View Full Version : Mayo Association Football League
Phoenix
06/10/2010, 1:25 PM
There's a real smell about it all. They should have renamed it something other than Premier A & B, not that that would make a blind bit of difference to the demoted teams. Feel sorry for the likes of Martin McDonald at Ballyglass. A really good football fella. Took on the club when it was on it's ass, got them promoted and was within 90 mins of bringing them back to the Super League, only to lose and go to the Premier -(minus) League. It's a bit galling that "somebody" had informed the opposition of the ramifications of winning/losing/drawing.
I wonder were the bingo balls brought out to decide who went into what division??
FahyForever
06/10/2010, 2:10 PM
When this whole stupid idea of 8 team divisions came out, a friend told me that he thought it was a ploy by the Mayo League to improve their reputation by having the Super League teams advance further in the Connaught and F.A.I Cups. I found the theory a bit conspiratorial.
Now however, I'm convinced that he was right all along. I think it's fairly obvious to anyone involved in the day-to-day of a Mayo club that the Mayo League Committee is far more interested in enhancing it's own status than that of the league as a whole. The unique and ludicrous rules involving fencing, gap between sideline and fence, fines for anything whatsoever, press-box, scoreboards and a whole host of other meaningless nonsense makes that fairly clear. They want members of the F.A.I to come to Mayo and say 'look at the marvellous proactive work they have been doing here in Mayo', rather than listen to the problems at grassroots.
In terms of the league re-structure, I can only come to the conclusion that the same mentality is in play. Reducing the number of teams in the league will NOT make any of them more competitive, is unlikely to even reduce the season due to other cup competitions, and will still result in meaningless matches at the end of the year, as there is in every league in the world. What it WILL do, however, is create a situation where the same top teams will dominate for years, with the teams who got relegated one year more than likely going back up the next in see-saw fashion. And these teams will predominantly come from the bigger towns.
Next year's Super League line-up includes;
Castlebar, Ballina, Westport, Ballinrobe, Swinford and Claremorris, the six largest towns in the county to my reckoning. Alongside them are Erris, with its vast hinterland and Manulla, Irish Junior club of the year recently, well-established and well run. Small or rural clubs who got a shot at the Super League in the recent past (Glenhest, Kilmore, Bangor, Fahy etc) will have a much-diminished chance of recreating that feat. And teams who have never been there will find it even more difficult to break through, considering the teams who will be relegated.
I think the League committee is hoping that the top players from smaller teams will join their larger counterparts to get a chance at Super League football, thusly improving the big team, weakening the smaller team, and strengthening the ubiquity and dominance of the large towns in the Super League. Whilst continuing to make the best teams better and the Mayo League look good as those reinforced teams improve their performances in the external cups. Which is what they really care about.
I'm open to argument on these points of course, but I just can't see any other valid reason for the non-communicative, insular, closed-shop attitude of the county's governing body.
Longshanks
06/10/2010, 2:23 PM
My previous post was deleted because of bad language, the jist of it was that this appears to be a big mess, but ye do have great facilities in comparison to us(Sligo). Mayo reduce their top division to 8 less than 14 months after Sligo/Leitrim expand theirs to 12?? which league is taking the right path???
jim_bob
06/10/2010, 3:31 PM
longshanks how is the sligo 12 team divisions going? has it been a success?
im just looking for a comparison to the new mayo league set up and another counties
Longshanks
06/10/2010, 4:32 PM
Early days yet Jim. A couple of clubs folded a few years back and we had 4 divisions ( 3 x 10 and the bottom with 5 teams). The bottom league was a farce with teams playing each other 4 times.
Super and Premier Leagues have 12 teams, Division 1 10 teams. It means you have to win your league over 22 games instead of 18 which makes it a tougher league in that sense, also if you have a bad start, like us this year all hope(if any) isnt gone, we have 15 games to try and get safety as opposed to 11.
I feel the Premier League will benefit more by the expansion than the Super League. The Premier is very very competitive whereas there is almost 3 mini leagues in the Super League(title contenders/mid-tables/relegation candidates).
On the plus side it means we have a minimum of 12 teams in round 3 of the Conn Cup.
Round Tower
06/10/2010, 4:53 PM
longshanks how is the sligo 12 team divisions going? has it been a success?
im just looking for a comparison to the new mayo league set up and another counties
I inquired with the thread Division 1A in th Limerick league about A&B in a division like the new Premier in Mayo, thye say that Division 1A is a higher division than Division 1B. The top 2 in the division 1A go into the premier and bottom 2 in Division 1A are relegated to Division 1B and visa-versa down to the rest of the divisions. This i think is the main question people would ask about the Premier 1 and 2 is it 1 division or 2 divisions, to win the Premier Cup wil u have to win 3 games or 4 games?
renovater
06/10/2010, 8:35 PM
When this whole stupid idea of 8 team divisions came out, a friend told me that he thought it was a ploy by the Mayo League to improve their reputation by having the Super League teams advance further in the Connaught and F.A.I Cups. I found the theory a bit conspiratorial.
Now however, I'm convinced that he was right all along. I think it's fairly obvious to anyone involved in the day-to-day of a Mayo club that the Mayo League Committee is far more interested in enhancing it's own status than that of the league as a whole. The unique and ludicrous rules involving fencing, gap between sideline and fence, fines for anything whatsoever, press-box, scoreboards and a whole host of other meaningless nonsense makes that fairly clear. They want members of the F.A.I to come to Mayo and say 'look at the marvellous proactive work they have been doing here in Mayo', rather than listen to the problems at grassroots.
In terms of the league re-structure, I can only come to the conclusion that the same mentality is in play. Reducing the number of teams in the league will NOT make any of them more competitive, is unlikely to even reduce the season due to other cup competitions, and will still result in meaningless matches at the end of the year, as there is in every league in the world. What it WILL do, however, is create a situation where the same top teams will dominate for years, with the teams who got relegated one year more than likely going back up the next in see-saw fashion. And these teams will predominantly come from the bigger towns.
Next year's Super League line-up includes;
Castlebar, Ballina, Westport, Ballinrobe, Swinford and Claremorris, the six largest towns in the county to my reckoning. Alongside them are Erris, with its vast hinterland and Manulla, Irish Junior club of the year recently, well-established and well run. Small or rural clubs who got a shot at the Super League in the recent past (Glenhest, Kilmore, Bangor, Fahy etc) will have a much-diminished chance of recreating that feat. And teams who have never been there will find it even more difficult to break through, considering the teams who will be relegated.
I think the League committee is hoping that the top players from smaller teams will join their larger counterparts to get a chance at Super League football, thusly improving the big team, weakening the smaller team, and strengthening the ubiquity and dominance of the large towns in the Super League. Whilst continuing to make the best teams better and the Mayo League look good as those reinforced teams improve their performances in the external cups. Which is what they really care about.
I'm open to argument on these points of course, but I just can't see any other valid reason for the non-communicative, insular, closed-shop attitude of the county's governing body.
you will deafen those who take charge of your junior game.But I am afraid it will fall on deaf ears
Maximus
06/10/2010, 9:04 PM
If thats the case Killala and Conn rangers have just been punished for being promoted
Whats this about??? Killala and Conn Rangers were playin in div 1 last year. Now there both in the Premier. A is the second teir and B is the third. Simple! Killala and Conn Rangers went from the third teir of Mayo football to the second = both teams happy.
06/10/2010, 9:09 PM
Whats this about??? Killala and Conn Rangers were playin in div 1 last year. Now there both in the Premier. A is the second teir and B is the third. Simple! Killala and Conn Rangers went from the third teir of Mayo football to the second = both teams happy.
He meant in the case that Premier A and Premier B were the same teir, i.e the second. In that case they would've found themselves in the tougher half.
Round Tower
06/10/2010, 9:57 PM
He meant in the case that Premier A and Premier B were the same teir, i.e the second. In that case they would've found themselves in the tougher half.
That is the problem have the ML said is Premier A and B one division or 2 if its 2 that would be okay but if its 1 division, Maximus i dont tkink we would be too happy, and in the e-mail sent out clubs or what is on Mid West radio web site its not stated if its 1 or 2.
GoodFootball
06/10/2010, 10:53 PM
Its a complete joke and would make you wanna give it up and play gaelic instead...
pixiehead
06/10/2010, 11:23 PM
Early days yet Jim. A couple of clubs folded a few years back and we had 4 divisions ( 3 x 10 and the bottom with 5 teams). The bottom league was a farce with teams playing each other 4 times.
Super and Premier Leagues have 12 teams, Division 1 10 teams. It means you have to win your league over 22 games instead of 18 which makes it a tougher league in that sense, also if you have a bad start, like us this year all hope(if any) isnt gone, we have 15 games to try and get safety as opposed to 11.
I feel the Premier League will benefit more by the expansion than the Super League. The Premier is very very competitive whereas there is almost 3 mini leagues in the Super League(title contenders/mid-tables/relegation candidates).
On the plus side it means we have a minimum of 12 teams in round 3 of the Conn Cup.
that must take a long time to complete, what with all the games that are called off with weather conditions. How long does it run for and how many weeks would you average for cancellations ?
Longshanks
07/10/2010, 9:59 AM
Pixie,
last season we played our first league game on the 16th Aug and our last on the 9th May, the previous season with a 10 team division our 1st game was 24th Aug and the last was 13th May. Much of a muchness really. they squeeze in a few mid week games end April/May.
Last season we played on the 18th Oct and didnt play again till 24th Jan, there were a couple of games called off(waterlogged pitches) in Sept too.
I dont know how ye manage the summer football, Mayo is a big GAA county. Do ye have many dual players? and do the ML and GAA work together re fixturing etc??
pixiehead
07/10/2010, 11:45 AM
Pixie,
last season we played our first league game on the 16th Aug and our last on the 9th May, the previous season with a 10 team division our 1st game was 24th Aug and the last was 13th May. Much of a muchness really. they squeeze in a few mid week games end April/May.
Last season we played on the 18th Oct and didnt play again till 24th Jan, there were a couple of games called off(waterlogged pitches) in Sept too.
I dont know how ye manage the summer football, Mayo is a big GAA county. Do ye have many dual players? and do the ML and GAA work together re fixturing etc??
Thanks
there are a few dual players but not an awful lot.By junior level most people will have picked the sport they prefer and thats that. In the more rural places it can be a bit of a problem but its rare in the towns. That is a massive break Longshanks. Was that all because of weather. Last year we had the floods and then the freezing so was that it? Summer football is the only way forward. It has worked at national level , in mayo and now in donegal afaik. I dont think western counties have much choice. If lads want to choose GAA then let them off. You have to look at the bigger picture and the long run. Plus our winters are getting worse every year so ye might have no choice eventually !No they dont work together. Mayo is a big GAA county but we are fortunate that it is also a big soccer county as well. 36 clubs and 32 have all proper facilities as required. Its makes for good reading the commitment to soccer down here
Longshanks
07/10/2010, 1:31 PM
For most Junior clubs in Sligo, particularly the rural ones the GAA is a big competitor and if push came to shove I'd say about 90% of the dual players would pick GAA. I'm only speaking from my experience but the majority of players treat the Junior soccer season as a bit of craic and handy to keep your fitness levels ticking over during the GAA off season.
For example last season we were involved in the title run-in in the Premier League, it was a struggle to keep lads in the night before games etc. In the end the season came down to the last match and it was us and our rivals level on points at the top, playing each other. It was explained to the lads that it was the equivualent of the Intermediate Championship Final and that we had 2 weeks to prepare and look after ourselves. We eventually tripped over the line and it was well celebrated. Now we are in the Super League and we cant keep the lads in, cant get them training for what is the same as Senior GAA. Now our GAA club that all the lads play for is an Intermediate club and would be long shots to win the Championship, but they'll go off the drink for weeks and train 3 nights a week for the build up and if they ever did make it to Senior they'd really put the effort in. I suppose its the mind set. (sorry if this is a bit rantish but we'd another poor turn out at training last night!!)
I suppose of the 30 odd clubs in Sligo/Leitrim only 1 or 2 arent effected by dual players
pixiehead
07/10/2010, 2:23 PM
Thats interesting longshanks then. I guess theres a huge contrast in the counties so. As a matter of interest how do most clubs train up there during the winter. Is there facilities for night time training when the ordinary facilities are not the best??
Maximus
07/10/2010, 6:45 PM
That is the problem have the ML said is Premier A and B one division or 2 if its 2 that would be okay but if its 1 division, Maximus i dont tkink we would be too happy, and in the e-mail sent out clubs or what is on Mid West radio web site its not stated if its 1 or 2.
Of course there seperate divisions. If there equal, your tellin me if Moy Villa win Premier B they go into the super league and skip one division after scrapin 4th spot in div. one this year. Thats too outlandish - therefore i believe they are seperate.
The point is you shouldnt have to quess and two stronger teams are going to be relegated than were promoted which shouldnt happen.
renovater
07/10/2010, 7:26 PM
I don't believe there is any doubt that they are Prem A and Prem B not the same as 2a or 2b that div, was split a number of years ago. this case is differant as teams from S.L. PLUS Prem make up the division.
Back n the game
08/10/2010, 9:04 AM
Confirmed
Premier A and B ARE seperate leagues.
It would appear that the Mayo league think that by renaming the leagues clubs would'nt know they were totally shafted. Biggest loosers in my oppinion are the league champions and runners up that were not promoted, Charlestown, Westport C, Ballyhaunis Town, Ballina Utd. This is a disgrace in my opinion and a total waste of 12 months. Will the Mayo league refund these clubs and players all it cost to play this pathitic excuse of a season??
The other loosers in my opinion are the clubs relegated 2 divisions: Manulla B, Castlebar Celtic B or Knock/Kiltimagh, Ballyheane B and Swinford B. Clubs once in the 3rd tier of Mayo Football now find themselves in the 5th tier, how is this acceptable and will clubs let themselves be over run by these controll freaks who will play with clubs and players destiny with the swipe of a pen?
I also have some sympathy for Bangor or Clew Bay, Ballyglass, Achill Rovers and Urlar. These clubs have fought so hard to get to there individual levels in their respective leagues and now find themselves having to do all the hard work agin to get back up there again after finishing in mid table. Clew Bay will be devestated if they loose Sunday after completing several impressive consecutive seasons to reach the Premier Division and hold their own there this season with imprssive results. Will clubs now stand up for themselves and either get rid of the rotten apples in the ML barrel or refuse to play these play-off games and make a stand for themselves. Some how I dont think any club in Mayo has either the will or the interest to fight these unapproachable/untouchables who profess to run our league.
Longshanks
08/10/2010, 9:10 AM
Thats interesting longshanks then. I guess theres a huge contrast in the counties so. As a matter of interest how do most clubs train up there during the winter. Is there facilities for night time training when the ordinary facilities are not the best??
Some( a few) clubs have their own astro facilities, but the majority use the astro pitch in the Showgrounds or rent from one of the clubs that have their own astros.
In relation to the ML new divisions, from an outsiders point of view you can call them what you like but they appear to be div 1 to 6
Confirmed
I also have some sympathy for Bangor or Clew Bay, Ballyglass, Achill Rovers and Urlar.
I wouldnt have to much sympathy for Bangor. They have got away with murder again this season.
theboy
08/10/2010, 10:03 AM
On a different note, has the squad for the oscar traynor team been announced? seen as the match fixtures are out, will it just be the same squad as last year.
I know its an awfull thing to say, but who cares. Its a competition that very few leagues really care about.
Round Tower
08/10/2010, 11:04 AM
No word but i hope that players from the lower divisions who has had a great season gets a chance maybe in a trial matches. Our own Giggs has had a phenomonel season scoring 25 goals for the season, the goal scoring staticts are still only done up to the 08/08 and he must be the top scorer in the Mayo league this season. At that date the nearest was a lad from Ballina UTD on 18 goals.
If its true that the 2 Premier divisions are different divisions its welcome but u wonder why they did not just went Super,Premier,1,2,3,4 was it trying too fool the clubs.
pixiehead
08/10/2010, 2:27 PM
mayo have league have passed our pitch as good enough AGAIN this year.... you are starting to sond like a broken record over this.get over it
Ya and they also passed Glenhest, Urlaur, and Parkside so what is that telling you. Im not having a go at clew bay ive always said there a good footballing side but they have to take a look at that surface regardless of whether they own it or not and they are not the only guilty ones . Thats all Im saying Mitch !
jim_bob
08/10/2010, 3:26 PM
lads i have looked at the mayo league website and i cant find anything on it about the new setup of the leagues?????
i thought that this state of the art website was goin to be the way things were going to be communicated from the ML and it was going to be updated on a daily basis
Round Tower
08/10/2010, 4:57 PM
lads i have looked at the mayo league website and i cant find anything on it about the new setup of the leagues?????
i thought that this state of the art website was goin to be the way things were going to be communicated from the ML and it was going to be updated on a daily basis
No its not on the Web site, u would think it would be. In the latest news slot there was alot of things happened this season that has not been on it as an example we won the league at the end of August it never apeared in this slot or on the line that roll across the top of the page, not 100% i think there was another division winners who was not congratulated either.
The only ones not complaining are the ones it worked out for,ye would be the first ones complaining if it hadn't worked out for ye.you've got to feel sorry for charlestown cos they should be where conn rangers are.they got points off them thru the mayo league when they couldn't beat them on the pitch!great to be in the know I'll tell ya!!!as for the mayo squad giggsy very much a medicore player, seen him in the div one final,didn't get a sniff!!!
purplemonkeydis
08/10/2010, 8:08 PM
The only ones not complaining are the ones it worked out for,ye would be the first ones complaining if it hadn't worked out for ye.you've got to feel sorry for charlestown cos they should be where conn rangers are.they got points off them thru the mayo league when they couldn't beat them on the pitch!great to be in the know I'll tell ya!!!as for the mayo squad giggsy very much a medicore player, seen him in the div one final,didn't get a sniff!!!
is that a joke, check who we bet in the promotion playoff maybe. and talk about arrogant saying charlestown would have done what we did this year. get over it man
mystical
08/10/2010, 8:31 PM
in all fairness all will be back next season disputing ml decisions. judging by their league rule book, incidentally revised in march 2010, i would question the legality of their subsequent promotion/relegation issues been issued now.with all the feelings oulined in all forums, how many clubs wrote letters of complaints to the league secretary demanding an egm, are players going to make themselves available for oscar traynor, are clubs going to dinner dance, are ye all going to pay affiliation fees next season, for what will soon become nearly a 10 division mayo league at the rate its going. many of the people on this forum are educated in mayo soccer, but somehow i wonder if those that attends the agm or delegated meetings are similarly educated or been informed of whats happening.
Since ur so clued up ,there wouldn't have been a playoff had ye not got the points after they beat ye.plus Charlestown are a way better football team than ye.weren't ye tryin to get points this season off some team,next season try and get yer points on the pitch!!!!
purplemonkeydis
08/10/2010, 11:14 PM
Since ur so clued up ,there wouldn't have been a playoff had ye not got the points after they beat ye.plus Charlestown are a way better football team than ye.weren't ye tryin to get points this season off some team,next season try and get yer points on the pitch!!!!
i think you will find that we did get very single point this year and got promoted so poor arguement. and i take it you were at a number of our games this year seen as you can judge us as a worse team than ye. or are you basing this on when we played ye nearly 12 months ago?
the grape vine
09/10/2010, 1:02 AM
hi, i not be involed in football last year in mayo, but it was abit crazy by looking on this forum.
so i'am i right in sayin that it will be a play-off between the top 2 teams in both premier div to see who gets to the Super lge !
So what happens the teams coming down from the super lge??, if one team goes up from each div after the play-off, who decides what div the teams from the super lge go into ?? if that is the case its not a transparent system.
At least ur admitting that ye begged the mayo league for the points last season, only for that ye wouldn't be where ye are.and ye tried to get points off some Team this season but it didn't work for ye!but any way yer happy to get points this way!everyone no's yer manager is well in with the mayo league!!!!absolutly no shame!
purplemonkeydis
09/10/2010, 7:30 PM
sour grapes anyone.?settle down poker. ye broke da rules and were rightly punished,end of story , please don't bring up this boring arguement again because everyone is tired of hearing it. enjoy division 1 next year :P
Just so long as ye no how ye got there.and will every one else.ye should be embarrassed!!
purplemonkeydis
09/10/2010, 8:06 PM
Just so long as ye no how ye got there.and will every one else.ye should be embarrassed!!
ok gud lad,bed time
Back n the game
10/10/2010, 4:04 PM
Castlebar Celtic relegated 2 divisions, Good result for Knock/Kiltimagh winning and still relegated.... what a screw up of an organisation. Delighted Clew Bay retained their status in the Premier division proper
jim_bob
10/10/2010, 7:46 PM
great result today for clewbay we played bangor off the field gave them no chance to play. 3 up at half time, hit the 4th early in the second half which killed of the contest
hard luck to bangor though its a very tough way to get relegated but the best team won on the day
secerts
10/10/2010, 11:49 PM
ya hard luck celtic, good side, tough game.not happy with set up wish we new at start of season
The joke continues. Players are invited for trials next Sunday for oscar team. Pity most players are playing Connaught Cup:confused:
theboy
14/10/2010, 11:01 AM
Saw that in the connaught, who do they think is goin to turn up? seen as its more or less for the lower leagues!!!
GoodFootball
14/10/2010, 7:01 PM
The joke continues. Players are invited for trials next Sunday for oscar team. Pity most players are playing Connaught Cup:confused:
Wheres the joke? None of the top teams are playing in the connaught cup till round 3. If he wants the best panel and people that want to play for Mayo then open invitation is the best option. Hopefully the best players from each club show up and he gets that :ball:
Round Tower
14/10/2010, 8:02 PM
Wheres the joke? None of the top teams are playing in the connaught cup till round 3. If he wants the best panel and people that want to play for Mayo then open invitation is the best option. Hopefully the best players from each club show up and he gets that :ball:
Acording to the Mid West website clubs in the lower leagues and players in the Super league who was not part of last year panel is invited to the trials. I think everyone no matter what division they every good player deserve a chance. I would expect that he will give players from the 20 clubs involved in Conaught another chance.
Boro86
14/10/2010, 11:30 PM
Fahy have a player that should be on that squad like a few more clubs who are over looked. There is an invitation to contact him if clubs feel they have a player but dont waste your breath. Its merely a political gesture to keep most people quite. The bulk will be made up of Ballina and westport players with a couple thrown in for good measure. Usual predictable stuff and a predictable short run in the cup as a result.
Let me simplify it for you. The Connaught cup matchs are being played on sunday at 2 o clock.
pixiehead
15/10/2010, 11:55 AM
A meeting of the MSCA will take place in the coming weeks. Only clubs who have expressed an interest in affilating to the association or who respond to this email wishing to attend meetings will remain on this mailing list. As always all responses remain strictly confidential.
Again i would suggest those who feel hard done by dont just talk and have their say with the organisation. Changes for the better can be made if the clubs have a voice.
pinero
15/10/2010, 10:24 PM
latest idea from the idiots at mayo league top table,knowing that they have created a mess by reducing the divisions to 8 teams meaning all teams willl only have 14 league games and probably only 16 games in whole season,they think we should play each other three times in the league now, as has happened many times in the past teams have drawn each other in the divisional cup and on occasion in the mayo cup,could ya imagine playing a team 5 times in one season,ya might even be lucky enough to have to travel to iorras or kilmore 4 times in one season(now that something to look forward ta,better buy an overnight bag)and as a follow up to the quaility of mayo super league mr tom kelly wrote a piece a number of weeks back in telegraph about there been nothing wrong with quailty in the super league seen as ballina had dropped so little points over the season ans still needed to win on last day of season to win league title, i wonder had this 8 team division idea the full backing of the committee or just select few.
onlyonephilbabb
16/10/2010, 7:31 AM
I have to agree with a previous poster here that this is only a token gesture and an insult to most mayo league clubs and the players,Any manager knows what players he needs or is looking at for his squad or at least he should know.in my eyes the squad is more or less picked,The gesture to send players in for a trial match is not really fair.The reason I say this is that the manager should know what players are out there.It will be primarily made up of Ballina and westport players"thats if the westport lads play".It will be intresting to see how many players actually are picked from sundays trial.I will hasten a guess at 1.Its only an exercise to keep all the other mayo league clubs happy and that is not really fair as a lot of those teams have Cup matches at the weekend.