View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47

js79
22/05/2010, 11:07 AM
well done pike on another premier league title,could'nt do it last night as i was still serving my ban fro 12th man for the debacle of the fai.anyway thats done now.congrats to carew pk on getting the point they needed as well.now thom.best of luck to kilmallock on their final game ,with all the tribulations club have to put up with down there ie(hurling) they deserve to stay up.there is only a few pikeys left on the site now as 12th has them all banned so go handy.cmon the hoops.......
thanks alot holly,well done on winning the league,

Fairkop
22/05/2010, 9:36 PM
well done to pike,best team in the league by a country mile,however the alarm bells need to start ringing lads because going on results,especially recent ones our premier league is turning into a farce.

serpico
23/05/2010, 6:42 AM
well done to pike,best team in the league by a country mile,however the alarm bells need to start ringing lads because going on results,especially recent ones our premier league is turning into a farce.
you're 100% correct.

Ronald1
23/05/2010, 7:27 AM
Janesboro 0-2 Mungret
Played last evening in glorious weather.
The boro pitch which was in excellent condition you wouldnt know that there had been a seasons worth of games on it, well done.

Ronald1
23/05/2010, 8:27 AM
Well done to Pike on another league title & good luck in MJC
Good Luck to Fairview in both Youth(today) & Junior Fai Cup Finals

blueboy2
23/05/2010, 4:31 PM
St Michaels 3 Clonmel Town 0 Result

passandmove
23/05/2010, 7:36 PM
Congrats to pike easily the best side in town,also well done to carew.I just hope that aisling and view give it there all in the last game,if memory serves me right kilmallock only faced a balla c team in their final league game last year scoring 6 or7 meaning granville lost out.Hopefully whitestripe and co put in a strong performance tuesday week although with whats gone on in the league over the last month or so i wont hold my breath.

abbeyvale
23/05/2010, 11:14 PM
Premier P W D L F A Pts
Pike Rovers 20 16 3 1 63 17 51
Fairview Rgs 21 14 5 2 52 16 47
Regional Utd 22 13 1 8 54 45 37
Janesboro 22 10 5 7 45 36 35
Ballynanty Rovers 20 10 2 8 51 40 32
Mungret Reg 22 9 5 8 39 33 32
Aisling Annacotty 21 8 5 8 38 33 29
Carew Park 21 7 5 9 30 27 26
Corbally Utd 21 7 4 10 27 48 25
Kilmallock 21 7 3 11 28 35 24
Wembley Rvs 21 7 1 13 23 44 22
Geraldines 22 0 1 21 25 93 1

Result
Sun 23/05/10 @ 10.30
Boro 0-2 Mungret

Fixtures
Thur 27/05/10 @ 18.30
Balla v Pike

Tue 01/06/10 @ 18.30
Wembley v Pike
Kilmallock v Aisling
Carew v Balla
Corbally v View

faces
24/05/2010, 7:56 AM
i see you're back.there are a lot of rules in that book that referees don't carry out either,not having a dig now but i can understands maestros frustration.ie the taking of a quick free kick which is allowed in rule book is not been carried through by most refs as they are not able to keep up with play.would you not agree?

well done on winning league.well deserved.

24/05/2010, 8:51 AM
he obviously means that as far as he is concerned lads are getting paid

Any time we allow this to be talked about the first thing that happens is that foot.ie gets an email or a registered letter from the club concerned saying they don't pay their players and threatining legal action if we don't remove it so for the moment we can't discuss it.

daisycutter
24/05/2010, 11:54 AM
and rightly so.

serpico
24/05/2010, 12:59 PM
Premier P W D L F A Pts
Pike Rovers 20 16 3 1 63 17 51
Ballynanty Rovers 20 10 2 8 51 40 32

Result
Sun 23/05/10 @ 10.30
Boro 0-2 Mungret

Fixtures
Thur 27/05/10 @ 18.30
Balla v Pike

Tue 01/06/10 @ 18.30
Wembley v Pike
Kilmallock v Aisling
Carew v Balla
Corbally v View
balla v pike.tue.nite6.30

gommie06
24/05/2010, 1:50 PM
Now that Pike have the league wrapped up what kind of team will they put out against Wembley?!They have a huge say in what happens regarding relegation!

serpico
24/05/2010, 2:13 PM
Now that Pike have the league wrapped up what kind of team will they put out against Wembley?!They have a huge say in what happens regarding relegation!

Pike will do what's required.what team will view put out against corbally or aisling v kilmallock????

thomas72
24/05/2010, 2:28 PM
Pike will do what's required.what team will view put out against corbally or aisling v kilmallock????

good point with the fai final in a couple of weeks and the league over with i cant see view putting out much of a team.
UL away to kilmallock on a weeknight last game of the season i cant see many of there first team turning up either.
if anyone will field any sort of a team i reckon it will be pike they have a very big squad to choose from so if there missing 5 or 6 they still have good players to come in.
E.G sunday in the lawson over regional they were missing mcgarry, hartnett, colbert, pa mullins, brain cleary, and they destroyed regional.

gommie06
24/05/2010, 2:57 PM
good point hopefully for us not a strong one but cant see it happening!!we had fairview last game of the season last year too with the same situation (relegation) and the beat us out the gate!Aisling surely wont travel with a full squad to kilmallock especially on a weeknight!

whistleblower
24/05/2010, 9:28 PM
Fair Play to Mungret Regional. They came up with Geraldines last season but have really held their own this year and kept plugging away right to the end of the season. And a nice bunch of lads to boot. Well Done and good luck to ye.

Janesboro 0-2 Mungret
Played last evening in glorious weather.
The boro pitch which was in excellent condition you wouldnt know that there had been a seasons worth of games on it, well done.

tedd11
25/05/2010, 12:44 AM
Any time we allow this to be talked about the first thing that happens is that foot.ie gets an email or a registered letter from the club concerned saying they don't pay their players and threatining legal action if we don't remove it so for the moment we can't discuss it.
was only pointing out what I thought the post meant.12th man i accept its a bit of a grey area at the moment hence the fact names and clubs arent in my post.its a topic tho that im sure alot of people on this site would be interested in.

tedd11
25/05/2010, 12:47 AM
Fair Play to Mungret Regional. They came up with Geraldines last season but have really held their own this year and kept plugging away right to the end of the season. And a nice bunch of lads to boot. Well Done and good luck to ye.

agree with you there whistleblower.a solid first season back in the division.A young side also so it will be interesting to see how they develop over the next couple of seasons.

tedd11
25/05/2010, 12:52 AM
fair play to fairview youths on winning f.a.i cup.would be some achievement for the club if fairview juniors won the f.a.i also. will be interesting to see if any of the youth players are in the junior team next season on a regular basis.

leather
25/05/2010, 7:19 AM
most of the Fairview winning team are under age again next season. about 8 or 9 of the starting 11 i think...

white line
25/05/2010, 8:06 PM
balla 0 pike 3 hartnett, donavan, moloney,

balla missing prob 2 or 3 of there first 11.
piike were missing enright, mullins, borris, colbert, alan barry, cleary, brendan daly,
if pike had took HALF there chances they would of beat a near full strenght balla team around 6 or 7nil with those players missing.
im predicting a very one sided lawson final

abbeyvale
25/05/2010, 9:44 PM
Premier P W D L F A Pts
Pike Rovers 21 17 3 1 66 17 54
Ballynanty Rovers 21 10 2 9 51 43 32

Result
Thur 27/05/10
Balla 0-3 Pike

Fixtures
Tue 01/06/10 @ 18.30
Wembley v Pike
Kilmallock v Aisling
Carew v Balla
Corbally v View

munga red
26/05/2010, 4:38 PM
Ya good 1st season back in the top flight.Huge credit has to go to Darragh Droog and Noely Hyde,they've been brilliant all year and if we get another few players of quality the future looks bright.

connie
26/05/2010, 8:44 PM
Ya good 1st season back in the top flight.Huge credit has to go to Darragh Droog and Noely Hyde,they've been brilliant all year and if we get another few players of quality the future looks bright.
Im not suprised at all two good lads with lots of experience.

twohalves
27/05/2010, 11:10 AM
Maybe the clubs that are loosing the players should look closer to home and ask themselves what they can do to prevent players leaving..........if its money then fair enough, but not every player that leaves and signs for a "bigger club" gets paid, so the "smaller clubs" should probably look after their players a bit more and then so many of them wouldn't want to leave when a big club comes calling.

And trust me I know because I could name a team of players that I played with at The Dines that left for "bigger clubs" and didnt get paid, and that would be in the top 3 in the Prem today if they were all still playing together.
OK Abbeyvale,name the team of ex Dines players you could select who would be in the top three in Limerick Prem.I hope you're not including yourself in the first 11.

white line
27/05/2010, 11:28 AM
Maybe the clubs that are loosing the players should look closer to home and ask themselves what they can do to prevent players leaving..........if its money then fair enough, but not every player that leaves and signs for a "bigger club" gets paid, so the "smaller clubs" should probably look after their players a bit more and then so many of them wouldn't want to leave when a big club comes calling.

And trust me I know because I could name a team of players that I played with at The Dines that left for "bigger clubs" and didnt get paid, and that would be in the top 3 in the Prem today if they were all still playing together.

abbey players will be promised irish caps and they have not a hope in getting one aswell as other things. how do you expect clubs to compete with these teams junior football in this town has been destroyed more so this season the carry on out of certin clubs has been nothing short of a disgrace just look at were all the cups are going aswell as MJC and FAI all cups have gone on maybe 2 teams. rest of the league are there to make up the numbers

abbeyvale
27/05/2010, 12:07 PM
OK Abbeyvale,name the team of ex Dines players you could select who would be in the top three in Limerick Prem.I hope you're not including yourself in the first 11.

No I wont include myself, but here goes, I'll name a squad of players and you can choose your own starting 11.

Ger (Nolly) Collopy
Pat Mullins
Brian (Chucka) Buckley
Mike Carey
Pat McGarry
Tommy Barrett
Dave Wall
Christy O'Neill
Alan Barry
Pa Moloney
Derek Hannon
Keith McNicholas

Thats just 12 off the top of my head, but I'd say any 11 from that 12 would hold their own in the Prem.......easily finishing in the top 3.....what do you think?
And thats not including the players that went straight from The Dines to LOI or across water or players that have played with club since Ive left.

leather
27/05/2010, 12:10 PM
dont forget the best of the lot gaga!!

abbeyvale
27/05/2010, 12:12 PM
dont forget the best of the lot gaga!!

I never played on the same Dines team as him but did play on the same View team as him, and is still the best midfielder Ive played with to date, and that list is fairly good too.

Roadend
27/05/2010, 1:24 PM
No I wont include myself, but here goes, I'll name a squad of players and you can choose your own starting 11.

Ger (Nolly) Collopy
Pat Mullins
Brian (Chucka) Buckley
Mike Carey
Pat McGarry
Tommy Barrett
Dave Wall
Christy O'Neill
Alan Barry
Pa Moloney
Derek Hannon
Keith McNicholas

Thats just 12 off the top of my head, but I'd say any 11 from that 12 would hold their own in the Prem.......easily finishing in the top 3.....what do you think?
And thats not including the players that went straight from The Dines to LOI or across water or players that have played with club since Ive left.

Didn't a lot of them only go to Dines as they were "the" minor team at the time??

twohalves
27/05/2010, 1:59 PM

Ger (Nolly) Collopy
Pat Mullins
Brian (Chucka) Buckley
Mike Carey
Pat McGarry
Tommy Barrett
Dave Wall
Christy O'Neill
Alan Barry
Pa Moloney
Derek Hannon
Keith McNicholas

Very impressive line-up there Abbeyvale and yes,there is still a few playing LOI etc. - Some clubs have got to look at themselves in terms of wanting to make real progress,it begs the question,why did all these players manage to slip through the net?? Facilities?? Hierarchy?

gaidin
27/05/2010, 2:03 PM

I cant see how the smaller clubs could look after their players to stop them moving to a bigger club. If they are playing with a mid-table team and the top club in local football comes and offers you the chance to win trophies and maybe an fai or munster junior then most players would move.

white line
27/05/2010, 3:15 PM
who do you support?

i support junior football and teams that play the game because they love there club and not sign for other clubs for other reasons

Mission Bell
27/05/2010, 3:52 PM
i support junior football and teams that play the game because they love there club and not sign for other clubs for other reasons

Very few clubs at a high level have players who have been with the one club from schoolboy level onwards, although there are exceptions. Big clubs always try to poach the best, hence it is harder for a smaller club to reach the top level.
Yes, there will always be inducements, plus there is the added bonus of clubs being entitled to a percentage of transfer fees if a player is good enough to make it cross channel or elsewhere.

tedd11
27/05/2010, 5:21 PM
you could put corbally so in the same both abbeyvele.

1-JJ hartigan
2-dee ryan
3-danny hanley
4-nicky carroll
5-alan carroll
6-ronan sherlock
7-ian dunworth
8-fergal o connell
9-aido fitzimons
10-peter ryan
11- john o dwyer.
12-david owens

12 players there who played years with corbally and joined other premier teams over a 4 year period from 2005-2009.all under 30 except for john o dwyer(32).all the above still playing except the 2 carrolls who went to oz last year.imagine where corbally would be if all the above still played with them added to there current squad.they certainly wouldnt be bottom half.would defo be top 3.
the fact is that for different reasons players leave.some go to follow the crowd,others do there own thing.one thing i reckon is i doubt any of the above ever got paid to play for any team they joined

Ger (Nolly) Collopy
Pat Mullins
Brian (Chucka) Buckley
Mike Carey
Pat McGarry
Tommy Barrett
Dave Wall
Christy O'Neill
Alan Barry
Pa Moloney
Derek Hannon
Keith McNicholas

abbeyvale
27/05/2010, 9:05 PM
Didn't a lot of them only go to Dines as they were "the" minor team at the time??

McGarry is the only player to play one season with The Dines, all other players on the list had a minimum 2 years with them.....

abbeyvale
27/05/2010, 9:08 PM
you could put corbally so in the same both abbeyvele.

1-JJ hartigan
2-dee ryan
3-danny hanley
4-nicky carroll
5-alan carroll
6-ronan sherlock
7-ian dunworth
8-fergal o connell
9-aido fitzimons
10-peter ryan
11- john o dwyer.
12-david owens

12 players there who played years with corbally and joined other premier teams over a 4 year period from 2005-2009.all under 30 except for john o dwyer(32).all the above still playing except the 2 carrolls who went to oz last year.imagine where corbally would be if all the above still played with them added to there current squad.they certainly wouldnt be bottom half.would defo be top 3.
the fact is that for different reasons players leave.some go to follow the crowd,others do there own thing.one thing i reckon is i doubt any of the above ever got paid to play for any team they joined

Agree 100%, I see you put your own name on the list, and deservedly so bud........

blackjack
27/05/2010, 9:19 PM
Agree 100%, I see you put your own name on the list, and deservedly so bud........

ronan what makes you think ye would finish in the top three,when ye were all playing with corbally i dont remember ye finishing in the top three,and why did ye all leave in the first place,to win trophies,so i dont understand why you think ye would win them now??????????????

abbeyvale
27/05/2010, 11:47 PM
ronan what makes you think ye would finish in the top three,when ye were all playing with corbally i dont remember ye finishing in the top three,and why did ye all leave in the first place,to win trophies,so i dont understand why you think ye would win them now??????????????

I have to agree with Ted I think that squad would finish in the top 5 anyway at least, and by the way BlackJack, I dont see you complaining about my ex Dines players finishing in the top 3 in the Prem..........................is it that you agree or just because there are 4 players that are currently playing with Pike in my squad????

tedd11
28/05/2010, 1:35 AM
well the fact that most of the 12 were 19 or 20 when they played for corbally is one reason blackjack and there was never more than 6 of the above on the same team.all im saying is that if you put the 12 lads into a corbally squad they would be alot better the same way as the dines would with abbeyvales 12.but sure in the end of the day its in the past so what does it matter.would make things interesting tho all the same if it happened on both accounts

tedd11
28/05/2010, 1:44 AM
I have to agree with Ted I think that squad would finish in the top 5 anyway at least, and by the way BlackJack, I dont see you complaining about my ex Dines players finishing in the top 3 in the Prem..........................is it that you agree or just because there are 4 players that are currently playing with Pike in my squad????

good point abbey.and 3 of pikes best players also.in fairness your list are all playing junior in town now.with regards to roadends post about them being "the minor " team of the time in there isnt many of them in abbeys 12 . bobby ryan,niall nestor,paul dillon,derek o neill,mark hedderman,glen houlihan,abbeyvale,stephen walsh.as far as i can remember them lads were the mainstays of the dines minor team.dont even remember seeing any of them playing junior bar of course dillon and ryan who went on to better places.

tedd11
28/05/2010, 1:46 AM
are any of the above even playing football any more abbeyvale?shame if not.they were all very good players who would have made a crack junior side if they has stayed together

dines08
28/05/2010, 6:38 AM
I understand the players leaving because at the end of the day Geraldines don't have the same facilities or BANKROLL of the big teams. The frustrating thing about it is that it's going to stay like that. As long as Pike and Fairview keep picking the best players from each team in Limerick then nobody will ever touch them. Abbey there's another few missing from that list you posted...going back 3-4 years Geraldines had a brilliant 17's and Minor team along with Wembley. Wembley won the FAI U-17 and Geraldines did the league and cup double. Dines lost the quarter final on peno's to Crumlin. Wembley then beat Crumlin in the final. The whole point of that is 4-5 of that Geraldines team played Premier with different clubs this season, same goes for the Wembley team. Dines had the same manager from that minor team this season in the Premier and couldn't field 11 players consitently. Some of thse players would rather sit on the bench than play regularily. 93 goals conceded but at least 12 of those league games were without a keeper. The sickening thing is that we've probably the best schoolboy set up in town. To be honest i don't now where the club goes from here

mundener
28/05/2010, 9:51 AM
Abbey rovers had a very strong team 7/8 years ago I think ?? I know A Barry and the 2 hannons played does anyone know there squad back then ? they have good facilities and now there in 2b.......

abbeyvale
28/05/2010, 11:34 AM
are any of the above even playing football any more abbeyvale?shame if not.they were all very good players who would have made a crack junior side if they has stayed together

Nope, none of them playing ball in town bud.................

blackjack
28/05/2010, 2:03 PM
whose complaining alan,its a hypethetical question.i personally dont think that squad of players would have finished in the top three.think a couple of them have a league medal with the boro but thats it,because pike and fairview have won everything since.why havent these players signed for view or pike.?????????????????????

passandmove
28/05/2010, 3:43 PM
In fairness what ever team pike put out against us next tues nite,we are going to be up against it.All we can do is give it everything and hope for the best.We have enjoyed the last 3 years playing premier and we dont want it to finish yet.The run of results that have gone against us to leave us in this position have been incredible.But we just have to focus on pike and hope view and aisling do the business.Also well done to view minor team on a great win last weekend.

blinkx
28/05/2010, 4:02 PM
Is it me or is this Déjà vu about schoolboy players, and how numerous team's would have 25 FAI Cup's if they had stayed together.... From my experience clubs certainly don't own a schoolboy and they are more than entitled to play for whoever they want, you really can't moan if a player up's and leaves. It's their prerogative at the end of the day. And most of the time, on a whole, if a player leaves it's often for good reason's.. Player's are attracted to winning team's, success. You'll always have the top 3/4 team's attracting the better of the players.

blackjack
28/05/2010, 6:00 PM
Is it me or is this Déjà vu about schoolboy players, and how numerous team's would have 25 FAI Cup's if they had stayed together.... From my experience clubs certainly don't own a schoolboy and they are more than entitled to play for whoever they want, you really can't moan if a player up's and leaves. It's their prerogative at the end of the day. And most of the time, on a whole, if a player leaves it's often for good reason's.. Player's are attracted to winning team's, success. You'll always have the top 3/4 team's attracting the better of the players.
Well said blinx it's all about ifs and buts and how's and why's.at the end of the day a player will sign for who HE wants to sign for.a lot comes down to who is manager of a club because I know a lot of players who have left clubs because of managers.abbey and ted I think yere own clubs had that problem.