View Full Version : Setanta Cup thread - latest 2-2 v Cork

Pages : 1 [2]

roversman
20/09/2009, 8:57 AM
I thought Turner was top class too and deserves more game time.

hes useless he was at fault for the second goal should have squared it to ryan or gone back to the corner
he has no pace

apo11o
20/09/2009, 9:06 AM
The young lads done well enough, getting a yellow 2min into your debut would put anyone under pressure,prob afraid to make a 50/50 challenge after, won some good headers and tried to play football.
Barry worked hard at midfield and had a shot on target 1st half, tired 2nd half.
Mark had a tough job when he came on and worked hard.
Well done to the local lads.
I think it's a bit of a joke that you've rested players - you're not playing for another week!

You've got a decent sized squad now but bringing in these young lads just seems like yet another excuse for Cook. I think in the long term you'd have been better letting him walk when he was looking for more money.
If those lads lived in Galway they prob play with Salthill or Mervue where youth gets a chance.

We gave away 2 soft goals from a rovers point of view.
Marshall was good but tonight I thought Camano was MOTM.

srfc1928
20/09/2009, 10:19 AM
We gave away 2 soft goals from a rovers point of view.
Marshall was good but tonight I thought Camano was MOTM.
I thought Camano was excellent, he won everything in the air and his distribution was good. The game seemed to be played at a slower pace which suited him.
In fairness to him its very difficult comming into the LOI as a foreigner and settle straight away, i think people forget this sometimes.
Credit where credit is due.

red arrow
20/09/2009, 11:36 AM
anybody notice that michael schlllingerman (rovers "A" goalkeeper) is playing for mayo in the all ireland minor final today? best of luck to him.

srfc1928
20/09/2009, 12:09 PM
Whats the Irish for Schlingerman ?

brianw82
20/09/2009, 12:54 PM
Schlingerfearr?

sligofan4ever
20/09/2009, 1:10 PM
I thought Turner was top class too and deserves more game time.

Turner was ok at best, he did pick out some decent passes but his pace is letting him down big time. Agreed about Camano, i'd like too seem him here next season and see how he does in the time to improve on his fitness. We do need height in the team. Camano has upped (sp?) his game in the last couple of weeks and has been much better with tackles and headers.

CarrickFan
20/09/2009, 1:50 PM
Decent effort from what was essentially our reserves against a full strenght Cork side...as has been said Marshall was great..Camanos best game for sure..thought O'Mahoney was decent also...very disappointed with their equaliser..Keane(i think!) played a high ball into Ryan who didnt get it and Cork broke and scored..O'Mahoney was nearer to Keane and unmarked so a simple ball on the ground to him and it could have been a great win for us!!.great ball in by Cambridge so was hard to deal with for our keeper and defence...anyway was delighted i went..great evening for a game..dont buy any of the excuses for what was a very poor crowd..after what was served up Tuesday night i thought there would have been a decent crowd..

srfc1928
20/09/2009, 1:56 PM
Schlingerfearr?
Correct, young brian.
Your prize is a one way ticket for as long as you want to Coláiste Mhuire in Loch an Iúir. Enjoy. :D
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/foyle_and_west/8191123.stm

Knappagh Red
20/09/2009, 4:21 PM
hes useless he was at fault for the second goal should have squared it to ryan or gone back to the corner
he has no pace

Yet again it was Keanes fault for the second goal, stupidly gifting possesion to Cork when we were on the break,

bingoballs
20/09/2009, 5:12 PM
he has no pace
he also set up Ryans goal and created a couple of good chances for himself. He does lack pace but he has a good head on his shoulders and is a big presence up front. Even if he was only used from the bench, i think he has the quality to cause most defences headaches. Morrison nearly scored a peach too when he tried to chip the keeper from a long way out. He has great vision and I would love to see him tried out in a central midfield role.

CF1989
20/09/2009, 6:21 PM
apparantly the commentators on setanta were giving duffy an awful time of it! bit harsh to be going so hard on a 16 year old.

srfc1928
20/09/2009, 6:40 PM
apparantly the commentators on setanta were giving duffy an awful time of it! bit harsh to be going so hard on a 16 year old.
I watched the first 10 minutes of the game in Mooneys yesterday and the guy who comentates on Setanta is an absolute simpletin.
Duffy got booked in the first minute and yer man goes off on one, he kind of set the tone.
i thought Duffy started shakky but he settled quite well after that.
Very good performance for a 21 year old never mind a 16 year old, he should be proud of himself.

20/09/2009, 6:53 PM
I watched the first 10 minutes of the game in Mooneys yesterdayBarstooler!:rolleyes: :p

20/09/2009, 10:45 PM
Barstooler!:rolleyes: :p

Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
I watched the first 10 minutes of the game in Mooneys yesterday

I never knew that the guys leave the turnstiles after ten minutes.:)

apo11o
21/09/2009, 12:24 AM
commentators on setanta.
Who was in the Showgrounds?

CF1989
21/09/2009, 12:53 AM
Who was in the Showgrounds?

yeah, heard they gave duffy awful stick

Only1Rovers
21/09/2009, 9:14 AM
Decent effort from what was essentially our reserves against a full strenght Cork side...

Cork were missing Kevin Long, Dan Murray, Neal Horgan and Killian Lordan played with a chest infection. They could only bring 5 subs so not a full strength Cork side by any means.

Brian Boru
21/09/2009, 9:50 AM
At the All Ireland yesterday. Sclingermann made one great save. He won the semi final for Mayo with 5 great saves. Deligted to learn he's our A keeper. That guys a seriously good shot stopper.

CF1989
21/09/2009, 11:22 AM
Cork were missing Kevin Long, Dan Murray, Neal Horgan and Killian Lordan played with a chest infection. They could only bring 5 subs so not a full strength Cork side by any means.

only murray starts out of them 4. so they more or less had there starting 11.

CarrickFan
21/09/2009, 12:29 PM

Faz,Gamble,O Halloran,Dennehy,Silagailis,Murphy,O Donnell etc....it was a very strong line up and much more like their 1st team than our line up..my point was it was a good show from our fringe players.

redobit
21/09/2009, 1:26 PM
Heard Setanta pay a figure of about 4 or 5K to the home team when they show a live match. Anybody know?

21/09/2009, 3:45 PM
only murray starts out of them 4. so they more or less had there starting 11.

Eh no, Kevin Long, Dan Murray and Cillian Lordan have started almost all our games of late.

Greg getting injured and Doolins ridiculous decision to put Gamble right back killed us along with the eqully ridiculous decisions of starting O Donnell and Siligailis all the time.

Poor performance, poor game but a draw was fair enough. Long trip to watch that though

Only1Rovers
21/09/2009, 4:56 PM
Faz,Gamble,O Halloran,Dennehy,Silagailis,Murphy,O Donnell etc....it was a very strong line up and much more like their 1st team than our line up..my point was it was a good show from our fringe players.

I agree it was a good performance. I read that they only had one of a regular back 4 starting.

Well Red
21/09/2009, 5:06 PM
At least we have a good squad now compared to earlier in the season and this should help us in the run in to the season. Financial situation seems not to have disimproved but we need to get out to the matches and keep the fund raisers happy as they have done a top class job. Some exciting games ahead and especially the one coming up at the end of the week.

CF1989
21/09/2009, 7:35 PM
lordan played though so you cant say ye were missing him....

21/09/2009, 7:36 PM
lordan played though so you cant say ye were missing him....

True, I didnt even think of the game when responding tbh, it's mostly a blur, was just replying to the post.

Well Red
21/09/2009, 9:04 PM
I see Cliftonville who Sligo play in the Setanta Cup had a good 4 nil win over Linfield tonight. Seem to be a young skillful enough team.

CF1989
21/09/2009, 11:51 PM
i watched the second half. linfield were terrible. ground looks poor and the pitch is very poor aswell. looks very heavy. they look to be an okay side, 2 or 3 decent players. dogged enough team by the looks of things

Redkenrover
22/09/2009, 8:34 PM

Couldnt make game so watched it on tv and have to say yer man was one of the worst commentators I have ever heard. His treatment of Duffy was nothing short of a disgrace, also made numerous mistakes, getting players mixed up etc. I must apologise to TV3 as I always said they were the worst ever but setanta made a great effort to take their crown.

showgies
22/09/2009, 9:00 PM
"Felix the pub singer" was no better, especially on the The Hub last night. He was very critical of Cook for "destroying" the 16 year olds and he also informed us that he was been generous in giving the MOTM to Marshall.

I don't know what is more destroying, a manager giving you a chance or an ex manager constantly reminding the viewers how poorly you are playing and how lost you look in a football match. The only consolation for the lads is that viewing figures for Setanta wouldn't too hot anyhow!

Only1Rovers
23/09/2009, 8:02 AM
"Felix the pub singer" was no better, especially on the The Hub last night. He was very critical of Cook for "destroying" the 16 year olds and he also informed us that he was been generous in giving the MOTM to Marshall.

I don't know what is more destroying, a manager giving you a chance or an ex manager constantly reminding the viewers how poorly you are playing and how lost you look in a football match. The only consolation for the lads is that viewing figures for Setanta wouldn't too hot anyhow!

They (SETANTA) could be critical of Rovers and Cook because of the team he put out for the game. They may have seen it as Rovers showing contempt for the competition. As in, "how could a team not play their strongest side for one of the most lucrative competitions".

Although I think the prize money has been reduced since the company has come into difficulty.

Rovers can play a more attractive style of football with a full team out and the game could have been one of the better Setanta Cup games, but f@%K 'em.

I'm with Cook on the decision he made.

dong
23/09/2009, 8:28 AM
They (SETANTA) could be critical of Rovers and Cook because of the team he put out for the game. They may have seen it as Rovers showing contempt for the competition. As in, "how could a team not play their strongest side for one of the most lucrative competitions".

Although I think the prize money has been reduced since the company has come into difficulty.

Rovers can play a more attractive style of football with a full team out and the game could have been one of the better Setanta Cup games, but f@%K 'em.

I'm with Cook on the decision he made.

Exactly. I know there were other factors at play ( three home games in two weeks for example ) but the size of the crowd showed that people are not interested in this competition. To start abusing players and management of the club is hardly going to improve the situation for Setanta. Pity they didn't go broke earlier in the year. With any luck it won't be too long.

apo11o
23/09/2009, 8:51 AM

The only thing destroyed here is setanta, even 16 yr olds know they can t go around abusing people in the school yard or on the street but setanta think its ok.
Those 16 yr olds know they can do better, its a big step up from the A s and u20s and some idot s at setanta won t stop them.

red_away
23/09/2009, 10:53 AM
lets remember we were bypassed for a place in this competition previously - so it a long road that doesnt turn!!

That said i like the money, prestige and would like to win it provided we have the league safety - until then we have to protect our small squad for the long run!