View Full Version : RIP eirebhoy

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

29/10/2009, 8:53 PM
Eirebhoy was equally as respected on the Celtic forum Kerrydalestreet as he was here and on boards.ie. Here's a thread dedicated to him there: http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/topic/8216966/7/#new . I'm surprised to see he was only 23. His posts were always informed, rationed and informative. As others have noted, he held to some very stubbon views e.g McGeady but he was always polite about it. I'll never forget his similar devotion and appreciation for Nakamura. He'd use any excuse to sing his praises no matter how tenuous it may be to the thread. He had such enthusiasism for the game and his beloved teams. I will miss him.:(

irishultra
29/10/2009, 9:02 PM
i remember on the neoseeker soccer forum i would copy and paste EB's posts on here and boards and use them as my own.

its sad thinking of all he won't get to see. as an ireland supporter i'll be thinking of him at the playoffs and beyond.

29/10/2009, 9:04 PM
His last post on these boards I believe, I guess he will never get to see those games.
http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1249732&postcount=316

I've gone ahead and thanked that post and out of hope and spirit I encourage everyone else to do it. A show of support that were thinking of eirebhoy.

I hope your ok buddy. I've enjoyed many a passionate debate with ya and hopefully one day I can again.

Keep Fighting!

EDIT: Death Confirmed................Rest in Peace. I hope your killers are brought to justice.

stiffler
29/10/2009, 9:11 PM
RIP Lad

Thoughts and prayers are with friends and family

Seemed to be a decent guy, this place will be worse without you

boovidge
29/10/2009, 9:14 PM
confirmed on RTE.

29/10/2009, 9:15 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1029/sydney.html

Confirmed on RTE.ie. Dammit anyway.

R.I.P. Eirebhoy, if the posts on here are anything to go by, you've got a hell of a lot of people you can call your friends, and I hope justice prevails. :(

aidz1
29/10/2009, 9:15 PM
RIP Gearoid,
Thoughts are with your family

29/10/2009, 9:20 PM
RIP.

Absolutely shocking news. He was a great poster on here and his love, appreciation and enthusiasm for real football will be sorely missed.

Boo_Boy
29/10/2009, 9:25 PM
RIP eirebhoy.

What a shock.

29/10/2009, 9:29 PM
:( just saw rte. :(

That meaningless punch, one act of stupidity over nothing probably, and that fella is now facing a murder charge. what a waste of two lives....sad sad terrible waste.

Lads, I hope now we can get that flag or some tribute to EB at the matches.

Razors left peg
29/10/2009, 9:29 PM
Incredibly sad news.My thoughts are with all his family and friends tonight.
Y.N.W.A.

29/10/2009, 9:30 PM
Rest In Peace eirebhoy. I can't speak for anyone else, but I'll miss you around here.

Drumcondra 69er
29/10/2009, 9:32 PM
Just checked back on this thread hoping there was an improvement, that's awful awful news. 23 is no age, am so sorry to hear this.

R.I.P. fella, my thoughts are with your family and friends.

sheao
29/10/2009, 9:33 PM
My thoughts are with his friends and family,
RIP eirebhoy !

29/10/2009, 9:35 PM
Very nice guy. Enjoyed the couple of chats we ahd about football, and the numerous posts here (and elsewhere)

RIP fellah

sligofan4ever
29/10/2009, 9:37 PM
RIP eirebhoy :( A life cut tragically short for probably no good reason at all. Condolences to his family and friends and I hope justice provails for them in this tough time. The build up and after toughts of Ireland matches may never be the same, a lad who had great knowledge of the game and was always great to read what he had to say.

Right , we're fighting to reach the WC, lets do it for Gearoid lads! He would be cheering the lads on 100% as he always has and they should do it for him! I hope they have foot.ie up in heaven for him where he can check on us now and again :)

R.I.P

Liverpool have been waiting 20 years for justice for 96 fans. Lets hope they catch his killer(s) before that time as soon as possible and they get whats coming to them.

Paddy Garcia
29/10/2009, 9:39 PM
Feel totally sick, tragic news. He seemed a very decent guy.

RIP Eirebhoy

29/10/2009, 9:41 PM
Rest In Peace eirebhoy. I can't speak for anyone else, but I'll miss you around here.

Same here, I had noticed he had not posted for a while and wondered why.
I have had my run-ins with him as I have with many forum moderators, including yourself, but I will really miss him.

29/10/2009, 9:42 PM
RIP Gearoid

Though you'll always be Eirebhoy to hundreds of us.

YNWA

Dr. Ogba
29/10/2009, 9:43 PM
Jesus this is horrific news...never thought that i'd get upset over something like this happening to someone i only knew from the internet but he seemed like an absolute gent with a great passion (that we all share) for Irish football

RIP Eirebhoy. Condolences to the family and friends...awful awful stuff

I like the idea of the flag and would be more than willing to contribute...would be a very fitting tribute

Crosby87
29/10/2009, 9:45 PM
My condolences to any of you who knew the lad in person.
Very Sorry to see he has passed.
I must admit when i first read it this afternoon I was sure he had just been in a bad scrap and would recover.

musicinmouth
29/10/2009, 9:49 PM
RIP eirebhoy :(

Battery Rover
29/10/2009, 9:56 PM
Having read his posts over a number of years he came across as a gentleman and even when he was provoked kept a level head.

RIP Eirebhoy

YNWA

kingdom hoop
29/10/2009, 10:03 PM
:( RIP Eirebhoy.

Highly emotional. I think the collective outpouring of admiration and sorrow here and elsewhere is particularly testament to his special manner - an easy warmth, and so polite and considered. Easily one of my favourite posters for that alone. Maybe if there's something bright in the midst of this darkness it's that such an exceptional person has enriched so many lives.

29/10/2009, 10:18 PM
Just saw this, as I'm just an occasional visitor to the Ireland forum, and from the title of the thread, I expected something along the lines of "happy birthday eirebhoy!"

Terrible to scroll down through 7 pages and see injury turn to rumour turn to death. I never met the guy, but like others, it was obvious from his posts that he was a rational and level-headed guy whose love for Ireland was deep and true. This forum will be far the poorer for his absence.

My thoughts go out to those who knew him, those who have lost a brother, a son, and a friend.

May he rest in peace.

Murfinator
29/10/2009, 10:29 PM
Woah, that's really shocking. He was probably the standout member of foot.ie for me. I had him favorited on my youtube page too, he put up some quality vids on the Irish team, though apparently that account is suspended now.

Anyway condolences to his family.

dynamo kerry
29/10/2009, 10:34 PM
condolences to his friends and family at a very sad time.

forums like these are a community and he was part of the backbone of this one. He will be missed.

29/10/2009, 10:41 PM
Just thinking, we've had some queer one minute silences at Ireland matches down through the years, this would be highly appropriate time for one.

southern red
29/10/2009, 10:43 PM
Rip eirebhoy, ynwa.

29/10/2009, 10:48 PM
As said he was probably the most respected poster here. I can't recall him arguing with another. We all have "enemies" on foot.ie.......not eirebhoy.

He had 5,471 friends. Rest in Peace friend.

29/10/2009, 11:00 PM
Shocked to log in and see this thread tonight. It's hard to imagine the death of someone you only know as a forum username having such an impact. :(

RIP eirebhoy.

MMVIII
29/10/2009, 11:05 PM
Jaysus, thats shocking. Thoughts and condolonces go to the family. Poor fella. Nobody deserves that.

Rest in peace fella.

northerncelt
29/10/2009, 11:07 PM
RIP Eirebhoy

I login to this forum reilgiously but very rarely contribute. Feel compelled to pass on my condolences to his family and friends. Obviously this puts everything in perspective but Gearóid's passion for the game was unrivalled.

Without doubt a massive loss to foot.ie

29/10/2009, 11:10 PM
Said on RTE news he was out celebrating his sisters birthday and got into a row with a man...terrible stuff. R.I.P.

29/10/2009, 11:13 PM
Rest in peace eirebhoy, I just can't believe this.
A gentleman, will be sorely missed.

DeLorean
29/10/2009, 11:18 PM
This story has deeply effected me all evening, and I haven't really been at the computer since I finished work a few hours ago. I felt obliged to tell people I knew about it, like it was somebody I felt I knew, when in all honesty I really didn't. It's difficult to comprehend why I feel such deep sorrow, I've been almost trying to convince myself how silly it is. I mean we hear stories like this everyday and although they're terrible, they don't linger long in my mind. It also makes me think if I feel this bad without even knowing the guy, what is his family going through. EB- my thoughts are with you and hopefully McGeady can seal the deal for us (for you) in Paris, no pressure Aiden:)

Wexford Delboy
29/10/2009, 11:26 PM
RIP eirbhoy top man!

29/10/2009, 11:29 PM
Just thinking, we've had some queer one minute silences at Ireland matches down through the years, this would be highly appropriate time for one.
If we could get everybody signing the "We Love You" chant for one minute that he got going it would be quality.

gally
29/10/2009, 11:44 PM
Just another person who religiously logs in two to three times daily, who very rarely posts, sometimes theres no need to, as the craic keeps me entertained daily, God bless him, condolences to his family...John from London....

co. down green
29/10/2009, 11:49 PM
This story has deeply effected me all evening, and I haven't really been at the computer since I finished work a few hours ago. I felt obliged to tell people I knew about it, like it was somebody I felt I knew, when in all honesty I really didn't. It's difficult to comprehend why I feel such deep sorrow, I've been almost trying to convince myself how silly it is. I mean we hear stories like this everyday and although they're terrible, they don't linger long in my mind. It also makes me think if I feel this bad without even knowing the guy, what is his family going through. EB- my thoughts are with you and hopefully McGeady can seal the deal for us (for you) in Paris, no pressure Aiden:)

Great post.

Ireland & Celtic was his passion. Ireland fans should pay tribute to this young man at Croker before the French game.

He epitomised what following your country is all about. Every injury, team selection and result, he analised it all.

He reminds me of myself during Italia 90 & USA 94. Early 20's, a great hope, belief & desire to follow Ireland all over the globe. Just can't imagine the family grief at present.

Hibs4Ever
29/10/2009, 11:50 PM
R.I.P

29/10/2009, 11:53 PM
God help his poor mother having to flight out to him. Poor woman.

BaZmO*
29/10/2009, 11:54 PM
OMG. I just read this on Boards and I'm truly truly shocked.
I'd heard the reports on the radio but didn't know it was Gearoid.

Seemed like such a nice guy. So so sad.

I only knew hm from chatting on here and on Boards.

Best wishes to his family.

back of the net
30/10/2009, 12:05 AM
OMG. I just read this on Boards and I'm truly truly shocked.
I'd heard the reports on the radio but didn't know it was Gearoid.

think we all are Baz mate, as one of the lads posted earlier , were all a family of ireland fans here - really feels like weve lost one of our own even though the majority of us never had the pleasure or honour of meeting him.

Greenforever
30/10/2009, 12:06 AM
Only knew the guy from his posts here, a very keen footie fan and seemed a real gent, sincere condolences to his family,

RIP

EastTerracer
30/10/2009, 12:21 AM
I posted earlier before the tragic news was confirmed but it is so terribly sad to hear that Gearoid lost his fight for life.

Like most on here, I didn't know Eirebhoy but it is clear that we all feel a distinct sense of loss tonight. While we often hear of similar horrific stories or read about them in the papers I think the difference, on this occasion, is that we can all identify that we have lost one of our own.

I'm sure many of us have exchanged a nod or a 'howya' with Eirebhoy at an away game without ever being introduced. Maybe some of us have even stood beside him in a foreign stadium and shared the joy of an Irish goal or the frustration of defeat. We may not know each other personally but we all seem to share a common passion for our game and our team. While we may not always agree with each other on these forums it's obvious that the members are decent, friendly, intelligent people. In short we are sports people.

My heart goes out to Gearoid's family but it is clear that he was a young men held in very high esteem on these pages. I hope the family can take some small comfort from the impact that he had in his short life.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

MeathDrog
30/10/2009, 12:26 AM
Jesus, saw this on the news and felt sad. Now even worse again when I know that I'd been reading what he had to say over all these months/years. From what he wrote, seemed like a very knowledgeable you man when it came to sport.

RIP, I'd like to echo everyone else's kind words. I will be thinking of him when I'm at the France game. No doubt he will be watching from up above.

RIP

30/10/2009, 12:30 AM
RIP Gearoid. We've lost one of our own. I will do my best to pay my respects at his funeral, as soon as any announcements are made.

30/10/2009, 12:32 AM
Like many, didn't know him...but have read alot of his posts. Despite that the news still manages to knock you sideways...just like with wws.

RIP Eirebhoy. Prayers and thoughts go out to his family and friends. :(

theworm2345
30/10/2009, 12:49 AM
Wow, R.I.P. I'm in shock :(