View Full Version : Vllaznia - Rovers 2nd leg game thread - Game to be shown in Connollys

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Well Red
10/07/2009, 9:54 AM
Conor O Grady will have to learn to think a little more before he acts, just senseless getting sent off and losing vital time during the process. Not sure how many times he has been suspended but with a squad as thin as ours he needs to cop himself on, he already had a card from the first game which shows he is prone to stupid moments.:mad:

rovers100%
10/07/2009, 10:17 AM
should have won the two legs, the place was a kip couldnt wait to get outta it. it took us 9 hrs to travel down to it. have to say found the fans ok but wonder what they would have been like if we beat them. its like a 3rd world country there. people searching in bins for empty cans. cheap spot though in fairness but it would need to be to get anyone to go to it. well done to the team we could not fault them for effort and cookie came out to hotel bar before game to chat the fans and give updates. well done to all the support as well belive me 14hrs travelling in a bus in one day and going into shkoder is unbelievable effort.

Rovers Maniac
10/07/2009, 10:24 AM
Was at the game last night and p$$$$d off with the result, threw it away at home. I thought Ventre was our best player last night, Steve Feeney done well despite a terrible miss. Mad journey down took the guts of 9 hours only 5 on the way back. Getting back to the game gutted to go out to them as they were no good, but lost the tie in the SHowgrounds, hopefully we can have a good second half of the season.

kkontour
10/07/2009, 11:48 AM
did anyone notice how the fella that scored against us ran into the advertising as he celebrated?
d1ckh3ed:D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3OOK8kq1z_k

sligofan4ever
10/07/2009, 12:32 PM
did anyone notice how the fella that scored against us ran into the advertising as he celebrated?

Yeah I noticed that alright :D who are standing behind the bars that he ran over too ? its like a jail :p. I feel sorry for Steve Feeney, I think we can put a bit of blame on the pitch for his miss as you could see it bobble when he was about to shoot.

10/07/2009, 12:34 PM
Frustrating stuff last night. We were knocked out by a poor team and we played much better than them in both legs. As has been said, we threw it away in the Showgies. Certain players aren't near fit enough, Keane, Feeney, Ventre all done for pace at times last night, although in saying that, Ventre did play brilliant. But the fitness levels really should be something that's looked at and improved on. Such a long trip down and it was just wasted then with being knocked out by a very poor side, very disappointing. Referee was absolutely brutal, he wouldnt be out of place in the LOI. Vllaznia were diving all night and Rovers were right not to give the ball back to them after their repeated actions. Vienna will hammer them in the next round...and rightfully so, they deserve it!

Shkoder's an awful kip.

10/07/2009, 12:49 PM
Some mental lyrics in the music in that clip :eek:

Still, it's funny because he hurt himself.

sligofan4ever
10/07/2009, 1:00 PM
Frustrating stuff last night. We were knocked out by a poor team and we played much better than them in both legs. As has been said, we threw it away in the Showgies. Certain players aren't near fit enough, Keane, Feeney, Ventre all done for pace at times last night, although in saying that, Ventre did play brilliant. But the fitness levels really should be something that's looked at and improved on. Such a long trip down and it was just wasted then with being knocked out by a very poor side, very disappointing. Referee was absolutely brutal, he wouldnt be out of place in the LOI. Vllaznia were diving all night and Rovers were right not to give the ball back to them after their repeated actions. Vienna will hammer them in the next round...and rightfully so, they deserve it!

Shkoder's an awful kip.

Its beyond me how they always got away with it last night. I think its laughable that they have to bring on 2 physio's and at one point another 2 surrounding a player and always take the player off on a stretcher, absolutly no point as they got up as soon as they came off. Either these players break like twigs or are just trying to waste time. Another decision made by the referee was stupid, only minutes after the game kicked off Raff got a deliberate elow to the face and that player didnt even get a yellow card! frustrating stuff but we have to move on from this and hope for a good second half of the season.

10/07/2009, 1:01 PM
Didn't even feel it either; just bounced off it. Impressive.

showgies
10/07/2009, 1:20 PM
Yeah I noticed that alright :D who are standing behind the bars that he ran over too ? its like a jail :p. I feel sorry for Steve Feeney, I think we can put a bit of blame on the pitch for his miss as you could see it bobble when he was about to shoot.

It looks like a bobble decevied Brushie for their goal too.

red bellied
10/07/2009, 6:27 PM
http://oceanfm.ie/news/2009/07/10/rovers-players-pelted-with-missiles-during-match/

It’s emerged that various missiles and plastic bottles were among the items thrown at Sligo Rovers’ players during last night’s Europa League match in Albania.

Reports emanating from supporters today who were at the game suggest a number of the Rovers players were targeted by the KS Vllaznia fans.

It has also emerged that missiles were thrown at Sligo Rovers captain Conor O’Grady, as he was sent off, in what’s been described as a very hostile atmosphere.

Rovers drew the game, 1-1, but lost the tie on aggregate by 3-2.

Vllaznia
10/07/2009, 9:05 PM
should have won the two legs, the place was a kip couldnt wait to get outta it. it took us 9 hrs to travel down to it. have to say found the fans ok but wonder what they would have been like if we beat them. its like a 3rd world country there. people searching in bins for empty cans. cheap spot though in fairness but it would need to be to get anyone to go to it. well done to the team we could not fault them for effort and cookie came out to hotel bar before game to chat the fans and give updates. well done to all the support as well belive me 14hrs travelling in a bus in one day and going into shkoder is unbelievable effort.

omg did you break a nail?? lmao j/k

But seriously I warned you about Shkodra and not making the trip there but you didn't listen. You have to have a tough skin to handle the atmosphere and everything.

Sean South
11/07/2009, 10:53 AM
The place was a kip a real strange atmosphere around the city. Before the game their capo came over to shake our hands then at the end of the game they were giving us cut throat gestures. The ref most have been bought off or something.

Darco Ooragnak
11/07/2009, 11:10 AM
Good bit of the match can be found here. (http://kuqeblu.com/index.php)

Boo_Boy
11/07/2009, 11:52 AM
If anyone want's the match let me know, my brother e-mailed me the recording of the game and i can upload it to rapid share or something if someone want's it. Albanian commentary and the 15 mins of DigitALB ad's at half time are still in there..

Boo_Boy
11/07/2009, 12:22 PM
Them ads were impressive to be fair. I learnt some albaninan from them. "Nga" means was.

I would go to the trouble of taking them out but that woman in them is hot :).

Rovers fan
11/07/2009, 1:14 PM
Mole.

Da Real Rover
11/07/2009, 3:29 PM
I would hardly call the atmosphere intimidating, they just sang when they scored, I was pretty surprised by that.
As for the bottles and chairs thrown at O'Grady, it was a very very bad tempered game thanks to the cheating scumbags of Vllaznia but tbh you would get more trouble at a shams or bohs game.
There was an element of hostility among some of their fans but over all they were nice and even clapped us out of the stadium.
And just one more thing, MOLE!!!.

rovers100%
11/07/2009, 3:43 PM
moley, moley, moleeey, moleeeey,moleeeeeeeey

Boo_Boy
11/07/2009, 4:01 PM
What the hell..

M
O
L
E

forza rovers
11/07/2009, 6:07 PM
go on the mole

some say it has its own passport:D

Sean South
11/07/2009, 7:04 PM
Got a little story for ye lads. The bus driver is a racing car driver...

No he's not I'm joking...

Forza Mole

CRFC&SRFC
11/07/2009, 7:05 PM
Found Shkodra nowhere near as bad as feared. thought the locals in the main were welcomming.Fair enuf throwing bottles on pitch and spitting is out of line but it wasnt too long ago since the loi had those problems.suppose its to be expected for a country emerging from decades of conflicts and poverty. the stadium was crumbling and pitch was very bobbly.Not sure what vienna will make of it....

The city itself wasnt that bad, we took a stroll down town on the thursday nite and found a few decent bars.altho not many around after midnight

The vast majority of players gave everything out there but with a squad so thin on ground, players playing out of position and carrying knocks going out to a side like vllaznia can happen in football.

i think the team need to be applauded for giving fans of the bitored the opportunity to see them in europe after the guts of 15 years.Yes we're all gutted srfc was beaten by a weaker side and we wont have the money from nxt round but we're still in cups and well capable of 5th place finish if new boys gel into side and we can get a bit of luck on injury front.

Also must add that the forza lads were a credit to club with the effort they made at the game, especially after the 9 hour plus journey from dubrovnik most of them were on.

Im not expecting much 2moro against cork as they're bound to be knackered.the heat out there was nearly unbearable and they've racked up a serious amount of miles over last few days

11/07/2009, 9:41 PM
I'm just wondering, given the amount of work that Rovers had to do to get the Showgies passed for the match, how this ground was passed, if it's as bad as you lads say. One rule for them.......

srfc1928
12/07/2009, 10:19 AM
Their ground looked decent from afar, but up close it is falling apart.
Every second seat was broken and the ones that werent were filthy, the locals were using newspaper to sit on them.
lack of toilets and location of them
segragation
holes in the ground

What uefa official passed this place.
An FAI official should be brought out and shown the state of that ground instead of trying to be the model officals to uefa
The showgrounds maybe small but in terms of health and safety compared to vllaznia its way ahead.

none of this affected the result but as avenalaf said you cant have one set of rules for one club and a different set for another.

red_away
13/07/2009, 12:07 PM
Apparently I was told by a rovers official at the game that UEFA use the local FA to enforce all recommendations and that the FAI do this to the letter but countries like Albania FA dont bother!!!

Many issues were raised with the UEFA official and you have to wait for his report but i wouldnt hold my breath....

13/07/2009, 6:30 PM
What the hell..

M
O
L
E

lads for those that arent in the know whats the story with a mole??:confused:

rovers100%
14/07/2009, 1:07 AM
what happens on tour stays on tour...............

14/07/2009, 8:37 PM
what happens on tour stays on tour...............

fair enough :(

rovers100%
14/07/2009, 8:38 PM
all i can say is we had a mole in the camp..........but not as you know it !!!!:D

15/07/2009, 12:04 AM
Ignore them Marty, they're just making mountains out of molehills.

15/07/2009, 8:34 PM
Ignore them Marty, they're just making mountains out of molehills.

nice one... :D or how about mohill??

Keen2win
16/07/2009, 11:06 AM
Any pics lads?

16/07/2009, 12:04 PM
Any pics lads?

Many...but they'd be too saucy for even totty watch:eek:

16/07/2009, 6:42 PM
70 mins gone in Vienna.

Rapid 2-0 Vllaznia :)

TheBoss
16/07/2009, 6:46 PM
I expected a few more to be honest :D

16/07/2009, 6:48 PM
3-0 now:D

Boo_Boy
16/07/2009, 6:50 PM
Should have streamed it, so we could talk crap to the stuck up Vllaznia fans.

16/07/2009, 6:56 PM
http://www.justin.tv/roman5001/old think thats the stream for the Graz game. It goes to Vienna now and again.

EDIT: Finished: Rapid 5-0 Vllaznia:)

sligofan4ever
16/07/2009, 7:50 PM
http://www.justin.tv/roman5001/old think thats the stream for the Graz game. It goes to Vienna now and again.

EDIT: Finished: Rapid 5-0 Vllaznia:)

I wonder what the Vllaznia fans will be saying now after what they said in the 2nd leg :rolleyes:.

brianw82
19/07/2009, 6:35 PM
A friend was following the betting in running for this game, and is of the opinion that Vllaznia had people backing the overs goal markets. After all, with the game only 1-0 after 60 minutes, you'd get great odds on over 4.5 goals!

srfc1928
19/07/2009, 6:56 PM
im tired of hearing of all these so called betting scandals.
i think the first leg against vllaznia dispelled a lot of sh1te talk

brianw82
19/07/2009, 7:30 PM
im tired of hearing of all these so called betting scandals.
i think the first leg against vllaznia dispelled a lot of sh1te talk

Nobody said it was a scandal. You may be tired of hearing about it, but when things look suspicious somebody's going to say so.

srfc1928
19/07/2009, 8:47 PM
A friend was following the betting in running for this game, and is of the opinion that Vllaznia had people backing the overs goal markets. After all, with the game only 1-0 after 60 minutes, you'd get great odds on over 4.5 goals!

Nobody said it was a scandal. You may be tired of hearing about it, but when things look suspicious somebody's going to say so.
Your friend seems to think so.
Vllaznia betting on themselves is a scandal, no ?

srfc1928
19/07/2009, 9:02 PM
maybe you should of posted this in the world football section or a betting forum somewhere, because i fail to see what its got to do with this thread.
posting stuff like this on a public internet forum does nobody any good, especially the reputation of players and clubs.
i guarantee you that if i was to post up that rovers were to throw next weeks game against pats, id hear it from about 3 different people by lunchtime tomorrow.
barstoolers and betting office bums love this stuff, dont feed them with more tripe

brianw82
19/07/2009, 11:08 PM
Whatever.:rolleyes:

19/07/2009, 11:20 PM
Whatever.:rolleyes:

Sister