View Full Version : Players fly economy class....

an_ceannaire
04/09/2009, 8:47 AM
Same ****, different day :mad:
Come back Roy!

04/09/2009, 9:00 AM
Recession..

an_ceannaire
04/09/2009, 9:03 AM
Recession..

Recession my hole!!! There was no Recession for the FAI fatcats up in first class was there!!! they are the ones who should be in Economy!!! I mean who is more important here!! S**t and all as McShane is, he flew Dublin to Nicosia in Economy with a dodgy knee.........
its bloody scandalous

Recession..!!! No excuse :mad:

04/09/2009, 9:03 AM
Ah come on OP, would you at least explain what you're talking about. I had to do the google search for you but next time I'll just throw it to Rubbish.

Embarrassing mix-up on Cyprus flight (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0904/ireland_flights.html)

an_ceannaire
04/09/2009, 9:04 AM
Ah come on OP, would you at least explain what you're talking about. I had to do the google search for you but next time I'll just throw it to Rubbish.

Embarrassing mix-up on Cyprus flight (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0904/ireland_flights.html)

Apologies EireBhoy
thought everyone would have heard
Sorry about that

04/09/2009, 9:07 AM
Recession my hole!!! There was no Recession for the FAI fatcats up in first class was there!!! they are the ones who should be in Economy!!! I mean who is more important here!! S**t and all as McShane is, he flew Dublin to Nicosia in Economy with a dodgy knee.........
its bloody scandalous

Recession..!!! No excuse :mad:
Ha calm down calm down, was only messing with you, I just said recession coz everyone seems to be using it as an excuse for everything these days! I agree that its a disgrace that the players weren't treated very well.

04/09/2009, 9:09 AM
its bloody scandalous
Brady and Kelly swapped seats with Doyle and McShane.

There's 25 players in the squad. It was probably only the players and coaches in first class.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/republics--players-told-to-fly-economy-class-14480986.html

an_ceannaire
04/09/2009, 9:13 AM
according to today fm, Doyle, Kilbane, Long, Keogh and one other travelled Economy while all the FAI Blazers staff were in First Class...... :mad:
De town apologies to u too mate, i just cant beleieve this crap is happening AGAIN!!! Makes me so feckin mad!!!!:mad:

Scram
04/09/2009, 9:21 AM
Same ****, different day :mad:
Come back Roy!

Yeah, major disaster :rolleyes:

Un-fcu(!<in-believable how Muppets make a huge song and dance about nothing.

an_ceannaire
04/09/2009, 9:24 AM

Shouldnt you be off buying wolfe tones cd's and rehearsing a few rebel songs for your next visit "home" to Bonnie Scotland Scram?

04/09/2009, 9:26 AM
A non story

However it's a cause for pride to read that the FAI still have the knack for quality spin.

"We were aware of the problem beforehand. The seats in economy class had a 34-inch pitch, which is first class in some airlines," said an FAI spokesman.

Mongolian Airlines?

Razors left peg
04/09/2009, 9:30 AM

So you think that the FAI lads work so hard that they deserve to be in 1st class ahead of players who are going to be playing a vital qualifier?? I must be a muppet too so for thinking that the players are the most important people

04/09/2009, 9:31 AM
Who do these precious cnuts think they are? It's an aeroplane - just get on it and stop moaning.

Probably a non-story though, and blown out of all proportion.

Murfinator
04/09/2009, 9:31 AM
Interesting the names of the players who went in economy class. I can picture all of those guys standing up and taking the hit in place of others when they heard about the mix up.

04/09/2009, 9:38 AM
Lads do they fly economy or first class when flying home to family etc?!

Anyway im just waiting for hte reporters to gather outside soundbite roys house for his first words after reading this.

irishfan86
04/09/2009, 9:39 AM
Who do these precious cnuts think they are? It's an aeroplane - just get on it and stop moaning.

Probably a non-story though, and blown out of all proportion.

They have been pampered literally every step of the way in their lives, so I wouldn't be surprised if this story has caused genuine upset.

Roy Keane's hissy fits over this issue are testament to that, and he's one of the so called "hard men!"

04/09/2009, 9:40 AM
And to think, Andy Reid would be roundabouts Sicily by now.

04/09/2009, 9:42 AM
If they needed the leg room because of injury (McShane) then fair enough to some extent.

The difference between classes in some airlines is minimal in my experience.

youngirish
04/09/2009, 9:45 AM
None of the f**kers should be flying first class including the players. Surprised they aren't trying to save money by taking the ferry after having to hand out 2 million to Stan.

04/09/2009, 9:54 AM
I honestly think it shouldn't matter whree the players fly, however roys quibble was that the FAItcats were flying 1st class and the players weren't. I think thats what got to him, and I can completely understand that in a way.

However if I were in charge the players would fly 1st class and the officials would get the boat or least expensive form of travel :D

04/09/2009, 9:57 AM
What a mess up. Hope this hoo-ha doesnt overshadow preparation for a hugely important game.

04/09/2009, 9:58 AM
The squad is made up of midgets anyway so economy will have plenty of leg room for em. If we had an Irish Peter Crouch then by all means stick him in first class!!!

04/09/2009, 9:58 AM
Recession..

How many free perks did delaney give bertie sterlingbanks ahern a few months ago?

04/09/2009, 10:02 AM
There were journalists on the plane so suggestions above that certain players leaked this "story" are wrong.

The only reason it's made the papers is because of the Roy Keane angle. Otherwise it's not an issue.

an_ceannaire
04/09/2009, 10:09 AM
It most certainly is an issue! If all in sundry had travelled in economy Class then it would not be, but the fact that FAI "officials" travelled First Class leaving some of the actual players to travel Economy Class......thats a serious issue.
But sure we are Irish, lets just get on with it and have a song eh....
By a lonely prison wall.......... come on Scram.....give us a song......:rolleyes:

04/09/2009, 10:13 AM
It most certainly is an issue! If all in sundry had travelled in economy Class then it would not be, but the fact that FAI "officials" travelled First Class leaving some of the actual players to travel Economy Class......thats a serious issue.
But sure we are Irish, lets just get on with it and have a song eh....
By a lonely prison wall.......... come on Scram.....give us a song......:rolleyes:

Please name the officials that travelled first class so we can all write emails/letters to them expressing our disgust.

04/09/2009, 10:18 AM
The only scandal here is that the lot of them weren't flying economy class to begin with.

04/09/2009, 10:24 AM
What time does Liveline start at?

04/09/2009, 10:41 AM
No doubt this will be another excuse for a few more of the mercenaries to "retire".

They get paid so much why don't they pay for their own first class tickets?

As for management and Board travelling in a higher class, such is life in any business.

Wangball
04/09/2009, 10:50 AM
I would be of the opinion that if there wasn't enough room for everyone to fly first class then no one should fly first class, they're supposed to be a squad after all, so their should be no distinctions or divisions. Especially if there is no real difference in the space available - again from my experience you only ever see a difference between classes on planes when you fly in 747's and such, in this instance First class probably only meant that they got a free news paper

04/09/2009, 10:52 AM
No doubt this will be another excuse for a few more of the mercenaries to "retire".

They get paid so much why don't they pay for their own first class tickets?

As for management and Board travelling in a higher class, such is life in any business.

There was 22 first class seats on the plane. More than 22 players have made the trip to Cyprus.

I presume they'll be travelling back on the same plane. Should be fun. :D

Duggie
04/09/2009, 10:58 AM
ffs this is our national squad. get it right u bunch of fcking dopes in the FAI. how hard can it be to book the right number of seats for all involved. this sort of sh1t would make me see why keano flipped like he did in 2002 and before.

prince20
04/09/2009, 11:08 AM
May seem like im stating the obvious but if there was only 22 first class seats on the plane how do you make out that the suits were occupying the first class???? The reports i have read states there was more than 22 in the playing squad and management thus they could all not be accomadated in first class. As far as i am aware the rest of the party were in economy class including all FAI officals.

04/09/2009, 11:09 AM
How many free perks did delaney give bertie sterlingbanks ahern a few months ago?

Read my second post in this thread..;)

04/09/2009, 11:16 AM
May seem like im stating the obvious but if there was only 22 first class seats on the plane how do you make out that the suits were occupying the first class?

There wasn't any officials sitting in first class. An_ceannaire took too much sugar on his Coco Pops this morning - hence the hysterics.

Noelys Guitar
04/09/2009, 11:17 AM
Reporters dream. The "Economy Class 7" will be the first queston asked by scribes at todays news conference. This is number 837 in the long, long line of FAI **** ups. "We had a lottery to see who would sit in economy class" says FAI official. They just don't get it. Getting the mundane, small things right can make all the difference. Bad start to our most important match to date in this group.

04/09/2009, 11:20 AM
May seem like im stating the obvious but if there was only 22 first class seats on the plane how do you make out that the suits were occupying the first class???? The reports i have read states there was more than 22 in the playing squad and management thus they could all not be accomadated in first class. As far as i am aware the rest of the party were in economy class including all FAI officals.

thats what i also heard from a good source. there were very few if any suits in first class. there was not enough first class seats on the plane for all so some had to sit elsewhere. doubt the diff between first class and the rest is anything more than you get your dinner first and a fee copy of the times.

these flights are chartered and filled by the players, staff, jornos and a few fans. i doubt any fans were in the best seats

all a fuss over nothing really and if it distracts anyone from playing well then they dont deserve to play for us

04/09/2009, 11:52 AM
And most of all that info was contained in newspaper report, if only the hysterical inclined here would take actual time to read past the headline.

Noelys Guitar
04/09/2009, 12:07 PM
And most of all that info was contained in newspaper report, if only the hysterical inclined here would take actual time to read past the headline.

You should buy a decent SW radio (or listen online). And I would suggest Newstalk sport as a good start to get beyond the headlines. Their latest sports report carried a direct quote from an FAI official about the players seating "lottery". Odd stuff and more of the sure anything will do brigade. Sure are'nt we great craic all the same.

EastTerracer
04/09/2009, 12:11 PM
I am confused by the FAI claim that the height-challenged players were those selected to sit in economy - doesn't explain how McShane and Doyle were initially allocated the smaller seats. Cue cries of discrimination from those under 5'9".
Fair play to Chippy and Alan Kelly (who have both experienced the worst of the FAI themselves) for giving up their seats.

From the Irish Times report: "This time the problem was that there were only 22 business class seats and some of them were allocated to members of the management team. Soon after take off, a brief game of high altitude musical chairs broke out with Liam Brady and Alan Kelly giving up their extra leg room so that Paul McShane, who recently had an operation on his knee, and Kevin Doyle could stretch out.
But Giovanni Trapattoni and Marco Tardelli stayed put while five Irish players, including Aiden McGeady and Stephen Hunt, were left in the more cramped seats.
The FAI insisted afterwards that they had been aware of the problem beforehand and had allocated the shorter players to the seats with less legroom."

None of us are surprised by this. I'm sure the players aren't either. Now, on with the job and get the win tomorrow so we can forget nonsense like this.

04/09/2009, 1:12 PM
Much ado about nothing really, its not like they were flying to Asia.

Now that the papers cant really write about SI anymore, they need something else.

Duggie
04/09/2009, 1:19 PM
its not the point - these things shouldnt happen. the players shouldnt have to worry about sh1t like this. how hard can it be to organise.

04/09/2009, 1:21 PM
its not the point - these things shouldnt happen. the players shouldnt have to worry about sh1t like this. how hard can it be to organise.

what exactly is the "sh1t" you refer to?

Duggie
04/09/2009, 1:25 PM
what exactly is the "sh1t" you refer to?

moving seats or having to even think about seats. all this should be sorted. little details as trap wud say.

04/09/2009, 1:51 PM
Lads do they fly economy or first class when flying home to family etc?!

They should only be allowed fly First/Business Class if they have to go for an emergency, like a Grandmother's funeral...

SuperDave
04/09/2009, 2:02 PM
this is a nothing story. not worth worrying about, apart from the mcshane knee op thing.

otherwise, it is a storm in a tea cup.

04/09/2009, 2:10 PM
pretty much what SuperDave said, slow news week, no club games to fill column inches, paper, ink, refusal.
You know the drill.

04/09/2009, 2:21 PM
If any player wants to be upped to first class they can always pay the extra themselves. I have to travel 'econemy' class on the bus into town :D.
If I can do it anyone can!!

seanfhear
04/09/2009, 2:54 PM
[QUOTE=paul_oshea;1225110]Lads do they fly economy or first class when flying home to family etc?!{QUOTE]

They should only be allowed fly First/Business Class if they have to go for an emergency, like a Grandmother's funeral...
and they are follically challenged and ugly and.. and.. and..

04/09/2009, 3:00 PM
and they are follically challenged and ugly and.. and.. and..

Pink car, pink car!!:D