View Full Version : Cup Final - Date and Venue
20/11/2009, 12:17 AM
Why talk about the attendance then because it is not a matter of tickets not selling well, its is incompetence on the part of the FAI to hold the game in Tallaght. Our club has had to come out with an official apology because of the lack of tickets that we were given to try and meet the demand and also some rovers fans resorting to buying fingal tickets.
So yes it might be the worst attended final in years, but that is only because the attendance is capped by those wanting to christen tallaght stadium. Its pointless talking about the low attendance figure that will come after sunday because nothing can be done about it because of FAI incompetence.
Where would you suggest holding the game instead then ?
Please give the capacity of any alternative venue you suggest.
Sean South
20/11/2009, 12:31 AM
If Tallaght was able to hold 12k for a meaningless friendly before the east stand was complete no reason why the FAI couldn't bring the capacity up to 12k+
celticV3
20/11/2009, 12:42 AM
Is the RDS not available? It holds more than tallaght is going to be able on sunday.
Buller
20/11/2009, 1:05 AM
Just to clarify, the attendence was 11,200 for the Real Madrid friendly.
2,000 extra seats seems very small considering we were able to fit in 3,000 seat temp stands at each end. With those temp stands at each end and the East stand now complete, the capacity should be even higher.
Should be a great day, the stadium looks unreal with all four sides complete.
(c'mon sligo!:ball:)
20/11/2009, 8:54 AM
Is the RDS not available? It holds more than tallaght is going to be able on sunday.
The RDS holds over 18,000, and doesn't look good unless it's about three-quarters full. The unroofed bits behind the nets make it look really empty, as they're the least popular seats.
It looked empty for last years final, which had over 10,000 at it.
I've said all along that the FAI should've had plans in-place to increase the capacity of Tallaght further if the demand was there. But this was always a game that was going to struggle to get a big attendance (again, not due to Sligo), so talk of going to venues that are more than twice the size of Tallaght is just fanciful.
dublinred
20/11/2009, 10:48 AM
...... that hasnt been fleeced!
Wouldn't put anything past the locals , seen a photo of the bucket seats taken last night and there is an Egyptian pyramid in the background.
20/11/2009, 10:50 AM
Doubly so seeing as the game is still not sold out.
Though Sligo is full of people clambering for tickets.
Apparently...
20/11/2009, 10:53 AM
Apparently...
Obviously the Fingal tickets so..send them down here.;)
dublinred
20/11/2009, 11:06 AM
Apparently...
Can you please stop wumming , this is in the Premier and First division forums as of now your club belongs in neither.
blackholesun
20/11/2009, 12:41 PM
It was cost effective to fit in as many extra seats as possible for the Madrid game coz the tickets were selling like hotcakes at 65 quid each.
It wouldnt be cost effective to do the same for the Cup Final at 25 five a pop, especially with Fingal in the final and they'll have a few hundreds "fans" tops.
Temporary stands cost money to hire and install!
The only poeple missing out are maybe a few hundred Sligo barstoolers / bandwagoneers. Anyone who really wants a ticket will get one.
bhs
Lamper.sffc
20/11/2009, 1:26 PM
It was cost effective to fit in as many extra seats as possible for the Madrid game coz the tickets were selling like hotcakes at 65 quid each.
It wouldnt be cost effective to do the same for the Cup Final at 25 five a pop, especially with Fingal in the final and they'll have a few hundreds "fans" tops.
Temporary stands cost money to hire and install!
The only poeple missing out are maybe a few hundred Sligo barstoolers / bandwagoneers. Anyone who really wants a ticket will get one.
bhs
You know if you say it tree times and click your heels together that makes it come true, Really, would i lie to you :)
EDIT
Is there any pictures of how the stadium looks with the tempory seating?
shedhead
20/11/2009, 2:17 PM
But they aren't. Becasue there are still tickets available on public sale.
Wrong.
Only today more tickets went on sale for Sligo Rovers fans. Sligo Rovers allocation of 4500 sold out in two days. The general public tickets (900) went on sale on ticketmaster on Saturday morning last and were sold out by lunch time. Since then Sligo Rovers have put together a waiting list if any tickets came back from Sporting. We could easily of sold another 1000 but we didnt have any, they were on sale in Fingal only, which I wouldnt really call public sale.
So comments saying that Sligo Rovers were idiots in requesting more tickets is pretty simply untrue, we dont have enough tickets to cope with demand. Simple as.
Also surely Dalymount holds more then 8,500. With the terrace behind the goals, I imagine could hold a very large amount. I reckon 10,000 but could be wrong. If a better supported team had got through to the final, heck any other team in the country, then there would of been much more hassle in getting tickets. FAI were lucky it was Fingal this year.
Wrong.
Only today more tickets went on sale for Sligo Rovers fans. Sligo Rovers allocation of 4500 sold out in two days. The general public tickets (900) went on sale on ticketmaster on Saturday morning last and were sold out by lunch time. Since then Sligo Rovers have put together a waiting list if any tickets came back from Sporting. We could easily of sold another 1000 but we didnt have any, they were on sale in Fingal only, which I wouldnt really call public sale.
So comments saying that Sligo Rovers were idiots in requesting more tickets is pretty simply untrue, we dont have enough tickets to cope with demand. Simple as.
Also surely Dalymount holds more then 8,500. With the terrace behind the goals, I imagine could hold a very large amount. I reckon 10,000 but could be wrong. If a better supported team had got through to the final, heck any other team in the country, then there would of been much more hassle in getting tickets. FAI were lucky it was Fingal this year.
Don't waste your time or energy - not to mention a few home truths - on the wind-up merchants Shedhead. We've got a Cup Final to prepare for.:):)
srfc1928
20/11/2009, 2:48 PM
It does make the Sligs fans look a tad ridicilious over the tantrum they threw alright. Luck for them the FAI didn't let the club go guarantor on the 100,000 tickets they wanted.
But they aren't. Becasue there are still tickets available on public sale.
Everytime we received tickets we've sold them out within hours.
to say they are on public sale is a bit daft, considering we are situated more than 200 km away.
EnglishSource
20/11/2009, 2:56 PM
I presume Dalyer holds less than 6000 as thats how many were at the Liverpool friendly. The terrace behind the goals has been condemned for nearly 10 years at this stage.
20/11/2009, 3:26 PM
Wrong.
He's right - there are tickets still on public sale (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1120/faicup.html).
20/11/2009, 3:54 PM
I presume Dalyer holds less than 6000 as thats how many were at the Liverpool friendly. The terrace behind the goals has been condemned for nearly 10 years at this stage.
The attendance for the Salzburg game (when only seats could be used) was 5,944
According to wikipedia - the capacity of DP is 7,955
The old main stand has been replaced by a modern structure with 2742 seats, known as the "Jodi Stand". Half of the terrace on the opposite side has been knocked down, the remainder has had seats installed on the terracing and now holds 3720. The old "Shed End", now called "The Des Kelly Carpets Stand" has similarly had seats added and now has a capacity of 1485. The terrace behind the opposite goal (or "Tramway End") has been closed. The modern capacity of Dalymount is about 7955
celticV3
20/11/2009, 4:04 PM
Apparently...
Theres no apparently about it, i'll say it again our club has had to come out an apologise for the lack of tickets to supporters desperate to get them. tickets were sold for a short while today and demand for those was also high, Some supporters have had to ask friends and relations in dublin to get them fingal tickets just to secure a place in the ground on the day. Hardly the sounds of a struggle to sell tickets.
I know fingal are struggling but if all the tickets for the ground had gone on sale in the showgrounds we could have filled tallaght ourselves. Just look at the crowd that was brought by us in 94
celticV3
20/11/2009, 4:29 PM
With respect, you are getting your excuses in early. You took a huge reputational risk in making such a fuss over your allocation. The game still hasn't sold out, so like it or not, you look like fools here.
Ticketmaster still has tickets. Has the internet not made it to Sligo?
How am I getting my excuses in ealry? The club wouldn't issue a statement regarding the lack of tickets available to them if there wasn't a genuine lack of tickets to meet the demand, simple as.
http://www.sligorovers.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=844:club-statement-re-fai-cup-final-tickets&catid=13:news&Itemid=246
http://www.sligochampion.ie/front-page/rovers-issue-an-apology-as-many-fans-are-left-ticketless-1944630.html
Also ticketmaster has been having a problem all week, try it now yourself. (http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/18004369979225AF?majorcatid=10004&artistid=962039&minorcatid=741&tm_link=tm_notix_Change_Search_Request) Either the tickets are all sold out or there is a problem with the site and that has been said more than once since they went on sale saturday.
Fact is look at how many fans were brought to dublin in 94. This is a footballing town and branches out to the county and in some cases other parts of the northwest. I stand by my opinion that we could have sold the stadium out ourselves if the tickets had been made available in sligo. If any tickets are still on sale they are fingal tickets.
red bellied
20/11/2009, 4:35 PM
No available tickets on ticketmaster, please try closer to the event. This game could have been sold out last week if more tickets had been sent to Sligo.
First allocation of 4,600 was distributed two weeks ago and had sold out the Saturday morning after the Drogheda match all within 36 hours. Next allocation was 600 through ticketmaster last Saturday morning (510 were available through local office). These were sold within half an hour of going on sale. Limited tickets received this morning in club shop and gone as quick. I say the Fingal allocation in outlets in Dublin has also taken a hit by Sligo people.
celticV3
20/11/2009, 4:45 PM
No, the fact is I picked up a pair of tickets from ticketmaster at lunchtime.
So your claims that there demand for 10,000 tickets in Sligo is clearly way off. Otherwise these ticketless Sligo fans would have bought them.
Its not rocket science.
No what isn't rocket science is that the ticketmaster site is down, and has been acting up all week. That makes it difficult for those trying to get tickets online. Also you cant seem to comprehend the fact that every ticket that goes on sale in this town is snapped up, there was a waiting list of a few hundred people awaiting news on whether or not fingal were going to allow Sligo Rovers sell their unsold tickets, any surplus that was sent down would have been or already has been sold within hours of going on sale.
There is no doubting the demand down here for tickets but the only tickets available now are in Fingals hands and it is unrealistic to imagine fans travelling mid week to dublin to get the tickets.
blackholesun
20/11/2009, 6:34 PM
Shamrock Rovers again promoting on their website today on behalf of the FAI that tickets are left ...
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1116-fai-ford-cup-final-tickets-on-sale
bhs
redarmyfaction
20/11/2009, 7:10 PM
Some facts.
(i)4500 tickets went on Sale in Sligo the Wednesday before our last home game, 3000 covered seats were sold in three hours the first night, the rest by the Saturday.
(ii) No other large allocation has been supplied to Sligo Rovers FC since then, (the club expected a large return from Fingal this day last week which failed to materialise). There may have been untold tickets for sale elsewhere but not in Sligo.
(iii) Many of the posts on this thread are inspired by an unarticulated yet deeply felt antipathy to what Sligo Rovers represent as a football club, ie what you want for club; that is to be the primary sporting representative for your community, town, area or county.
The Lep
20/11/2009, 7:16 PM
A few Fingal tickets went back to the fai this evening so give them ring. Only some of the €20 tickets left, about 100 or so.
20/11/2009, 7:23 PM
The attendance for the Salzburg game (when only seats could be used) was 5,944
There were plenty of empty seats on the Connacht side for that game. I don't know how many people that side holds but there could have been up to 1,000 empty seats there.
The Lep
20/11/2009, 7:31 PM
How many were they allocated and how many did they sell?
3,000 with 2800 sold. And before anyone jumps in, i know some dublin based sligo fans bought some of them and thats no problem as we share the gate money dont we? yes ? no? maybe? answers on a postcard.
21/11/2009, 1:40 PM
Thought the FAI got all the money from the final??
21/11/2009, 1:51 PM
3,000 with 2800 sold. And before anyone jumps in, i know some dublin based sligo fans bought some of them and thats no problem as we share the gate money dont we? yes ? no? maybe? answers on a postcard.
There's murmurings on Boards that they are giving away/discounting a lot 'em.
21/11/2009, 1:59 PM
Can you please stop wumming , this is in the Premier and First division forums as of now your club belongs in neither.
Well miaow ! It's difficult to picture you saying that without you having one hand on your hip whilst waving one finger on the other hand around sassy style. :o
In case you didn't notice - the name of this thread is 'Cup Final - Date and Venue'. I should know because I started the feckin thread. Discussion of capacity, tickets and attendance is well and truely part of the 'venue' half of that title. If you don't like that, then don't post. Simple as.
And I wasn't aware that posters on here had to support an LOI club. There are plenty who don't.
So grow the fcuk up.... :rolleyes:
21/11/2009, 2:06 PM
Theres no apparently about it, i'll say it again our club has had to come out an apologise for the lack of tickets to supporters desperate to get them. tickets were sold for a short while today and demand for those was also high, Some supporters have had to ask friends and relations in dublin to get them fingal tickets just to secure a place in the ground on the day. Hardly the sounds of a struggle to sell tickets.
I know fingal are struggling but if all the tickets for the ground had gone on sale in the showgrounds we could have filled tallaght ourselves. Just look at the crowd that was brought by us in 94
Why is Sligo Rovers apologising for a ticket allocation it had no say in ? :eek:
I've said all along that Sligo fans have done their bit by buying-up their allocation.
Though I do think it's pointless referring to a cup final attendnace from 15yrs ago in an effort to extrapolate a likely n attendance in 2009. The LOI is a different world now than it was in the early-to-mid 90's. We had a much bigger crowd at the 1994 final than we did at last year's, for example, so you just can't extrapolate in a straight line like that.
21/11/2009, 2:07 PM
Thought the FAI got all the money from the final??
They do and each team is paid a set amount of prize money. Guaranteed €75k plus another €25k I think if you win. There used to be a split of the gate receipts but that was changed by 2007 when we were in the final.
Lamper.sffc
21/11/2009, 3:15 PM
There's murmurings on Boards that they are giving away/discounting a lot 'em.
Of course there is. WUMs in full affect im afraid.
The Lep
21/11/2009, 3:24 PM
There's wummings on Boards that they are giving away/discounting a lot 'em.
And thats what they are, wums.
The Lep
21/11/2009, 3:30 PM
In fairness I find it hard to believe that Fingal can go from having well under a hundred at the semi final to "selling" 2,800.
Of course there was loads given away for cheap or free.
No. and stop your wumming.
21/11/2009, 4:04 PM
No. and stop your wumming.
Explain the jump then?
Lamper.sffc
21/11/2009, 4:13 PM
In fairness I find it hard to believe that Fingal can go from having well under a hundred at the semi final to "selling" 2,800.
Of course there was loads given away for cheap or free.
Not true.
If you have any evidence to the contrary then please provide. If not, you are simple a Wum.
We had Well over a hundred at the Bray game, im not even going to go down this road, but you know what your saying is wrong.
How can sligo go from 1500 to 6000 or more?:rolleyes:
Explain the jump then?
Eh:confused: Its a cup final
21/11/2009, 4:21 PM
How can sligo go from 1500 to 6000 or more?:rolleyes:
That's exactly the answer right there, it's a cup final ;) Sligo is full of event junkies. FACT
But...Fingal had how many fans at their Semi V Bray? about 3/400?? We had 4,000+. i don't see how SF can go from 400 to selling 2,800 without giving some kind of deal for the tickets or giving away free ones.
21/11/2009, 4:34 PM
Not true.
If you have any evidence to the contrary then please provide. If not, you are simple a Wum.
Eh:confused: Its a cup final
I'm not wumming, it's called observation.
SF have been handing out freebies all season, and it seems they are not doing any different now. Otherwise there'll be 2000+ Sligo fans in the Athlete's foot section tomorrow.
Lamper.sffc
21/11/2009, 4:57 PM
Iv been involved in selling the tickets. I think I might have a better idea than others on whether we are selling them on the cheap or giving them away. The club has been advertising the final non stop. There are plenty of people now talking about the club. These people are buying tickets. Iv seen it with my own eyes. Im not lying to prove a point. Its the truth
Yous can believe what you like if it makes you happy. Please, by all means, dont let the truth get in the way.
Now yous can carry on with your propaganda or yous can choose to believe what im saying. Your choice.
Lamper.sffc
21/11/2009, 5:10 PM
I'm not wumming, it's called observation.
SF have been handing out freebies all season, and it seems they are not doing any different now. Otherwise there'll be 2000+ Sligo fans in the Athlete's foot section tomorrow.
I didnt say you where.
Where are you getting your info about our freebies. If you just read about it on forums, then the amounts have been vastly exaggerated.
The freebies people keep going on about amount to aprox 100 (and thats being generous) at the largest of our attendances and less for smaller attendances.
They are schemes to try and attract new fans.
You call it an observation. Based on what evidence? Again if its the exaggerations of certain posters on here that you read, then your observation counts for very little. If its information from elsewhere then please enlighten me.
That's exactly the answer right there, it's a cup final ;) Sligo is full of event junkies. FACT
But...Fingal had how many fans at their Semi V Bray? about 3/400?? We had 4,000+. i don't see how SF can go from 400 to selling 2,800 without giving some kind of deal for the tickets or giving away free ones.
It was more than 400 but for sake of it lets say your right.
Your club and fans have been crying out for tickets. A lot of yous have gone on about how you could have sold a lot more than what you have. Would 8,000 sligo fans be an exaggeration? You average around the 1500 to 1600 do you not. Is the jump in interest for tickets not similar in comparison?
celticV3
21/11/2009, 6:09 PM
Why is Sligo Rovers apologising for a ticket allocation it had no say in ? :eek:
I've said all along that Sligo fans have done their bit by buying-up their allocation.
Though I do think it's pointless referring to a cup final attendnace from 15yrs ago in an effort to extrapolate a likely n attendance in 2009. The LOI is a different world now than it was in the early-to-mid 90's. We had a much bigger crowd at the 1994 final than we did at last year's, for example, so you just can't extrapolate in a straight line like that.
The club felt that because of the lack of tickets they should come out and apologise to those left without tickets, although there was not much the club could do otherwise, an apology was the least they could do to appease those who were left without tickets and on waiting lists.
No it cant be done in such a straight line but it is an example of the amount of interest the cup final awakens among the wider community down here and across the north west in general.
Anyways regarding the whole ticket situation and the attendace, either way I dont care. We are travelling in horrible conditions and probably going to have to endure the worst weather in a long time tommorow, as long as rovers lift that cup do you honestly think im going to care or any other rovers fan is going to care whether or not it isn't a record attendance in a capped crowd?:D
21/11/2009, 6:20 PM
We are travelling in horrible conditions and probably going to have to endure the worst weather in a long time tommorow,
It'll struggle to top the 2007 conditions... :eek:
as long as rovers lift that cup do you honestly think im going to care or any other rovers fan is going to care whether or not it isn't a record attendance in a capped crowd?:D
In that case, stop feckin crying about the limited capacity and availability of tickets then.... :D
I do hope Sligo win btw. Would be the best result for Irish football on a number of levels.
21/11/2009, 8:12 PM
Anyways regarding the whole ticket situation and the attendace, either way I dont care. We are travelling in horrible conditions and probably going to have to endure the worst weather in a long time tommorow, as long as rovers lift that cup do you honestly think im going to care or any other rovers fan is going to care whether or not it isn't a record attendance in a capped crowd?:D
the fai cup final in 2007 had absolutely dire conditions that day in the RDS.. The RDS imo was a poor ground to have the cup final in it as it was subject to the winter elements..:o
21/11/2009, 8:40 PM
the fai cup final in 2007 had absolutely dire conditions that day in the RDS.. The RDS imo was a poor ground to have the cup final in it as it was subject to the winter elements..:o
Millenium Stadium with a closed roof so? :p
The Lep
21/11/2009, 8:46 PM
Explain the jump then?
I dont think there was need for me to explain that now was there ?
21/11/2009, 9:51 PM
I dont think there was need for me to explain that now was there ?
Yes there is. Plenty need.
It's simply inexplicable without freebies/discounts.
Lamper.sffc
21/11/2009, 11:58 PM
This you answer but the valid points and questions i asked you ignore:rolleyes:
I think it says it all really.
Back to the game.
Looks like it going to be crazy weather wise. It will really get in the way of what could be a good football match.
Cant wait now. Good luck to the sligo lads but hopefully you go home empty handed.:p
The Lep
22/11/2009, 12:14 AM
Even a first time visitor could understand yet you keep on at it just to get a bite when you knew very well what has been posted previously.
Think of something new for next week will you please.
22/11/2009, 12:05 PM
Everyone, back on-topic please, and less of the bickering about WUMming.
22/11/2009, 5:36 PM
Millenium Stadium with a closed roof so? :p
yeah please! Ye got the bad weather today so you know what I am talking about now!;)