View Full Version : Bohs 0-0 Rovers - Replay Tuesday

Pages : 1 [2] 3

forza rovers
11/09/2009, 6:59 AM
In fairness i think its all going over the top at this stage. The Sligo lads that made the banner made them-sleves look like fools! They made an anti racist banner then went onto a shams forum bragging about it:oDid they forget shams were giving Ndo abuse of a racist kind:confused:it was posted up by a shams fan not 1 of us

showgies
11/09/2009, 8:38 AM
Has anybody got a link to see the game on the net tonight?

http://tg4.ie/bearla/scei/beo.asp

or

http://myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=48939&part=sports

MysteryMachine2
11/09/2009, 10:19 AM
Have a decent feeling about tonight.
Every time that the lads have been written off against the big sisdes this season they've come out with a very positive attitude and really taken some teams by surprise.

I know that's not much use when it comes to picking up wins against the likes of Bray or Drogs in the league but it's keeping us in with a shout in the Cup.

2-1 win maybe....?

srfc1928
11/09/2009, 12:35 PM
Few snipets from the bohs.com

"Alan Kelly to ref the game, which might see us get some better decisions than we've been getting in the last couple of weeks."
............. "we will definitely win this one, probably 2 or 3 nil."

"Should be a comfy enough night..."

"I'd expect Sligo to have a large vocal support so we all need to do our bit."

"2-1 Bohs, normal service to resume for the Big Club"

Sod these arrogant a holes
Come on da Rovers

11/09/2009, 3:44 PM
Just the way to have it though , let them think they're in for an easy night

CarrickFan
11/09/2009, 3:55 PM
Just about to head for Dayler now..looking foward to what should be a good game and getting behind the lads 100% and hopefully celebrate getting into the last 4 which is the important thing...not very worried about banners or chants to be honest..going to focus on supporting the team.

apo11o
11/09/2009, 6:18 PM
1 1 at half time, full time Bohs 1 3 Sligo rovers.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
11/09/2009, 6:25 PM
I know the game is on TG4 tonight, but I was just wondering, is the game on radio ?

bingoballs
11/09/2009, 8:42 PM
heroic performance

sligofan4ever
11/09/2009, 8:45 PM
Good game, defence did well, only for Peers we would be out but credit where its due for Peers and Camano, the lads were solid. And Brush, well, unbeleivable game. Not one bad peerformance and with Keane back for teusday it may make our defence that bit more solid and incase we get a penalty or go o penalties :). Bring on teusday, i'd expect a big crowd.

lowroadrover
11/09/2009, 9:23 PM
gavin peers is god...

MarkyH
11/09/2009, 9:39 PM
Just in now from the game. Good battling performance, glad to take the replay. Everyone played well but Peers was MOTM by a mile. What a difference he has made since he returned from injury.

Great support for the lads tonight, got behind the team for the whole 90 mins. Roll on Tuesday and another big crowd. A cup run of 2 games against Cork, home vs Derry and games against Bohs will really have helped the finances.

oldrover
11/09/2009, 10:09 PM
Great performance from the team, agree Peers makes such a difference, glad to see Camano settling also but all were great tonight. Support was tremendous and a credit to all. Great to see the clergy there, superman , batman ,CSI squad, hospital personnel to name but a few. Heartening to hear everybody supporting the team so well....lets build on this

dong
11/09/2009, 10:31 PM
Could this be classified as an unbeaten run?
Great noise tonight in the Des Kelly stand. You have a poor view of the game from it but you can make some racket!
All the boys did well. I'll have to retract my premature over the top criticism of Camano after the Bray game. He was fairly solid tonight.
He can only improve as well playing alongside Peers.
We had our chances to win it but could easily have conceded in the second half. Pretty fair result i think.

Brian Boru
11/09/2009, 10:39 PM
Great performance tonight by all, fans included. Boco, Peers and Brush outstanding. I'm confident we'll do it in the replay.

sligofan4ever
11/09/2009, 10:50 PM
gavin peers is god...

I would say truer words were never spoken but you're wrong, Gavin Peers is god, but, he's God's god, I mean the God we know surely wouldn't put on a performance like that :D.

CarrickFan
11/09/2009, 10:52 PM
Peers,Brush were fantastic..think Eoin Doyle deserves a mention also..thought he was very good...Morrison also contributed when he came on..really glad i travelled..roll on Tuesday.

11/09/2009, 10:55 PM
Great night. I hope it is manic Tuesday, it probably will be :D

Uncle Tupelo
11/09/2009, 11:25 PM
Great result tonight, some great performances out there. Thought Cashie, Doyle, Peers And Boco were great. Camano looked alot more assured. Danny Ventre got stuck in.
Bohs are no great shakes, they're a big physical unit and thats about it. Felt sorry for Blinkhorn, he was the whole night trying to win headers with no ball to feet. In fairness the midfield was totally cut off from the frontline, they were sitting so deep so there wasn't really much other option than to hoof it, Raf saw very little of the ball. It'll be different in the Showgrounds, we have the beating of that lot.
We were lucky tonight but the way this season has gone we're due a bit.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/09/2009, 12:31 AM
It's hard not to watch the game tonight and not think how good the trip to Vienna would have been if Peers had been fit in July. Or how we would be well clear of the relegation battle, in the final of the league cup and looking forward to a cup quarter final replay at home as well as the beginning of the setanta cup

Have we got the man on a 10 year contract?

Having said that it was great to watch a game, after all the criticism of the effort of players this season, and at the end of a game know that every one of them gave it their all. I thought Eoin Doyle was going to have to be carried off he put so much into that game.

Also I must say well done to everyone for the support. It was brilliant. I don't want to dwell on about what everyone discussed before the game but I would say that if Rovers are up before the FAI for what happened in the home league match then they should only need to mention the behaviour of their fans at the cup quarter final to get themselves off.

roversforever
12/09/2009, 12:47 AM
It's hard not to watch the game tonight and not think how good the trip to Vienna would have been if Peers had been fit in July. Or how we would be well clear of the relegation battle, in the final of the league cup and looking forward to a cup quarter final replay at home as well as the beginning of the setanta cup

Have we got the man on a 10 year contract?

Having said that it was great to watch a game, after all the criticism of the effort of players this season, and at the end of a game know that every one of them gave it their all. I thought Eoin Doyle was going to have to be carried off he put so much into that game.

Also I must say well done to everyone for the support. It was brilliant. I don't want to dwell on about what everyone discussed before the game but I would say that if Rovers are up before the FAI for what happened in the home league match then they should only need to mention the behaviour of their fans at the cup quarter final to get themselves off.

His contract is up at the end of the season

CF1989
12/09/2009, 1:27 AM
great game, nail biting stuff at the end, bohs arnt as good as there made out to be, they've only beaten us once this season after 90 mins and thats when we had about 12 injuries. they dont have much bite whout deegan. crowe is useless, dont know why he didnt start byrne.

peers, brush, boco and camano were terrific. midfield 4 worked their socks off. ball didntreally stick up front but it was hard for the 2 up there, not much quality service.

roll on tuesday night, im sure it'll be packed and thee'll be a great atmosphere and we'll turn them over again.

well done rovers

Da Real Rover
12/09/2009, 8:07 AM
What a game to watch on the telly, my nerves were shattered.
And the Rovers support on the telly was immense, the noise out of yee was second to none, absolutely dwarfed the Bohs fans, and they are the big club, what does that make us?
As for Gavin Peers, he should have a statue outside the showgrounds, the man is a hero.

red arrow
12/09/2009, 8:49 AM
real battling performance. lets hope we can carry this into tuesday's game. the support was tremendous& all those young fellows are a credit to the club with their songs, colour, flags and fancy dress. the team did very well to a man and peers was immense also boco brush ventry o grady ran themselves to a standstill. . it will be another tough game on tuesday night and the crowd need to be the twelfth man as they were tonight. i enjoyed my trip on the "dooley " express and will be back on it for the cup final. c'mon the rovers

forza rovers
12/09/2009, 9:16 AM
if we did not have peers we would be lost.he is god no mater what he will get to the ball if he has to get a boot in the head or crawl on the ground to get to it hel win it.near the end when a ball came into the box raf turnd his back to it and started giving out to joe,just get the ball away and then say what you have got to say.How come doyler never gets a full game even if hes playing class?

rovers100%
12/09/2009, 9:40 AM
maybe it was just me but i thought kendrick was shocking, he was turned inside out far too many times. even fenlon could see he was the weak link as he put brennan on him in the second half. he gave camano so much extra work as was caught out far too often. camanos performance was an improvement and made some good challenges but i thought he was still dodgy and without peers he wouldnt be half the player. great to see brush put in a great display but from crosses still looks nervous. with peers and boco you have the making of an excellent back four. if we could hold onto them next year and get a signing or two next year could be great. all in all great support and great battling performance i think we have the beating of them on tuesday but we need to keep deegan shackled if to do so

CarrickFan
12/09/2009, 10:29 AM
maybe it was just me but i thought kendrick was shocking, he was turned inside out far too many times. even fenlon could see he was the weak link as he put brennan on him in the second half. he gave camano so much extra work as was caught out far too often. camanos performance was an improvement and made some good challenges but i thought he was still dodgy and without peers he wouldnt be half the player. great to see brush put in a great display but from crosses still looks nervous. with peers and boco you have the making of an excellent back four. if we could hold onto them next year and get a signing or two next year could be great. all in all great support and great battling performance i think we have the beating of them on tuesday but we need to keep deegan shackled if to do so

Think thats a little harsh on Kendrick...he was right in front of me for the 2nd half and i thought he did some things well..just watching it here again on Sky+ and tho it wasnt his finest game "shocking" is unfair on him...got a few vital clearances in when we were under pressure at the end...

Was good to see Alan Cawley there supporting his home town club..even if i think he should have been on the pitch and not in the stand!!

12/09/2009, 11:08 AM
Would it be overstating things to suggest we'd be quite a bit higher up the table had Gavin Peers been fit all season?

Da Real Rover
12/09/2009, 11:29 AM
Kendrick wasnt great but he definetly wasnt shocking.
But every player has an off game.

srfc1928
12/09/2009, 12:03 PM
Great night for Sligo Rovers Football Club.

Amazing support from the terraces, especially when you consider we are at the bottom of the table.
The FaI should maybe take a second out to have a think about this,
they bust their ass trying to promote the league in Dublin, Cork etc with the mentality we need this and that team in the league, b0ll0x.
We had approx 300 fans travel 200 miles on a friday, many of whom took half days from work at their own expense to follow their club (game on tv also). if they want the league to grow they should look to the traditional heartlands of football such as Dundalk and Sligo and try and help clubs like this rather than waste their resources on the so called big clubs.

Rant over

At the end of the game as the players were walking off and as Peers was being interviewed, Boco came back on his own to salute the fans, I think a lot of people missed it as they were loking towards the interview. Nice touch by the man. One thing i'll say about Boco aside from his footballing ability,
the guy is a Gentleman

bingoballs
12/09/2009, 12:27 PM
Harsh on Kendrick and extremely harsh on Camano. He looked wrecked after 20 minutes but got his second wind and hardly put a foot wrong throughout the game and looked assured and solid in my opinion. I know one swallow doesn't make a summer but he impressed me last night and should improve as he gets fitter. Doyle gave Kendrick great cover and is a quality signing. Ventre set the tone for us when he wouldn't give an inch to Ndo in the first few minutes and himself and O Grady stood their ground well. In all a great team performance and roll on tuesday night. I'd say the last thing Bohs wanted was another away tie to us.

CF1989
12/09/2009, 12:32 PM
cook changed us to 5 at the back for the last 10/15 mins and it worked well enough aswell

Scram
12/09/2009, 12:36 PM

Amazing support from the terraces, especially when you consider we are at the bottom of the table.
they bust their ass trying to promote the league in Dublin, Cork etc with the mentality we need this and that team in the league, b0ll0x.
We had approx 300 fans travel 200 miles on a friday, many of whom took half days from work at their own expense to follow their club (game on tv also). if they want the league to grow they should look to the traditional heartlands of football such as Dundalk and Sligo and try and help clubs like this rather than waste their resources on the so called big clubs.

Rant over

At the end of the game as the players were walking off and as Peers was being interviewed, Boco came back on his own to salute the fans, I think a lot of people missed it as they were loking towards the interview. Nice touch by the man. One thing i'll say about Boco aside from his footballing ability,
the guy is a Gentleman

300 fans! Wow, Sligo really is the heartland of football :D

Boo_Boy
12/09/2009, 12:41 PM
Cookie went mental on the sidelines and starting shaking the 4th official while shouting at the ref/players, no idea why :D.

300 fans! Wow, Sligo really is the heartland of football :D

Idiot :rolleyes:.

sligofan4ever
12/09/2009, 12:45 PM

Rant over

the guy is a Gentleman

I couldn't agree more, a good few times the lads wer elouder than the Bohs support,and thats only 300 supporters being louder than them :eek: The FAI should also look at the attendances at our games, even in our position in the table, we still manage to attract some of the biggest crowds on matchnight. Our replay on teusday, and i'm very confident, that we'll see a great example of how this town come sout in force to cheer on the lads and for those who arent regulars but wached on TG4, the way they playe dmight encourage some people to come out. The lads who travelled up should be proud of themselves, ye've been great all season may it be songs,banners or fundraisers, ye are one of the prime reasons this club is being kept alive, and its amazing how an away crowd who travelled 3 and half hours out sang the bohs crowd and gave a fine rendition of stand up for the Bit O' Red :D. Roll on teusday! Alan Keane returning just makes it all the more exciting.

Da Real Rover
12/09/2009, 12:52 PM
On the telly Rovers were far louder than Bohs.

dong
12/09/2009, 12:55 PM
Lads, any idea where I could get to see the game online today? Don't think its on the tg4 website.

CF1989
12/09/2009, 1:05 PM
it used to go up on ther website before. not sure if they still do, maybe later on

Rovers Maniac
12/09/2009, 1:09 PM
Lads, any idea where I could get to see the game online today? Don't think its on the tg4 website.

On their website, under TV beo, then Sport beo. I watched a bit of it this morning.

rovers100%
12/09/2009, 2:25 PM
@ carrick fan i was behind kendrick too for second half and myself and friend were discussing with alan cawley how poor kendrick was playing and he had the same view. not saying we are right and your wrong but its just our view. i defended kendrick here before just thought he had a bad game and also with fenlon switching brennan to right shows just how good boco is at defending as brennan got no change out of him.

sligofan4ever
12/09/2009, 2:56 PM
@ carrick fan i was behind kendrick too for second half and myself and friend were discussing with alan cawley how poor kendrick was playing and he had the same view. not saying we are right and your wrong but its just our view. i defended kendrick here before just thought he had a bad game and also with fenlon switching brennan to right shows just how good boco is at defending as brennan got no change out of him.

Kendrick has been blowing hot and cold since arriving as he has had great games which is why like you, me and everyone here has defended him for. But other nights hes been a passenger, anyone know how long he had been away from playing football before joining us ?

I'd like to mention the sudden turn around in Camano and Cash. Now i'm not saying they did everything absolutly brilliantly last night, but Camano showed hes not a flop, he just needs to perform like that every game and we know hw has it in him, personally I myself was a bit harsh on him but I say let him get to full fitness as he does have it in him to succeed here. Cash in recent weeks has surprised me, he lost the ball once or twice last night but tends to redeem himself with great tackles shortly after. He also has been delivering dangerous crosses since his turnaround in form a few weeks and that is the Brian Cash we only got a few games out of in 2006! I hope Brian dosen't slump back into his old form but hopefully he realises now that he has to take on defenders as Coleman really did that for him while he was here. Peers is god :).

12/09/2009, 5:07 PM
well done lads on a cracking performance.. It was an awful pity that ye were in the stand behind the goals but I had no problem hearing ye on the telly! best of luck in the replay!

red arrow
12/09/2009, 5:58 PM
just after watching the whole game again on sports beo. we competed well in the first half and rode our luck at times in the 2nd half. however i have to say that every player gave their all and being able to watch it in a more relaxed mode i was very impressrd with the performance of camano. he may be a bit slow on a ball played over the top but he got some very good headers & interceptions in. even the commentators said that peers brush & camano were excellent. paul cooks interview was very interesting afterwards as he said that bohs will be very hard beat but if the sligo public get behid the team we may cause them a few problems. i was very imppressed with bohs , they move the ball very well and are extremely fit. we can do it on tuesday but we will need all the team to play heroically and of course have a bit of luck. lads get the word out we need a big crowd at this game on tuesday night . i think some people might feel that now we have the game here the work is done. this is very dangerous the crowd need to back the team from the start not sit and wait for things to happen. its likely that we will have the prawn sandwich brigade at the game on tuesday night (_the ones that give out but never encourage the team) i think all yee forza lads will have to get things going from the start.

Da Real Rover
12/09/2009, 6:32 PM
just after watching the whole game again on sports beo. we competed well in the first half and rode our luck at times in the 2nd half. however i have to say that every player gave their all and being able to watch it in a more relaxed mode i was very impressrd with the performance of camano. he may be a bit slow on a ball played over the top but he got some very good headers & interceptions in. even the commentators said that peers brush & camano were excellent. paul cooks interview was very interesting afterwards as he said that bohs will be very hard beat but if the sligo public get behid the team we may cause them a few problems. i was very imppressed with bohs , they move the ball very well and are extremely fit. we can do it on tuesday but we will need all the team to play heroically and of course have a bit of luck. lads get the word out we need a big crowd at this game on tuesday night . i think some people might feel that now we have the game here the work is done. this is very dangerous the crowd need to back the team from the start not sit and wait for things to happen. its likely that we will have the prawn sandwich brigade at the game on tuesday night (_the ones that give out but never encourage the team) i think all yee forza lads will have to get things going from the start.
Cocks out for the bit o'red so.

red bellied
12/09/2009, 6:53 PM
Kenderick just doesnt have the pace and for the first 10-15 minutes of the second half he was getting a right roasting due to Rovers being pushed further up the field. Big pitch at Dalymount definetely didnt suit him.

CarrickFan
12/09/2009, 10:28 PM

fair play..thats football..its all about opinions..in general i've been happy enough with Kendrick since he came..not ALWAYS but most of the time..better than Holmes imo anyway..Hopefully we'll see Butler back playing there again shortly..

CarrickFan
12/09/2009, 10:36 PM
well done lads on a cracking performance.. It was an awful pity that ye were in the stand behind the goals but I had no problem hearing ye on the telly! best of luck in the replay!

Cheers Martinho and the same to ye..went to the Flansiro 2nite aswell and enjoyed the match..ye held yer own and Lynch could have nicked it at the end..was good to see 3 ex Rovers on the pitch

red arrow
12/09/2009, 11:03 PM
what was the crowd in longford?

CarrickFan
12/09/2009, 11:32 PM
what was the crowd in longford?

not great..was at it with a mate whos a regular there and he said it was no more than a regular league game..a couple of hundred.

Keen2win
13/09/2009, 9:47 AM
A lot more than a normal league game! Everyone seemed happy! Over 1,000 anyway.