View Full Version : Setanta Cup thread - latest 2-2 v Cork
Does anybody think we should put out a second string team for the Setanta Cup games?
Maybe we should be resting the likes of Peers, Boco, Cretaro, Ventre and maybe a few others.
We can't afford to have any of these either injured or tired from here on in imo.
I couldn't give a ****e how we do in it now. The league is top priority.
Maybe throw a few of the younger lads in.
Any thoughts??
sligo23
07/09/2009, 2:04 PM
We don't have a second string team?? We only have a tiny sqaud. We could probably rest 1 or 2 players each game but can't do much else.
I know but could the four I've mentioned not be dropped? After all, we brought in a lot of players in the last transfer window and apart from Doherty and Parkhouse (who had never been playing anyways), who left?
This "tiny squad" excuse was valid for the first half of the season but not now imo.
What about the team Cook put out against Bohs at Dalymount in the league for example? Some of those lads could come in.
07/09/2009, 4:09 PM
Maybe.......
Kelly
Noctor Camano Ventre Keohane
Cash Meenan Ryan Doyle
Turner Morrison
CF1989
07/09/2009, 4:38 PM
noctor out for the season. keohane injured aswell for a while. id like to do well in it, the players are full time and should be able to play 2 games in 4 days
srfc1928
07/09/2009, 6:58 PM
id like to do well in it, the players are full time and should be able to play 2 games in 4 days
yeah, i agree theyre full time professional footballers.
they have plenty of time to rest in between
weve been looking forward to games like this for a long time, no point dismissing the competition
CF1989
07/09/2009, 7:03 PM
like some young fella's might have 2 games in one day, or 2 or 3 games in two days for a couple of different teams, in a couople of different sports. i know the league of ireland is a higher level but the players are also at a different fitness level if ya get me
roversforever
07/09/2009, 7:09 PM
Would not like to see a team of kids in the setanta cup...there's money to be made from the competition and also the credibility of the club must be maintaned...don't think its in anybody's interest for sligo rovers to be hammered in these games.It wouldn't be good for the confidence of the lads playing and it would devalue the competition if teams start fielding weak sides. It also wouldn't help in attracting more people into the showgrounds as they will look at the result,without knowing what sort a team played,and assume that sligo rovers cannot mix it with the best teams. I think if certain players need to be rested it should only be 1 or 2 per game.
p.s Same applies for the cup game against bohs in my opinion. Its the quarter final,would be very disappointed if we didn't put out our full team and give it a right go.
CarrickFan
07/09/2009, 7:24 PM
Does anybody think we should put out a second string team for the Setanta Cup games?
Maybe we should be resting the likes of Peers, Boco, Cretaro, Ventre and maybe a few others.
We can't afford to have any of these either injured or tired from here on in imo.
I couldn't give a ****e how we do in it now. The league is top priority.
Maybe throw a few of the younger lads in.
Any thoughts??
Just on Peers..he has missed 15 or so games so would doubt he's tired or whatever..match practice would prob be of more benifit to him..see what happens Friday in the other Cup before worrying about the Setanta.
rovers100%
08/09/2009, 12:17 AM
i would like to see brush rested and give kelly a chance. brushes confidence looks low lately a spell on sideline mite do no harm
redobit
08/09/2009, 2:46 PM
i would like to see brush rested and give kelly a chance. brushes confidence looks low lately a spell on sideline mite do no harm
Dont know about that. How can resting / droping a player ever be good for his confidence. Confidence grows by applying yourself and playing matches.
rovers100%
08/09/2009, 4:36 PM
give him a rest get him yearning to get back out on the pitch cos he looks a broken man in goals flapping at crosses, miskicking and getting beat far to easily especially at near post. i think he is a good keeper but keepers playing with low confidence are only playing at 50% of their ability. he is so much better than what we are seeing this season. last season i would have def put brush as top 3 keepers in the loi. its a simular situation with camano i think he needs full games to regain confidence as taking of cb when get in a lead only tells the lad one thing and its not positive. he is dodgy and puts our heart in our mouths but he has only played a handfull of games and we were all raving about him after bohs semi and i think the big pitch suits him better. the setanta cup is ideal for giving him a full game
Cloggs
08/09/2009, 5:01 PM
Maybe.......
Kelly
Noctor Camano Ventre Keohane
Cash Meenan Ryan Doyle
Turner Morrison
is torpey still with the team?thought that he had the makings of being a good player
CF1989
08/09/2009, 8:50 PM
is torpey still with the team?thought that he had the makings of being a good player
jaw injury afaik
sligofan4ever
08/09/2009, 9:07 PM
Maybe this for 1 or 2 matches
-------------Kelly--------------
Boco-----Keane--Peers-----Kendrick
Kelly----Meenan--Ventre----Doyle
--------Blinkhorn--Morrison-------
2nd choice goalkeeper
Strong defence
reasonably good defence, Kizzy and Meenan need some more game time (and Marshall might go in their somewhere aswell)and this would be a good oppurtinity
2 good attacking players up front
all in all, its not a bad team.
CF1989
08/09/2009, 9:17 PM
kizzy's away travelling for a year or so
meenanhasnt been good enough to even make the bench. dont know why we signed him
90minutes
16/09/2009, 4:44 PM
After two tough games against bohemians, resting a few players wouldnt do any harm. Some of the lads worked so hard in the games against bohs and there is still plenty of games to come.
Brush
Keane Peers Rafter Kendrick
Meenan Ryan Ventre Marshall
Morrison
Turner
It also gives some of the lads a chance to show what they can offer the team in the league/cup run in.
sligofan4ever
16/09/2009, 4:59 PM
Tubber Kid: Rafter is injured AFAIK, so I would say rest Gavin Peers,Boco,Raff, possibly Brush,Doyle and Blinkhorn and this team should be played.
--------------Brush/Kelly--------------
Keane---Ventre---Camano---Kendrick
Cash-----Meenan---O'Grady---Marshall
-----------Turner---Morrison------------
Rovers Maniac
16/09/2009, 5:34 PM
I think he should give Rafter a chance he was not bad against Shams at all, looked like he could read the game and would like to have another look at him. Also would like to see Ryan and Meenan start in midfield just to see what the lads can do.
apo11o
16/09/2009, 6:37 PM
3 U20 in the squad.
I read somewhere Cook intends to rest some players.
Good Luck to the lads that got called in, great experiance to be part of Setanta Cup squad.
17/09/2009, 10:37 AM
3 U20 in the squad.Any idea who? I'd assume young Kerr made the cut?
Shedzer
17/09/2009, 12:02 PM
Any idea who? I'd assume young Kerr made the cut?
Barry O'Mahoney,Mark Mc Goldrick And Keith Duffy....
19/09/2009, 1:19 PM
Giraffe to score anytime @ 12-1 with Boyles, get on;)
roversman
19/09/2009, 1:29 PM
Giraffe to score anytime @ 12-1 with Boyles, get on;)
who is giraffe
19/09/2009, 1:32 PM
who is giraffeGer Rafter.
19/09/2009, 1:53 PM
Ger Rafter.
Nickname of the century:D
Rovers Maniac
19/09/2009, 4:40 PM
I can't make it. Dying with a flu:(
Barry O'Mahoney and Keith Duffy from u-20's starting. Mark McGoldrick on bench.
Meenan, Turner, Rafter, Marshall, Ciaran Kelly, Keane, Camano, Morrison and Ryan the rest of starters.
Same as, jesus small crowd.
JC_GUFC
19/09/2009, 5:07 PM
I think it's a bit of a joke that you've rested players - you're not playing for another week!
You've got a decent sized squad now but bringing in these young lads just seems like yet another excuse for Cook. I think in the long term you'd have been better letting him walk when he was looking for more money.
Sicuani
19/09/2009, 5:14 PM
I think it's a bit of a joke that you've rested players - you're not playing for another week!
You've got a decent sized squad now but bringing in these young lads just seems like yet another excuse for Cook. I think in the long term you'd have been better letting him walk when he was looking for more money.
What..walk to Galway?. In fairness Foster is doing a decent job for you and you playing above your normal status...wonder where he will walk to at the end of the season.
Sligo have been in Europe, later stages of the League and FAI Cups as well as the league so have played more games than other teams who have been less successfull..therefore resting players as well as their relegation battle is a priority.
bingoballs
19/09/2009, 5:23 PM
I think he is dead right to rest players. It gives squad members who havent featuered in recent games to stake a claim for a place in the first team and also an opportunity to try different formations etc. Our priority is staying up and whats the point of risking key members of our squad trying to win the setanta cup when it could cause us our place in the premier division!
Boo_Boy
19/09/2009, 5:50 PM
Jaysus the kids are winning 2-1. Well done boys.
Boo_Boy
19/09/2009, 6:17 PM
2-2 now. Cork scored with 90 seconds left.
Shedzer
19/09/2009, 6:47 PM
Marshall did well, he'd offer more on the right than Cash i still say.
Mark McGoldrick is nearly 18 however, making him 17, not 16...
19/09/2009, 7:04 PM
Great result for a reserve side up against a strong Cork one. We should have held on though.
CF1989
19/09/2009, 7:44 PM
whats the point in having players in your squad if you dont bother giving them a game, if he wanted to rest players its upto him. thought they done very well, tired in the last 20 minutes though, nearly everyone down with cramp
sligofan4ever
19/09/2009, 7:59 PM
Not a bad performance in fairness, I think the crowd forgot at times alot of these lads are 16/17 and were going to be nervous about this game. Dean Marshall was great and fully deserved MOTM, hopefully we see more of him in the coming matches, hes looked great since the win over St.Pats. O' Mahoney wasn't too bad either while Camano had his best game at home since joining. Meenan did well too, not afraid too tackle and thats what our CM has been missing this season.
the players are full time and should be able to play 2 games in 4 days
whats the point in having players in your squad if you dont bother giving them a game
You've changed your tune!
19/09/2009, 8:38 PM
what a topsy turvy game. Cork were all over ye in the first half..ye were brillinat in the second half. What happened to yer crowd though? It was a brave decision by Paul Cook to play his youngsters and he was justified tonight..
CF1989
19/09/2009, 8:39 PM
what does that have to do with tonights team? i said before that the team shouldnt get too tiredh having to play 2 games a week, tonight i said he can pick whatever team he likes
19/09/2009, 8:58 PM
what does that have to do with tonights team? i said before that the team shouldnt get too tiredh having to play 2 games a week, tonight i said he can pick whatever team he likes'id like to do well in it, the players are full time and should be able to play 2 games in 4 days' What you're implying there is that we should be playing our full strength team. But then you said what's the point in having squad players if you don't use them, implying we shouldn't play full strength and give the other lads a chance.
Make up yer mind!:rolleyes:
CF1989
19/09/2009, 9:07 PM
no, implying he can pick who he wants.....
By that logic you'll be happy enough if he plays Dick Brush up front so?:D
CF1989
19/09/2009, 10:07 PM
he'd do a job up there, takin players on :P
srfc1928
19/09/2009, 10:12 PM
what a topsy turvy game. Cork were all over ye in the first half..ye were brillinat in the second half.It was a brave decision by Paul Cook to play his youngsters and he was justified tonight
What happened to yer crowd though? ..
a few different things affected the crowd,
- Game on telly
-clashed with liverpool game (no excuse) but you could watch both in the pub at the same time.
- 2nd game at home in a week, not everyone especially with kids could afford it. maybe concessions could have been given on Tuesday night (if rules permit)
- 5.30 is too early on a saturday, ie people working etc
i went myself and really enjoyed the game, glad i attended,
for €15 it was good value
Brian Boru
19/09/2009, 11:09 PM
Dean Marshall was excellent.
Silky skills alright. I'd say he's a lethal finisher as well if his kick outs are anything to go by.:D
a few different things affected the crowd,
- Game on telly
-clashed with liverpool game (no excuse) but you could watch both in the pub at the same time.
- 2nd game at home in a week, not everyone especially with kids could afford it. maybe concessions could have been given on Tuesday night (if rules permit)
- 5.30 is too early on a saturday, ie people working etc
i went myself and really enjoyed the game, glad i attended,
for €15 it was good value
Fair points all i think. I think people are more interested in getting to crucial league games and the cup games at this stage. With money being tight people may have to pick and choose a bit and with the second game in a week they decided to stay away unfortunately.
I wouldn't be worried. I think our crowds have been decent all year really.
bingoballs
20/09/2009, 5:45 AM
I thought Turner was top class too and deserves more game time.
Dixie Dean
20/09/2009, 8:10 AM
Fair points all i think. I think people are more interested in getting to crucial league games and the cup games at this stage. With money being tight people may have to pick and choose a bit and with the second game in a week they decided to stay away unfortunately.
I wouldn't be worried. I think our crowds have been decent all year really.
Crowd was bad because there just isnt any interest in this competition. Just look at the team Cook put out, shows it is way down the priority list and rightly so.
red arrow
20/09/2009, 8:39 AM
if the game had being at 8 pm (usual time) the crowd would have being bigger. unfortunately setanta are the one calling the shots here. the crowd was 700. should be a large crowd for the shams game next sat night