View Full Version : Sean Connor
who would you like to see getting the job shep
Mick Cooke:p Only joking!!! I really dont know,someone who can run a tight ship if needs be.Alan Matthews is prob a good example of that sort of manager.I was hoping things would have went a bit smoother than they have under Sean Connor and there would have been a bit of continuity,but its all up in the air at the minute.
29/10/2009, 4:37 PM
Mick Cooke:p Only joking!!! I really dont know,someone who can run a tight ship if needs be.Alan Matthews is prob a good example of that sort of manager.I was hoping things would have went a bit smoother than they have under Sean Connor and there would have been a bit of continuity,but its all up in the air at the minute.
i'd say mattherw would jump at the chance to manage a vaguley stable club after his last 3 jobs
Ezeikial
29/10/2009, 5:31 PM
Speculation on who will replace Connor is premature.
Grenock Morton do not appear to have offered the job to him at this point. The press reports from Scotland may be more got to do with putting additional pressure on levering their preferred choice, Allan Moore, from his current contract.
Even if Grenock Morton offered him the job, it is not certain he will take it. Similarly if they do not offer him the job, at this point it is not certain that Dundalk will agree a contract extension. There is a bit of a Mexican stand-off here, but from what I understand Dundalk will not be deflected from their position and negotiations by anything that is reported about Grenock Morton
loibigfan
29/10/2009, 6:00 PM
as for DA REAL ROVER'S comments on sean connors not finding any talent for sligo rovers correct me if im wrong but did he not find former sligo rover now everton right back Seamus Coleman and i no im not wrong because im a member from the club which seamus was signed from
29/10/2009, 6:02 PM
as for DA REAL ROVER'S comments on sean connors not finding any talent for sligo rovers correct me if im wrong but did he not find former sligo rover now everton right back Seamus Coleman and i no im not wrong because im a member from the club which seamus was signed from
It was actually our assistant Gerry Carr, who spoted Seamie's talent ;) (a well known fact)
loibigfan
29/10/2009, 6:54 PM
It was actually our assistant Gerry Carr, who spoted Seamie's talent ;) (a well known fact)
sean connors was seeing a girl from seamie's home town killybegs and spent alot of time about there (he is now living there and trains the gaa team this past 2 yrs) when he was about kilybegs he heard about seamie so organised a friendly to see him play....
29/10/2009, 7:00 PM
Did he tell you that himself loi?
Ezeikial
29/10/2009, 7:27 PM
The message is loud and clear.
Sean Connor did nothing for Sligo Rovers, he broke up the youth structure, ran people out of the club, signed all the bad players, Cassidy and Carr signed the good ones, failed to get the best out of any player, and was a bluffer and spoofer.
The First Division win was a fluke, achieved on a budget similar to Real Madrid. Fifth place in the premier the following year was a disaster.
Oh and everyone in Sligo was delighted that he left and weren't the slighest bit miffed about it all.
Big bad Seanie:eek:
You have a point there Ezeikial, I`m 50/50 on SC, I have a real problem with his lack of discipline and I dont like the way he mouths off, but almost securing us 5th place in the PD and having done this for Sligo, both achieved first year promoted for each club is a very decent effort by the man, it has to be said.
roversforever
29/10/2009, 8:19 PM
How could he not keep dundalk in the premier division with the calibre of player they have?Chrissy turner is the best midfielder in the league in my opinion. He has no contacts for players,most of his dundalk players are former sligo rovers or bohs players. And trust me its not for their love of seanie that most of them followed him to dundalk. And similarly anybody could have kept srfc in the premier when you consider we had liam burns,gavin peers,adam hughes,conor o'grady,faz,chrissy turner,harpal singh,darren mansaram,seamie coleman, etc. I know most of the players that played for him during his sligo rovers reign and i've yet to meet one who has a good word to say about him..not one. One player who no longer plays in this country even said to me that rob mcdonald was a better manager than him and thats saying something. It still annoys me that he's made so much money from football when all he's qualified in is PR but i suppose thats sligo rovers fault for giving him his break. The bohs fans couldn't understand what we were on about first and now they agree with us,dundalk fans will be the same. And Da Real Rover is 100% it was gerry cassidy who found ,ost of those players. Anyway i hope for their own sakes the poor fools don't give him the job.
29/10/2009, 8:22 PM
How could he not keep dundalk in the premier division with the calibre of player they have?Chrissy turner is the best midfielder in the league in my opinion. He has no contacts for players,most of his dundalk players are former sligo rovers or bohs players. And trust me its not for their love of seanie that most of them followed him to dundalk. And similarly anybody could have kept srfc in the premier when you consider we had liam burns,gavin peers,adam hughes,conor o'grady,faz,chrissy turner,harpal singh,darren mansaram,seamie coleman, etc. I know most of the players that played for him during his sligo rovers reign and i've yet to meet one who has a good word to say about him..not one. One player who no longer plays in this country even said to me that rob mcdonald was a better manager than him and thats saying something. It still annoys me that he's made so much money from football when all he's qualified in is PR but i suppose thats sligo rovers fault for giving him his break. The bohs fans couldn't understand what we were on about first and now they agree with us,dundalk fans will be the same. And Da Real Rover is 100% it was gerry cassidy who found ,ost of those players. Anyway i hope for their own sakes the poor fools don't give him the job.
why isnt gerry cassidy manager of someone??
roversforever
29/10/2009, 8:26 PM
why isnt gerry cassidy manager of someone??
Because he's a scout for sligo rovers!it takes different skills to be a manager e.g man management skills...well thats what i thought til seanie connor came along anyway!
Ezeikial
29/10/2009, 9:16 PM
So I take it you were kinda annoyed when he left Sligo?
Ezeikial
29/10/2009, 9:23 PM
.... we had liam burns,gavin peers,adam hughes,conor o'grady,faz,chrissy turner,harpal singh,darren mansaram,seamie coleman, etc. I know most of the players that played for him during his sligo rovers reign and i've yet to meet one who has a good word to say about him..not one.
Not even one? Maybe you don't get out much. Of the 9 players you mentioned I am aware of comments (most published) ranging from very positive to exceptionally complimentary from at least 5 of them.
Some of you guys are really great craic in your determination to be totally blinded in your refusal to acknowledge anything positive, despite the results speaking for themselves.
brianw82
29/10/2009, 9:25 PM
Not even one? Maybe you don't get out much. Of the 9 players you mentioned I am aware of comments (most published) ranging from very positive to exceptionally complimentary from at least 5 of them.
Some of you guys are really great craic in your determination to be totally blinded in your refusal to acknowledge anything positive, despite the results speaking for themselves.
Equally as many Rovers fans have acknowledged the results. Yet despite acknowledging the man's flaws yourself, you can't seem to accept the fact that some people have a harsher opinion of him than you do.
Ezeikial
29/10/2009, 9:30 PM
Equally as many Rovers fans have acknowledged the results. Yet despite acknowledging the man's flaws yourself, you can't seem to accept the fact that some people have a harsher opinion of him than you do.
Yes I realise that there are some intelligent and balanced views among Sligo fans.
I can also readily accept that some have "harsher views" - it's just that some of these posts are so biased and outlandish that they are really very funny. It's probably not right of me to take such craic from them!!
Rovers Maniac
29/10/2009, 10:08 PM
Yes I realise that there are some intelligent and balanced views among Sligo fans.
I can also readily accept that some have "harsher views" - it's just that some of these posts are so biased and outlandish that they are really very funny. It's probably not right of me to take such craic from them!!
Ho ho yes you are funny, by any chance are you PJ Gallagher or Des Bishop?
roversforever
29/10/2009, 10:14 PM
what do you expect them to say in the media?they're hardly going to criticise him.don't believe me if you don't want to,i don't really care either way!you'll open your eyes someday.i always liked dundalk so i hope he doesn't screw ye over,time will tell i suppose
showgies
29/10/2009, 11:10 PM
The message is loud and clear.
Sean Connor did nothing for Sligo Rovers, he broke up the youth structure, ran people out of the club, signed all the bad players, Cassidy and Carr signed the good ones, failed to get the best out of any player, and was a bluffer and spoofer.
The First Division win was a fluke, achieved on a budget similar to Real Madrid. Fifth place in the premier the following year was a disaster.
Oh and everyone in Sligo was delighted that he left and weren't the slighest bit miffed about it all.
Big bad Seanie:eek:
Nice accurate summary, at least you learned something form this thread
showgies
29/10/2009, 11:11 PM
He certainly signed during Connor's reign, but was never played.......it was Cook who gave him his chance in the 1st team
Ezeikial
30/10/2009, 12:06 AM
He certainly signed during Connor's reign, but was never played.......it was Cook who gave him his chance in the 1st team
Bloody disgrace isn't it. Sean Connor signs a promising 17 year old and refuses to make him a first team regular in Sligo's first season back in the premier. Now if only Gerry Cassidy had have been in charge, Sligo would have won the premier league with the under 18 team and stormed to Champions League and World Club success.:eek:
30/10/2009, 12:11 AM
Bloody disgrace isn't it. Sean Connor signs a promising 17 year old and refuses to make him a first team regular in Sligo's first season back in the premier. Now if only Gerry Cassidy had have been in charge, Sligo would have won the premier league with the under 18 team and stormed to Champions League and World Club success.:eek:
he was just making the point that connor had nothing to do in particular with colemans success bar signing him on a scouts advice mate.
MeathDrog
30/10/2009, 12:15 AM
surely greenock morton is a step down from dundalk though?
Lol :D :D
Ezeikial
30/10/2009, 12:37 AM
he was just making the point that connor had nothing to do in particular with colemans success bar signing him on a scouts advice mate.
If a manager signs a lemon he gets the stick, if he signs a good 'un he gets credit.......thats a resonable norm, except of course when it comes to Sean Connor and some really one-eyed bias from some Sligo supporters.
30/10/2009, 12:41 AM
,Liam Burns and Chris Turner.
Hopefully not..!
roversforever
30/10/2009, 1:28 AM
Very mature post.:rolleyes:Where did you see anybody say gerry cassidy should have been manager?all we're saying is he's the one who deserves the credit for unearthing these players,despite what seanie will have you believe.dick brush,faz kudozovic,adam hughes,chris turner,darren mansaram,gavin peers were all signed on his recommendation.one seanie insisted on signing against all advice was paul brown and look how that turned out!i can't help but notice your the only dundalk fan defending him
Ezeikial
30/10/2009, 2:03 AM
i can't help but notice your the only dundalk fan defending him
Maybe you have not read my posts - I have been both critical and complimentary of different aspects.
But I can't help but have fun though reading some of the Sligo posts .....heaven hath no fury like some Sligo fans scorned.
Had he not walked out on Sligo at the time and manner in which he did (for which I give him no credit), I have no doubt that the feelings of rejection and repulsion would be a lot different - with radically more realistic and balanced assessments of his indisputable contribution to Sligo Rovers
Where did you see anybody say gerry cassidy should have been manager?all we're saying is he's the one who deserves the credit for unearthing these players,darren mansaram signed on his recommendation
And in one sentance my opinion of Gerry Cassidys judgement is forever tarnished!!!:D
Rovers Maniac
30/10/2009, 9:00 AM
To be fair Turner won't be with Dundalk next year if Connor is not there esp if he goes to Scotland.
Friday October 30 2009
DUNDALK are monitoring the situation of Derry City manager Stephen Kenny amid uncertainty over the future of current Oriel Park boss, Sean Connor.
Reports in Scotland suggested that Connor was on the verge of being named as the boss of First Division side Greenock Morton before a late stumbling block emerged. The Belfast man is out of contract with the Louth club at the end of the season, and the board have yet to commit to a new deal.
With Connor interviewing for the Morton post, the Lilywhites are contemplating replacements and Kenny is on their radar. Former assistant, Joe Miller, is another who might come into contention while Drogheda manager Alan Mathews is also respected by the powers that be at the border club.
Kenny's position is unclear, in tandem with that of his club with Derry City looking for an advance on prize money for this season from the FAI in order to be able to give some money to their players who are behind on their pay.
As it stands, the Northerners are in danger of being unable to meet the licensing deadline of December 21 for settling all wages owed this year. A possible sanction is a points deduction that could lead to relegation for the side which sits fourth in the Premier Division.
Infadel
31/10/2009, 10:51 AM
Looks like Connor won't be getting the Morton job:
http://www.greenocktelegraph.co.uk/news/greenock/articles/2009/10/31/393546-grady-and-mcmanus-get-ton-job/
31/10/2009, 11:01 AM
Joke of a man the midst of a fairly volatile atmosphere last night, towards the ref and our chairman, seanie decided it'd be professional to make a 1-0 sign as he walked off at half time, a few minutes after the mass brawl.
Cue many 2-1 signs at full time as he sprinted off the pitch as fast as possible.
He team is unbelievably scummy and that has to be coming from him
Dillonman
31/10/2009, 11:02 AM
He aint going to Scotland now:
http://www.greenocktelegraph.co.uk/news/greenock/articles/2009/10/31/393546-grady-and-mcmanus-get-ton-job/
Da Real Rover
31/10/2009, 12:50 PM
TBF Ezekiel I did say he was a decent manager when hes got a tidy wage.
I recognise hes not the worst manager in the world results wise, in face they are quiet good but overall hes a negative influence at a club imo.
31/10/2009, 1:00 PM
Joke of a man the midst of a fairly volatile atmosphere last night, towards the ref and our chairman, seanie decided it'd be professional to make a 1-0 sign as he walked off at half time, a few minutes after the mass brawl.
Cue many 2-1 signs at full time as he sprinted off the pitch as fast as possible.
Sums him up imo.
Oh he`s a class act ok, couldn't even get the morton job so we`re stuck with him now, he`ll never shut up about 'I came 5th' line, no offence to clubs below, but the standard wasn`t great, I actually cant remember when we won last, I think it was Sept v Galway - really wish he would just fxxx off now and take his disgusting discipline with him too.
01/11/2009, 8:10 AM
In fairness to him, when we beat you 3-0 in Tolka at the start of the season I though he'd be gone in 2 weeks but he's turned it around and brought you to a comfortable position in the table. There's no doubting the man is a ****** but he does something right. What that is who the hell knows?
I was going to say something similar. Dundalk were 7 years in the First Division and have managed a comfortable fifth in the Premier this season; leaving aside the man's personality, if Dundalk fans aren't happy with the club's performance this year, more fool them. And surely, when you take into account the poor start he had when he was coming to terms with the new post, based on the latter two thirds of the season, he must be up there even higher than fifth?
Ezeikial
01/11/2009, 8:56 AM
, if Dundalk fans aren't happy with the club's performance this year, more fool them. And surely, when you take into account the poor start he had when he was coming to terms with the new post, based on the latter two thirds of the season, he must be up there even higher than fifth?
Do you even read the posts on here?
I can't recall a single post from a Dundalk fan expressing disappointment with a 5th place finish. Have you?
Redie
03/11/2009, 10:38 AM
That is not correct. Seamie made hid debut under Connor - and scored an og if I remember rightly.
sligo23
03/11/2009, 3:33 PM
That is not correct. Seamie made hid debut under Connor - and scored an og if I remember rightly.
aye, a bullet of a header while running back towards his own goals:D
showgies
03/11/2009, 3:53 PM
Rarely played........
Ezeikial
03/11/2009, 4:44 PM
Rarely played.......
Where do we go from here?
[Future post by showgies] Sometimes played........?
[Future post by showgies] Often played........?
[Future post by showgies] Consistently played........?
[Future post by showgies] Player of the Year........?
lads, cop on. This is about Sean Connor.
half decent manager, total @rsehole.
03/11/2009, 8:39 PM
http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00508/Chris_Coleman_508561a.jpg
is that Chrissy Coleman? :D
03/11/2009, 9:00 PM
is that Chrissy Coleman? :D
yea it is?? what the heck was that post about?:confused:
ah nothing really, Seanie is just good friends with Chrissy, Brucie and Pepsi Guardiola...
03/11/2009, 9:30 PM
ah nothing really, Seanie is just good friends with Chrissy, Brucie and Pepsi Guardiola...
ah right! confused me somewhat there with that welsh mans head. he actually know these people or have i missed a joke somewhere along the way? or is he just so full of bullcrap??
or is he just so full of bullcrap??
Last part is spot on.;)
showgies
04/11/2009, 12:20 AM
Where do we go from here?
[Future post by showgies] Sometimes played........?
[Future post by showgies] Often played........?
[Future post by showgies] Consistently played........?
[Future post by showgies] Player of the Year........?
I was being sarcastic to Redie.
For the record Coleman played 15 minutes under Sean Connor as a sub against Derry City (we were 4-0 down when he came on).
He played more minutes under Rob McDonald than under Sean. Rob was in charge of us for a whole one game...