View Full Version : 20 quid into Dalymount
sligored
05/08/2009, 12:41 PM
i dont visit dalymount due to over-aggressive stewards at previous matches and when i heard it was 20 euro in , that made my mind up . It was not the fiver but the principle of the fiver extra. I would have brought 2 lads so bohs missed out on 45 euro but a rich club can afford that.
I dont go to the brandywell either as the area set aside for visiting supporters is terrible to view a game.
I was in terryland the other evening and that is the standard of facilities(toilets excepting) that other clubs should strive to provide.
i think Sligo provide reasonably good facilities for away supporters, but then again i was never an away supporter in the showgrounds.
trevy
05/08/2009, 12:45 PM
Only 12 euro in as mentioned above at UCD last night which is great value and a great result for the Blues too. Looking forward to the final now.
05/08/2009, 1:48 PM
although i think the fais rule is that you cant charge less than you would for a league game or something like that
I think that's right. AFAIK, €15 is the minimum adult price in the premier division and €10 in the first. I think this applies to any cup games you play as well. I don't know why there's a minimum charge, I don't see why a club can't charge less to try to attract a bigger crowd if they want.
€20 into a league cup game seems excessive, especially as the Champions' League game was only €15.
I think that's right. AFAIK, €15 is the minimum adult price in the premier division and €10 in the first. I think this applies to any cup games you play as well. I don't know why there's a minimum charge, I don't see why a club can't charge less to try to attract a bigger crowd if they want.
That said, we left people in for free earlier in the year...
How did that work out for you?
marinobohs
05/08/2009, 2:00 PM
[QUOTE=sligored;1206010]i dont visit dalymount due to over-aggressive stewards at previous matches and when i heard it was 20 euro in , that made my mind up . It was not the fiver but the principle of the fiver extra. I would have brought 2 lads so bohs missed out on 45 euro but a rich club can
Missing your club in a semi final for the sake of a fiver ?:rolleyes: and fans say Bohs are arrogant ?
Lets face it no supporter is going to miss a semi for the sake of a fiver ( and YES all Bohs fans on this thread agree 20 euro is too much but would not miss a semi over it). As mentioned in earlier post the cat A/B plan (which will benefit Sligo) was introduced following complaints by HOME fans.
Our (awful) stewards are just as bad (if not worse) to home fans and complaints of behaviour much worse than that experienced by Sligo fans has been reported to the Board (action awaited but breath not held).
Still think there is a lot of oppurtunism by Sligo fans whinging on here but hey, looking forward to the final so will leave you guys to it ;)
How did that work out for you?
Fantastically, in fact if we get past today, I'd say that could be the reason.....
Just pointing out that those minimum prices dont have to be stuck to, or at least to my knowledge we werent sanctioned for not doing so.
I was joking micls. I'm nearly sure I made the same joke earlier too. However
1) How confident are you that Tommy checked with the FAI?
2) How confident are you that FAI knew about it?
We've a wonderful league...
I was joking micls. I'm nearly sure I made the same joke earlier too. However
1) How confident are you that Tommy checked with the FAI?
2) How confident are you that FAI knew about it?
We've a wonderful league...
Id be certain he didnt check, I presume the FAi heard about it but you may well be right.
marinobohs
05/08/2009, 2:13 PM
Was working down in Cork when that happened (Drogheda game) awful weather that night and poor crowd (about 3000 ?)
05/08/2009, 2:27 PM
i dont visit dalymount due to over-aggressive stewards at previous matches
I dont go to the brandywell either as the area set aside for visiting supporters is terrible to view a game.Wow, that's great. Supporter of the year award on it's way...
Da Real Rover
05/08/2009, 2:33 PM
Still think there is a lot of oppurtunism by Sligo fans whinging on here but hey, looking forward to the final so will leave you guys to it ;)
You said it yourself that these were legitimate complaints.
I fail to see the opportunism.
marinobohs
05/08/2009, 2:43 PM
You said it yourself that these were legitimate complaints.
I fail to see the opportunism.
The complaints are long standing issues in Dalymount which have not changed recently. The opportunism is in the timing (after the semi defeat). While the complaints would still be as legit do you believe that Sligo fans would be going on about them had it stayed 1-2 ? I understand how sickening conceding a late goal is (still having nightmares about Salzburg :() and I believe that is what led to these complaints, if I'm wrong hey sorry ! As I sad earlier great support for Sligo on the night.
Missing your club in a semi final for the sake of a fiver ?:rolleyes: and fans say Bohs are arrogant ?
Lets face it no supporter is going to miss a semi for the sake of a fiver ( and YES all Bohs fans on this thread agree 20 euro is too much but would not miss a semi over it). As mentioned in earlier post the cat A/B plan (which will benefit Sligo) was introduced following complaints by HOME fans.
Our (awful) stewards are just as bad (if not worse) to home fans and complaints of behaviour much worse than that experienced by Sligo fans has been reported to the Board (action awaited but breath not held).
Sure, die hard supporters. But what about the casual fan who is borderline. Of course a fiver would make a difference to them. You want to turn these away too obviously.
I'll explain to them about Category A and B and all that and watch their eyes glaze over. But the 20 quid they paid was a sickener to them and they won't be back too soon.
marinobohs
05/08/2009, 3:13 PM
Sure, die hard supporters. But what about the casual fan who is borderline. Of course a fiver would make a difference to them. You want to turn these away too obviously.
I'll explain to them about Category A and B and all that and watch their eyes glaze over. But the 20 quid they paid was a sickener to them and they won't be back too soon.
HMMMMMMMM a "casual' 'borderline' fan ? I suggest you check out the NAME of the poster I responded to :D Anyway you don't like dalymount/Bohs fine. Cant say the same about Sligo but hey knock yourself out. As I said we have a final to prepare for ;) I apoligise that cat A/B system is a bit difficult for you but as you won't be back then no worries.
In my original post at the start of the thread I was speaking about these type of fans who wouldn't go along to very many games. I never wanted this to be an anti bohs thread so I don't know why you feel the need to rub my nose in a defeat.
Fair play you're in the final. We're not. That's grand. Not exactly a change is it? My only issue was with the price compared to other grounds, which you have agreed is too much so I'm happy to leave it at that.
HarpoJoyce
05/08/2009, 6:08 PM
€20 into a league cup game seems excessive, especially as the Champions' League game was only €15.
For the cup games than the gate is shared (ratio/propotions) so it would be unfair for the home side to charge a very cheap admittance fee, thus short-changing the away side.
shamrock rovers sold two-for-one €15.00 Euro for their Kildare Cty match in the league Cup this season.
05/08/2009, 7:35 PM
For the cup games than the gate is shared (ratio/propotions) so it would be unfair for the home side to charge a very cheap admittance fee, thus short-changing the away side.
Hadn't thought of that, makes sense.
In fact many teams raise their prices to cover the extra "expense" of paying the away team's share.
brianw82
05/08/2009, 8:24 PM
In fact many teams raise their prices to cover the extra "expense" of paying the away team's share.
That's a bid dodgy, Dodge. Considering that a semi-final is not a guaranteed gate at the start of the season, it's a bonus no matter what price is charged.
Redkenrover
05/08/2009, 8:41 PM
Extra fiver for the sheer comedy gold of the refereeing performance.
Is this true? Cos its going to cost us a fortune this year going on the refereeing performances so far :D
srfc1928
05/08/2009, 8:41 PM
That's a bid dodgy, Dodge. Considering that a semi-final is not a guaranteed gate at the start of the season,
eh, it is Bohs were talking about here
marinobohs
05/08/2009, 8:46 PM
eh, it is Bohs were talking about here
Yep. and semis are pretty much guaranteed (for now) at bohs. Would have thought the novelty of reaching a semi made it well worth it for Sligo fans :D
sligored
05/08/2009, 10:57 PM
was richie winter not available for the coin toss for venue ... tragedy for bohs. i am sure he will be there to "referee" the final , dont despair bohs fans.
Bad luck waterford.. its in the stars.
marinobohs
05/08/2009, 11:50 PM
was richie winter not available for the coin toss for venue ... tragedy for bohs. i am sure he will be there to "referee" the final , dont despair bohs fans.
Bad luck waterford.. its in the stars.
I think the cheaper admission at RSC was the deciding factor whoops Sligo won't be there so that does not matter :)
- price
- ref
- toilets
- stewards
Anything else that upset those dearies from the West ?
06/08/2009, 12:15 AM
The game was 3 days ago. Can ye let it go?
Da Real Rover
06/08/2009, 9:47 AM
Pretty cute how Bohs fans are able to degenerate this thread into a "Bohs bashing" excercise and then a "we are just bitter because we lost even though we have been losing all season".
If there is anything we have got practice at this season its expecting to lose.
Still doesnt change the fact that your stewards are a disgrace and 20 euros is ridiculous.
But as I stated before its got little to do with Bohs fans themselves, both issues are to do with management.
HulaHoop
06/08/2009, 1:19 PM
But as I stated before its got little to do with Bohs fans themselves, both issues are to do with management.
You seem to be forgetting that Bohs is a members club run by it's fans. The "management" you speak of are Bohs fans themselves who have been elected as directors by the Bohs members. It is that board of directors who set ticket prices and employ those stewards.
Da Real Rover
06/08/2009, 1:57 PM
You seem to be forgetting that Bohs is a members club run by it's fans. The "management" you speak of are Bohs fans themselves who have been elected as directors by the Bohs members. It is that board of directors who set ticket prices and employ those stewards.
But I really doubt that stewarding and ticket prices for a Sligo Rovers game is on their top priorities when electing officials.
06/08/2009, 2:55 PM
582 posts later, and we have moved from pricing, through stewards, through a squabble over the reasons for the thread, to the democratic constitutional structures of BFC.
I think you will find that there are many Bohs fans who agree with you for the most part on stewarding (though Bohs are far from being the sole offenders here) and pricing.
If you're really interested -- and you're spending enough time on it -- and not just recreationally blowing hot air, why don't you just sit down for five minutes, organize your thoughts, and write an email or, better still, a letter of complaint to the club?
marinobohs
06/08/2009, 6:36 PM
Coming from a club that had one of its directors up in court for causing trouble at the Brandywell I really think you should leave the Director thing alone ;)
brianw82
06/08/2009, 7:29 PM
I think the cheaper admission at RSC was the deciding factor whoops Sligo won't be there so that does not matter :)
- price
- ref
- toilets
- stewards
Anything else that upset those dearies from the West ?
It was a bit wet on the night. I demand an apology.
In relation to the stewards, what exactly were they 'rude' about?
marinobohs
06/08/2009, 10:07 PM
It was a bit wet on the night. I demand an apology.
In relation to the stewards, what exactly were they 'rude' about?
Damn that bohs board. we told them to sort out the weather :D not sure RE stewards but I think we forgot to teach them sligoese and this led to a discrimination claim by one of the bit of red.
HulaHoop
06/08/2009, 11:31 PM
Coming from a club that had one of its directors up in court for causing trouble at the Brandywell I really think you should leave the Director thing alone ;)
Unsuprisingly you have the facts incorrect yet again. The only people up in court for causing trouble in Derry were Bohs "fans"
Incidently I had the pleasure of observing one of these Bohemian men in floods of tears pleading for his job a couple of days after Kingsley Curry tore him a new arsehole. Regretfully his behaviour warranted immediate dismissal with no leave to appeal. Fortunately the residents of Dublin 7 have been experiencing a much improved bin collection service ever since.
06/08/2009, 11:37 PM
If we are thinking of the same incident, that was in Limerick, not Derry.
marinobohs
07/08/2009, 2:32 AM
Unsuprisingly you have the facts incorrect yet again. The only people up in court for causing trouble in Derry were Bohs "fans"
Incidently I had the pleasure of observing one of these Bohemian men in floods of tears pleading for his job a couple of days after Kingsley Curry tore him a new arsehole. Regretfully his behaviour warranted immediate dismissal with no leave to appeal. Fortunately the residents of Dublin 7 have been experiencing a much improved bin collection service ever since.
WHOOPS wrong location but point remains the same. As for supporters in trouble ? really want to go there ? The point referred to directors and remains valid. I fully agree that neither club can be proud of its fans behaviour at times but one expects a slightly higher standard from directors - especially if we want to lecture other clubs.
PS glad you got the bin job :D
Sean South
07/08/2009, 11:22 AM
Just on Bohs stewards the only thing I found strange was when we were been searched they kept asking us "Have yous any anti racism banners. If we see yous with them we'll kick you out"
€20 is a bit much alright but no point moaning on a forum about it it's not going to change anything
marinobohs
07/08/2009, 1:41 PM
Just on Bohs stewards the only thing I found strange was when we were been searched they kept asking us "Have yous any anti racism banners. If we see yous with them we'll kick you out"
€20 is a bit much alright but no point moaning on a forum about it it's not going to change anything
I presume that was related to the "Jayo incident". Took my white hood and cape away on the same dubious basis ;)
I read that Bohs have dropped prices to a tenner for some of their remaining games.
Any Bohs fans know if it's still twenty for the cup game on Friday night?
I heard they raised it to €35 just for you guys. :)
sidcon
07/09/2009, 7:23 PM
I read that Bohs have dropped prices to a tenner for some of their remaining games.
We dropped prices into the Des Kelly end for 1 adult and up to 3 children for only a €10 for league games. Were we would struggle to attract a crowd because of the quality of opposition. All other games are at normal pricing.
The only game left on this promotion is the Dundalk game.
marinobohs
08/09/2009, 10:17 AM
That was a promotion in the Des Kelly stand (ST Peters school end) and applied to three specified League games.
It will be 20 Euros in to the Jodi for the Cup game (not sure if you are using the Connaught st side where it is usually 15). The stewards have been issued with nail studded baseball bats and white hoods for the occasion :D welcome to D7.
Sean South
08/09/2009, 4:27 PM
The stewards have been issued with nail studded baseball bats and white hoods for the occasion :D welcome to D7.
Can't wait... ANTIFA HOOLIGANS :)
marinobohs
09/09/2009, 12:08 PM
Can't wait... ANTIFA HOOLIGANS :)
....... and that is just the stewards :)