View Full Version : SARI Press Statement concerning Ndo Incident
marinobohs
13/10/2009, 10:38 AM
I, like 99.9% of all Rovers fans, utterly condemn the scumbag making monkey noises against Joseph Ndo.
Suggesting that this campaign is some kind of spontaneous new found anti-racist movement in the LOI is ****ing laughable. Lets call it what it is, a bitter, jealous, pathetic, planned and deliberately orchestrated attempt to damage SRFC by Bohs fans and others.
Bohs fans who gave sectarian abuse against Mannus at the same match, who singularly failed to do anything like this campaign when one of their own players was involved in racism, who have been posting racist, sectarian and homophobic abuse against SRFC staff and members on their own forum no bother for weeks now.
You are not fooling anyone.
Must start off here by saying I do not want a points deduction for MK Hoops, titles should be won on the pitch
If there was any doubt that the FAI need to take this seriously (and that MK Hoops do not) it is in the reaction on this thread.
The latest line is that this is all Bohs fans fault (see above) and that they forced SARI to issue a statement.
The fact is this was NOT "A SCUMBAG" while I do not prerend to know the exact number involved it was a lot more than one.
This is not a "one off" incident and has happened earlier in the season (all without comment by the club involved).
it is further clear that (as shown above) the club involved and its supporters are unable/incapable/ not interested in dealing with this problem and there is, therefore, an imperitive on the FAI to act on the matter.
I have no doubt that D24 and his ilk will ignore my views as I am a Bohs fan but can they please explain how we "planned and deliberately orchestrated" this ? After all it is one of your own who suggested getting fans to Dalymount to get it closed down, if you are suggesting the scum that did this are not Hoops then who are they ?
the comment about sectarian abuse is laughable when your fellow hoops are on here boasting about how they sing "orange B********s" songs about Bohs at most games (or are we to turn a blind eye to that as well ?)
marinobohs
13/10/2009, 11:52 AM
sheridan, you clearly have a major issue with Shamrock Rovers FC. Every single thread about this Club, whether positive or negative, you make sure to do your very best to tarnish everything and anything possible about them. If it's a positive thread you come on with some bulls**t having a go and if it's a negative thread you dive in there rubbing your hands with glee before starting off on rant after rant.
Your beloved club beat us in a play-off a few years back (then went and died) and that was the catalyst for the waking of a sleeping giant and I think that might be your problem. Deep down you know that the best moment of your life (a former club relegating us) was the best thing that could have happened to SRFC.
You're nothing but a wum. Get over it!
Perhaps instead of critisising those who commented on the matter (for whatever reason) you should critisise your board (not renowned for being media shy) for not commenting on it.
Sooooooo much easier to blame everyone else perhaps ?
GreenStar
13/10/2009, 12:30 PM
Perhaps instead of critisising those who commented on the matter (for whatever reason) you should critisise your board (not renowned for being media shy) for not commenting on it.
Sooooooo much easier to blame everyone else perhaps ?
It was a slightly off-topic aside that has nothing to do with you. Just look at his history on this board if you really feel the need to comment.
The Bohs fans reaction to this whole episode is pathetic. Two points to make on the matter.
If this had happened last year, as Bohs were romping to the title and Rovers were stuck in mid table obscurity, would the same fuss have been made? No, certainly not. It is becasue Rovers are clearly going places, the one thing Eamonn Dunphy ever got right was when he said noeone in this league will allow anyone else to rise (or words to that effect).
Added to that, I was in Dalymount for the Salzburg game this year. I sat at the shopping centre end of the Connaught St stand and there was a group of 10 or so Bohs fan standing up the back behind me who racially abused the two black Salzburg players (the keeper and the left winger if I remember correctly). No monkey noises granted, but they had racial insults thrown at them on several occasions during that game. By an absolutely tiny minority of Bohs fans who were there of course, a la at Tallaght. Add that to the undisputed sectarian abuse thrown at Alan Mannus last week.
Despite the pathetic mock outrage from Bohs fans, I 100% support Rovers being fined. Calls for stadium bans and points deductions are hilarious and deluded.
marinobohs
13/10/2009, 1:47 PM
It was a slightly off-topic aside that has nothing to do with you. Just look at his history on this board if you really feel the need to comment.
Were we not looking at your clubs history on this subject ? several rascist incidents (according to your own message board) and not a word from the "shy" guys at SDCCs new ground ?
trying to shoot the messenger(s) whoever they may be is not making this one go away.
13/10/2009, 2:23 PM
The way this thread has developed is ridiculous.
Two wrongs don't make a right. Period.
And before someone decides to breach another foot.ie rule and question the club I support, I've heard individual Derry fans make loud racist comments a number of times in the last few years, most recently at Dundalk.
Doesn't matter who does it, its wrong and needs to be clamped down on.
Most of the posts in this thread are absolutely pathetic.
passerrby
13/10/2009, 2:43 PM
does SDCC have any protocol in relation to rasicm in its property
This is both an easy issue and a difficult issue.
The first time a penalty like points deduction happens it will be unfair because of other precedents - similiar to the Eduardo dive.
Somebody is going to have the first deduction of points - and it will be unfair and it will be inconsistent but the first time you do this will be the catalyst for everything
This is both an easy issue and a difficult issue.
The first time a penalty like points deduction happens it will be unfair because of other precedents - similiar to the Eduardo dive.
Somebody is going to have the first deduction of points - and it will be unfair and it will be inconsistent but the first time you do this will be the catalyst for everything
But the way around that is to announce the punishments, at teh start of the seaosn, before anything happens. Punishments should be laid out clearly before anyone does anything, then they know what to expect and can have no complaints.
13/10/2009, 2:56 PM
Most of the posts in this thread are absolutely pathetic.
And the worst thing is that if it was Bohs fans that made racist noises, half of the posters here would be making exactly the opposite points.
theneutral
13/10/2009, 3:02 PM
And the worst thing is that if it was Bohs fans that made racist noises, half of the posters here would be making exactly the opposite points.
What he said. Couldnt agree more!
13/10/2009, 5:20 PM
I object to this. I've been a campaigner against racism and fascism for fifteen years and you have no evidence to suggest that it would be the case for anyone else.
13/10/2009, 6:24 PM
But SRFC have scored an own goal by not taking the initiative when this came out. Now, if they release a statement it will be perceived as reacting to the pressure brought to bare from the SARI statement and a cynical attempt to cover arse, which will make the board of SRFC appear quite weak and (probably not true but) soft on racism especially from their own support . Big error.
What they want is for this story to go away (hence the closure of the thread on their board and the actions of their people on here in attacking posters rather than dealing with the issue), but that's not going to happen now. By their inaction in this case compared to the Michael O'Leary incident, and their failure to uphold that public pledge not to allow racism at "any of their matches" (home or away, presumably!) they have already depicted themselves as soft on racism.
It's clear that they must comment, albeit that they've lost to opportunity to be seen to do so for the right reasons; it's the nature of those comments which will colour public perception. If they are exculpatory, reserved or mitigating in nature, the club will seem self-serving and cynical. Perhaps the only statement which can retrieve the situation now would be one utterly condemning both this specific manifestation (important) of racism and all such manifestations, accompanied by a cast-iron pledge to deal pro-actively with such occurrences in future, and a commitment not to contest or appeal whatever punishment is meted out to them.
13/10/2009, 7:25 PM
I object to this. I've been a campaigner against racism and fascism for fifteen years and you have no evidence to suggest that it would be the case for anyone else.
I imagine he has the evidence of the last time Bohs fans were accused of racism. We're not talking about some theoretical model of economics or something here. It's happened before, and unless Battlestar Galactica lied to me, it'll happen again.
13/10/2009, 8:34 PM
I imagine he has the evidence of the last time Bohs fans were accused of racism. We're not talking about some theoretical model of economics or something here. It's happened before, and unless Battlestar Galactica lied to me, it'll happen again.
What evidence? What time? :rolleyes: Imagine?
seand
13/10/2009, 10:20 PM
Not at dig at you personally BohsPartisan, but I'm sure that if anyone could be arsed trawling through the web it woud be quite possible to find Bohs fans who were somewhat less vehement in their anti-racism around the time of the McGuinness incident than they are now. Likewise I'm sure you'd find examples of hand-wringing 'shocked and disgusted' Rovers fans at that time who are noticeably quieter this time.
You might struggle to find a Sheridan fulminating, quoting from Bohs anti-racism bumf, etc etc etc etc etc around that time too.
13/10/2009, 10:22 PM
As no-one tried to bury that story and the club took a stance immediately, it wasn't necessary.
13/10/2009, 10:45 PM
Not at dig at you personally BohsPartisan, but I'm sure that if anyone could be arsed trawling through the web it woud be quite possible to find Bohs fans who were somewhat less vehement in their anti-racism around the time of the McGuinness incident than they are now.
I'm sure; I imagine; If...
This post from yourself and those from John83, Schumi and the"neutral" :rolleyes: are nothing other than conjecture and speculation. When are those posts going to be deleted the way mine were in the other thread? :rolleyes:
McGuinness was widely condemned for his actions by Bohs fans. You won't find any posts on our forum trying to condone what he did.
13/10/2009, 11:27 PM
Most Boring. Thread. Ever.
Fact....
marinobohs
14/10/2009, 10:29 AM
The difference between the two cases (McGuinness and the SDCC ground incidents) is the reaction of the clubs. bohs board (and manager) apoligised immediately about what happened and made clear the club view on racism. At no stage did Bohs try to brush it under the carpet and despite a severe ban for the player (5 games on top of the automatic 1 the club imposed) there was no appeal.
Contrast this with the deafening silence from Tallaght after yet another rascist incident and tell me if you cannot see a difference.
Individual posters are not expected to stamp out racism (although as fans we should stand up to it ) but clubs are.
14/10/2009, 12:24 PM
I'm sure; I imagine; If...
This post from yourself and those from John83, Schumi and the"neutral" :rolleyes: are nothing other than conjecture and speculation. When are those posts going to be deleted the way mine were in the other thread? :rolleyes:
No, BP, it's laziness, and boredom with the stupid Bohs-Rovers crap we've seen over and over again.
brianw82
14/10/2009, 2:36 PM
Ok, people want something done about this? Let's make a start. I've emailed Shamrock Rovers about the incident and their lack of public action, and CCed the FAI and MNS. We'll see what kind of response I get, if any.
Oh, and thanks for reminding me of the Michael O'Leary incident there, Sheridan. Nice bit of cannon fodder. :)
Predictably enough, I have received no response yet after a day and a half. The silence is deafening.
Jicked
14/10/2009, 2:41 PM
Predictably enough, I have received no response yet after a day and a half. The silence is deafening.
What are you doing emailing MNS? And just what sort of response to you expect from them? They're a bloody TV show ffs.
Or are you more interested in trying to maximise negative publicity for Shamrock Rovers? Surely that's not behind some of the comments in this thread?
brianw82
14/10/2009, 2:58 PM
I emailed Shamrock Rovers Football Club, and CCed MNS along with the FAI. I would expect them to say they are doing everything in their power to find the culprits.
Shamrock Rovers themselves are the ones bringing negative publicity upon themselves by hoping this will go away.
As an aside, is anyone surprised that there was no mention of this on MNS this week?
i was in dalymount for the salzburg game this year. I sat at the shopping centre end of the connaught st stand and there was a group of 10 or so bohs fan standing up the back behind me who racially abused the two black salzburg players (the keeper and the left winger if i remember correctly). No monkey noises granted, but they had racial insults thrown at them on several occasions during that game. By an absolutely tiny minority of bohs fans who were there of course
retract retract retract!
We must see your evidence for these unsubstantiated allegations!
Infraction infraction infraction!:d
we have ways of making you talk!
Jicked
14/10/2009, 3:15 PM
Why did you CC MNS though?
You wanted it mentioned on their show that someone uploaded a youtube video in which apparent monkey noises can be heard at one stage for a few seconds during a game. Next week I look forward to their exposé on a fight outside United Park after someone was drunk, or opposition fans bus windows being smashed outside the Brandywell with reports from an internet messageboard.
Every Rovers fan has condemned the youtube video. It was a small handful of knackers making a stupid and pathetic noise. I'm sure Rovers, their stewards and the Gardaí have all had words about trying to identify and reef out anyone caught doing anythign similar in the future. As has been noted above it has happened all over, there'll be nothing to stop someone in Croke Park tonight making a snide comment or three or four p!ssed up idiots trying to start the Adebayor chant about a black opposition player. It's stupid, it's pathetic, it's not acceptable. But don't expect a Charlie Bird investigation on the back of it. Like I said everyone has condemned this rather stupid behaviour, If the club knew who did it I've no doubt a life ban would be iissued and I'm sure the club and matchday staff will be looking at how to identify such in future.
Of course that's not half interesting enough for the usual smattering of Bohs fans, Sligo Rovers fans and Sheridan trying to maximise negative publicity about this, owing to the fact that they don't like Shamrock Rovers very much (or in Sheridan's case is simply a freak of nature).
I could have told you before opening this thread that it would be Bohs fans, Sligo fans and Sheridan comparing a day out at Tallaght Stadium to the Berlin Olympics. Sure enough you have Bohs fans organising a response from SARI, Sligo fans emailing TV shows for some bizarre reason and I can only imagine what Sheridan is up to, sadly I have him on ignore but considering he was laughably suggesting Rovers are killing people last week I'm sure it's priceless.
Oh, and way to go with the MNS being biased re: rovers dig. That's my particular favourite of all the Bohs/Sligo/Sheridan nonsense. I'm looking forward to someone totting up the amount of screen time each team has had and showing Rovers got an extra 3mins of highlights over the season, a revelation to be met with a flood of "Thanks" from Sheridan.
Calcio Jack
14/10/2009, 3:21 PM
Is there any actual proof that this incident occured , ?? on the basis that even SARI refered to it an as "alleged incident" I assume there isn't....
so calls for fines/points deductions/responses to emails/statement from the board of SRFC etc. are IMO somewhat ott and smack of desperation/bitterness on the part of a number of posters here especially Sheridan who IMO would be better served by applying the same energy to trying to figure out what motivates his apparent obsessive passive hatred of SRFC and then finding a way to mitigate it thereby freeing himself from it's corrosive effects.... or as some might put it "get a life"
14/10/2009, 3:21 PM
I think people should leave the Boco incident seperate to the Ndo incident, we (Sligo Rovers) have moved on from that, and so should Shamrock and Bohs fans with the Ndo craic. Looks like nothing will be done over the Ndo incident, so just forget it and move on.
brianw82
14/10/2009, 4:36 PM
Why did you CC MNS though?
You wanted it mentioned on their show that someone uploaded a youtube video in which apparent monkey noises can be heard at one stage for a few seconds during a game.
Yes, I do want it mentioned and discussed on MNS, just like the McGuinness incident was. Every other issue of importance this season has been discussed on MNS, this should be no different.
Next week I look forward to their exposé on a fight outside United Park after someone was drunk, or opposition fans bus windows being smashed outside the Brandywell with reports from an internet messageboard.
Things like that are nearly always unsubstantiated. One person says something happened, another says nothing happened. There is video evidence of the racial abuse towards Ndo. That is undeniable.
Every Rovers fan has condemned the youtube video. It was a small handful of knackers making a stupid and pathetic noise. I'm sure Rovers, their stewards and the Gardaí have all had words about trying to identify and reef out anyone caught doing anythign similar in the future. As has been noted above it has happened all over, there'll be nothing to stop someone in Croke Park tonight making a snide comment or three or four p!ssed up idiots trying to start the Adebayor chant about a black opposition player. It's stupid, it's pathetic, it's not acceptable. But don't expect a Charlie Bird investigation on the back of it. Like I said everyone has condemned this rather stupid behaviour, If the club knew who did it I've no doubt a life ban would be iissued and I'm sure the club and matchday staff will be looking at how to identify such in future.
That would be fair enough. However, if that's the case, why haven't the Rovers board said anything like this?
Of course that's not half interesting enough for the usual smattering of Bohs fans, Sligo Rovers fans and Sheridan trying to maximise negative publicity about this, owing to the fact that they don't like Shamrock Rovers very much (or in Sheridan's case is simply a freak of nature).
I could have told you before opening this thread that it would be Bohs fans, Sligo fans and Sheridan comparing a day out at Tallaght Stadium to the Berlin Olympics. Sure enough you have Bohs fans organising a response from SARI, Sligo fans emailing TV shows for some bizarre reason and I can only imagine what Sheridan is up to, sadly I have him on ignore but considering he was laughably suggesting Rovers are killing people last week I'm sure it's priceless.
Nothing at all to do with the club I support. However, if this had been, say, Dundalk involved, I'm sure I'd get a snide comment about being bitter towards Sean Connor. :rolleyes: I would've had the same reaction no matter what club it was.
You also, for the 2nd post in a row, ignored the fact that the club, to whom the email was directed, gave me no response. Would that be the case if I was enquiring about sponsoring a player, or any other query that might have resulted in money for the club? I doubt that, somehow.
Anyway, that's all I'm going to say on the matter. No point in getting into arguments about it.
14/10/2009, 4:51 PM
If MNS do something on this incident, Rovers will be livid. And rightly so.
But in that event, they should be livid with the toads who caused the problem in the first place - not the messangers.
If Rovers - or any club for that matter - don't want to be mentioned in such negative tones on TV, then the answer is to do something to sort the original problem out. TV is therefore a useful tool for forcing action. If Rovers fans don't like that - tough.
14/10/2009, 5:06 PM
Every Rovers fan has condemned the youtube video. It was a small handful of knackers making a stupid and pathetic noise. I'm sure Rovers, their stewards and the Gardaí have all had words about trying to identify and reef out anyone caught doing anythign similar in the future.
That's not really true though.
Read the thread (now locked) where the allegations first surfaced. There were Rovers fans denying it had happened, and pathetically trying to explain the sounds as short booing.
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=125246
First post where monkey noises were mentioned was post #77.
14/10/2009, 5:46 PM
Is there any actual proof that this incident occured , ??
Where have you been for the last two weeks? The evidence was on TV and is in the youtube clip mentioned in the link above.
Calcio Jack
14/10/2009, 8:28 PM
Where have you been for the last two weeks? The evidence was on TV and is in the youtube clip mentioned in the link above.
As I said where's the proof... i.e. some actual real evidence that would stand up...not some couple of seconds of a vague sound clip... as I said even SARI have refered to this as an alleged incident... I'm not saying it did or didn't happen as I simply don't know. I am however reminding people that unless it can be fully proven then it remains as only an alleged incident and thus no action should be considered against SRFC as that would fly in the face of natural justice.
14/10/2009, 10:05 PM
As I said where's the proof... i.e. some actual real evidence that would stand up...not some couple of seconds of a vague sound clip... as I said even SARI have refered to this as an alleged incident... I'm not saying it did or didn't happen as I simply don't know. I am however reminding people that unless it can be fully proven then it remains as only an alleged incident and thus no action should be considered against SRFC as that would fly in the face of natural justice.
I suspect SARI used the word "alleged" to just cover themselves legally.
The same way that news channels often talk about people who've done something wrong as "alleged" offenders - even if they've already been convicted by a court.
14/10/2009, 10:08 PM
Have you watched the clip on youtube?
Unless it has been doctored some way, it is pretty conclusive to me at least. And bear in mind that the alleged monkey noises wermentioned just after the game, and were based on watching the TG4 coverage, not youtube.
Leejo
14/10/2009, 10:59 PM
Pathetic.
Ezeikial
15/10/2009, 12:35 AM
The difference between the two cases (McGuinness and the SDCC ground incidents) is the reaction of the clubs. bohs board (and manager) apoligised immediately about what happened and made clear the club view on racism. At no stage did Bohs try to brush it under the carpet and despite a severe ban for the player (5 games on top of the automatic 1 the club imposed) there was no appeal.
Contrast this with the deafening silence from Tallaght after yet another rascist incident and tell me if you cannot see a difference.
Individual posters are not expected to stamp out racism (although as fans we should stand up to it ) but clubs are.
It's somewhat pointless and a little disingenuous to be comparing the two situations.
It was clear to Bohs that the McGuinness incident was noted by the referee and therefore almost certain to be included in his report. Many have reasonably questioned if Bohs subsequent reactions was more got to do with damage limitation than a genuine anti-racist stance. The paltry one match club suspension did little to dispel this notion.
You also seem to have forgotten Pat Fenlons "it's part and parcel of the game, what can you do about it?" comment.
Jicked
15/10/2009, 2:06 AM
That's not really true though.
Read the thread (now locked) where the allegations first surfaced. There were Rovers fans denying it had happened, and pathetically trying to explain the sounds as short booing.
http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=125246
First post where monkey noises were mentioned was post #77.
If you read my posts earlier in the thread you'd see my opinion on this. As I said, I was in the stand that night. I heard nothing, and I mean that genuinely and seriously. I'm not just saying that in the same way some will say a controversial goal was clearly onside. Hand on my heart, I heard no sort of racist abuse that night, if you believe me or not that's up to you, but there's an awful lot of Rovers fans, the vast majority, saying the same thing.
Even going by the youtube clip you're still talking about a couple of seconds at a particular point at the game. There was no widespread or sustained racist abuse that night, it's ridiculous to claim otherwise.
It's somewhat pointless and a little disingenuous to be comparing the two situations.
It was clear to Bohs that the McGuinness incident was noted by the referee and therefore almost certain to be included in his report. Many have reasonable questioned if Bohs subsequent reactions was more got to do with damage limitation than a genuine anti-racist stance. The paltry one match club suspension did little to dispel this notion.
You also seem to have forgotten Pat Fenlons "it's part and parcel of the game, what can you do about it?" comment.
so then Bohs are "damned if they do and damned if they dont" in relation to the McGuinness incident. Thats basically what youre saying, right? Any chance you could take something as having been done simply in good faith? Of course not, it was big bad Bohs and their always evil and sinister ulterior motives... :rolleyes: i really despair about some peoples vendettas on this messageboard, i really do.
by the way any opinion on the Rovers boards complete lack of comment on their issue? Or would you rather be another poster who attempts to ignore the issue at hand and drag this off topic just to get a dig in at Bohemians?
retract retract retract!
We must see your evidence for these unsubstantiated allegations!
Infraction infraction infraction!:d
we have ways of making you talk!
another excellent insight from the poster who calls himself Dong. Using a Rovers fans first ever post based on hearsay to fulfil his own spiteful agenda.
Any chance you could answer the questions i asked you in this and another thread regarding the racist element of the Rovers fanbase? Or is it just Bohs you want to have a dig at?
Again, just another example of a Pathetic contribution to a thread in this forum. :rolleyes:
15/10/2009, 2:34 AM
Hit him!
Hit him!
wouldnt i get an infraction though? Otherwise i would, you know... :p
Jicked
15/10/2009, 2:39 AM
by the way any opinion on the Rovers boards complete lack of comment on their issue? Or would you rather be another poster who attempts to ignore the issue at hand and drag this off topic just to get a dig in at Bohemians?Yet again, see me posts from earlier in the thread.
If this was a sizeable or noticeable number of Shamrock Rovers fans then I'm sure it would have drawn a response. Instead the FAI, UEFA, SARI, referee's report, FAI match officials, live commentators and the print media and TV media seem to have not made a big deal over what clearly appears to be a handful of scumbags. That differs with the holier than thou opinion of Bohs fans, Sligo fans and Sheridan. Go figure. And before you suggest otherwise, no, that's not me condoning anything.
Like any organisation, Rovers board are not going to be made explain themselves for a few knackers who show up at a game. Instead they're probably more concerned with doing something about it practically, ensuring these people are not allowed back in had they been identified, or working with Gardaí and matchday staff to try and identify the source of any such problems in the future and have the knackers reefed out and given a life ban.
Sadly there was no-one identified by police or stewards who made any such noise, there was no TV footage despite the numerous cameras at the ground as to who was responsible. As such it's not like Rovers board, nor the FAI, nor Monday Night Soccer (for whatever bizarre reason some fans think they're involved - oh wait, it's simply because some people don't like Rovers) can be expected to do too much here. If there was an employee of Rovers who was not punished it would be different. If there was an identifiable supporter(s) of Rovers it would be different. If it was a sizeable or noticeable number of supporters it would be different. If it was anything more than a few knackers it would be different. instead lets get on with football, and let Rovers get on with sorting out a handful of scumbags, which if any LoI fan was being honest, are (and have been) sadly quite likely to surface at any club in a bumper crowd situation.
Now please do tell me what's outragous with the above and how that's an anti-Bohs, pro-MNS, pro-FAI conspiracy?
Yet again, see me posts from earlier in the thread.
If this was a sizeable or noticeable number of Shamrock Rovers fans then I'm sure it would have drawn a response. Instead the FAI, UEFA, SARI, referee's, FAI match officials, live commentators and the print media and TV media seem to have not made a big deal over what clearly appears to be a handful of scumbags.
Like any organisation, Rovers board are not going to be made explain themselves for a few knackers who show up at a game. Instead they're probably more concerned with doing something about it practically, ensuring these people are not allowed back in had they been identified, or working with Gardaí and matchday staff to try and identify the source of any such problems in the future and have the knackers reefed out and given a life ban.
Sadly there was no-one identified by police or stewards who made any such noise, there was no TV footage despite the numerous cameras at the ground as to who was responsible. As such it's not like Rovers board, nor the FAI, nor Monday Night Soccer (for whatever bizarre reason some fans think they're involved - oh wait, it's simply because some people don't like Rovers) can be expected to do too much here. If there was an employee of Rovers who was not punished it would be different. If there was an identifiable supporter(s) of Rovers it would be different. If it was a sizeable or noticeable number of supporters it would be different. If it was anything more than a few knackers it would be different. instead lets get on with football, and let Rovers get on with sorting out a handful of scumbags, which if any LoI fan was being honest, are (and have been) sadly quite likely to surface at any club in a bumper crowd situation.
Now please do tell me what's outragous with the above and how that's an anti-Bohs, pro-MNS, pro-FAI conspiracy?
i quoted Ezeikial. :confused::confused:
For the record, I have no problems with most of your posts on this matter since the SARI statement. That said, a statement from the club condemning the actions of the few would go some way to appeasing this issue in my opinion. Same for the FAI. The silence from both parties is nothing short of disgraceful considering the irrefutible evidence at hand.
another excellent insight from the poster who calls himself Dong. Using a Rovers fans first ever post based on hearsay to fulfil his own spiteful agenda.
Any chance you could answer the questions i asked you in this and another thread regarding the racist element of the Rovers fanbase? Or is it just Bohs you want to have a dig at?
Again, just another example of a Pathetic contribution to a thread in this forum. :rolleyes:
Settle!
That last post was just a bit of craic. What were those questions again?
Jicked
15/10/2009, 2:51 AM
i quoted Ezeikial. :confused::confused:
For the record, I have no problems with most of your posts on this matter since the SARI statement. That said, a statement from the club condemning the actions of the few would go some way to appeasing this issue in my opinion. Same for the FAI. The silence from both parties is nothing short of disgraceful considering the evidence at hand.
Fair enough and sorry I am talking for Ezekial in that case, but you can't relly expect every Rovers fan (if he is a rovers fan) to come on and say the same thing about the boards 'lack or response', it's simply not surprising.
When Michael O'Neill goose-steps up to accept the league title we might all start demanding a response from the Rovers board, otherwise its as silly as demanding a response from Bohs board for two arrests made before a game against Rovers for violent conduct, or Derry's board explaining attacks on visiting supporter buses.
All are stupid, annoying things that shouldn't be present at any LoI game, none of them greatly affect or are noticeable by the vast majority of fans in attendance, and all should be dealt internally by clubs working with police to try and sort out better match day arrangements. None are 100% preventable, all will be ridiculed by opposition fans, but demanding public responses or points deductions for the actions of a tiny, unidentifiable minority is crazy and very obviously an attempt at point-scoring by interested parties. Simple as.
he's a dundalk fan by the way and hes talking about the Bohs motivation behind how we handled McGuinness. I took exception to what he posted but its a different argument and i dont know why you responded to my post which was a response to his...
Im not asking for point deductions and am not really interested in any point scoring (except for Bohs on the league table obviously). I think when such actions, be they a tiny amount of fans or not, are so clearly audible on TV and clearly racist in nature (not Rovers fans chanting "boo, boo" as was suggested earlier in the debate) then they deserve comment from Rovers and (at the very least!) a warning from the FAI.
Otherwise, by ignoring it, its just saying that racist abuse is okay and thats what really gets me.
Obviously these guys are morons so whats to say it wont happen again the next time, with more of their moronic friends joining in because they got away with it the last time. It genuinely ****es me off and i would be demanding the same if it was any other team, including Bohemians.
Settle!
That last post was just a bit of craic. What were those questions again?
fair enough. My fuse is getting shorter by the day... :o
Calcio Jack
15/10/2009, 7:45 AM
Pathetic.
Not pathetic but simply the reality until proven otherwise...or does the norm of innocent until proven guilty not apply to SRFC ?
placid casual
15/10/2009, 8:31 AM
Every time I go against my better judgement and read this laughable thread, I get a mental image of Joey Ndo in a sari.
$hit, am i a racist?:eek: