View Full Version : Sligo Rovers V Shamrock Rovers Saturday 26th at 7.45pm
sligofan4ever
28/09/2009, 7:23 PM
had to wait til MNS to watch goal again as i was behind the other goals..penalty was bulls*it...and Michael O'Neill is pri*k..really hope Bohs win the title now after that interview.
Yeah he said something like "The referee had a good game", such bullsh*t he had agood game for Shams anyways, MOTM and pantom villian all in one McKeon was. I also think your man covering the report said Boco is a "Benayoun international", or just pronounces it weirdly :D.
rovers100%
28/09/2009, 7:39 PM
o neill was saying sligo were physical which is bull !!! how may times this season have we talked about needing more bite in our team !!! we were not dirty in the least. he is a tit . the one game the camera is on the blue stand we needed it on the the red to get a proper look of the decisions. just our luck...... def want the gypos to win the league now. mns is sh1t imo and they never say anything too controversial. if we play the remainder of our matches like we did last sat nite i for one will be happy because we are seeing a different team the last few matches. we can avoid the drop if keep our confidence up and take our chances
28/09/2009, 7:40 PM
ShaMNS more like.
CarrickFan
28/09/2009, 7:44 PM
Yeah he said something like "The referee had a good game", such bullsh*t he had agood game for Shams anyways, MOTM and pantom villian all in one McKeon was. I also think your man covering the report said Boco is a "Benayoun international", or just pronounces it weirdly :D.
He more or less called us a dirty team aswell the ****..
mint sauce
28/09/2009, 8:06 PM
same old MNS, the ref gave us f all, MNS were not much better, is it just me or do we really get very little positive comments from them, even last week, very little well done sligo for getting to the semi final, it was more was the cup being devalued for having no big sides in the last four
:(
back to the game its self and the shams fans, you done your club proud saturday night, fair play to ya's, great to see such a big away crowd coming to the showies
oldrover
28/09/2009, 8:14 PM
As a Sligo Rovers supporter of over 40 years my faith is finally weakening, not I might immediately add in the bit o’ red but in what passes for refereeing . For quite some time I was content to put it down to incompetence. Having witnessed the performance of the man in the middle (from Dublin!!)at the Rovers v Shams game on Saturday I am beginning to believe Stephen Kenny is right.
A penalty and a blatantly wrong call on a corner hands the match to a team the powers that be would wish to see dominate the league. Maybe Dublin refs just subliminally favour their local teams or maybe there is something more to it in a league where some teams have grounds provided by county councils and others by the FAI and where FAI budgeting rules are applied in an apparent uneven manner. It raises the question of fairness and indeed conflict of interests
The reality is that, relative to population, support for the league is far greater outside of Dublin but continued unfairness will eventually kill off that enthusiasm. What about a level playing pitch.
above is email I sent to MNS, Iwould now add that O'Neills comments were a disgrace
bingoballs
28/09/2009, 8:18 PM
evryone saw how bad the referee was. im sure it'll be shown up on MNS
MNS is a joke lads. They are part of this whole agenda to marginalise clubs like ours in my opinion. In a game with two shocking decisions they tried to justify the referee's performance and all they would talk about is how great Shams are, despite them creating sweet f.a. and being gifted the match. I've said it before, their coverage of us is always pathetic and after tonight, I will never watch their sh*te again!
CameramanConka
28/09/2009, 8:24 PM
MNS is a joke lads. They are part of this whole agenda to marginalise clubs like ours in my opinion. In a game with two shocking decisions they tried to justify the referee's performance and all they would talk about is how great Shams are, despite them creating sweet f.a. and being gifted the match. I've said it before, their coverage of us is always pathetic and after tonight, I will never watch their sh*te again!
Yeah, some of the programme meetings are a scream. Top of the agenda - let's marginalise Sligo and such-like teams. Sweet Jesus. Catch a grip of yourself man/woman.
rovers100%
28/09/2009, 8:28 PM
Yeah, some of the programme meetings are a scream. Top of the agenda - let's marginalise Sligo and such-like teams. Sweet Jesus. Catch a grip of yourself man/woman.
good man cameramanconka, now get mammy to tuck ya in after 9pm and its ur bedtime......sweet dreams
CameramanConka
28/09/2009, 8:37 PM
good man cameramanconka, now get mammy to tuck ya in after 9pm and its ur bedtime......sweet dreams
Superb - well thought out and erudite response. :rolleyes: Brilliant. Well done you.
bingoballs
28/09/2009, 8:38 PM
Maybe i should rephrase that, there seems to be an attitude of dismissiveness towards clubs like Sligo Rovers from the FAI, match officials and the panel of MNS. Because we are not from Dublin and we don't play in Turners Cross or the Brandywell, we don't count. The coverage we have recieved from the programme all season long is my vindication.
Redkenrover
28/09/2009, 9:01 PM
Ok so, give us an idea how a programme is structured. I'm not being smart but genuinely want to know.
Lately I have gone off MNS a bit. Good programme but I find the amount of time the panel go off topic when discussing a match is getting greater. I hate to compare one with the other as I think MNS is trying to find its own identity but when you look an match of the day, a tried and tested formula, i.e. match highlights, discuss, highlight incidents and discuss, its hard not to say it has stood the test of time for a reason.
srfc1928
28/09/2009, 9:05 PM
Maybe i should rephrase that, there seems to be an attitude of dismissiveness towards clubs like Sligo Rovers from the FAI, match officials and the panel of MNS. Because we are not from Dublin and we don't play in Turners Cross or the Brandywell, we don't count. The coverage we have recieved from the programme all season long is my vindication.
Have to agree with this.
The FAI and match officals have very little respect for our club.
I think they easily forget that we have survived for over 80 years with little or no help from them, especially when you compare the assistance some clubs have received in the last few years.
As for MNS I couldnt give a **** what laughing boy thinks of us.
28/09/2009, 10:35 PM
He more or less called us a dirty team aswell the ****..
He didn't use those words. He used the term "physical", which is fair enough. There were some hefty challenges on both sides, and a fair few yellows handed out. We had 3 free kicks in the first 10 minutes floated into the box. Our central defender had his shirt pulled in the box (rugby style) each time, the ref let it go, it happened another couple of times until midway through the second half, when the ref spoke to him and his marker and delayed a free kick because of it.
Sligo were quite happy to take the ref's decision, when Derry went ape over your winner in the cup, but because they lost on Saturday, it's all a Dub conspiracy. :rolleyes:
More like an excuse.
CF1989
28/09/2009, 11:26 PM
the decision agaist derrywas clearly justied though. look at the rule book.
apo11o
28/09/2009, 11:34 PM
Sligo were quite happy to take the ref's decision, when Derry went ape over your winner in the cup, it's all a Dub conspiracy. :rolleyes:
They wanted Derry out to leave it handy for you lot but messed up the draw.:D
29/09/2009, 12:11 AM
Arrah, lads, forget it. Bohs will win the league, we'll win the cup and The Hoors will end up with nothing except The Setanta Cup which will be cancelled next year. God's in his heaven and everything's alright with the world.
Never thought I'd say it but after O'Neill's comments last night I'm cheering on Bohs all the way to the title.
O'Neill also as much as admitted it wasn't a corner for the second goal.
showgies
29/09/2009, 10:15 AM
O'Neill also as much as admitted it wasn't a corner for the second goal.
Yes he did, the fool.
You have to feel sorry for him though, he clearly wasn't expecting us to actually tackle his boys.
Bohs are the better team, so I too hope they win it, regardless of having another moaner of a manager in charge.
CarrickFan
29/09/2009, 11:43 AM
He didn't use those words. He used the term "physical", which is fair enough. There were some hefty challenges on both sides, and a fair few yellows handed out. We had 3 free kicks in the first 10 minutes floated into the box. Our central defender had his shirt pulled in the box (rugby style) each time, the ref let it go, it happened another couple of times until midway through the second half, when the ref spoke to him and his marker and delayed a free kick because of it.
Sligo were quite happy to take the ref's decision, when Derry went ape over your winner in the cup, but because they lost on Saturday, it's all a Dub conspiracy. :rolleyes:
More like an excuse.
Ah if your going to talk about shirt pulling etc lets have a bit of parity...Matthew Blinkhorn was used as a ladder by Shams centre halfs all night and didnt get one free kick..actually i think frees were actually given against him....
i dont think there is any kind of "Dub Conspiracy" but the fact is on the night the ref was pi** poor...having been behind the the opposite goals i waited to see MNS for a better view of Shams 2 goals and i think its obvious to any fair minded person that it wasnt a peno..the corner decision is harder to call but Brush seemed pretty sure it was a goal kick..the free kick given that led to O'Grady getting booked and countless other decisions were poor and seemed to be in your favour...
Despite the above Shams manager O'Neil came out and showed a real lack of class after the match..accusing us of being dirty etc..and defending the refs shocking display...normally a manager who has poxed a result is more gracious,he just proved what i always thought anyway..that he is a tw*t....say what you want about Fenlon(and many people do!!)but after we beat them in the league and knocked them out of the cup recently he had the decency to say we deserved it(league) and we done a good job on them(cup) and complemented us on being a good side...his neighbour in Tallaght could learn from him..
The facilities and crowds turning up in Tallaght are fantastic and great for a league usually dealing in bad news stories and i was full of praise for all going on at Shamrock Rovers but because of their petty tw*t of a manager i'll be backing Bohs all the way for the title.
red arrow
29/09/2009, 1:27 PM
bohs are the best side in the country & i hope they win the league
29/09/2009, 3:59 PM
MON gave an honest view of the game, rather than the usual nonsense. If you don't like it, there's not a lot we can do for you.
As I said earlier, we won the 4 games against you, our opponents won't win the 4 games. So against Sligo anyway, I think we know which was the better team.
I'll leave it at that.
29/09/2009, 4:25 PM
MON gave an honest view of the game, rather than the usual nonsense. If you don't like it, there's not a lot we can do for you.
As I said earlier, we won the 4 games against you, our opponents won't win the 4 games. So against Sligo anyway, I think we know which was the better team.
I'll leave it at that.
Since you're leaving it at that, I can have the last word. An honest view of anything is the view that agrees with mine and expecting Con 'hoops' Murphy to be unbiased about anything to do with the Tallafornians is a bit much. Anyway, glad to see you've got the social housing after so many years squatting everywhere else and also glad to assure you that you will never see housing on our beloved Showgrounds.
blackholesun
29/09/2009, 6:07 PM
http://vimeo.com/6805343
Better but still not perfect view of the penalty 2 mins in, kinda looks a bit like he kicked out at him on the ground as he tried to get up!
bhs
CarrickFan
29/09/2009, 6:58 PM
I'll leave it at that.
What have the first 3 games got to do with last Saturday?..nothing.
Redkenrover
29/09/2009, 7:12 PM
Just a reminder to everyone about Crimecall presented by Con Murphy on RTE one tonight at 10.20pm. They are looking for some baldy p*"ck in relation to a major robbery in Sligo last Saturday night.:p
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/09/2009, 7:26 PM
Better but still not perfect view of the penalty 2 mins in, kinda looks a bit like he kicked out at him on the ground as he tried to get up!
bhs
There was a blatant handball in the build up to the 'penalty' so it should have been a free out
but because of their petty tw*t of a manager i'll be backing Bohs all the way for the title.
Ah the irony :D
What have the first 3 games got to do with last Saturday?..nothing.
Has something to do with claims that Bohs are the better side.
I think if we all look closely you can see John Delaney under the pitch dragging Peers along with a magnet heading the ball into his own net. And deflecting Cretaro's shot straight at Mannus at one-on-one in the first half. It was CLEARLY going in otherwise.
"The ref never gave us anything":rolleyes:
Nah Nah Nah Nah
29/09/2009, 8:23 PM
I think if we all look closely you can see John Delaney under the pitch dragging Peers along with a magnet heading the ball into his own net. And deflecting Cretaro's shot straight at Mannus at one-on-one in the first half. It was CLEARLY going in otherwise.
They have played a lot better against us this season then you lot even if we have managed to knick a couple of lucky wins against them. Luck we certainly didn't have on Saturday night. 7 games time will decide who is the better team but I know who I would rather watch play
CarrickFan
29/09/2009, 8:28 PM
Explain the irony please?..Cook is prob the most honest manager in the league and always calls it as it is,even when we have been poor.
I never made reference to Bohs being a better side i just said i hope the win the title because of ur manager...
I didnt mention own goal or Rafs miss..do you have trouble reading my posts?
Da Real Rover
29/09/2009, 8:39 PM
Bohs are easily superior to Shams, no comparison really.
How shams are where they are playing the kind of football they are is beyond me.
On merit I really think Bohs should win the title as they are the better team.
As for Shams they brought a great crowd, best in the showgies this season, about 500 id say.
And its great to see them selling out tallaght, its at least one off field success story for the league this season.
I think most of us here are biased observes with regaurds the ref but just food for thought a certain Rotterdam native who frequents our games was the most livid out of all the Rovers fans I came across, the ref left a bitter taste in my mouth and such its hard to be gracious in the face of defeat when it feels like a robbery.
The irony is your own pettiness.
You didn't..others have.
I wasn't referring to your or anyone else's posts with any other comment.
CarrickFan
29/09/2009, 9:02 PM
You didn't..others have.
Of course your happy with ur manager as ur chasing the title and obviously he must be doing a good job but he showed a distinct lack of class and grace in the interview despite ye getting the 3 points..thats not being petty..thats fact.
As i said whats going on at ur club is great with the stadium and crowds etc its just a shame that he has to resort to that..i'd love to see him being interviewed after a game ye actually lost due to "controversial refereeing":)
rovers100%
29/09/2009, 9:15 PM
i wil wait with eager eyes to see how long shams last without a fiasco of some sort. the prob is with jackeen clubs when ye start winning anything it goes to yer head and spend like loonies, shels and bohs have fooked up as have yourselves in the past so we shall wait and see how long ye last at the top. it seems in ireland its a poisoned chalice winning the league. in all honesty i believe bohs are a more attractive team to watch and a better all round team but if ye can win the league then away with ye and well done but beware how long ye last up on your pedistool
redobit
30/09/2009, 8:21 AM
Bohs are easily superior to Shams, no comparison really.
How shams are where they are playing the kind of football they are is beyond me.
On merit I really think Bohs should win the title as they are the better team.
As for Shams they brought a great crowd, best in the showgies this season, about 500 id say.
And its great to see them selling out tallaght, its at least one off field success story for the league this season.
I think most of us here are biased observes with regaurds the ref but just food for thought a certain Rotterdam native who frequents our games was the most livid out of all the Rovers fans I came across, the ref left a bitter taste in my mouth and such its hard to be gracious in the face of defeat when it feels like a robbery.
Ya, good crowd of them fair play, and pennies for us too. To be honest any club in their postion should be bringing a big away support.
When you consider that we have brought over 300 to away games this season and we've only won 4 or 5 games all season, I think its shows our potential. Also all our away games are away games, not a DART stop away.
30/09/2009, 10:38 PM
So against Sligo anyway, I think we know which was the better team.
I'll leave it at that.
Yes.. Rovers... Sligo Rovers.
I'll leave it at that.
bingoballs
02/10/2009, 9:10 PM
You didn't..others have.
shams fans show their class tonight!
dublinred
02/10/2009, 9:16 PM
Good deserved win for Shams tonight as much as last week still hurts if it helps deny Bohs the prizemoney for winning the league thus relegating them it may work out better after all for us if we finish ahead of bray and drogheda we will avoid the playoffs.
Rovers Maniac
02/10/2009, 9:19 PM
I think things should be done on the pitch, anyway i thought Shams were very lucky tonight but got the 3 points.
Jeez Drogs are fairly scrapping for their lives, seems to be a lot of late goals for them in their games, we need 3 points and 3 points soon.
02/10/2009, 10:05 PM
If we don't beat Pat's and Galway we're in a play-off at best.
Rovers Maniac
02/10/2009, 10:41 PM
If we don't beat Pat's and Galway we're in a play-off at best.
Ya true Rory i think its a big ask to be fair to beat the 2 of them. That Drogs team are scrapping for their lives at the moment. By the way anybody know the story with Morrison?
srfc1928
02/10/2009, 11:02 PM
Good deserved win for Shams tonight as much as last week still hurts if it helps deny Bohs the prizemoney for winning the league thus relegating them it may work out better after all for us if we finish ahead of bray and drogheda we will avoid the playoffs.
Bohs wont be relegated no matter what, they'll be let slip through the net.
As for shams, that result and the manner in which it was won is a little bit worrying for the league, its results like that push teams on to dominate.
Youve got to hand it to Drogs, they're absolutely sh1te to watch but they keep battling away,
if you were a betting man at this stage of the season you'd probably put your money on them to finish ahead of us.
I dont bet so i think we can still get ahead of Drogs at best,
we are going to be in the play offs,
clubman
02/10/2009, 11:24 PM
Yep, it's defo the play-offs for us now.
So ......... how does it work??
I'm told it's 3rd last against 2nd last in a one off game, 3rd last having home advantage.
The loser of that game play winner of the 2nd and 3rd placed First Division clubs in a home and away decider. Is this formula correct?
Is it written down anywhere or are the FAI waiting to see who 'qualifies' before they decide the format?
02/10/2009, 11:27 PM
bhs
Just saw this for the first time, and tbh this is shocking. Re: The Peno
1) Barrett handballed before he was fouled.
2) He dived.
3) No one kicked him as he tried to get up ffs. Get over yourself trying to justify the decision.
Also, the choice editing of the corner from the view that would have proven us right is hilarious.
I know we were bad in the second half, but we were robbed. You get a lead against a team who are now arguably champions elect only for it to be robbed by a referee who is appalling at best.
02/10/2009, 11:33 PM
I'm told it's 3rd last against 2nd last in a one off game, 3rd last having home advantage.
The loser of that game play winner of the 2nd and 3rd placed First Division clubs in a home and away decider. Is this formula correct?Yes..
shams fans show their class tonight!
All 5,500 fans? Cool! Thanks:cool:
Sligo fans still sure Bohs will definitely win the league?
bingoballs
03/10/2009, 7:50 AM
All 5,500 fans? Cool! Thanks:cool:
Sligo fans still sure Bohs will definitely win the league?
massive crowd fair play to ye. thought the the free kick that led to your goal was dodgey though. i felt awful sorry for jason byrne, he must have thought he was in croke park for a minute. what happened with the linesman btw, was he hit with a bottle of coke?
Dixie Dean
03/10/2009, 9:48 AM
Yep, it's defo the play-offs for us now.
So ......... how does it work??
The loser of that game play winner of the 2nd and 3rd placed First Division clubs in a home and away decider. Is this formula correct?
Is it written down anywhere or are the FAI waiting to see who 'qualifies' before they decide the format?
Looks like bray cant buy a win at the moment so even a draw against pats are we are beginning to look too far ahead of them. The playoffs gives us 2 bites of the cherry and that will see us stay up. I see us finishing 3rd bottom and winning the cup.
04/10/2009, 10:40 PM
massive crowd fair play to ye. thought the the free kick that led to your goal was dodgey though. i felt awful sorry for jason byrne, he must have thought he was in croke park for a minute. what happened with the linesman btw, was he hit with a bottle of coke?
Out in Pram Springs it was more likely to be a bag of coke.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/10/2009, 2:54 AM
Like every Rovers fan said all season, Bohs are the better side. Enjoy watching them play football. Except against us of course.