet or what the best way to go about this is?

31/10/2009, 12:30 PM
there's a list of the streams for the Celtic game on myp2p (don't want to link directly, in case it's not allowed)
I'll do what I can to record it, but they might not show the tribute. Usually a stream will start right on kick off.

31/10/2009, 2:01 PM
sorry lads, as I suspected the stream didn't start until right on kick off, so I wasn't able to record the tribute.
With any luck it will be made available online soon

DeLorean
31/10/2009, 2:40 PM
Mcgeady banged one in for him today!!

Very appropriate. Only took him 13mins too, nice one.

31/10/2009, 3:11 PM
supposed to have been an absolute cracker as well!

celticV3
31/10/2009, 3:29 PM
Took this from another forum...

HI guys,

My name is Alasdair, and I am a moderator over on Gersforum. I just wanted to come over here and let you guys know we share your grief. "wheels", as he was known to us, used to post on the gersforum. He was a proud celtic man, but didnt let bigotry or hatred get in the way of banter, good discussion, and a good laugh.

I am now based in Dallas, Texas and I called World Football Daily yesterday, which is the biggest football show in North America. They read the tribute I put together for Eirebhoy/wheels at the beginning of the show.

If you look for "world football daily" on itunes, and download yesterdays show, you can hear it.

I just wanted to share just a few of the of condolences that have been left on the gersforum - there is currently 6 pages

Sad stuff, puts silly football rivalries into perspective. He came across as a pretty clever guy too.

RIP

Bloody hell, i'm absolutely stunned.

His family have lost a son, brother, newphew, grandson....and the forum has lost a great poster.

Rest In Peace Wheels.

A waste of young life, taken in his prime.

This could happen to any one of us.

Wheels /Gearoid's relatively short life has surely served purpose, for in the posts on these pages it's been demostrated that there are good, civilised people who DO appreciate that football and/or religion is no reason to hate.
It may not always be evident, today it is.

Thank you Gearoid, for helping us to see the error of our ways.

Rest in peace and God bless and keep you young man.

He crossed lines many of us don't, and we thought there would be no better tribute than come over here and let you know we stand with you in grief. I think we can all agree it puts things into perspective a bit, when sometimes we can all get a bit carried away.

RIP Gearoid

The Gerforum

31/10/2009, 3:41 PM
Mcgeady banged one in for him today!!
Here's the goal - http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/3790862/
from that angle to get a shot on target, never mind a goal, is some achievement

31/10/2009, 3:59 PM
Took this from another forum...

HI guys,

My name is Alasdair, and I am a moderator over on Gersforum. I just wanted to come over here and let you guys know we share your grief. "wheels", as he was known to us, used to post on the gersforum. He was a proud celtic man, but didnt let bigotry or hatred get in the way of banter, good discussion, and a good laugh.

I am now based in Dallas, Texas and I called World Football Daily yesterday, which is the biggest football show in North America. They read the tribute I put together for Eirebhoy/wheels at the beginning of the show.

If you look for "world football daily" on itunes, and download yesterdays show, you can hear it.

I just wanted to share just a few of the of condolences that have been left on the gersforum - there is currently 6 pages

You can download the podcast without having to go through iTunes here: http://www.wfdpodcast.com/WFD103009.mp3
The tribute is read just after the 5:50 mark

31/10/2009, 4:25 PM
It was reported that his picture came up on the big screen at half time at Celtic Park.

Scram
31/10/2009, 4:29 PM
It was reported that his picture came up on the big screen at half time at Celtic Park.

Well done to Celtic if true.

31/10/2009, 5:32 PM
Here's hoping the FAI will do something similar

blobbyblob
31/10/2009, 5:41 PM
Here's hoping the FAI will do something similar

Hear Hear - I'm amazed but not shocked that Gearoid had such an amazing effect on so many people all over the world

co. down green
31/10/2009, 6:23 PM
Saw this posted over on the Kerrydale Street forum Part of a conversation eirebhoy had with another poster

8 Sep 2009, 11:38 AM

TC678 - Anyone who supports a national team over their club has no understanding of what football is all about, IMHO.

eirebhoy - The love for my country overtakes the love for football. As much as I'd find it hard to live without football.

31/10/2009, 6:39 PM
The tribute from the Gersforum is very moving, its heartening to read so many tributes to Eirebhoy, I hope that his family can take some comfort from reading these pages.

31/10/2009, 7:16 PM
An image of Celtic's tribute to Gearóid: http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/single/?p=8884582&t=8216966.

31/10/2009, 7:18 PM
Sure the FAI should do something similar, Eirebhoys love of the national team was on a par with that of Celtic.

31/10/2009, 7:21 PM
Sure the FAI should do something similar, Eirebhoys love of the national team was on a par with that of Celtic.

According to the man himself his love for the national team was great than that for any club.

Montenegrin
31/10/2009, 7:37 PM
Rest in peace.
He was so young.Thats why I hate big cities,this kind of things happen to often.

boovidge
31/10/2009, 7:45 PM
It's great that a massive club with fans all over the world, like Celtic, can make a gesture like that to one of their fans. Restores my faith in football a little bit.

31/10/2009, 8:29 PM
yep your right boovidge. Celtic well done. Top class.

cheifo
31/10/2009, 11:41 PM
I heard Gearoids Mother and was deeply moved but had no idea it was EB until now.

I can only add to everyones shock and offer sympathies to his lovely family.

It is clear from reading through tributes he was a young fella who had a wonderful gift for drawing people in.

23 years of age...

RIP lad.

Lenny82
01/11/2009, 5:28 AM
I haven't been on Foot long but EireBhoy's name rang a bell and what has happened is an absolute tragedy. So much respect must go to his mother and his older brother who have come out and said that they don't consider this murder and hope for a lenient sentence for the other guy.

We all know things could have went differently and Geiaróid could have been "in the dock" but for his family to come out and show such compassion, is something to be admired and deserves so much credit.

It is such a shame that two families lives will be ruined forever over this.

Gearóid Walsh, Rest in Peace.

01/11/2009, 7:50 AM
This is a picture, posted on the Kerrydale site, of the tribute to Eirebhoy at Celtic Pk.

http://i713.photobucket.com/albums/ww137/Roseanne_CFC/100_0947-1.jpg

lopez
01/11/2009, 10:26 AM
Sure the FAI should do something similar, Eirebhoys love of the national team was on a par with that of Celtic.Do the FAI know? Has anyone spoke to them?

It is also very moving to see people on Gersforum speak highly of the man, seeing that he was a fan of their rivals, and you can appreciate that he would have to have walked a fine line not to p*ss them off.

01/11/2009, 10:52 AM
I'm gutted I have to say. Eirebhoy was alongside Stuttgart, Tets and Gary Spain as the people on this forum (Ireland) whose opinions I'd wait patiently for and sometimes seek out.

The discussion, debates and opinions of yourself, eirebhoy and tetsujin among a few other are what made this forum so interesting to read. I havent been a member for too long but eirebhoy had outstanding knowledge of the game, R.I.P.

I'm quite honoured to be mentioned in the same post as eirebhoy, and if I'm honest a little embarrassed. He put me to shame on football knowledge. Just hope I can step up to the same standards in future. Before I launched the Irish Abroad site, I sent him the link for the work in progress to get his thumbs up and for any opinions on what needed to be added. I was looking forward to showing him the work done to date on the new site.

It's a little weird, but I keep opening new posts in threads, expecting to see eirebhoy's name next to a defence of McShane, or a proof about some point related to Andy Reid's crossing, or quotes pulled in from 3 different boards to explain what he believes about McGeady.

It's hard to understand that I'll never read that post.

Buller
01/11/2009, 11:19 AM
Just logged in to pay my respects.
Although I'm not a regular poster in the Ireland section, I am a frequent reader and enjoyed his balanced views.
Absolutely tragic news.

Rest in Peace, Gearóid.

Drumcondra 69er
01/11/2009, 11:33 AM
This is a picture, posted on the Kerrydale site, of the tribute to Eirebhoy at Celtic Pk.

http://i713.photobucket.com/albums/ww137/Roseanne_CFC/100_0947-1.jpg

That is very classy, fair play to Celtic. I feel very strongly that we need to ensure something similar is done for the home game against France, does anyone on here have any sway within the FAI to make this happen? I'm happy to write in but would be concerned it might get ignored if it doesn't got to the right person.

Bungle
01/11/2009, 12:02 PM
i have been coming on to this forum for years even though I don't always post. Eirebhoy was one of the main posters and always impressed me with his knowledge of the game and his passion for the green shirt.

Thoughts go to his family. To lose one so young in such circumstances.

RIP Gearoid and I hope you're sitting up there looking down on us smiling when we win the world cup.

YNWA

green army
01/11/2009, 12:36 PM
RIP. only "knew" eirebhoy through his posts here but they were the ones that you would stop and read.

sameold
01/11/2009, 12:43 PM
Rest in Peace Gearóid.

youngirish
01/11/2009, 12:50 PM
Do the FAI know? Has anyone spoke to them?

It is also very moving to see people on Gersforum speak highly of the man, seeing that he was a fan of their rivals, and you can appreciate that he would have to have walked a fine line not to p*ss them off.
I have mailed a guy in the FAI that citzenerased has assured me is the man to contact to get things done. Hasn't replied yet. I'll let everyone know if he gets back to me.

Chippy
01/11/2009, 1:08 PM
RIP Eirebhoy - i'm genuinely shocked, having been reading his posts for many years it's almost like I knew the guy. It puts things like ticket shortages etc. into context !
Fair play to Celtic, I hope the FAI can similiarly honour his memory in two weeks time.
Hail hail my friend ......................................

01/11/2009, 1:33 PM
short article in today's Indo about the online reaction to his death: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/internet-friends-mourn-lovely-guy-gearoid-1930438.html

Collyontour
01/11/2009, 6:08 PM
RIP Gearóid.

ken foree
01/11/2009, 8:29 PM
my god, just read this, how awful. R.I.P. Eirebhoy.

corkboy360
01/11/2009, 9:35 PM
R.I.P

Denis The Red
01/11/2009, 10:14 PM
Heard it on the news all week and thought how awful but after finding out he was a poster here with a real name and face and life it feels personal. It's not just another news story. It brings it all home how fragile life is.
Condolences to his family and RIP Eirebhoy.
Leaba imeasc na naomh go raibh acu
agus ag an chlann mac is iníon atá leo.

Greenforever
03/11/2009, 2:20 AM
Fantastic gesture today, well done adam

Agreed

citizenerased
03/11/2009, 2:23 AM
Fantastic gesture today, well done adam

absolutely fair play adam, lovely touch

Polster
03/11/2009, 7:39 AM
Just read the tributes from the Gersforum posted here. I think this sums the guy up. How many of us are that passionate and controlled that we would go onto a Rangers Forum to share thoughts and discuss matters in a respectful and intelligent way. From reading and hearing everything over the last week, I know Gearóid was not just another football fan. He was very special and was able reach out to all fans where others including myself would have let silly rivalries and even bigotry get in the way. I for one intend to try a lot harder to more respect and understand all football fans ideas and opinions regardless of teams, player loyalties, accent and historical rivalries.

I expect Gearóid has been taken for a greater purpose none of us and his family can try to understand, but I am also sure he will still be looking over his beloved Ireland and Celtic from ahigh.

Rest in Peace eirebhoy.