View Full Version : Rovers 1-0 Bohs
CF1989
02/09/2009, 6:15 PM
nah we'll give him another bit next week and leave it at that hopefully
Redzer
02/09/2009, 6:35 PM
I thought it was just what was needed. It unsettled Fenlon and players, and gave us an extra bit of edge. It also showed that we will not accept anyone coming down here and abusing our players, and expecting no reaction from us.
Fenlon and Co got an answer from the farmers field. Well done Forza.
MysteryMachine2
02/09/2009, 6:38 PM
Well the Nazi comments make sense when talking about present neo-Nazis as they are generally white supremacist groups rather than political organisations.
I assume that was the intended use of that particular abuse and I don't understand how that could be defined as racist?:confused:
That's not to say it was acceptable in the eyes of those that matter in the FAI....
1st time post
02/09/2009, 7:03 PM
Whatever bout nazi banners,beating the league champions,taking a valuable 3 points etc... the only thing that will stay in my memory from last night was the performance of Gavin Peers, the man is an absolute HERO, tackle after tackle, header after header, block after block....Non stop commitment and a real leader is what weve been missing without him. The guy could barely walk at the end of it all and lets just hope we can keep him fit for rest of year and we WILL be ok.
srfc1928
02/09/2009, 8:04 PM
This whole banner / song thing is getting blown way out of proportion.
If the 'shoe was on the other foot' and it had happened a bohs player i'm sure their fans wouldnt let it go and would probably go a lot further.
You'd think by reading some posts we had a troublesome set of supporters when in reality its quite the opposite.
They get behind every player, every game.
If highlighting that racisim isnt acceptable is the worst thing that Sligo Rovers fans do this season well that cant be bad,
especially when you contrast it against what some other clubs fans get up to
Maybe everyone should sit down, occasionaly sing ole,ole,ole and wear big silly hats and hope that no one ever gets offended even if they offend us first
Da Real Rover
02/09/2009, 8:25 PM
I for one expect a message of congradulations from not only the FAI but also FIFA for what Mc Guinneass got tonight.
He racially abused one of our players because of the colour of his skin and if people on hear had heard the utter bile that was directed at Boco for 90 minutes I dont think they would be as quick to defend Mc Guinneass.
He got what he deserved and was shown that Racism will not be tolerated on the pitch or in the terraces.
As for the facist remark, well Facists are generally known as white supremacists with a nasty racist undertone and it begins with N so I think it was quite apt.
We showed Racism the Red Card tonight and if there were more fans like that in Europe you wouldnt get the sickening Moneky chants or bananas being thrown at players.
Sepp Blatter and John Delaney please forward all thanks to Forza Rovers.
02/09/2009, 8:30 PM
N for Nitwit wouldn't have had the same effect I think.
Fabrizio
02/09/2009, 8:36 PM
Whatever bout nazi banners,beating the league champions,taking a valuable 3 points etc... the only thing that will stay in my memory from last night was the performance of Gavin Peers, the man is an absolute HERO, tackle after tackle, header after header, block after block....Non stop commitment and a real leader is what weve been missing without him. The guy could barely walk at the end of it all and lets just hope we can keep him fit for rest of year and we WILL be ok.
I have been meaning to post a comment re: Peers over the past number of days but this post says it all. He is a HERO. I think Rovers are half the team without him in it. He is, in my opinion, one of the top 3 defenders in the league, totally committed, has excellent displicine record, gives everything he has, wins tackles, wins headers, leads, and is a great footballer. Comapre him to the likes of Almedia/Camano/Ventre - there is no comparison, absolutely no comparison. Ive heard that Peers was very eager to get back playing in the last few weeks and in my opinion he is a Rovers Legend, one of the best players over the past 3 years without a doubt!! Himself, Raf and O'Grady are the heart and soul of this team!! All 3 are worth every penny they are paid!!
02/09/2009, 9:42 PM
I for one expect a message of congradulations from not only the FAI but also FIFA for what Mc Guinneass got tonight.
He racially abused one of our players because of the colour of his skin and if people on hear had heard the utter bile that was directed at Boco for 90 minutes I dont think they would be as quick to defend Mc Guinneass.
He got what he deserved and was shown that Racism will not be tolerated on the pitch or in the terraces.
As for the facist remark, well Facists are generally known as white supremacists with a nasty racist undertone and it begins with N so I think it was quite apt.
We showed Racism the Red Card tonight and if there were more fans like that in Europe you wouldnt get the sickening Moneky chants or bananas being thrown at players.
Sepp Blatter and John Delaney please forward all thanks to Forza Rovers.
Where the hell are you, Da Real Rover, Sepp Blatter is all over Sligo looking for you.
Ventre's and Peer's training session with the Ballisodare United under 12's on Monday evening last obviously did the trick.
Sean South
03/09/2009, 11:01 AM
Where the hell are you, Da Real Rover, Sepp Blatter is all over Sligo looking for you.
Most likely outside Foleys perving at young ones going to the underage disco in envy...
According to the Sligo Champion yesterday Chris Turner is on his way back to full fitness after his long lay off due to injuries sustained in a motor accident.
03/09/2009, 5:34 PM
According to the Sligo Champion yesterday Chris Turner is on his way back to full fitness after his long lay off due to injuries sustained in a motor accident.
If only it were true...:(
CarrickFan
03/09/2009, 10:02 PM
The most sensible post on the issue..i agree 100%...i think the Forza boys are great supporters and vital to the club but if ye think the banner or chanting made McGuinness play poorly or affect him i'd have to disagree..he's a professional footballer...some of the comments about racism are a bit naive aswell..i agree totally it should not be tolerated 0n the pitch on the terraces or anywhere in society..but ive been going to the Showgrounds for a fair few years and have heard people in the home support say pretty nasty things about both home and away players of different races and although not as much in recent times it does happen so no club is whiter than white...
will prob get slaughtered for this post but just call it as i see it..not trying to p anybody off....anyway as above post said 3 points against the double winners and the unbelievable Gavin Peers is what i'll remember.
celticV3
04/09/2009, 7:23 PM
I would have thought accusing someone of being a Nazi falls into that category.
Mcguiness acting like a fascist on the field deserves criticism off it, simple as. Anyone who acts so disgracefull as a "professional" leaves themselves open to be singles out for acting in such a disgusting manner.
People should just drop the McGuiness thing and move on, its like the Sean Conor obsession - Get over it.
I do not know what the sean connor obsession is?:confused: But seeing as that was the first time Mcguiness played in the showground sinces the game where he constantly abused boco then a reaction is obviously expected from the home fans?
and signing the McGuiness song at the Bohs away league game (we lost 2-0) where there was a Boys U-12 team guest of Bohs
Hopefully the young lads asked an adult with them to explain the situation and they were able to get a valuable lesson in racial awareness. I don't know why your asking for this censorship of a song linking a racist player to other racist organisations, its a very logical connection to make.
It was his first game back to the showgrounds and the Forza rovers lads made a banner highlighting the fact that his actions were disgusting. the point was made and I thought it was a great banner well displayed and message sent.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/09/2009, 11:20 PM
Hopefully the young lads asked an adult with them to explain the situation and they were able to get a valuable lesson in racial awareness. .
Well there would be no chance of getting a lesson in racial awareness from the people singing the song
Da Real Rover
05/09/2009, 10:02 AM
Well there would be no chance of getting a lesson in racial awareness from the people singing the song
You know this how?
Guts&Glory
06/09/2009, 9:39 PM
'taunting' an old man in bray? go way and get a sense of humour.
Having spoken to the man on the Dart on the way back from the game he didnt see the funny side, he was scared and intimidated at a group of young fellas singning at him.
Guts&Glory
06/09/2009, 9:50 PM
Do you really think players and officials haven't been "abused" for years and will continue to be for years to come? It's a banner, get over it. It was done to unsettle the fella and to show him how we felt about it, and it succeded. It was tongue in cheek.
Some people need to grow up and cop on?? Nah thanks. Its a bit of craic, not the end of the world.
Bit of craic? Uneducated, poor taste, pointless, yes good craic - NO
Celtic V3 "I do not know what the sean connor obsession is?" - Any Rovers Bohs or Rovers Dundalk match from the last couple of years would be evidence enough on that one.
Originally Posted by celticV3
Celtic V3 -
Hopefully the young lads asked an adult with them to explain the situation and they were able to get a valuable lesson in racial awareness.
...and an explanation of all the swear words and torrent of abuse that was shouted from the Rovers fans?? Considering the level of mixed race schools in Dublin a sense of racial awareness is something they already have.
Guts&Glory
06/09/2009, 10:03 PM
Sweet, the perfect Rovers fan. If only we could clone you. Do you really expect McGuinness to receive no abuse?
The only problem was calling him a Nazi. Didn't even make sense. Racial abuse to counteract racial abuse.
The Nazi comment is the thing that has caused the matter mushrooming
Had the banner said "Jason - ignorance is no excuse" or the like nobody would have really bat an eyelid.
Anyway it was predominately the same guys, certainly the same that made the banner, that were abusing him at Dalymount for the League two nil defeat and the League Cup game. Enough is enough.
As for cloning me better that the some of the clowns that seem to think they are Sligo Rovers (thereby ignoring the other excess 1,00 people at home games) and that supporting Rovers involves getting ****ed, singning abuse, some not getting into grounds by security for being too drunk, taunting old men, signing songs of vial abuse rows from young kids, threatening officials at Dalymount Park, throwing coins at opposition players and then wondering why more people don't go to Rovers games.
If Rovers get fined for the banner being displayed will you still defend the actions of a few that disguisted so many??
06/09/2009, 11:14 PM
Having spoken to the man on the Dart on the way back from the game he didnt see the funny side, he was scared and intimidated at a group of young fellas singning at him.
Don't know how Westlife made it so.
07/09/2009, 1:30 PM
As for cloning me better that the some of the clowns that seem to think they are Sligo Rovers (thereby ignoring the other excess 1,00 people at home games) and that supporting Rovers involves getting ****ed, singning abuse, some not getting into grounds by security for being too drunk, taunting old men, signing songs of vial abuse rows from young kids, threatening officials at Dalymount Park, throwing coins at opposition players and then wondering why more people don't go to Rovers games.
:o....
If Rovers get fined for the banner being displayed will you still defend the actions of a few that disguisted so many??
Who was disgusted? You and Pat Fenlon?
The Rovers fans and particularly Forza Rovers are an absolute credit to the club on away days. The same people that you dismiss are the ones making the trip week in week out to Cork and other far flung **** hole destinations.
They should be applauded for their passion for the Rovers.
You will always have one or two begrudgers who want a santised, wishy washy support who sit on their arses for the games.
Rovers Maniac
07/09/2009, 1:59 PM
Coming on SSN an the top of the hour, headline before the break was "Fans Sing and Chant at football match", shocking scenes i believe.
MMVIII
07/09/2009, 3:34 PM
Had the banner said "Jason - ignorance is no excuse" or the like nobody would have really bat an eyelid.
Anyway it was predominately the same guys, certainly the same that made the banner, that were abusing him at Dalymount for the League two nil defeat and the League Cup game. Enough is enough.
Look pal, get off your high, self righteous horse. Singing abuse? :eek: How dare we. Its been going on for years and will continue to be. You've never shouted abuse at a player/referee/official/opposing manager? It's part and parcel of supporting a football team, like that or not. I strongly doubt you haven't. Throwing coins at opposition players? Do go on please. Do bring up an occasion in recent times where a member of Forza Rovers has done this. Do ya not realise all the people that stand with us aren't FR?
But hey, its all grand and well, hide behind your username, you know where we are every home game, and you'll know where we'll be this Friday and every other away game. Say hello, voice your concerns, you never know, you might like it.
sligo23
07/09/2009, 3:53 PM
Look pal, get off your high, self righteous horse. Singing abuse? :eek: How dare we. Its been going on for years and will continue to be. You've never shouted abuse at a player/referee/official/opposing manager? It's part and parcel of supporting a football team, like that or not. I strongly doubt you haven't. Throwing coins at opposition players? Do go on please. Do bring up an occasion in recent times where a member of Forza Rovers has done this. Do ya not realise all the people that stand with us aren't FR?
But hey, its all grand and well, hide behind your username, you know where we are every home game, and you'll know where we'll be this Friday and every other away game. Say hello, voice your concerns, you never know, you might like it.
I seen that happen and, trust me, he is defo not a member of, nor does he have anything to do with, Forza Rovers. He was just a fat drunken...., who spent most of the game actually roaring abuse at our players. I wouldn't call him a Rovers fan.
Da Real Rover
12/09/2009, 12:41 PM
Getting drunk, singing at games and abusing a racist *****, oohhh the humanity.
Jaysus you are boring.