View Full Version : Rovers 1-0 Bohs

Pages : 1 [2] 3

dublinred
01/09/2009, 3:52 PM
Who is the ref tonight?

prodsc
01/09/2009, 4:06 PM
T Connolly is ref and two brutal linesmen- the guy that always runs to the tunnel and guy from Donegal- McGrath.

CarrickFan
01/09/2009, 4:36 PM
Michael Mc Grath gone according to website...what happened there??

Jeebus
01/09/2009, 8:39 PM
FT 1-0. Get in!!!:D

lowroadrover
01/09/2009, 8:41 PM
YES ,great result

Well Red
01/09/2009, 8:46 PM
Well done Rovers and it shows that maybe without all the injuries we could have been a force but we have a lot to play for yet.

Redkenrover
01/09/2009, 8:51 PM
Great result tonight. Although I have been caught too many times with false dawns, I hope we now can put a run together.
Couldn't bloody make game tonight:mad:. Have missed Cork and Derry cup games and now this:(:(

forza rovers
01/09/2009, 9:02 PM
Thank you jason ya racist for the peno!

rovers100%
01/09/2009, 9:14 PM
jesus that was bad on the heart. 11 men in our own half for 45 minutes. bohs are not that hot if ya ask me, shams would have scored if we gave them that much of the ball. first time this year i seen all 11 players giving 100%. brush was dodgy again but pulled off one wonder save and made up for past mistakes. still think we shoud have had another peno for handball. the ref and linesmen were brutal as usual and hope brennan breaks his leg, the cheat ! great to see peers play full game and what a ovation he got throughout the game. hopefully, hopefully, hopefully we can capatilise on this result and fend off relegation

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/09/2009, 9:16 PM
Same again on Friday night please. Inside Man must be gutted

apo11o
01/09/2009, 9:17 PM
Great result:D

Oh no Galway won aswell:eek:

Dixie Dean
Michael Mc Grath gone according to website...what happened there??

Heard at the game that morrisson is gone as well and cook has been in england trying to get players.

rovers100%
forza flag about that nazi mcguiness was priceless, hope it makes the paper !!!

sligofan4ever
01/09/2009, 9:26 PM
What a result :). We got tired at the end but so long as we got the result it dosent matter. Cretaro was very shot shy tonight for some reason, but players like Eoin Doyle,Danny Ventre,Gavin Peers and Romauld Boco were all brilliant (how did we escape an own goal :eek:) I hope Morrison isn't gone, we need creativity like his but after all he did hand in a transfer request so he may not have been happy, and McGrath gone after what, 3 games ? more of the same on friday please :). Is our next home game the televised one in the Setanta Cup against Cork City ?

MMVIII
01/09/2009, 9:30 PM
forza flag about that nazi mcguiness was priceless, hope it makes the paper !!!

Haha ;):D

CarrickFan
01/09/2009, 10:10 PM
Fantastic result...What a difference Peers makes..legend..could be a vital 3 points come November...

Poor Turner did'nt look happy..he was very nearly taken off after only being on a few mins..headed straight for tunnel after final whistle!!

01/09/2009, 10:23 PM
Unbelievable result. We held on long enough:). Thought Bohs should have got a peno in the 2nd half, O'Grady had his arms wrapped around Keegan in the box, luckily Keegan didn't go down looking for it. We really need to go and beat Drogs now, proved tonight that we're well able to.

Best performers for me were Kendrick, O'Grady & Peers.

01/09/2009, 10:32 PM
Thought Eoin Doyle had a blinding game and Conor and Peersie were outstanding. This is a different team when Gavin is playing. Also, Blinky can really lead the line well and we should not withdraw Raf too deep on Friday as I expect he could get some joy off this partnership. Dodgy tactics letting Bohs have the ball but it worked as they only looked like scoring twice and one of those would have been an og. We could have had another two on the break.

Is it possible that Cookie thought it was Chris Turner he was signing. Trust me, I can run faster than that guy.

celticV3
01/09/2009, 10:40 PM
What a result. Great performance from the team and thought nearly everyone played out of there skin. Better teams have given away a goal near the end against bohs but we held out.

We were told that we would be fined for that banner aswell? How the fai plan on wording that fine for making a banner against a player who was racially abusing one of our players is going to be interesting.

J.a.s.o.n

red arrow
01/09/2009, 10:40 PM
great result thanks be to god. 2nd half was backs to the wall but we had chances to score a second goal. gavin peers gave everything tonight. what a great player he is and he plays with true passion. there is no doubt but that he should be playing at a higher level. wheather it was tactics on cooks behalf in the 2nd half to play deep & catch them on the break but we rode our luck at times. however the cup game in dalymount will be totally different. its very interesting that games all season between ourselves and bohs have being very tight scorewise . i smell a high scoring cup game and that we can get a positive result. i thought the atmosphere at the game last night was great at times. reminds me of winter football !

CF1989
01/09/2009, 11:00 PM
great win, everyone played brilliantly. i thought MOTM was maybe eoin doyle. thought he had a stormer.

big game friday now, 3 points and we'll have great confidence going into the cup

well done rovers

unclekev
01/09/2009, 11:03 PM
Raging to have missed the game tonight. Work is a pain. Heard it was great. Fair play to cookie and the lads. Heard doyle and blinkhorn were superb. Hear that Referee was on our side..... that makes a change. Glad to see fenlon beaten. Dont like him at all. He's a bitter little man. Bet he will blame our pitch for the result. Looking forward to the Cup game. Its time we got revenge in Dalymount . Roll on Drogheda

srfc1928
01/09/2009, 11:04 PM
could only make the second half tonight.
Great battling performance by the players tonight.
We played very deep but in fairness it worked and credit has to be given for this,
we got the result and thats all that matters at this stage of the season.
Great support from the crowd, but i think its been good all season considering some of the performances,
your always going to have a few moaners and people letting off steam but in the main the fans have got behind the players and management both at the game and on messge boards like this.
The same support would not be given at most clubs

01/09/2009, 11:50 PM
could only make the second half tonight.
Great battling performance by the players tonight.
We played very deep but in fairness it worked and credit has to be given for this,
we got the result and thats all that matters at this stage of the season.
Great support from the crowd, but i think its been good all season considering some of the performances,
your always going to have a few moaners and people letting off steam but in the main the fans have got behind the players and management both at the game and on messge boards like this.
The same support would not be given at most clubs

Some Bohs fan said in Mooney's before the game that there would be a small crowd cos we are bottom of the league, i said to him there would be 1500. He said "well we get nearly 2000". Tuesday night, won five games all year and we still get that crowd and the support, fantastic.

CF1989
02/09/2009, 1:17 AM
our crowd on a tuesday night compared to brays on a friday night. so much better.
rovers have a 'die hard' home crowd who'll be there everygame no matter how we're playing of around 1,100/1,200 id say, they'll be there everygame, then the rest added to it dependin on how we're goin/what there at on the night/anything better on etc.

mention for cooky....changed the tactics in the latter stages. worked perfectly imo, we closed out the game and kept onto our lead. well done cooky and carry

dong
02/09/2009, 2:46 AM
Gavin Peers is a legend. Can't think of a better performance from a centre half in the showgrounds in my time going there. No bull**** with him. He wouldn't go off towards the end when he looked like he could hardly walk with cramp. If he keeps setting the tone with performances like that we have a chance to get out of trouble.
Brush was shaky enough at times in the first half. He made a few decent saves in the second and was more commanding. O grady and Ventre were top notch. Ventre particularly was on a mission. Ndo must have been sick of the sight of him by the end of the first half!
Doyler did well. He's a great outlet for us. Rode our luck at times but we've had bugger all of it all season. Tough one against Drogheda after that effort tonight.

clubman
02/09/2009, 5:45 AM
Last night we had something we didn't have all season - LUCK!!
Bohs will never again have so much possession and not score. It was real backs to the wall stuff second half, a real team effort which is required every remaining game if we are to survive. No one probably cares with the exception of Pat Fenlon but it was most definitely no penalty, Initial contact made outside box. Who cares though a great three points, well done Alan Keane on his superb execution of the peno, pressure, what pressure. Heroes all across the park but for me O Grady was immense, roll on the Drogs!!

Mayo Red
02/09/2009, 7:38 AM
Great result and very badly needed, it's been a real rollercoaster of a season so far! We could have done with Galway losing lastnight though too. Roll on the Drogs!

showgies
02/09/2009, 8:07 AM
I thought we deserved the lead at half time. We fairly sat back in the second half and invited a lot of pressure, although we had some decent chances ourselves to increase the lead. All players played their part, but isn't it great to have Peers back.

It is vital they continue this in Drogheda.

Rovers Maniac
02/09/2009, 9:28 AM
Great result and well deserved i thought, i have to say i thought O'Grady was superb last night esp in the first half Peers was immense at the heart of defence, jeez every one of them had a good game last night although turner looked a little off the pace when he came on :). Up to Drogs now and we must try and be positive and look for 3 points, i hope we don't go to this relagation playoff but its going to be hard work to catch a team above us but we are capable of putting in a good end of season run.

02/09/2009, 10:15 AM
Get the feeling Bohs wont make the same mistake again in the cup, not that it matters now.

Have to get a result in Drogheda, I know people were disappointed about Galway winning but at least now we have a little gap from Bray and Friday's game is massive.

roversman
02/09/2009, 10:22 AM
the truth is last nights results is only a good one if we get something out of fri game.hope we push on from here and not a false dawn like the pats game
. well dont to the lads last night keep it up

Guts&Glory
02/09/2009, 12:57 PM
What a result. Great performance from the team and thought nearly everyone played out of there skin. Better teams have given away a goal near the end against bohs but we held out.

We were told that we would be fined for that banner aswell? How the fai plan on wording that fine for making a banner against a player who was racially abusing one of our players is going to be interesting.

J.a.s.o.n

I would have though most people know that any form of abuse of fans, officials and/or players in any form at LOI grounds is absolutely condemed by the FAI and stated in the ground regulations for attendances at matches posted in match programmes.

I would have thought accusing someone of being a Nazi falls into that category.

Will the offenders offer to pay the ban if Rovers are fined??!!

People should just drop the McGuiness thing and move on, its like the Sean Conor obsession - Get over it.

McGuiness got his punishment who cares what happens to him after that.

As a Rovers fan what I am more concerned about is some fans behaviour such as Taunting an elderly man in his 80's at the recent Bray away game and signing the McGuiness song at the Bohs away league game (we lost 2-0) where there was a Boys U-12 team guest of Bohs on the other side of the gangway to Rovers fans as well as the coin throwing incident at the League Cup Semi Final all leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.

Some people need to grow up and cop on.

CF1989
02/09/2009, 1:22 PM
'taunting' an old man in bray? go way and get a sense of humour.

red_away
02/09/2009, 1:32 PM
the truth is last nights results is only a good one if we get something out of fri game.hope we push on from here and not a false dawn like the pats game

The above is the only thought to go forward with, last nite was great but friday is crucial (i.e. more important) - lets get to drogs in big numbers and hopefully support the team and put some distance between us and the bottom 2 and hopefully catch the krusties!!!!

showgies
02/09/2009, 1:57 PM
People should just drop the McGuiness thing and move on, its like the Sean Conor obsession - Get over it.

McGuiness got his punishment who cares what happens to him after that.

To be fair, it was the first opportunity for many Rovers supporters to let him know that his behaviour was unacceptable.

dublinred
02/09/2009, 2:06 PM
To be fair, it was the first opportunity for many Rovers supporters to let him know that his behaviour was unacceptable.

I think the song is class except for the last word , maybe a less offensive word could be used instead , seemed to unsettle him last night considering he gave away the peno.

showgies
02/09/2009, 3:39 PM
Could anybody make out what the Bohs were chanting at Cookie last night, I couldn't make it out myself!

sligofan4ever
02/09/2009, 3:44 PM
Extratime saying attendance was only 1004! it was surely around 1500-1800 region ?

CF1989
02/09/2009, 4:47 PM
bohs fans were singing something along the lines of 'paul cook throws the game'

the mcguinness thing seemed to unsettle him, although maybe it was just coincidence he played poorly. awful error for the penalty and a couple of other things too. he was only good in the air, anything on the ground he was dodgy

MMVIII
02/09/2009, 5:10 PM
I would have though most people know that any form of abuse of fans, officials and/or players in any form at LOI grounds is absolutely condemed by the FAI and stated in the ground regulations for attendances at matches posted in match programmes.

Do you really think players and officials haven't been "abused" for years and will continue to be for years to come? It's a banner, get over it. It was done to unsettle the fella and to show him how we felt about it, and it succeded. It was tongue in cheek.

Some people need to grow up and cop on?? Nah thanks. Its a bit of craic, not the end of the world.

02/09/2009, 5:14 PM
As a Rovers fan what I am more concerned about is some fans behaviour such as Taunting an elderly man in his 80's at the recent Bray away game and signing the McGuiness song at the Bohs away league game (we lost 2-0) where there was a Boys U-12 team guest of Bohs on the other side of the gangway to Rovers fans as well as the coin throwing incident at the League Cup Semi Final all leaves a bitter taste in the mouth.

Sweet, the perfect Rovers fan. If only we could clone you. Do you really expect McGuinness to receive no abuse?

The only problem was calling him a Nazi. Didn't even make sense. Racial abuse to counteract racial abuse.

sligo23
02/09/2009, 5:17 PM
Was Fenlon complaining to the officials at the start about the banner?? He seem annoyed about something...as usual!!
Personally I taught it was brilliant, pure genius from forza. Well done to all invloved with it.
Don't think theres much hope of us escaping a fine for it tho, the FAI could do with the income.

Rovers Maniac
02/09/2009, 5:20 PM
I was looking at him before the game and he looked very uncomfortable, good chance it got to him as it was his mistake that lead to the penalty.

MMVIII
02/09/2009, 5:20 PM
To be honest, I don't think we will. Drogs group, the Famous 45, had another one of these "offensive banners" against Dundalk. "The positive side of diarrohea". And an image of a Drogs fan ****ting on a Dundalk crest, and they weren't fined.

There was nothing wrong with that banner, nor with this one.

dong
02/09/2009, 5:22 PM
Sweet, the perfect Rovers fan. If only we could clone you. Do you really expect McGuinness to receive no abuse?

The only problem was calling him a Nazi. Didn't even make sense. Racial abuse to counteract racial abuse.

As far as I know a "Nazi" isn't a race of people Rory!
The banner was spot on. Should be left at that now though.

02/09/2009, 5:30 PM
There are an awful lot of things classified under racist these days, without taking purely race into it. As you said, lets move on.

Shedzer
02/09/2009, 5:41 PM
I looked at it and thought it was good, but when you read behind the lines, why use the word Nazi???

Made no sense....

sligo23
02/09/2009, 5:56 PM
I looked at it and thought it was good, but when you read behind the lines, why use the word Nazi???

Made no sense....
because the Nazis were renowned for producing dodgy centre backs...

Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/09/2009, 5:59 PM
Aren't people very forgiving about the whole Nazi comments. Don't seem so many to have been as forgiving about the comments from McGuinness. I think the 'song' is a joke as well. If people are all on for forgetting everyone and moving on maybe they should start looking at themselves first