View Full Version : Your best 5 and worse 5 grounds in country
roinuj
26/07/2009, 12:12 PM
for quality of stands, floodlights, pitch, changing rooms, toilets, and wheelchair friendly.
best 5
dalymount
tallagh
rsc
brandywell
athlone
worse 5
jackman
finn park
kildare
carlisle grounds
oriel park
whats yours?
Umberside
26/07/2009, 2:57 PM
Best 5
Turners Cross
Tallaght Stadium
Dalymount Park
Athlone Town Stadium
Terryland Park
Worst 5
Station Road
Finn Park
United Park
Jackman Park
Kingspan Century Homes Park
The Lilywhites
26/07/2009, 3:05 PM
Best 5
Tallaght Stadium
Dalymount Park
Tolka Park
Terryland Park
Turner's Cross
Worst 5
Kingspan Century Park
Jackman Park
Finn Park
United Park
Station Road
Partizan
26/07/2009, 4:06 PM
5 best grounds:
Turners Cross (by a mile)
Tallaght
Terryland
RSC
Brandywell
5 worst grounds:
Jackman Park (for obvious reasons)
Dalymount (1 good side but the rest a kip)
Finn Park
United Park
Carlisle Grounds
Black and White
26/07/2009, 4:41 PM
From what I've been too:
Best:
Inchicore
Tolka Park
Oriel Park
Showgrounds
Tallaght
Worst:
Utd Park
Century Home Park
Station Road
Buckley Park
Morton Stadium
26/07/2009, 5:08 PM
Best 5
Ours
Cork
Derry
Galway
Drogheda
Worst 5 (Can we extend it?)
UCD
Bray
Tolka
Wexford
Connaught St.
Knappagh Red
26/07/2009, 6:26 PM
[QUOTE=mypost;1199378]Best 5
Ours
QUOTE]
Thats really funny esp. after last week, you shamrockers are going to have to embrace reality at some stage
roinuj
26/07/2009, 7:32 PM
how did i forget about turners cross :o
Dundalkjames
26/07/2009, 10:52 PM
Best five:
Tallaght Stadium
Turners Cross
Terryland Park
Tolka Park
Brandywell
Worst five:
United Park
Jackman Park
Morton Stadium
KCH Park
Station Rd
Conroy
26/07/2009, 11:00 PM
Best:
Turner's Cross
Tallaght
Terryland
The Brandywell
Tolka
Worst:
United Park
Station Road
Jackman Park
Oriel (Simply for the Away Terrace)
Carlise Grounds
Hairy Bowsie
26/07/2009, 11:00 PM
Been supporting this league for 20 odd years and the dump Limerick are playing in now is by far the worst.
26/07/2009, 11:04 PM
Been supporting this league for 20 odd years and the dump Limerick are playing in now is by far the worst.
I thought you only supported Shels?
LFC-Zulu
26/07/2009, 11:17 PM
True, but we don't seem to have a choice in venues considering the way the Markets Field plan is going. But yes, Jackman is a complete dump..
Hairy Bowsie
26/07/2009, 11:21 PM
I thought you only supported Shels?
Ha good one, it's obvious what i meant though :D
Although seeing as you are so interested, i did support the LoI in general until about 3 years ago, it's only since then i changed my stance so my statement, even as you pointed it out, still has some merit.
Whats your story? How come your back posting here? Forget your morals?
26/07/2009, 11:36 PM
Best 5(in no particular order):
Showgrounds
Turners Cross
Dalymount
Tolka Park
SDCC Ground
Worst 5(in no particular order):
Oriel Park
Finn Park
Brandywell
Morton Stadium
United Park
PartySaint
26/07/2009, 11:44 PM
i did support the LoI in general until about 3 years ago,
Was that about the time Shels started going bust?
srfc1928
27/07/2009, 12:10 AM
Best 5(in no particular order):
Showgrounds
Turners Cross
Dalymount
Tolka Park
SDCC Ground
Worst 5(in no particular order):
Oriel Park
Finn Park
Brandywell
Morton Stadium
United Park
most people would argue with you about the brandywell being in the worst section, but from an away supporters point of view its not great.
as for the sdcc, i wasnt that impressed but when the second stand is finished it will add to the atmosphere. Do the council have any more plans in the pipeline ?
WoodquayBoy
27/07/2009, 12:35 AM
From what I have seen . . . . .
Best 5:
Turners Cross (by a country mile)
Terryland (biased, yes, I know)
Dalymount (home offootball)
Flancare (first ground in country with seating on 4 sides, well done)
Lissywoolen - (if you build it, they - Premier Division sides, and Premier Division football- will come!!)
Worst 5:
United Park - a hole of a place
Jackman Park - kip
Finn Park - I accept funds are being put into new ground
Brandywell - too far from pitch
Showgrounds - how can anyone play fooball on that surface??
ps - (dis)honourable mention to Cobh for Worst 5. Ground reminds me of orders on a submarine - dive, dive, dive
Mayo Red
27/07/2009, 8:08 AM
Showgrounds - how can anyone play fooball on that surface??
Ah.....so that's why ye lost the last time ye were up then!!!;):p
27/07/2009, 8:29 AM
Nice to see Belfield not featuring as often as it used to on these threads. :)
Though on the original post -
for quality of [...] changing rooms
How many people know what the changing rooms in various grounds look like?!
27/07/2009, 9:07 AM
Whats your story? How come your back posting here? Forget your morals?
Meh, got bored one day.
SunderlandBohs
27/07/2009, 9:16 AM
I'm just going by the grounds I've been in
5 Best
1. Athlone Town Stadium
2. Dalymount Park
3. Turner's Cross
4. Tolka Park
5. Terryland Park
5 Worst
1. Station Road
2. United Park
3. The Showgrounds
4. The Belfield Bowl
5. Oriel Park
brianw82
27/07/2009, 9:21 AM
Best ground: My team's ground
Worst ground: My team's rivals' grounds
sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 10:06 AM
Dont understand why people are putting The Shwoground sin thier worst 5. Its in better shape than ever and the surface is much better to play on now than ealier in the season.
citybone
27/07/2009, 10:10 AM
Im going by athmosphere generation mainly and a little nostalgia (i prob spelt that wrong). I dont care about pretty new seats (they just get in the way)
Top 5
United Park (covered terreces)
Orial Park (covered terrece and great history)
Tolka (riverside stand and again great history)
Terryland (Old stand very good sound generation)
St Colemans Park (history and behind the goal is good enough despite new seats)
Bottom 5
Tallaght (too open)
Athlones ground (same)
Turners cross (no terrece anymore)
RSC (souless ground, too far back from pitch and only seated)
Brandywell (too far back from the pitch)
forza rovers
27/07/2009, 10:31 AM
Nice to see Belfield not featuring as often as it used to on these threads. :)
Though on the original post -
How many people know what the changing rooms in various grounds look like?!
galways away 1 is tiny you would not be able to swing a cat in their:D
GuisaSaigon
27/07/2009, 10:40 AM
Best
Turners X
Terryland
Dalymount
Flancare
Monaghan ( nice bar & Mon dogs)
Worst
Finn Park
Showgrounds
Belfield Bowl
United Park
Oriel
pól-dcfc
27/07/2009, 10:45 AM
I'm surprised that the Brandywell is in so many top fives. Personally I think it's ****e.
5 best grounds:
Turners Cross (by a mile)
Tallaght
Terryland
RSC
Brandywell
5 worst grounds:
Jackman Park (for obvious reasons)
Dalymount (1 good side but the rest a kip)
Finn Park
United Park
Carlisle Grounds
Have to chuckle at the reason for Dalymount being in the bottom five when Tallaght and the Brandywell are included in the top 5!
27/07/2009, 10:54 AM
I'm surprised that the Brandywell is in so many top fives. Personally I think it's ****e.
The stand is nice, and I think it was very nice for the league when it was built. It's been passed out since then, but I think people still have it in their minds as one of the better ones.
Celdrog
27/07/2009, 11:27 AM
Were you brave enough to go into the shed, because the away terrace is not covered?
eelmonster
27/07/2009, 11:38 AM
Were you brave enough to go into the shed, because the away terrace is not covered?
The away terracing at Oriel is a bit of an embarrassment and I think something should be done about that, though we do allow a certain number of away fans into the stand. The Derry lads would be grand in the Shed, after all, they were made welcome in the Lilywhite Lounge before their last game in Oriel (as were Pat's, Sligo & Bray fans -- and I think even the Galway fan came in for a pint).
Derry
27/07/2009, 11:44 AM
Terryland is a grand ground for away supporters, but their portable toilets are shocking. Not only can you not use them but you have to hold your breath till your 20 yards past them. The exact same goes for Sligo, but here stand is s**t.
roinuj
27/07/2009, 12:00 PM
Im going by athmosphere generation mainly and a little nostalgia (i prob spelt that wrong). I dont care about pretty new seats (they just get in the way)
Top 5
United Park (covered terreces)
Tolka (riverside stand and again great history)
Terryland (Old stand very good sound generation)
St Colemans Park (history and behind the goal is good enough despite new seats)
Bottom 5
Tallaght (too open)
Athlones ground (same)
Turners cross (no terrece anymore)
RSC (souless ground, too far back from pitch and only seated)
Brandywell (too far back from the pitch)
oh my god
:D:D
roinuj
27/07/2009, 12:02 PM
The away terracing at Oriel is a bit of an embarrassment and I think something should be done about that, though we do allow a certain number of away fans into the stand. The Derry lads would be grand in the Shed, after all, they were made welcome in the Lilywhite Lounge before their last game in Oriel (as were Pat's, Sligo & Bray fans -- and I think even the Galway fan came in for a pint).
and the main stand is the uglyest thing i ever seen in any football ground
27/07/2009, 12:08 PM
Even uglier than this?!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/hampshire/content/images/2005/12/09/gallery36_470x300.jpg
Da Real Rover
27/07/2009, 1:27 PM
Funny how the Galway fans have the Showgrounds in their bottom 5.
No bias there at all?
longfordjames
27/07/2009, 1:38 PM
I like tolkapark bar the toilets.
27/07/2009, 1:42 PM
Best:
Turners
Tolka (falling down, but i like it)
Finn Park ( " " )
Brandywell
Richmond
Worst:
RSC (although i havent been in it for 2 years or so)
Carlisle
Belfield Bowl (HI STU!)
Century Homes (like the bar though)
SDCC Grounds (just don't like it)
Morton's an awful kip too.
Da Real Rover
27/07/2009, 1:47 PM
Dont forget the Mon Dogs, I miss those bad boys :(.
dublinred
27/07/2009, 1:52 PM
United Park
Oriel Park
Tolka
Dalymount
Dislikes
Fingal
Bray
Brandywell
Richmond
Ballybofey
Paddyfield
27/07/2009, 2:15 PM
Funny how the Galway fans have the Showgrounds in their bottom 5.
No bias there at all?
Funny how the Shligo fans have the Showgrounds in their top 5 when most of the others don't. No bias there at all?
Paddyfield
27/07/2009, 2:24 PM
TOP 5
1.Turners cross
2. Terryland
3. Flancare
4, Dalymount
5, Richmond Park
If this was the top 6, I'd give the Showgrounds a vote! :ball:
BOTTOM 5
1, Jackman Park (or even Pike Rovers ground)
2, RSC ( I haven't been there since they built 2nd stand)
3, St Mel's RIP
4, Carlisle Grounds
5, United Park
* I have never been to Brandywell, Finn Park or Athlone's new ground.
Darkglasses
27/07/2009, 3:01 PM
I'll only go on the ones i've been to:
Best 5:
1.Turner's Cross (Partly the memories, but it's still a smashing stadium)
2. Tolka Park (Even it is a kip and makes me wish i'd seen it when it was full, I'll miss it when its gone)
3. Flancare
4. Belfield
5. Ferrycarraig (Blatant bias :o)
Other than Jackman Park and Bishopstown I've never been to a ground I seriously disliked, although Morton Stadium and the KCP are pretty bad...Not a big fan of Station Road either...If the RSC stands were a few metres nearer the pitch it'd be a great place I think! And if/when Ferrycarraig gets its permanent stand it'll be actually be one of my favourites, rather than just basically bias and a great pitch...
and the main stand is the uglyest thing i ever seen in any football ground
You obviously haven't met Tom then.
roinuj
27/07/2009, 4:11 PM
TOP 5
1.Turners cross
2. Terryland
3. Flancare
4, Dalymount
5, Richmond Park
If this was the top 6, I'd give the Showgrounds a vote! :ball:
BOTTOM 5
1, Jackman Park (or even Pike Rovers ground)
2, RSC ( I haven't been there since they built 2nd stand)
3, St Mel's RIP
4, Carlisle Grounds
5, United Park
* I have never been to Brandywell, Finn Park or Athlone's new ground.
so how can you make judgement on a ground you never saw fully finished.
the rsc is one of the most modern grounds in the country and has top class facilities.
and so what if it has a running track, most of the top grounds in world football has running tracks.
27/07/2009, 4:18 PM
most of the top grounds in world football has running tracks.Really? Name some.
27/07/2009, 5:09 PM
I'd say the only reason any poster doesn't have Jackman park in the bottom five is because they haven't been there.
Blue-Army
27/07/2009, 5:43 PM
Really? Name some.
WC 06 final -Olympic Stadium, Berlin - has a running track.
Euro 08 final - Ernst Happel Stadium - has a running track.
The last 5 Champions League finals have been held in Stadia with running tracks.
27/07/2009, 5:50 PM
exactly:)
i havent gone to as many LOI grounds to rate a top 5, bottom 5 but loved the atmposhere in Tolka, and thought Athlones new stand - thanks to mary o rourke;) - is pretty cool