View Full Version : Only 8,000 tickets made available in Paris

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

21/10/2009, 5:33 PM
The French Football Federation (FFF) have struck a blow to hopes of Republic of Ireland fans after restricting the away side's allocation to 10 percent for the second leg of the World Cup play-off in the Stade de France.

In 2004 Ireland were backed by a 30,000 strong support as they held France to a 0-0 draw in a World Cup qualifier in Paris.

Big Difference!:mad:
Looks like there will be unhappy Irish fans who booked flights but won't get tickets!

Click here for more information (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1021/ireland.html)

Breizhatao
21/10/2009, 5:46 PM
I won't be able to go to the game but I can book tickets since I live in Paris. So these tickets will turn green anyway.

21/10/2009, 6:22 PM
"The FFF said no tickets would be sold over the internet to either set of fans, with tickets for the 18 November match going on sale from French retail outlets on Thursday"

Vente de billets

La Fédération Française de Football met en vente, à compter du jeudi 22 octobre 2009 à 12h00, les billets pour le match de barrages retour à la Coupe du Monde 2010 France-Irlande du mercredi 18 novembre au Stade de France à destination du grand public dans les points de vente physiques uniquement.

Here are the outlets where tickets will be on sale

Carrefour, Fnac, Géant, Système U, Intermarché (réseau Francebillet)
Auchan, Leclerc, Virgin, Cora, Cultura, Galerie Lafayette, BHV (réseau Ticketnet)
4 billets maximum par acheteur

Prix des places : 20 € / 40 € / 60 € / 80 € / 100 €

MeathDrog
21/10/2009, 6:47 PM
Get 30,000 to turn up anyway.

21/10/2009, 6:59 PM
if i didnt know any better id say the FFF and french manager are sh!tting bricks judging by their actions since the draw was made.

Razors left peg
21/10/2009, 7:07 PM
We wouldnt give them anymore tickets from Croke park than we had to either so there is no issue for me. The difference is though that Irish fans are always good at finding much more tickets than the allocation

M@ttitude
21/10/2009, 7:22 PM
Someone must know someone living over there who can buy tickets for us foot.ie members..

magnumpi
21/10/2009, 7:27 PM
Someone must know someone living over there who can buy tickets for us foot.ie members..

i'm happy to buy some tickets for lads, as will a number of guys out here, but we're restricted to 4 each.

i'm sure we can sort something out, but again, realistically, i doubt any more than 8,00 will come out. 10,000 max.

M@ttitude
21/10/2009, 7:31 PM
i'm happy to buy some tickets for lads, as will a number of guys out here, but we're restricted to 4 each.

i'm sure we can sort something out, but again, realistically, i doubt any more than 8,00 will come out. 10,000 max.

Thanks man.

If we get any kind of result in Croker I can see alot of people taking a bit of money from under their mattresses to join the party..

eaststand85
21/10/2009, 7:34 PM
Will they be able to sell the remaining 72,000 tickets to their own fans?

MeathDrog
21/10/2009, 7:36 PM
Thanks man.

If we get any kind of result in Croker I can see alot of people taking a bit of money from under their mattresses to join the party..
Agreed.

0-0 or a win in Dublin will get the crowds booking the flights and going over to Paris for the party.

lopez
21/10/2009, 8:45 PM
Will they be able to sell the remaining 72,000 tickets to their own fans?Good point. Last time there, I was in Monaco. Got talking to a waiter who was a AS season ticket holder, and it seemed that the skin tans of a few players put him off'. GSpain told me the same story when he was in Lille wathching Shelbourne (I think). I'm not saying you have to be French to be racist but...

Anyway, I don't think we'd shift the 8K for midweek. If it was saturday, my a*se would be going now.

Predator
21/10/2009, 8:53 PM
Get 30,000 to turn up anyway.
Damn right!

It'll be worse if the French don't fill the stadium and the Irish fans outside the ground make more noise than those inside.

OT but what have the prices been like in general for you guys in booking the flights?

Junior
21/10/2009, 8:57 PM
8k should be fine. 10k max in my opinion. Delaney said they would continue to push the FFF for additional tickets based on demand and I am sure they will be able to secure the additional 2k if required.

Domeneach said he'd be happy with 20k Irish and 60k French - So room to manouevre yet!

lopez
21/10/2009, 9:07 PM
8k should be fine. 10k max in my opinion. Delaney said they would continue to push the FFF for additional tickets based on demand and I am sure they will be able to secure the additional 2k if required.

Domeneach said he'd be happy with 20k Irish and 60k French - So room to manouevre yet!That figure is crucial. Back in 2004, France never got much anywhere over 57K for games since the stadium opened unless it had a huge 'away' support like Algeria or Morroco. It does show that Dom is plopping. Italy didn't seem to be worried. Funnily I was reading on Marca and posters after the playoff story had us as a qualifier due to our unbeaten record. I think we are going to find it difficult, but then we are always so self critical when we have no right ot be.

M@ttitude
21/10/2009, 9:26 PM
Damn right!

It'll be worse if the French don't fill the stadium and the Irish fans outside the ground make more noise than those inside.

OT but what have the prices been like in general for you guys in booking the flights?

Not too bad if you shop around.. Flying direct is a no go unless your loaded.. Most people are flying to an english city and transferring from there, or even across the channell on the eurostar.. I paid 250, but it can be done for 150 with a bit more hassle and waiting.

22/10/2009, 2:42 AM
Direct flights could have been snapped up at reasonable prices straight after the draw was made. No chance now.

Claret Murph
22/10/2009, 5:59 AM
Booked Shannon - London - Eurostar at 1.25 pm on Monday worked out at €160 .

22/10/2009, 7:14 AM
Good point. Last time there, I was in Monaco. Got talking to a waiter who was a AS season ticket holder, and it seemed that the skin tans of a few players put him off'. GSpain told me the same story when he was in Lille wathching Shelbourne (I think). I'm not saying you have to be French to be racist but...

Anyway, I don't think we'd shift the 8K for midweek. If it was saturday, my a*se would be going now.

Just to clarify I wasn't in Lille watching Shelbourne. A friend of mine was though and got that story.

Raheen
22/10/2009, 7:27 AM

I'll be in the queue also. Probably FNAC in Monparnasse.

What about the FFF offices? I work a few hundred metres away......

ArdeeBhoy
22/10/2009, 8:45 AM
See the French FA tickets thread peeps....You can buy in person, in France!!

reder
22/10/2009, 8:52 AM
I think that the FAI will have tickets for anyone who has attended any of the away games in the campaign and all blook bookers who want them. If the french dont sell out their allocation, I presume we can just walk into one of the shops and buy tickets when you get over there.

Breizhatao
22/10/2009, 9:05 AM
It will be a full house. I am getting 4 tickets today (I live in Paris) and whoever (in green) can contact me to get them. I won't be able to go to the game.

22/10/2009, 9:19 AM
When the Biarritz tickets for the Heineken Cup Final in 2006 went on sale, you could only pick them up at the ground. Flights from Shannon to Socieded immediately started selling out as Munster fans flew in, crossed the border and cleaned the place out. 6 of the 8 that travelled to the final with me had French tickets!
Wonder if we'll see a repeat for this?

magnumpi
22/10/2009, 9:31 AM
Removed.

lopez
22/10/2009, 10:18 AM
Just to clarify I wasn't in Lille watching Shelbourne. A friend of mine was though and got that story.Apologies for the lsur there. :D I remember you telling me about him in Troyes.

22/10/2009, 10:32 AM
It is no secret that the French version of the National Front had taken a vocal political issue with the Black, Blanc, Beur team of '98.
This issue is still going on with Le Pen criticising Domenech for selecting too many black players.

Deckydee
22/10/2009, 10:35 AM
if i didnt know any better id say the FFF and french manager are sh!tting bricks judging by their actions since the draw was made.

Je suis d'accord ;)

Deckydee
22/10/2009, 10:43 AM
Oh and BTW that reminds me, lets do the same thing them!!!!!!!!! :mad:

22/10/2009, 11:01 AM

Shannon Nantes flight currently costs under 60 bucks. there's an intermarche about a mile from the airport. Hmmm. :ball:

22/10/2009, 11:08 AM
Lionel, we will give you a load of passports when flying and just keep requeueing the frogs wont know its the same person!! :D

BigmanCas
22/10/2009, 11:35 AM
"SIX HOUR BOAT TRIP WE CAN TAKE THE HARDSHIP"!!!!

Doesn't matter how one gets to Paris - just get there!!

If we keep it tight in Croker - 20,000 in Paris on Wed????

Nadge11
22/10/2009, 12:23 PM
seriously considering it. flights and accommodation booked. i look lik my sister too so could get 8 using her passport too.... :rolleyes:

blobbyblob
22/10/2009, 1:18 PM
Judging by the reports in France on queues at sales points, demand is very high so the FAI might struggle to get their hands on more than they 8500 we have so far.

Fingers crossed everyone who wants one will get one.

Beavis
22/10/2009, 2:17 PM
i

I think the numbers will be far higher. I've spoken to a lot of people who are going who have never even considered away games before. I fear the ticket scramble will may be reminiscent of Basel 03. :(

mjpcc
22/10/2009, 3:23 PM
If we buy tickets in France is there any particular sections we should aim for? Do we know what sections the Irish supports will be in?

22/10/2009, 3:39 PM
PTegan said sud tribune is the section to go for in the lower corner.

PartySaint
22/10/2009, 3:48 PM
Judging by the reports in France on queues at sales points, demand is very high so the FAI might struggle to get their hands on more than they 8500 we have so far.

Fingers crossed everyone who wants one will get one.

I say loads of them are touts, they will no we will travel in huge numbers and try rip us off, but i reckon if you go without a ticket you will definitly get one

Sligo Hornet
23/10/2009, 7:33 AM
Try contacting some of the Irish bars in Paris........I would be anmazed if they haven't bought a load of tickets to help out Irish fans drinking in their pubs

blobbyblob
23/10/2009, 9:06 AM
If we buy tickets in France is there any particular sections we should aim for? Do we know what sections the Irish supports will be in?

I could be open to correction here but as far as I know the irish end is where letters at the start and end of the alphabet ABZXY etc

http://cahiersdufootball.net/blogs/pourisiens/files/2008/04/cdlsdf.gif

http://www.2-tickets.com/venues/Stade_De_France.gif

24/10/2009, 6:39 PM
Alot may depend on the home result, but do we realistically think there will be more than 10k Irish fans at the game? Its a wed night compared to Sat last time around and we're in recession compared to boom time last time around.

Plus what category tickets have ye guys requested off the Fai?? I wouldve thought we wouldnt have had a choice, ie all in one section, but we have a choice between 22, 42 and 82 (i think it is) tickets.

M@ttitude
24/10/2009, 7:50 PM
Alot may depend on the home result, but do we realistically think there will be more than 10k Irish fans at the game? Its a wed night compared to Sat last time around and we're in recession compared to boom time last time around.

But there is alot more on this game than the last one.. Plastic hammers are been taken out of attics all over the country!

25/10/2009, 5:32 PM
i assume you aren't trying to tout ralph...how much for the two types of tickets.

Armando
25/10/2009, 5:59 PM
I applied for tickets using the online form on fai.ie. Should I have got an automated e-mail response or something to confirm my application has gone through?

At the bottom of the form was 'save request' and then that was it...just find it strange there would be no e-mail to confirm and want to make sure i'm in for tickets.

eaststand85
25/10/2009, 8:26 PM
From the RTE website (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1025/delaneyj.html):

Delaney speaks of ticket demands
Sunday, 25 October 2009 20:57

FAI Chief Executive John Delaney has promised to continue efforts to secure more tickets for Irish fans for the away leg of the World Cup play-off in France, with the game in Croke Park set to sell out this week.

Delaney was speaking to Robbie Irwin on RTÉ Radio 1's Sportsbag on Sunday morning, and his revelation that demand will far outweigh supply will come as no surprise to Irish fans.

He admitted: 'We've been inundated with calls since last Monday, but it is a great problem to have. In terms of the home game, I'd say if we had 100,000 tickets for the game we wouldn't have enough.'

He added: 'But what we are doing is being very loyal to the people who bought a ticket for the Montenegro game so anybody who purchased a ticket for that match is entitled to a ticket to the French game.

'So we have had thousands of ticket stubs arriving into headquarters in Abbotstown and we're working through those.'

The Waterford native believes all tickets for home fans will he snapped up in the coming days due to the what he describes as 'unprecedented' demand.

He said: 'I would expect next week that we will be announcing we are sold out. We looked for all the clubs and leagues within the game to apply for tickets, which we generally, do and the level of interest is really unprecedented.'

Earlier this week, the French Football Federation confirmed that they would not be giving the Green Army anything extra than their entitled number of tickets [8,500] for the game in Paris.

Delaney believes they are doing so to avoid what happened in 2004 when at least 30,000 Ireland followers created a memorable atmosphere and inspired the team to a point.

But Delaney has not yet given up hope of obtaining more.

He insisted: 'We looked for more than 10% from the French FA, they have only given us 8,500 tickets, which is their entitlement.

'We keep asking them for more tickets because we want to get as many Irish fans as possible into the game.

'We are going to keep pressing them. There seems to be a policy from the football side of the French FA that they don't want many Irish fans in the ground. I think they fear the Irish fans and the atmosphere they will create in the ground.'

25/10/2009, 8:26 PM
There is no email confirmation once the order form is submitted it is a case of waiting and see.

25/10/2009, 8:34 PM
in the interview he didnt mention either way whether the demand for away tickets outweighed the number of tickets allocated....

eaststand85
25/10/2009, 8:45 PM
in the interview he didnt mention either way whether the demand for away tickets outweighed the number of tickets allocated....

No but he did say the following which seems to indicate demand outweighs the 8,500 allocation.

"'We looked for more than 10% from the French FA, they have only given us 8,500 tickets, which is their entitlement.

'We keep asking them for more tickets because we want to get as many Irish fans as possible into the game.

Junior
25/10/2009, 10:25 PM
No but he did say the following which seems to indicate demand outweighs the 8,500 allocation.

"'We looked for more than 10% from the French FA, they have only given us 8,500 tickets, which is their entitlement.

But that was the FAIs position when they met the FFF last week before applications had really started to arrive for the away leg. By now they should have a really good idea of what the demand is.

What is the closing date for applications?

26/10/2009, 6:37 AM
But that was the FAIs position when they met the FFF last week before applications had really started to arrive for the away leg. By now they should have a really good idea of what the demand is.

What is the closing date for applications?

last night. Fingers crossed everybody who wants to go gets a ticket.