View Full Version : France away 18 November 2009 - accommodation
19/10/2009, 12:15 PM
Post any info on accommodation in Paris here. I'll keep a summary of links and what have you in this post.
For other info on the game, see -
Flights (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126259)
Charter travel (incl tour operator bookings, charter buses, taxis, etc) (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126261)
The game (match tickets, kick off time, directions to the ground, etc) (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126262)
Places (towns, internal travel, reccies, etc) (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126265)
Pubs (including meet ups) (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126264)
General (things to do, other chat) (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=126258)
Hotels
Hotel de L'ocean (http://www.paris-hotel-ocean.com/)
Holiday Inn (https://secure.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/hi/1/en/hotel/parmm?secure=true&DPSLogout=true)
Vintage Hostel (http://www.vintage-hostel.com/)
Hotel Saint Quentin (http://www.booking.com/hotel/fr/hotel-saint-quentin.html?aid=303948;sid=99f607bb5404dddc99038b 556384054a)
Hotel Jarry (http://www.hoteljarry.com/)
Hotel Little Regina (http://www.parishotellittleregina.com/french/rates.html)
Hotel Modernest (http://www.hotel-modernest-paris.com/pages/rates.html)
Hotel Kuntz (http://www.hotelkuntz.com/htfr/0001.htm)
Accor Hotels (http://www.accorhotels.com/gb/ireland/index.shtml)
Girl in Green
19/10/2009, 2:04 PM
Hostels in France; any recommendations? Hotels are pricey, think as our gang is on a budget I need to look at the cheapest options in the best location possible ie. near metro etc.
eaststand85
19/10/2009, 2:31 PM
It's probably been 4 years since I last posted here but I'm still living in Paris and am also mod of Travel forum over @ boards.ie so if anyone has any questions about hotels or pubs then I'll do my best to answer.
Hi ptegan, one of the lads has provisionally booked us in the Eden Opera on the Pigalle (http://www.booking.com/hotel/fr/edenparis.html?sid=e294902f2fb2ef9fb2da1b4aa64c450 c;checkin=2009-11-17;checkout=2009-11-19). Any idea what it's like? Cheap and cheerful is fine, just want to make sure it's clean and safe. Thanks!
Sligo Hornet
19/10/2009, 2:45 PM
I remember ptegan from the 2004 trip ....very helpful
A group of 20+ booked into the Hotel de L'Ocean (Opera District) which appears ok
Sligo Hornet
19/10/2009, 2:49 PM
There's a large group of us booked into this Hotel.....48 euro pppn....looks a good hotel in a good location
http://www.paris-hotel-ocean.com/
scousedub
19/10/2009, 3:18 PM
Got this Holiday Inn for €90 per room near the Moulin Rouge https://secure.ichotelsgroup.com/h/d/hi/1/en/hotel/parmm?secure=true&DPSLogout=true
Newryrep
19/10/2009, 3:21 PM
There's a large group of us booked into this Hotel.....48 euro pppn....looks a good hotel in a good location
thanks for the warning SH:)
Paulie
19/10/2009, 4:47 PM
It's probably been 4 years since I last posted here but I'm still living in Paris and am also mod of Travel forum over @ boards.ie so if anyone has any questions about hotels or pubs then I'll do my best to answer.
Hi ptegan. We're staying at the Roma Sacré-Coeur which I've been told is in a decent part of the city. Are there many good pubs around there which won't rip you off with prices? From what I recall, Paris is one of those cities where you have to be careful in some bars as you can be charged the likes of €15 for a beer.
ptegan
19/10/2009, 5:55 PM
Guys, ptegan was invaluable to foot.ie posters last time we played there. Great guy.
Cheers! It was pretty amazing to be honest. I bought www.travellinggreens.com, created a very basic site with a few pages and the next thing I knew I was on the phone to the FAI and was mentioned in the Evening Hearld !
Hi ptegan, one of the lads has provisionally booked us in the Eden Opera on the Pigalle (http://www.booking.com/hotel/fr/edenparis.html?sid=e294902f2fb2ef9fb2da1b4aa64c450 c;checkin=2009-11-17;checkout=2009-11-19). Any idea what it's like? Cheap and cheerful is fine, just want to make sure it's clean and safe. Thanks!
Clean, safe, basic and budget. Not a place to take your wife for a romantic weekend but fine for a couple of days in Paris for the match. You'll have no need to move out of the Pigalle area for food/drink and 9 stops on the metro to the stadium (about 15 minutes).
I remember ptegan from the 2004 trip ....very helpful
A group of 20+ booked into the Hotel de L'Ocean (Opera District) which appears ok
Another "ok" hotel. Nothing much to worry about once you book a 3-star hotel and it's in a reasonable area. You're a 10 minute walk to the Gare d'Nord where it's only 1 stop to the Stade on the RER B (suburban train).
Hi ptegan. We're staying at the Roma Sacré-Coeur which I've been told is in a decent part of the city. Are there many good pubs around there which won't rip you off with prices? From what I recall, Paris is one of those cities where you have to be careful in some bars as you can be charged the likes of €15 for a beer.
Nice hotel in a very nice area. In Paris the pubs set their own prices so it can be €7 in one place and €3 next door. Basically you're paying the €4 difference will be due to the ambiance, music, beautiful people who drink there... If you're with a bunch of people then you can make even the cheapest place seem great !
If you want to drink in an Irish pub then be prepared to pay €7 for a pint of Guinness. If you're willing to drink anything than it'll be €4 in a French-type cafe/bar.
Sligo Hornet
20/10/2009, 6:52 AM
thanks for the warning SH:)
You are most welcome to join us Newry.......after all, it must be your round!;)
Newryrep
20/10/2009, 8:10 AM
You are most welcome to join us Newry.......after all, it must be your round!;)
Get into CDG 12.10 on the Tues and we will certainly be joining you all at some stage as its your round.
Booked into the Latin Quarter same place as me and Mrs Newryrep stayed last year. Nice and handy.
blobbyblob
20/10/2009, 10:13 AM
http://www.vintage-hostel.com/
Good clean spot 2 minutes from Gare Du Nord - about 35 a head per night
francesco_1
20/10/2009, 10:27 AM
Just checked that 25 per night not bad as long as u were with other fans.
Mullin
20/10/2009, 10:34 AM
3 more booked into the same spot
finbarrk
20/10/2009, 10:55 AM
This place, Hotel St. Quentin is beside Gare Du Nord (Eurostar). We got rooms with a double bed and a single bed for €80 p.n.
http://www.booking.com/hotel/fr/hotel-saint-quentin.html?aid=303948;sid=99f607bb5404dddc99038b 556384054a
francesco_1
20/10/2009, 10:56 AM
Im going solo here hopefully it will be mostly irish fans.
ptegan
20/10/2009, 11:36 AM
TIP : Use the Google Streetview feature to see what you hotel looks like before you turn up in Paris.
1. http://maps.google.com/
2. Type in your hotel address (27, Rue de Saint-Quentin, 75010 for the Hotel St. Quentin)
3. Drag and Drop the streetview icon onto the map to see what the area looks like.
http://www.mercurytide.co.uk/media/resources/NewsItems/street_view_icon.png
finbarrk
20/10/2009, 12:36 PM
Great site, very useful thanks very much. Considered staying in Pigalle area but as you point out (and as I remember it) it's a bit seedy so considering the Bastille area. You're prob sick of being asked questions at this stage but if you could answer a couple more I'd be very grateful!
Is it easy to get from Bastille area to CDG Airport as we have an early flight on Thur morning?
Can you recommend one or two budget hotels in the Bastille area? Cheap and cheerful once clean and safe is what we're after.
Bastille hotels here.
http://www.booking.com/searchresults.html?aid=314919;label=gare-de-lyon-DprU7tjdRuSPKYwk2XpfEgS1495706930;sid=99f607bb5404 dddc99038b556384054a;checkin_monthday=17;checkin_y ear_month=2009-11;checkout_monthday=19;checkout_year_month=2009-11;class_interval=1;landmark=938;ss_all=0;radius=1 ;order=price_for_two
blobbyblob
20/10/2009, 12:54 PM
We have 6 shacking up here so keep the noise down right, I need me beauty sleep. :D
francesco_1
20/10/2009, 1:14 PM
We have 6 shacking up here so keep the noise down right, I need me beauty sleep. :D
Im going on my own so i hope the 6 of ye will provide me with security.
20/10/2009, 1:26 PM
Lads and lassies, im not staying here this time but ive stayed here before and stayed there for hte last paris trip, but anyone in the know hotel etap and Formule 1 for these sorta stays are ideal and seriouslly cheap. Ive booked with other lads this time so didnt stay there.
You can get a room to fit 3 for about 40 euro with a private bathroom. THe one closest st denis is around porte de st ouen, which is a few stops up the metro from place de glichy (boulevard do glichy ) and its well worth it on a budget. Its also only about 10 euro in a taxi from the same place.
M@ttitude
21/10/2009, 4:47 PM
Hi Blobby, whats up with the site.. Says something about 7 nights min stay, and four to a room.. Myself and my friend want to book it but cant with only 2?
Also is it near the stadium? CDG Airport? Main tourist attractions?
ptegan
21/10/2009, 4:52 PM
Hi Blobby, whats up with the site.. Says something about 7 nights min stay, and four to a room.. Myself and my friend want to book it but cant with only 2?
Also is it near the stadium? CDG Airport? Main tourist attractions?
What dates? No problem for the 17th and 18th in a 4-bed mixed dorm.
The hostel is next door to the Gare de Nord (10 minute train from Stadium).
IT's not near any tourist attractions but nothing is near anything in Paris and taking the metro to go to the pub is what the rest of us do :) There'll be plenty of bars around there but it isn't a tourist centre like Chatelet or Bastille.
M@ttitude
21/10/2009, 5:01 PM
What dates? No problem for the 17th and 18th in a 4-bed mixed dorm.
The hostel is next door to the Gare de Nord (10 minute train from Stadium).
IT's not near any tourist attractions but nothing is near anything in Paris and taking the metro to go to the pub is what the rest of us do :) There'll be plenty of bars around there but it isn't a tourist centre like Chatelet or Bastille.
Cheers Ptegan, where would you recommend? Budget €30 per night, And going with a friend who wants to see the landmarks (dont worry the pubs will be seen to).. It said in the newspaper that the moulin rouge area is the best for Irish fans..?
ptegan
21/10/2009, 5:13 PM
There is really no "best place for Irish fans" as such. It's true that The Moulin Rouge area (aka Pigalle) has about 4 Irish pubs, 2 English bars and a lot of other smaller French places. It's also the red light district and is just plain sleezy. Best avoided is going with kids or even the wife. Pigalle is the place where people report nightmare stories of finding themselves in an underground club forced to buy €250 bottles of Champagne for strippers :D
But like any city if you keep your wits about you you'll be fine :)
The Vintage may be worth it as there seems to be a LOT of folks from this site staying there. Any place in Paris can be made to be cool to stay/drink in once you have a crowd of people. And at €60 a night (double-room) then the Vintage is perfect for you.
Basically it doesn't really matter where you're hotel is. Paris is a very walkable city and all you need is to pick up a 10-pack of tickets [a carnet] for about €11:50 and you can go anywhere you want.
ccfcgirl
21/10/2009, 7:42 PM
I booked Eden Opera hotel, still some rooms left 78 euro a room per night ...
4tothefloor
21/10/2009, 8:09 PM
Have a spare bed in a twin room in this hotel lads if anyone's looking, booked for Tues 17th and Wednesday 18th. It's €62 pppn, pm me if interested. Also have a 1 cent flight to Paris from Shannon available for name change (Dep 17th Back 19th) if anyone's interested.
wexfordman
21/10/2009, 8:32 PM
Ptegan just wondering what sort of area the Hotel Alma
32, rue de l'exposition Paris, 75007
is in. is it far from the airport, city centre and the main pubs etc where irish fans will meet up.
Thanks for your help
ptegan
21/10/2009, 8:44 PM
> is it far from the airport, city centre and the main pubs etc where irish fans will meet up.
Everywhere in Paris is far from the airport :)
15 metro from centre where most of the fans will be. Very nice area but not great if you're looking for Irish pubs on your doorstep.
To be honest it's a big city and most people won't have Irish pubs on their doorstep. It's normal to have to take the metro to get to the heart of town (unless you have the € to stay in the centre :)
21/10/2009, 9:07 PM
we found taxis fierce cheap in fairness to to go anywhere, its small paris nothing like london lads in fairness.
theleprechaun
21/10/2009, 9:20 PM
Booked here myself. Stayed there before during the summer. Decent place. It is clean and cheap. It is only about 5 minutes walk away from the Gare du Nord. As my actions demonstrate, it is a place that I would go back to.
francesco_1
21/10/2009, 9:33 PM
Booked here myself. Stayed there before during the summer. Decent place. It is clean and cheap. It is only about 5 minutes walk away from the Gare du Nord. As my actions demonstrate, it is a place that I would go back to.
Keep the noise down:)
M@ttitude
21/10/2009, 10:04 PM
Google Earth is great for locations lads.. Im staying in the Vintage Hostels too, and I reckon its the place to be, beside everything.. heres a screen shot of its location..1439
Junior
22/10/2009, 9:41 AM
Google Earth is great for locations lads.. Im staying in the Vintage Hostels too, and I reckon its the place to be, beside everything.. heres a screen shot of its location..1439
yep - no more than a few centimetres from everything:D
22/10/2009, 9:48 AM
According to that map we've only gone a couple of inches already :D
casso36
22/10/2009, 10:44 AM
Booked this hotel Via www.accorhotels.com only 2 kil from Stade de Franc.
Room can take up to three people for €56.00
Etap Hotel Paris Porte d'Aubervilliers, cheap and cheerful!!
There are cheaper ones also but not sure how close they are.
22/10/2009, 11:09 AM
ya accor own etap and formule 1 and novotel(the slightly more upmarket etap).
THe etap and formule1 even mroe so are always really cheap for a reason, they are generally in industrail places or way out of the city off main roads. still though i do find htem great if a group as can all plough in and hten a taxi ends up being cheap enough.
casso36
22/10/2009, 11:48 AM
ya accor own etap and formule 1 and novotel(the slightly more upmarket etap).
THe etap and formule1 even mroe so are always really cheap for a reason, they are generally in industrail places or way out of the city off main roads. still though i do find htem great if a group as can all plough in and hten a taxi ends up being cheap enough.
Once there's a bar near by Paul, that'll do for me:D
eaststand85
22/10/2009, 12:09 PM
I booked Eden Opera hotel, still some rooms left 78 euro a room per night ...
6 of us in there too, getting in to CDG on Tuesday at 17.45 so hopefully be there around 7pm. Was going to say see you at the bar but there doesn't appear to be one, am off to have a word with the lad who booked it! :mad:
Just got my tickets from the fnac in Strasbourg, within half an hour of them going on sale all 20€ and 40€ tickets had gone so I had to settle for 80€ tickets.
A bunch of us have booked into the Hotel Jarry, here's a list of other cheap hotels near the Gare de l'Est / Gare du Nord:
http://www.hotelkuntz.com/htfr/0001.htm (http://www.hotelkuntz.com/htfr/0001.htm)
http://www.hotel-modernest-paris.com/pages/rates.html (http://www.hotel-modernest-paris.com/pages/rates.html)
http://www.parishotellittleregina.com/french/rates.html (http://www.parishotellittleregina.com/french/rates.html)
http://www.paris-hotel-saint-quentin.com/English/Rates.html (http://www.paris-hotel-saint-quentin.com/English/Rates.html)
http://www.hoteljarry.com/# (http://www.hoteljarry.com/)
ccfcgirl
22/10/2009, 9:08 PM
6 of us in there too, getting in to CDG on Tuesday at 17.45 so hopefully be there around 7pm. Was going to say see you at the bar but there doesn't appear to be one, am off to have a word with the lad who booked it! :mad: I didnt realise that there was no bar, Im there Tuseday to Friday, Ill make the most of the pubs thats near the hotel(watch now probibly miles away)
Ptegan
I'm staying at the 3 ducks hostel - cheap and hopefully cheerful at £20 per night.
3 DUCKS HOSTEL: 6 place Etienne Pernet - Paris (PA) 75015, France
is it a decent area for a pint (at a reasonable price) and a bit of craic
Thanks for help - invaluable as never been to Paris before
skimcg
23/10/2009, 1:31 PM
Staying at the acte V hote lnear pantheon, cheap and central. and good reviews.
ptegan
23/10/2009, 2:45 PM
Ptegan
I'm staying at the 3 ducks hostel - cheap and hopefully cheerful at £20 per night.
is it a decent area for a pint (at a reasonable price) and a bit of craic
The 3 Ducks Hostel has a great rep in town. Very cheap and usually very cheerful as well :)
Compared to other places in town though it's in a "quiet" area. Not that there aren't any bars around but that you won't find hoards of Green supports walking past your hostel door all day.
This doesn't matter though because in Paris your hotel/hostel is almost always no where neer you do your drinking and dancing. 90% of the 2-star hotles for example are in areas that you wouldn't spend the evening in; if the area had a load of cool, funky bars and great places to eat well you hotel/hostel wouldn't be only costing you €20 or €40 but more like €120 or €160.
Within a few minutes you have the metro line 8 which takes you direct to Opera district, Republique and Bastille. Better IMHO to get a cheap hotel on a good metro line as you have done rather than pay over-the-top money for a crap hotel smack-bang in the center of town. The €100 you save on your bed for the night is easily made up in the 30 minutes you'll spend in the metro.
ptegan
23/10/2009, 2:48 PM
Staying at the acte V hote lnear pantheon, cheap and central. and good reviews.
Right by the Rue Mouffetard. Lots of cheap places to drink and especially a lot of cheap places to eat (€17 for 3-courses + wine is common).
23/10/2009, 3:05 PM
Ptegan
There's a few of us staying there too. Arriving on the Wednesday morning.
zenokelly
23/10/2009, 6:51 PM
Hi Ptegan do you have any opinion on Best Western Aulivia Opera
Paris, FR in relation to location and quality.
Many thanks for any help:ball:
blueanto40
24/10/2009, 9:46 PM
3 of us in the Victor Masse hotel tues and wed nights. single rooms for 65 euro per night
There's a few of us staying there too. Arriving on the Wednesday morning.
Good stuff - I am going Tuesday night - Belfast to De Gaulle back on thursday evening with Esayjet.
Will be on my jack on tuesday night as mates not arriving until Weds morning on Liverpool flight - but will prob just take up residence at the 3 ducks bar!
Thanks for the help Ptegan - sounds promising all need now is a result!!
Blue Man
26/10/2009, 2:44 PM
2 of us in Hostel Vintage. 500m from Gare du Nord apparently