View Full Version : Rovers 2-0 Pats

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Rovers fan
26/07/2009, 11:33 PM
Fabio played the full 90minutes;)

Obviously, but he had to come on the pitch at the start of the game;) And it's Aiden Devaney!!

Oh ya, happy birthday btw:)

Shedzer
26/07/2009, 11:34 PM
Aside from the match itself, are Cash and Holmes gone?

sligofan4ever
26/07/2009, 11:35 PM
Aside from the match itself, are Cash and Holmes gone?

Holmes is gone, not to sure about Cash, only heard it being mentioned tonight.

Shedzer
26/07/2009, 11:40 PM
Holmes is gone, not to sure about Cash, only heard it being mentioned tonight.

Where is it confirmed that Holmes is gone? Kendrick must have sealed that departure...

Doyle may have sealed Cash's too

Any being honest, with Ryans bellow par performances, injury and in general he doesnt look after himself as a pro should i doubt many would be too worried if he was to go...

showgies
26/07/2009, 11:40 PM
I suppose we are taking a bit of a risk in bringing in so many new players half way through the season, but it was a risk we had to take. In fairness it was good to get cashie, holmes and doc off the wage bill. None of them were doing much for us. ...

Cashie is still there, he was doing laps of the pitch before the start of the game!!! So was our new Centre Half who looks a big lad!!!!!

bigredtruck
26/07/2009, 11:46 PM
How long will it be before the "experts" start to criticise the new lads? Kendrick was outstanding.

srfc1928
26/07/2009, 11:47 PM
So was our new Centre Half who looks a big lad!!!!!
hes fcuking huge.
it was nice to see him on the pitch at full time congratulating all the players, shows he cares already.
everything was positive tonight :)

showgies
27/07/2009, 1:20 AM
Forgot to mention that I thought Jeff Kenna helped us by taking off Pat's most dangerous player early in the 2nd half (Maher, I think!(No.2)).........I thought it was a bizarre subsitution.

CarrickFan
27/07/2009, 3:03 AM
bananas so wont go into detail about game,,but to answer earlier posts Cash was at game in full Rovers tracksuit etc so not gone yet.

roversforever
27/07/2009, 6:59 AM
I don't want to get carried away but what chance of us finishing ahead of dundalk!!its a big ask at this stage but would be very sweet to close such a big gap and finish ahead of that clown!

dong
27/07/2009, 7:43 AM
Wouldn't want to get carried away either. We've won games already this season only to be urinated on the following game. The difference this time, hopefully, is that our squad is now bigger and better.
Great feeling to get a win. We've suffered a bit this season but we can get a lot out of it still.
Happy days.
BTW Cash is leaving. He's just in talks to sort out what he'll be paid when he's let go.

27/07/2009, 8:01 AM
Pats scumbags standing over raf and shouting at him when he was down injured. Harris (?) should have been sent off. Nice to see fabio having a useless game when he came on too!

While I wasn't one of them, they had every right to shout abuse at him as he wasn't touched, and the other Harris thing was handbags. I thought both would be sent off.

Oh and Fabio started too

One of the worst games I've seen all season. You were awful and won very handily

Rovers Maniac
27/07/2009, 8:46 AM
While I wasn't one of them, they had every right to shout abuse at him as he wasn't touched, and the other Harris thing was handbags. I thought both would be sent off.

Oh and Fabio started too

One of the worst games I've seen all season. You were awful and won very handily

To be fair Valletta must be pants ! :D

27/07/2009, 9:12 AM
As bad a team as I've seen.

27/07/2009, 9:14 AM
As bad a team as I've seen.

You obviously haven't seen too many 1st division games recently so!:o

27/07/2009, 9:51 AM
Dodge, you never said hello back when we said hello to you!:(

Delighted with that win, thought we played some good stuff, even if it was against a very poor side. All the new lads looked good, especially Doyle and Kendrick. Need 3 points against Galway too, if were to catch the teams in 5th/6th.

27/07/2009, 10:03 AM
To be fair Valletta must be pants ! :DTo be fair though, they can't be much worse than Vllaznia:o

27/07/2009, 10:03 AM
Dodge, you never said hello back when we said hello to you!:(

Sory mate, didn't hear you. if it means anything to you

"hello!"

Rovers Maniac
27/07/2009, 10:09 AM
To be fair though, they can't be much worse than Vllaznia:o

Let me take that hook out of your mouth Sligoman :p

To be fair Vllaznia would be favs if they were to play that crowd pats beat.

Weatherman
27/07/2009, 10:37 AM
Eoin Doyle! irish league's most under rated player! d lad is quality!

rovers100%
27/07/2009, 12:45 PM
the standard of officiating in this country is gone beyond a joke even when we win we spend as much time complaining about officials as praising the team. harris headbutted blinkhorn after going straight through raf and not even a yellow !!! madness is all i can say

sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 12:50 PM
the standard of officiating in this country is gone beyond a joke even when we win we spend as much time complaining about officials as praising the team. harris headbutted blinkhorn after going straight through raf and not even a yellow !!! madness is all i can say

I was expecting a sending off when that happened, and I tought it was a disgrace the way some of St.pats fans acted towards Cretaro when he was clearly hurt :mad:. Is it just me or is Raff the only player who ever seems to get flagged offside in this whole f*ckin league!

Inside Man
27/07/2009, 12:50 PM
Brilliant stuff to get a win.
Being positive for once maybe we have turned a corner. Still we shouldnt be getting carried away, the main priority is to stay off the bottom.

Have to say Kendrick is top notch, there is no comparison between him and that donkey Holmes.

Just when i was thinking we'd get hammered by Bohs in the Semi-final, maybe just maybe we might actually give them a game.

sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 12:56 PM
Brilliant stuff to get a win.
Being positive for once maybe we have turned a corner. Still we shouldnt be getting carried away, the main priority is to stay off the bottom.

Have to say Kendrick is top notch, there is no comparison between him and that donkey Holmes.

Just when i was thinking we'd get hammered by Bohs in the Semi-final, maybe just maybe we might actually give them a game.

We knew what we were in for with Kendrick before he even played, but hes fit into the team instantly and is a great addition, if only we had this team against Vllaznia (and Peers of course) :(.

dublinred
27/07/2009, 12:56 PM
I was expecting a sending off when that happened, and I tought it was a disgrace the way some of St.pats fans acted towards Cretaro when he was clearly hurt :mad:. Is it just me or is Raff the only player who ever seems to get flagged offside in this whole f*ckin league!

Raf is too fast for the linespeople in this league he is very quick out of the blocks I have seen him been flagged offside numerous times even though he only started his run after the ball was hit simply because he is so far ahead of the defender.

rovers100%
27/07/2009, 12:58 PM
what impressed me most was his heading he is brill in the air. i also was impressed with mcgrath in the air he won a lot of balls from pats kick outs something we have not done all season

sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 12:59 PM
Raf is too fast for the linespeople in this league he is very quick out of the blocks I have seen him been flagged offside numerous times even though he only started his run after the ball was hit simply because he is so far ahead of the defender.

true, but there has also been numerous times where hes been behind a defender or just about onside running with the defender and is still called offside.

Da Real Rover
27/07/2009, 1:32 PM
Brilliant result, rock solid at the back, Ventre, Keane, Boco and Kendrick were all outstanding.
The midfield was brilliant, finally have some threat in midfield with Doyle.
And Horney and Raf will become a potent partnership.
After that performance things are looking up and if they can perform like that week in week out there is no reason why we cant win some silverwear.

rovers100%
27/07/2009, 2:29 PM
isn't it great to have optimisum again after spending half the season depressed and wondering where it all went wrong !!! its amazing what a few new signings will do for us and a good performance. hopefully last nite was a sign of things to come. we now have a big squad and added a bit of much needed height to our team. i think both blinkhorn and turner will be great strikers, we may well have one of the best strikforces in country soon as have raf/blink/turner and even boco. bring on bohs in the cup

Shedzer
27/07/2009, 2:38 PM
Delighted with last night,loads of energy in the performance.. something which we have been lacking lately,but the new signings brought this into our game! Kendrick was top class last nyt,won every ball he went for and was really up for the game.. Was really impressed with blinkhorn,great work rate and a super finish! McGrath looked steady in de middle of the park and is not afraid to get about players.. The boco/morrison combination is very exciting as they complement eachother.. Heres to better things in the future,expecting a good result in galway now :)

CRFC&SRFC
27/07/2009, 3:07 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0727/corkcity.html

Bad news for LOI and Cork.

what if same was to happen Bohs....

1st time post
27/07/2009, 3:46 PM
Ya was very impressed with all last night and hopefully we will finally go on a bit of a run and kick on to mid-table obscurity so we can concentrate on our cups:D:D
Also i finally think we might see the best of morrison when in tandem with boco because last night any time they got the ball they were dangerous and even with the new signings i think he still has easily the potential to be our most dangerous player. However even last night when the guy was clearly working hard and very encouraging to those around him he still had to put up with the usual fcking Morrison shouts even on 2 occasions when he had clearly done nothing wrong. Admittedly he sometimes doesnt help himself like trying to beat 2 players in the centre circle but i genuinely believe the guy has turned the corner and is giving us his all so lets support him!!

Rover'n'out
27/07/2009, 5:02 PM
Does anyone know are many of of the new signings cup tied. I presume McGrath is having played for Galway (did he play in the cups?). Did Eoin Doyle play for Shams in the cups? Presume the others are ok.

27/07/2009, 5:08 PM
Does anyone know are many of of the new signings cup tied. I presume McGrath is having played for Galway (did he play in the cups?). Did Eoin Doyle play for Shams in the cups? Presume the others are ok.McGrath played in both cups. Doyle only played in the league cup.

Also, Dean Marshall is cup-tied for league cup.

redobit
27/07/2009, 5:35 PM
After only 5 minutes last nite ya knew you were watching a team that knew they could win, as opposed to other teams this season that were hoping to win. Finally we seem to have a squad together and it was great to keep a clean sheet too.

CarrickFan
28/07/2009, 1:07 AM

Oh and Fabio started too

One of the worst games you seen all season and we were awful??...sour grapes Sir..take ur beating..mite have been a terrible game from a Pats point of view but we outplayed ye in the first half and played some decent stuff.

Rovers fan
28/07/2009, 2:22 AM
One of the worst games you seen all season and we were awful??...sour grapes Sir..take ur beating..mite have been a terrible game from a Pats point of view but we outplayed ye in the first half and played some decent stuff.

Nah. Sure didn't you know? Dodge is always right...

kkontour
28/07/2009, 9:21 AM
.... However even last night when the guy was clearly working hard and very encouraging to those around him he still had to put up with the usual fcking Morrison shouts even on 2 occasions when he had clearly done nothing wrong.....

That is one fcuking idiot in the stand where the forza guys stand. This 'so called rovers fan' just shouted pure abuse at Morrison, no need for it. He should be thrown out for foul and abusive behaviour. Is it any wonder that the children over there ack like thugs, shaking fists as the Pats fans, with this guy as a role model.

28/07/2009, 10:48 AM
That is one fcuking idiot in the stand where the forza guys stand. This 'so called rovers fan' just shouted pure abuse at Morrison, no need for it. He should be thrown out for foul and abusive behaviour. Is it any wonder that the children over there ack like thugs, shaking fists as the Pats fans, with this guy as a role model.

There's a few in there that should be thrown out.:rolleyes:

Rovers Maniac
28/07/2009, 11:41 AM

In all fairness passions and tensions run high at times, abuse is given between rival fans back and forth thats, just the way football is and why i love it. It will never be cricket, which i am glad about.

Edit: By the way i don't sand in that section myself so don't know how big an issue it is. But i thought Morisson had maybe hisbest game in the Rovers shirt the other night.

Da Real Rover
28/07/2009, 11:49 AM
He should be thrown out for foul and abusive behaviour. Is it any wonder that the children over there ack like thugs, shaking fists as the Pats fans, with this guy as a role model.
I wouldnt compare the kids to those clowns.
At least the kids have an excuse, they are just that, kids.

The Midget Gem
28/07/2009, 1:30 PM
In all fairness passions and tensions run high at times, abuse is given between rival fans back and forth thats, just the way football is and why i love it. It will never be cricket, which i am glad about.
Ya kk its just a bit of banter, nothing serious. Its not often this season we have been in a position to get a rise out of opposition fans, can't really blame us.:)

kkontour
28/07/2009, 1:51 PM
I have no problem with banter with opposition fans, especially the fat bloke in the tracksuit that even Morrison was taking the **** out of, but the aggressive abuse of our own players I do have a problem with.

red_away
28/07/2009, 2:25 PM
i am not morrisons biggest fans but he did well against pats

rovers100%
28/07/2009, 8:52 PM
fair enough he deserved a lot of abuse at the start as he was greedy and wasteful but for me the last 5 games have seen a steady improvement and his creativity is second to none. his chip in for boco for 2nd goal was sublime. the lad when connecting with boco is a serious threat to defenses

sligo23
28/07/2009, 8:54 PM
fair enough he deserved a lot of abuse at the start
no he didn't

he was greedy and wastefuls
no he wasn't

28/07/2009, 9:03 PM
no he wasn't

R100 has a point in fairness, he did keep the ball to himself alot, when a square pass was on.

1st time post
28/07/2009, 10:54 PM
R100 has a point in fairness, he did keep the ball to himself alot, when a square pass was on.

ya in fairness your right but i think with him its the times when he does keep the ball and beats someone that the game actually opens up for us and we create oppurtunites. As i said earlier i genuinely believe that the lad has turned the corner for us and his pairing with boco been the catalyst..........I just hope that anytime he tries somthing imaginative and it doesnt come off that he wont have to hear the same sh..it off people!!

And my original gripe was with people in red stand not any of the forza lads.

Redie
29/07/2009, 11:48 AM
I think Morrison was our MOTM last Sunday and one of the main reasons he had such a good game is that he is finally getting to play on the right side of the pitch.

For the first half of the season he was predominantly played on the left which meant that he always had to cut inside to get his crosses over and when he did he could only deliver in-swinging crosses, most of which ended up in the keeper's hands - The Vllaznia game at home being a prime example.

He is a gifted footballer with incredible ability to open up space for himself and others and he should get nothing but encouragement from our fans.

Only1Rovers
29/07/2009, 2:35 PM
I think Morrison was our MOTM last Sunday and one of the main reasons he had such a good game is that he is finally getting to play on the right side of the pitch.

For the first half of the season he was predominantly played on the left which meant that he always had to cut inside to get his crosses over and when he did he could only deliver in-swinging crosses, most of which ended up in the keeper's hands - The Vllaznia game at home being a prime example.

He is a gifted footballer with incredible ability to open up space for himself and others and he should get nothing but encouragement from our fans.

Or maybe he's to battle for his place in the starting XI now that there's competition for places.