View Full Version : Players fly economy class....

Pages : 1 [2]

04/09/2009, 3:11 PM
moving seats

is this for real? do they not have to get out of their seat to take a whizz??

04/09/2009, 3:15 PM

You've never flown first class, I see...

Manblue
04/09/2009, 3:27 PM
Pink car, pink car!!:D

Shocked he doesnt wanna play for ye shower of losers, insluting him at every chance,

Anyway all the players love wearing the shirt so much it shouldnt matter to em where they sit

04/09/2009, 3:38 PM
Shocked he doesnt wanna play for ye shower of losers, insluting him at every chance,
I suggest you check the posts pre-dating September 2007 - you'll find far less insulting, and certainly little that could be described as "at every chance. I think I can safely say that the introduction of the new "Irish grannies" rule has sparked the majority of this. Your local paper (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/republicofireland/2321137/Irelands-tale-of-two-grannies-backfires.html) might help with the back story.

Anyway all the players love wearing the shirt so much it shouldnt matter to em where they sit
Completely agree. Fans have burst themselves getting to games - sleeping in tents, cycling, crossing through Beirut. I don't think there was anyone in the squad complaining though - certainly there are no reports of it here. My view is that it is something for sports journos to write in the absence of a handy press release with all the info to be regurgitated ad nauseum. Non story.

Manblue
04/09/2009, 3:45 PM
I suggest you check the posts pre-dating September 2007 - you'll find far less insulting, and certainly little that could be described as "at every chance. I think I can safely say that the introduction of the new "Irish grannies" rule has sparked the majority of this. Your local paper (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/republicofireland/2321137/Irelands-tale-of-two-grannies-backfires.html) might help with the back story.

Completely agree. Fans have burst themselves getting to games - sleeping in tents, cycling, crossing through Beirut. I don't think there was anyone in the squad complaining though - certainly there are no reports of it here. My view is that it is something for sports journos to write in the absence of a handy press release with all the info to be regurgitated ad nauseum. Non story.

I doubt the players will complain,none of them have that big time attitude about them and that paper is far from my local paper

Jicked
04/09/2009, 4:00 PM

:D is he really that touchy about getting a light hearted ribbing due to driving a pink car?!! I'm pretty sure if I showed up for work driving that I'd expect a bit of a teasing. Of course I'm not an absolute nutcase, unlike Stephen.

04/09/2009, 4:28 PM
Ya but didnt someone just say above it was a lottery and then someone else said htey allocated to the taller players.

SO the fai were that organised that they lined everyone up took their height details sorted by shortest and took away 5.....i dont think so.

Nor do i think it was a "lottery"

But as you say on with the game tomorrow.

youngirish
04/09/2009, 4:30 PM

You don't have to do that in economy class either. Just aim for the gap between the window and the seat in front and make sure you don't get hit with the backsplash.

theworm2345
04/09/2009, 5:37 PM
This thread made me laugh a bit...the flight from London to Cyprus is 4 hours so the flight from Dublin is 5? I will just say that I'm taller than every member of the Irish team and have flown to Ireland (roughly 6 and a half hours) not only in economy but in the middle seat and suffered no ill effects from it (besides lack of sleep, which would have occured no matter what as I can't sleep on planes).

05/09/2009, 9:25 AM
Read my second post in this thread..;)

ah do i have to.............:p

weldoninhio
05/09/2009, 10:47 AM
I am confused by the FAI claim that the height-challenged players were those selected to sit in economy - doesn't explain how McShane and Doyle were initially allocated the smaller seats. Cue cries of discrimination from those under 5'9".
Fair play to Chippy and Alan Kelly (who have both experienced the worst of the FAI themselves) for giving up their seats.

From the Irish Times report: "This time the problem was that there were only 22 business class seats and some of them were allocated to members of the management team. Soon after take off, a brief game of high altitude musical chairs broke out with Liam Brady and Alan Kelly giving up their extra leg room so that Paul McShane, who recently had an operation on his knee, and Kevin Doyle could stretch out.
But Giovanni Trapattoni and Marco Tardelli stayed put while five Irish players, including Aiden McGeady and Stephen Hunt, were left in the more cramped seats.
The FAI insisted afterwards that they had been aware of the problem beforehand and had allocated the shorter players to the seats with less legroom."

None of us are surprised by this. I'm sure the players aren't either. Now, on with the job and get the win tomorrow so we can forget nonsense like this.

You'd swear they had to get a train through India!! The seats on airlines are not that cramped!! None of them should be flying first class anyway, unless they are all willing to pay the difference. And if McShanes knee is so bad that he can't sit for 3.5 hours why is he in the squad to play a 90 minute physical football game.

Its nonsense, a non-story.

05/09/2009, 10:58 AM
None of them should be flying first class anyway, unless they are all willing to pay the difference.
It's a chartered FAI flight. Someone has to sit there.

And flights are cramped for some. I'm 6'3 and would usually have to stick my feet out the isle on any plane. I can't sit in the back of a car for too long because my knees start paining. I play 5 a side and have never in my life had a knee injury. We're not all the same.
That's not to say that I'd even dare splash out for 1st class but I'd be walking around the plane, or stand, a bit during flights.

Jicked
05/09/2009, 11:08 AM
You'd swear they had to get a train through India!! The seats on airlines are not that cramped!! None of them should be flying first class anyway, unless they are all willing to pay the difference. And if McShanes knee is so bad that he can't sit for 3.5 hours why is he in the squad to play a 90 minute physical football game.

Its nonsense, a non-story.

While I agree it's not a big story, to say the players shouldn't fly first class is laughable.

youngirish
05/09/2009, 11:10 AM
It's a chartered FAI flight. Someone has to sit there.

And flights are cramped for some. I'm 6'3 and would usually have to stick my feet out the isle on any plane. I can't sit in the back of a car for too long because my knees start paining. I play 5 a side and have never in my life had a knee injury. We're not all the same.
That's not to say that I'd even dare splash out for 1st class but I'd be walking around the plane, or stand, a bit during flights.

I'm 6'1 which is taller than nearly everyone in the squad and I've never had a problem on the plane in economy. Don't think anyone is as tall as you eirebhoy bar Westwood.

05/09/2009, 11:20 AM
I'm 6 foot, and have to get up and walk around on long flights. I can just about handle short haul flights on Ryanair, even if my knees are wedged up against my chin, but I need to stretch out afterwards

Scooby Doo
05/09/2009, 12:03 PM
Non-event. Move on. Looks like the Celtic Tiger whinging/entitlements mentality still exists in some.
Smacks of desperation journalism aswell.

The Legend
05/09/2009, 5:36 PM
lads, an international football team shouldnt be flying in coach unless its Malta, we are not Malta. I cant stand the FAI.