View Full Version : Friendly against England?
Deckydee
28/07/2009, 4:25 PM
Hi,
This website (we know it well) said there were rumours that we are going to play England very soon. Could anyone here shed some light on these 'rumours'
Thanks in advance
http://soccerrepublic.eircom.net/News/Famous-Five-Games-against-England.aspx
Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 4:32 PM
Hi,
This website (we know it well) said there were rumours that we are going to play England very soon. Could anyone here shed some light on these 'rumours'
Thanks in advance
http://soccerrepublic.eircom.net/News/Famous-Five-Games-against-England.aspx
hope not, only time we should play them again is if we are drawn against them.Can only speak for myself, but after being in same stand as them the last time I would be quite happy to never see them in Dublin again
Deckydee
28/07/2009, 4:53 PM
hope not, only time we should play them again is if we are drawn against them.Can only speak for myself, but after being in same stand as them the last time I would be quite happy to never see them in Dublin again
Bit harsh razor no?
Razors left peg
28/07/2009, 5:00 PM
Bit harsh razor no?
I dont think so, they wrecked the place last time so why should we invite them into Croke Park or the new Aviva stadium so they can attempt to do the same thing.But as I said I can only speak for myself so I dont know if others who were at that game would agree with me
Diarmo
28/07/2009, 5:04 PM
It's hard to know if the England fans have cleaned up their act since then. All in all, there seems to be less visible hooliganism, but we can't really be sure. Frankly, and I know this may sound unfair, I don't know if I'd have enough trust to invite them back here for a friendly.
28/07/2009, 5:42 PM
It's hard to know if the England fans have cleaned up their act since then. All in all, there seems to be less visible hooliganism, but we can't really be sure. Frankly, and I know this may sound unfair, I don't know if I'd have enough trust to invite them back here for a friendly.
From what I have read hooliganism is on the rise in the Uk but due to CCTV and arrests been made after the games, the incidents of reporting are spread out rather than in and around match day - which might skew figures -
(that and the fact that football hooligans are a good way for the cops to test out their surveillance techniques and get the nice over time that policing football matches makes);)
irishultra
28/07/2009, 5:45 PM
interestingly the english people i talk to on forums wouldn't really regard ireland as a rivalry, and definetly not to the same level as Scotland or Germany.
boovidge
28/07/2009, 5:56 PM
I wouldn't mind as long as there was some system whereby only genuine England fans with a clean record got tickets. It has been 15 years since the last time. Alot of water under the bridge.
Ya but you still could not stop a sizeable amount of people coming across on the ferry etc and wrecking havoc outside the ground/around town.
Perhaps i am been cynical but 1995 was organised by a small group of fans who I understand are still in existence today, nothing to say they wouldnt do the same again.
Anyone ever see a programme on sky one called footballs hardest away days or something to that extent, delightful characters!!! Would hate the thought of them coming over to our brand new stadium (it def wont happen in croker).
If the friendly was in Wembley it might be worth considering
If I invite my neighbours round for a friendly game of cards and after 30 odd minutes and I have just won a decent pot , they then decide to wreak my house , I wouldn't be in a hurry to invite them round again, even after 15 years.
There are plenty of other neighbours that can be invited round .
irishultra
28/07/2009, 8:56 PM
Yes like France :) Been a few years since we last played.
28/07/2009, 9:27 PM
it would bring plenty of idiots on both sides out.
Wouldnt mind an away game against them to be honest. An away day would suit me perfectly, thank you very much. They are a very strong side at the moment though.
Closed Account 2
29/07/2009, 12:14 AM
No way, very very bad idea either home or away. They have a huge scum element in their following who would gladly rip any "foreign" town / stadium up. Don't believe anyone who says otherwise, I've been to some of their matches in Wembley (part of my part time job in football data) and have seen numerous incidents (fans urinating in trains almost every game, stealing Ukraine fans flags, doing Nazi salutes against Germany, attacking a group of Russian women, spitting on Croatian fans) - I'm not saying it's a majority but it's certainly more than some frindge element that can be brushed under the proverbial carpet.
Anyway they could have signed up for the 4 nations thing in 2011, but it seems they felt they were above it. There are a lot of other high profile teams I'd rather we played (Argentina, Japan, Spain, Russia, Portugal, Cote D'Ivoire, Ghana, Egypt, Mexico, USA) these are all of high quality and I'd rather we played one of them as there would be zero risk of trouble.
irishfan86
29/07/2009, 12:37 AM
The smart thing to do would have been to play the last game in Lansdowne there to reduce the dismantling costs, but it would be mental for them to let them come in to tear down the brand new stadium.
Thanks but no thanks.
Claret Murph
29/07/2009, 6:10 AM
No I would love to play them home or away so we can see where we are in the football world . lads it's time to move on . I know a good few who would travel over and a good time would be had by all of them .
irishfan86
29/07/2009, 6:28 AM
No I would love to play them home or away so we can see where we are in the football world . lads it's time to move on . I know a good few who would travel over and a good time would be had by all of them .
To be honest, on the world stage, England are nobodies, and tell us nothing about where we stand.
Give me Spain, Germany, Brazil, Argentina, etc. anyday over those over-hyped, Sky-stroked underachievers if we really want to test ourselves.
Claret Murph
29/07/2009, 7:54 AM
I just think it's time to move on as at some stage we will play them again that's for sure so lets get on with it before someone starts talking about 1916 and all that ............
29/07/2009, 8:05 AM
I just think it's time to move on as at some stage we will play them again that's for sure so lets get on with it before someone starts talking about 1916 and all that ............
No one is talking about that, what thread are you reading:rolleyes:
Its a safety issue - I am sure a good few firms would be up for a day out in Dublin - wouldnt you?
Enruoblehs
29/07/2009, 8:28 AM
Hi,
There is an Ireland v England Legends game fixed for Tolka on August 26th - recreation of Stuttgart 1988, 21 years on!
SunderlandBohs
29/07/2009, 8:37 AM
it would bring plenty of idiots on both sides out.
Spot on! I think we should play England. Why let that scum win?! In fairness the signs look like that the EFA have cleaned up their acted. Better policing and taken advice from the British police rather telling them we can host GAH matches without any trouble (which is a lie) would help.
But there will be morons from both side that would be all to happy to ruin it for everyone.
as_i_say
29/07/2009, 8:42 AM
To be honest, on the world stage, England are nobodies, and tell us nothing about where we stand.
Give me Spain, Germany, Brazil, Argentina, etc. anyday over those over-hyped, Sky-stroked underachievers if we really want to test ourselves.
Would have agreed with you 2/3 years ago but i think England are stronger than all of them now-only their traditional lack of balls/bottling skills will stop them from winning the wc next year imo. Best English team at the moment for as long as i can remember.
Claret Murph
29/07/2009, 8:44 AM
No one is talking about that, what thread are you reading:rolleyes:
Its a safety issue - I am sure a good few firms would be up for a day out in Dublin - wouldnt you?
Now without doubt some of the best fans around in LOI are the Bray lot , never a hint of trouble from them where ever they go . Yet last Friday one Scholligan was trying to start something with a couple of young Galway lads , Hey the Stewards picked him out and sent him packing very quickly . So shall we warn all travelling fans to stay away from Bray ??
And before some starts yes what the so called England fans did was way over the top , but that lot were Combat 18 hardcore thugs . We can't paint all fans the same . I have been to the last couple of Irish away games and some of our fans were what you could call colourful if you know what I mean .
Once we get this fixture out of the way we all can move on and start talking about football again and reminding out English friends that the last time they have beaten us was 1987 . You'll never beat the Irish ;)
Well on the scum element, think i saw the most of that element at a recent hurling game involving waterford and tipperary than i have at any football game home or abroad. It was a disgrace and the guards/stewards did very little about it. Hence why I would be concerned at our own police ability to deal with any trouble from UK scum.
Im sure we have our own scum element following Ireland and no doubt a game against England would attract them as it would attract certain "firms" in the UK. Would have no problem with the normal English fan coming across to support their team.
Thommo
29/07/2009, 11:28 AM
Well hopefully if it was go ahead the FAI don't sit them in the upper section of a stand so they can hurl everything down at people like in '95.
Better arrangements in '91 they were all put in the schoolboy end of the south terrace the large pound coins had just come out and those nice English people were firing them over at us obviously thinking they were 10 pence pieces went home with a pocketfull although saying that they knocked over a hawker's table on the way out and then decided to take on a few locals from O'Connell St. and the surrounding area!
Unfortunately there is always that element that support England who just want to cause trouble.
youngirish
29/07/2009, 11:54 AM
Would have agreed with you 2/3 years ago but i think England are stronger than all of them now-only their traditional lack of balls/bottling skills will stop them from winning the wc next year imo. Best English team at the moment for as long as i can remember.
You're paying too much attention to the English media. They are nobodies on the world stage. Who have they beaten of note lately? Croatia? They were found wanting in the Euros once they came up against any half decent opposition in the knockout stages. Spain slaughtered England a few months ago.
I suppose you thought they'd win the last World Cup also when people were delusionally claiming they were the best team in the finals bar Brazil. As usual they were shockingly bad. On an individual player for player basis their team now is poorer than it has been for years.
Wolfie
29/07/2009, 12:12 PM
Once we get this fixture out of the way we all can move on and start talking about football again and reminding out English friends that the last time they have beaten us was 1987 . You'll never beat the Irish ;)
Without being too pedantic - they've not beaten us since 1985.
Newryrep
29/07/2009, 12:30 PM
The Panorama programme at the WC06 summed it up pretty well, whilest not engaging in the full blown antics of yesteryear there was a perceptable change in mood/atsmophere whenever england arrived in town. Too many blindlely drunk eejits who think a quarter of the globe is still pink and that the English singlehandlely won WW2 and thus prevented numerous countries from having German as their first language.
No thanks
Predator
29/07/2009, 12:47 PM
I don't want a friendly against England and I agree that the only time we should play them is if we're drawn against them.
Predator
29/07/2009, 12:55 PM
Would have agreed with you 2/3 years ago but i think England are stronger than all of them now...Best English team at the moment for as long as i can remember.
Don't agree with this. Spain are the reigning European champions, Brazil were strong at the Confederations Cup and appear to be finding form again, Germany have been consistently performing well in the World Cup and Euros (Third in WC06 and Runners up in Euro08 only recent examples) and I believe every one of their youth teams dominated the under-age European competitions and Argentina are always a dangerous team.
These teams are statistically better than England, regardless of how you rate the individual players of each team.
Den Perry
29/07/2009, 1:00 PM
calling them nobodies is a stupid statement
Wolfie
29/07/2009, 1:02 PM
If we want to bring the dreaded stats into it - played 7, won 7 in current qualifying is quite impressive - even in a weak group.
That includes an away win in Croatia.
If we matched that it would have been our best away qualifying result since 1987.
Den Perry
29/07/2009, 1:03 PM
Well on the scum element, think i saw the most of that element at a recent hurling game involving waterford and tipperary than i have at any football game home or abroad. It was a disgrace and the guards/stewards did very little about it. Hence why I would be concerned at our own police ability to deal with any trouble from UK scum.
Im sure we have our own scum element following Ireland and no doubt a game against England would attract them as it would attract certain "firms" in the UK. Would have no problem with the normal English fan coming across to support their team.
what happened at the Waterford / Tipp match?
Predator
29/07/2009, 1:26 PM
If we want to bring the dreaded stats into it - played 7, won 7 in current qualifying is quite impressive - even in a weak group.
That includes an away win in Croatia.
If we matched that it would have been our best away qualifying result since 1987.
7 wins in 7 is impressive I suppose, but it doesn't really say much in a weak group and it doesn't really matter until you get to the Finals and perform there to be honest.
Spain have won 6 in 6, Holland have won 7 in 7 and they too have relatively easy groups. Serbia have won 6 in 7, Germany have won 5 in 6; does that mean that England are better than Serbia and Germany?
Wolfie
29/07/2009, 2:27 PM
Spain have won 6 in 6, Holland have won 7 in 7 and they too have relatively easy groups. Serbia have won 6 in 7, Germany have won 5 in 6; does that mean that England are better than Serbia and Germany?
Direct comparison of win totals between groups would offer nothing as a like for like comparison and wasn't why I made the point.
My point was that 7 wins out of 7 is an indication that form is good and they can have done no more in the group so far.
endabob1
29/07/2009, 2:40 PM
http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html
You can argue the toss about the meaningfullness of these rankings but I would say they are certainly a top 10 side, especially with capello at the helm.
youngirish
29/07/2009, 3:38 PM
http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranking/lastranking/gender=m/fullranking.html
You can argue the toss about the meaningfullness of these rankings but I would say they are certainly a top 10 side, especially with capello at the helm.
A top 10 side is a far stretch from claiming that only by bottling it will they not win the world cup next year. I would suggest the only chance they have of winning the world cup is if Brazil, Argentina, Spain, Germany, the Netherlands, France and Portugal all bottle it instead.
Drumcondra 69er
29/07/2009, 3:39 PM
Well hopefully if it was go ahead the FAI don't sit them in the upper section of a stand so they can hurl everything down at people like in '95.
Better arrangements in '91 they were all put in the schoolboy end of the south terrace the large pound coins had just come out and those nice English people were firing them over at us obviously thinking they were 10 pence pieces went home with a pocketfull although saying that they knocked over a hawker's table on the way out and then decided to take on a few locals from O'Connell St. and the surrounding area!
Unfortunately there is always that element that support England who just want to cause trouble.
The game was in autumn 90 and the bulk of the English fans were in the same place they were put in 95. Difference was there was a ring of uniformed police around them the entire game rather then the plain clothes approach used in 95. As soon as any of them got lairy the cops were straight onto them in 90. Didn't stop them raining coins onto us on the South Terrace when Cas equalised mind you. Pretty sure the schoolboy section was all Irish fans that day and all, think that was where most of the money landed.
There was mayhem on O'Connell St afterwards alright, got locked into the Daniel O'Connell having nipped in for a quick couple, wound up falling out of the place at closing time! :D
Not really @rsed about playing them in a friendly, wouldn't mind a competitive game though.....
EalingGreen
29/07/2009, 4:00 PM
I would suggest the only chance they have of winning the world cup is if Brazil, Argentina, Spain, Germany, the Netherlands, France and Portugal all bottle it instead.
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/standings/index.html
Actually, if you look at their recent results and standings (above), you'll see France are struggling (still) under Domenech, whilst Portugal have been pretty dire since Quiroz took over. Unless something drastic changes and quickly, neither is guaranteed even to qualify for the Finals, never mind make an impact when they get there.
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/southamerica/standings/index.html
Meanwhile, Argentina will almost certainly qualify, but the fact that they may need to do so in 5th Place and a Play-off against the 4th placed CONCACAF team :eek:, shows just what a joke Maradona is as a manager.
As for England, if the Finals were now, I'd say they get out of their Group, and maybe to the last eight, but no more.
However, with another 12 months under Capello, I wouldn't be too surprised if they made it to the last four. To go any further would, as you say, require some of the leading five or six countries to experience difficulties.
Btw, from what I've seen of the England National team's fans etc in recent years, I'd be confident that there'd be no trouble if they played in Dublin (though the Gardai and English police etc would have to take more precautions than for a normal international).
Thommo
29/07/2009, 4:14 PM
Once they don't win it!;) It would be unbearable it's bad enough listening to a English TV commentator mention 1966 every time they tip off at the start of a world cup if they won it with modern media and technology you would never hear the end of it.
29/07/2009, 9:27 PM
Calling England nobodies is ludicrous.
2 teams play any given football match and England are as capable as USA or anyone as beating Spain or any of the top teams. Argentina look awful at the moment, England look like they have a shape & sense of purpose.
It's lack of technique & ball retention, not lack of bottle, that always costs them and I'm pretty sure it'll be the same again in 2010 but I think they'd coast to the last 8 of any WC held in the near future. Hardly nobodies.
I've no interest in playing them. I just don't like the whole England media circus or their support. I'm sure other big countries are similar, but I don't live in or near them.
29/07/2009, 10:52 PM
A series of fights, in and outside the ground and one particularly serious fight in the terrace. People urinating in the main square was also another highlight. A friend of mine was doing promotions outside the ground and she told me she was genuinely scared once or twice due to the nature of abuse and fights around her and even worse the guards did very little about it.
SunderlandBohs
30/07/2009, 8:57 AM
A series of fights, in and outside the ground and one particularly serious fight in the terrace. People urinating in the main square was also another highlight. A friend of mine was doing promotions outside the ground and she told me she was genuinely scared once or twice due to the nature of abuse and fights around her and even worse the guards did very nothing about it.
That's the point. The Guards thought it would be just another game and refuse help from the British Police. They didn't see it as chance for hooligan element to have a field trip. Does anyone think that if we play England in a 'friendly' away fans could be banned? I'm not making a point just throwing out idea of what might happen.
Drumcondra 69er
30/07/2009, 9:08 AM
That's the point. The Guards thought it would be just another game and refuse help from the British Police. They didn't see it as chance for hooligan element to have a field trip. Does anyone think that if we play England in a 'friendly' away fans could be banned? I'm not making a point just throwing out idea of what might happen.
Think Elory was talking about the Waterford v Tipp hurling game there mate.
Was referring to the recent game in thurles but get your point re the police. As much as i hate to say this, i would prefer to have a strong presence of UK police here if we play england as they are more experienced at dealing with large football matches.
as_i_say
30/07/2009, 10:06 AM
You're paying too much attention to the English media. They are nobodies on the world stage. Who have they beaten of note lately? Croatia? They were found wanting in the Euros once they came up against any half decent opposition in the knockout stages. Spain slaughtered England a few months ago.
I suppose you thought they'd win the last World Cup also when people were delusionally claiming they were the best team in the finals bar Brazil. As usual they were shockingly bad. On an individual player for player basis their team now is poorer than it has been for years.
Presuming a lot arent you? I never aluded to anything other than their standard now and I'm well aware they were crap 2/3 years ago but a lot has changed since. Their lack of balls got them eliminated from tournaments early as i said in my post so the delusional ones were the english fans and media.
Spain slaughtered them. so what-spain would slaughter most teams, what with them being the best team in the world n all. England have been traditionally sh1te at friendlies for years anyway because of their practice of changing the entire starting line up. Surely as a know it all you know that much?
SunderlandBohs
30/07/2009, 10:10 AM
My mistake elroy but it makes your point stronger about the police here in Ireland. The last GAA match I was at was Dublin v Louth with Westmeath v Meath also playing. There was gangs of Dubs fans out for trouble. It's the same with Bohs v Rovers. Bad policing leads to most trouble at these games.
I said it a thousand times. I feel much safer at a Sunderland v Newcastle 49,000 people on a knife edge than going to see Bohs v Rovers with only 5,000 max at the match.
Royal rover
30/07/2009, 10:26 AM
I was at this game in 1995 at the time i was 15, let me just say having witnessed English hooliganism in my later years as well - i don't think i was ever as frightened by anything in my life - anyone who was at the game will admit that the atmosphere was something very different to any other previous encounter with England or any other game in Dublin. I read a book called 'England my England' by 2 Watford fans a couple of years back - they said the riot was simply revenge for what the IRA did in Manchester and Warrington, it was basically a free for all organised by a rightwing group called C18, this shows the mentality of the whole thing - in saying that one of my mates went to Belgium in 2000 to watch the euros , not an aggressive guy by any means , but he was sitting in a pub in Brussels with a group of respectable English fans when the riot police basically walked into the pub , dragged everyone outside shipped them into vans straight for the airport, and sent them home. He said he would never go and watch England away from home ever again.
Within Britain hooliganism is on the rise again its nothing like it was in the 80s and early 90s but in saying that I had a good chat with a guy in Brixton about it he said he was part of the Crystal Palace crew in the 80s and he attended most of the England away games during that period he remarked that the Poles were the toughest he had ever come across at the same time he said he had returned to his old ways, when I asked why he answer was simply I know what I do is wrong but there is simply no word to describe it, he also commented on that every organised meet between rival fans was well away from the public eye these days. And when they go to games nowadays they know exactly who there looking for.
For your average English fan I have no problem with, but at the same time I think it would be a bad idea bringing them to Dublin
All you need to do is look at what happened with the love Ulster parade a game against England would bring the same element if not in the ground certainly outside it from our side and if anything they could have a running battle with the cops whatever about England fans I think potentially it could bring about a lot of bad publicity for ourselves and for that reason I would go against it
youngirish
30/07/2009, 11:13 AM
Presuming a lot arent you? I never aluded to anything other than their standard now and I'm well aware they were crap 2/3 years ago but a lot has changed since. Their lack of balls got them eliminated from tournaments early as i said in my post so the delusional ones were the english fans and media.
Spain slaughtered them. so what-spain would slaughter most teams, what with them being the best team in the world n all. England have been traditionally sh1te at friendlies for years anyway because of their practice of changing the entire starting line up. Surely as a know it all you know that much?
As a know it all I can be 100% certain that your statement that only England bottling it will prevent them from winning the next world cup is pure reactionary nonsense purely based on 1 decent result against Croatia. No doubt if they lose to Ukraine in a couple of months you'll be similarly stating that they probably won't even get out of their group. There are about 6 or 7 teams I'd put my money on to win the World Cup before England next year.
As I stated earlier their team at the moment on an individual basis is the poorest they've had for years so how you can make a statement like that is beyond comprehension. To recall an English team having as poor a strikeforce, goalkeeper, right back and wide midfield players as the current team you have to go back to Graham Taylor's time as manager.
They also are as threadbare in central midfield and defence as I can remember. If Terry, Ferdinand, Gerrard or Lampard get injured they have no decent quality replacements - not in terms of so called top international teams anyway. The days when they could call up Sol Campbell or Carragher to central defence are long gone.
30/07/2009, 11:36 AM
There are about 6 or 7 teams I'd put my money on to win the World Cup before England next year.I'm inclined to agree, only that I think Argentina, Germany, Italy, Portugal and others among the usual suspects are looking extremely weak. If Portugal hadn't bagged an injury time winner in Albania in their last game I'd say they'd be out of it already.
That said, very few teams who dominate qualification groups actually go on to success and winning championships is usually about finding form just at the right time, not about how well you played in the previous year. I'm not even sure England are playing well, bar the 4-1 in Croatia. They are grinding out results without too much effort though.
This is neither here nor there: the original point was that they were "nobodies". Total rubbish.