View Full Version : RTE
Mad Moose
07/08/2009, 11:33 AM
No doubt they'd show a possible game v Villa.
To state the obvious they'll cream themselves over it.:D
sonofstan
07/08/2009, 11:44 AM
Look, I would be, and have been, the first to criticise RTE in the recent past for the relative prominence given to LoI teams in Europe V premiership 'news'. In this case however, i think folks are going off without actually looking at the format of the 9 O'Clock news - check any other night and i think you'll find they generally don't carry a sports report at all. The Liverpool story last night was a colour piece carried on every other bulletin as part of the news and not as part of the sport coverage. RTE did lead with the Pat's result on every other news i saw or heard last evening.
Straightstory
07/08/2009, 11:47 AM
Look, I would be, and have been, the first to criticise RTE in the recent past for the relative prominence given to LoI teams in Europe V premiership 'news'. In this case however, i think folks are going off without actually looking at the format of the 9 O'Clock news - check any other night and i think you'll find they generally don't carry a sports report at all. The Liverpool story last night was a colour piece carried on every other bulletin as part of the news and not as part of the sport coverage. RTE did lead with the Pat's result on every other news i saw or heard last evening.
Yes, you're right. (And I think the onus is clearly on DC Steve to voluntarily pay a TV license fee to RTE).
'Off the Ball had it as their top story as well. They spent a good few mins at the start of the show talking about the result.'
sorry for changing subject slightly but reminds of when when the wall fell over at bray with those rovers fans. the clown on newstalk said ''hopefully there are not to many fatalities there''
i hadn't heard the full news and thought there was a major disaster
boneym
07/08/2009, 12:14 PM
The RTE website is all about Arsenal and Celtic it doesnt even tell us who Pats got. F*****g Joke
citybone
07/08/2009, 1:35 PM
It was on RTE News later on in the night anyway...at 11 I think?
They interviewed a load of Pat's fans in McDowells...
It was St.Pats first, Cork City and Dunmanway last, proper order!!
07/08/2009, 1:39 PM
the clown on newstalk said
Could start a thread on that actually.
"Declan 'Fabio' O'Brien got the crucial goal for Pat's."
"Why's he called Fabio?"
*Awkward silence*
"I think he's got Italian relatives somewhere"
Eejits.
07/08/2009, 1:47 PM
Could start a thread on that actually.
"Declan 'Fabio' O'Brien got the crucial goal for Pat's."
"Why's he called Fabio?"
*Awkward silence*
"I think he's got Italian relatives somewhere"
Eejits.
Why is he called Fabio?
07/08/2009, 1:50 PM
He signed for Drogheda from LSL side Verona, is the most plausible reason I've heard. Someone texted that into the show too.
07/08/2009, 2:01 PM
In fairness, how the hell are they going to know that?
07/08/2009, 2:04 PM
Just say "I don't know" rather than making a guess and looking like an eejit.
You could hear the glare from yer man as well - "Don't do this to me..."
Maybe I'm tainted by my dislike of the presenters anyway, from the little I've heard of it.
jinxy lilywhite
07/08/2009, 2:15 PM
I remember it gave the explanation on one of our matchday mags. It wasn't that he signed from verona or that his relatives where where of italian desent, I am 99% certain that he was called it from childhood because he looked italian.
marinobohs
07/08/2009, 2:16 PM
In fairness, how the hell are they going to know that?
Yes because there are soooo many facts/stats to be learned off about Man U /Liverpool /Chelsea etc before the season "starts" :rolleyes: and its not like journalists ever do any prep work
Duggie
07/08/2009, 2:20 PM
I remember it gave the explanation on one of our matchday mags. It wasn't that he signed from verona or that his relatives where where of italian desent, I am 99% certain that he was called it from childhood because he looked italian.
ppffffft these are getting more and more funny. :D
maybe fabio was his confirmation name...anyone think of that eh eh!
marinobohs
07/08/2009, 2:22 PM
ppffffft these are getting more and more funny. :D
maybe fabio was his confirmation name...anyone think of that eh eh!
I've herd him called a couple of other names over the years (pretty sure they had little to do with confirmation though :))
Duggie
07/08/2009, 2:52 PM
wonder is there any chance of them showing this tie ?
07/08/2009, 2:57 PM
They will, and Pat's will be hammered and the barstoolers will go "What's the fuss all about? They're rubbish."
Always the way.
amaccann
07/08/2009, 3:16 PM
They will, and Pat's will be hammered and the barstoolers will go "What's the fuss all about? They're rubbish."
Always the way.
Don't forget, George Hamilton will be wheeled in because it's now a designated "big" match for the LoI.
Boo_Boy
07/08/2009, 3:18 PM
No way I'll be tuning into RTE to watch it. I'd rather watch it on a Romanian channel and make do with the foreign commentary than give RTE my viewership :rolleyes:.
sonofstan
07/08/2009, 3:28 PM
Don't forget, George Hamilton will be wheeled in because it's now a designated "big" match for the LoI.
He'll get Ryan Guy and Bobby Ryan mixed up. He'll mention Keith Fahey a few hundred times even though he has nothing to do with the game. He will say Jeff Kenna is 'vastly experienced' because he played in the premiership.
Hitman
07/08/2009, 3:54 PM
He'll get Ryan Guy and Bobby Ryan mixed up.
I think he always refers to him as Barry "Bobby" Ryan, though that could have been Trevor Welch.
07/08/2009, 4:27 PM
I think he always refers to him as Barry "Bobby" Ryan, though that could have been Trevor Welch.
Those Pats guy last week were calling him that too.
ger121
07/08/2009, 4:43 PM
Jaysus, what was that like? Was your man Ken Early on? I hate that tosser. God forbid he should acknowledge Irish football (not the international game) for all of 5 seconds. Twilight Zone stuff I'm sure...
I presume they had Dan McDonnell talking, he's the only person they use that I'd trust to cover LOI properly. The rest of the time, their coverage is an embarrassment. Although I hardly ever listen anymore - I hate the show, can you tell? :D
The only reason they had a conversation for more than 30 seconds about the match was that Ken "EPL" Early wasn't on the show. So when one was talking and stopped the other continued,which as we all know wouldn't have happened with Ken ,as he suddenly comes over all mute once the LOI is being discussed.
sonofstan
07/08/2009, 4:46 PM
Actually, i seem to remember Barry is his real name. "Bobby" is just a nickname. Like 'Shergar' or something.
07/08/2009, 4:52 PM
That's correct. He goes by Bobby simply because he prefers it.
longfordjames
07/08/2009, 4:58 PM
No way I'll be tuning into RTE to watch it. I'd rather watch it on a Romanian channel and make do with the foreign commentary than give RTE my viewership :rolleyes:.
Would they not be more likely show LOI if they get alot of viewers?
Blue-Army
07/08/2009, 5:12 PM
He signed for Drogheda from LSL side Verona, is the most plausible reason I've heard. Someone texted that into the show too.
A Drogs fan told us once he got it from Fabrizio Ravanelli who played for Verona.
(although according to wikipedia, he never did play for them.) There's probably some connection though.
the-blue-harp
07/08/2009, 6:51 PM
Always the way.
couldn't agree with you more.
Thats what I logged on to say but you have already said it!
Purple Hay?
... All in my brain? :)
Oops, sorry, wrong thread. :ball:
couldn't agree with you more.
Thats what I logged on to say but you have already said it!
In a sense it would be better if the game wasnt on tv, for the reason you have mentioned above. There was i screaming at the uefa updates in work yesterday and people looking at me like i was losing it. The very same people today were asking me who did pats get in the draw, did they get villa, valencia and so forth. Amazing turnaround.
They would probably tune into the game next week but if pats lost, it would justify their reasoning for not following LOI because its nowhere near as good as the EPL and so on.
07/08/2009, 10:41 PM
Would they not be more likely show LOI if they get alot of viewers?
True.
But if Boo Boy's house isn't one of the ones monitored for the rating figures, then they'll never know.... :D
eamoss
08/08/2009, 9:06 PM
Former Sligo striker Darren Mansaram was brought into the starting 15, while James Creaney made a first appearance as a substitute.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0808/sligo_dundalk.html
I always thought it was starting 11?
Dam GAA heads!
EDIT:
Though besides that its an excellent report, even included the squad numbers.
gufc2000
08/08/2009, 9:58 PM
According to RTE news at 9, Sligo were playing Dundalk at the Sportsgrounds
sonofstan
09/08/2009, 1:57 PM
Former Sligo striker Darren Mansaram was brought into the starting 15,
See? consistently wrong....... at least one mistake explains the other, sort of.
10/08/2009, 4:32 PM
Might be explained by their consulting their online fixtures list, which going into the weekend was, not for the first time, entirely blank.
But if Boo Boy's house isn't one of the ones monitored for the rating figures, then they'll never know.... :DOf course it will, he has a TV licence. :D
13/08/2009, 10:12 AM
Of course it will, he has a TV licence. :D
You do understand that the paper TV license doesn't contain the technology to magically track a holder's viewing habits......? ;)
13/08/2009, 10:42 AM
You do understand that the paper TV license doesn't contain the technology to magically track a holder's viewing habits......? ;)You don't say :D
I can see the guilt is eating away at you :D
13/08/2009, 1:32 PM
You don't say :D
I can see the guilt is eating away at you :D
Yeah - I'm wracked with guilt, me......! :D
You're a very strange man....
eL Bettor
16/08/2009, 4:12 PM
Just saw an ad for RTE announcing coverage of Panathanikos v Atletico Madrid this week in CL qualifier. Do they have to pay extra for this game I wonder? I didnt think any qualifiers were included in what they pay for the group stages.
This game is also on ITV afaik.
brianw82
16/08/2009, 6:07 PM
Their coverage starts at this round, so they're not paying extra for it.
TV3 and ITV will be showin Celtic V Arsenal so RTE will probably broadcast the home leg.
16/08/2009, 7:03 PM
TV3 and ITV will be showin Celtic V Arsenal so RTE will probably broadcast the home leg.
What percentage of the population of the Republic can't receive ITV ? Surely it's fairly low ?
In which case - what's the feckin point in Irish channels showing games the English channels are also showing, and which they invariably make a better job of as well ? :confused:
What percentage of the population of the Republic can't receive ITV ? Surely it's fairly low ?
In which case - what's the feckin point in Irish channels showing games the English channels are also showing, and which they invariably make a better job of as well ? :confused:
ITV does not do a better job of covering football than anyone, anywhere, ever.
A N Mouse
16/08/2009, 7:59 PM
Think you might find a few of the dundalk heads disagreeing with you there :p
16/08/2009, 8:22 PM
I don't watch ITV, but the RTE/TV3 coverage of non-domestic football is dreadful, wooden and, if Dunphy is on, painfully tedious.
Graeme Souness is harder to listen to than a squeaky Cork accent with a stutter and tourettes....
All a matter of opinion of course, but I would rather the RTE style where people have actual opinions that the bland dross served up by the UK stations.
TheBoss
16/08/2009, 10:57 PM
Remember what they said on MNS, the qualifiers do not come under the contract for the CL, well, thats the reason they gave for not showing for Bohs and Salzburg. They use any excuse for not showing it.
brianw82
16/08/2009, 11:36 PM
Remember what they said on MNS, the qualifiers do not come under the contract for the CL, well, thats the reason they gave for not showing for Bohs and Salzburg. They use any excuse for not showing it.
The mail I got from Alkin states that the contract starts at the final qualifying round - this round.