View Full Version : Vllaznia - Rovers 2nd leg game thread - Game to be shown in Connollys
dublinred
09/07/2009, 2:40 PM
The dubrovnik bus is finally in Albania 8 hours and an eventful journey later............
Boo_Boy
09/07/2009, 2:58 PM
The dubrovnik bus is finally in Albania 8 hours and an eventful journey later............
Welcome to Albania everybody on the bus!!
red bellied
09/07/2009, 3:38 PM
Team for tonight
Brush
Keohane Ventre Keane Boco
Holmes Ryan O Grady Cash
Doherty Raf
Morrison on the bench
Team for tonight
Brush
Keohane Ventre Keane Boco
Holmes Ryan O Grady Cash
Doherty Raf
Morrison on the bench
I presume Boco's at RB and Holmes left MF?
Massive night for the club. Praying that we can go through.
Is Morrison injured or dropped?
In light of all the speculation it's a chance for Doherty and Cashie to really have a go at these. They could be Rovers legends if they grabbed a goal each and put us through!!!!!! All would be forgiven I'm sure.;)
red bellied
09/07/2009, 3:51 PM
I presume Boco's at RB and Holmes left MF?
Massive night for the club. Praying that we can go through.
Is Morrison injured or dropped?
In light of all the speculation it's a chance for Doherty and Cashie to really have a go at these. They could be Rovers legends if they grabbed a goal each and put us through!!!!!! All would be forgiven I'm sure.;)
Yeah thats how the lineup came in the text so I presume so. There was no info on what the Morrison situation was.
09/07/2009, 4:10 PM
From what i have heard back at home Gerry Connolly has forked out ALOT to have this game on for the fans(when i say alot I'm talking MORE than double the DigitALB subscription for a year.)
He paid well over the odds in that case but fair play to him.
Oh and best of luck to ye tonight lads.
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 5:19 PM
1 Brush
2 Keane
3 Holmes
5 Ventre
6 O'Grady
7 Cash
8 Ryan
9 Boco
10 Cretaro
12 Doherty
14 Feeney
Bench
19 Kelly
4 Peers
11 Morrison
16 Keohane
17 Noctor
20 Kelly
red bellied
09/07/2009, 5:24 PM
That text was wrong, blame Sligoman :o. Heard Mooneys have the match.
09/07/2009, 5:54 PM
match link (http://www.justin.tv/sligofella/popout) for any Sligo fans online who want to watch the game.
happydays97
09/07/2009, 5:57 PM
http://www.justin.tv/sligofella
09/07/2009, 6:08 PM
Nasty elbow on Cretaro there, fella should have walked! Cook is wearing a BRUSH 1 jersey for some reason :D.
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 6:11 PM
Ref bottled it imo.
09/07/2009, 6:14 PM
Open goal missed by Vllaznia...
09/07/2009, 6:14 PM
bad miss
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 6:16 PM
Sligo's defense looks poor, has been most of the season.
09/07/2009, 6:16 PM
Header just wide by Boco!
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 6:23 PM
Great chance, unlucky.
09/07/2009, 6:28 PM
Little Cretaro is struggling on the bumpy pitch. There was a ball played to his feet there and the bobble nearly hit him in the face. :D
09/07/2009, 6:33 PM
Cretaro drags one wide from seven yards after great work from Boco! "How did he miss", cries Cook.
09/07/2009, 6:33 PM
Shocking miss alright.
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 6:35 PM
Another chance there.
Sligo are the better team in terms of passing and ability, they should score soon, they have to score by the 60 Min one thinks, to have a chance.
09/07/2009, 6:36 PM
Another chance gone for Cretaro.
CarrickFan
09/07/2009, 6:36 PM
not as bad as that header just there..should be 2 up
Umberside
09/07/2009, 6:43 PM
1-0 vllaznia
09/07/2009, 6:43 PM
Goal for Vllaznia! Long run and shot from distance beats Brush at near post. A blow just before half-time but doesn't materially change much, Sligo still need two.
Umberside
09/07/2009, 6:48 PM
Half time 1-0. 3-1 vllaznia on aggregate. Still need two goals.
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 6:50 PM
They are a not a good team, how have Sligo conceded 3 goals to this lot, a real shame for Sligo that they have not scored about 6 goals against them in total.
09/07/2009, 6:52 PM
Thought Brush could have done better with the goal, looked a bit soft.
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 6:54 PM
Yes, poor response from Brush.
MervilleUnited
09/07/2009, 6:57 PM
Live Web stream on big screen in Mooneys for those who want to make the 2nd Half!!
CarrickFan
09/07/2009, 7:41 PM
We need a striker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Umberside
09/07/2009, 7:44 PM
goal for sligo!
We need a striker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ye can have Mansaram.
09/07/2009, 7:51 PM
I feel it coming.
roversman
09/07/2009, 7:58 PM
had our chances again just not good enough and again ogrady doing something stupid getting himself sent off
prodsc
09/07/2009, 7:59 PM
If only.....
Thanks for the stream BooBoy/sligofella
Hard Luck Lads
sligofan4ever
09/07/2009, 8:02 PM
From what ive read on justin, Albanian fans are downright rude,arrogant,ignorant and pathetic. Someone goes to the trouble of putting up a live stream and thats the thanks he gets ? jesus some of the worst fans ive ever come across. We had plenty of shots but it was the first leg all over again really :(. Ah well Boco was more lively and dangerous but atleast we didnt get hammered like some people have mentioned (not on these boards) I couldnt beleive Conor O' Grady's stupidity with that sending off but it looks like the frustration got to him. Lets just put this behind us and roll on Sunday. But atleast Rovers can leave this game with dignity knowing they put a on a decent performance.
Guts&Glory
09/07/2009, 8:04 PM
Enough chances to get it to extra time at least, if Feeney had knocked it in from 3 yards before we did score it could have been so different.......coulda woulda shoulda, over the two legs a great opportunity lost.
As said earlier if only we had a striker.
Now back to getting away from the bottom of the table!!
09/07/2009, 8:07 PM
Anyone else gonna lump on Rapid Vienna?
had our chances again just not good enough and again ogrady doing something stupid getting himself sent off
Have to agree with above,Conor was silly wasted up the last 2/3 minutes for us.thought they played well enough,still no fire power up front and its costing us.thought their goal was soft enough.They had time wasting down to a fine art even the ballboys stop throwing in the footballs towards the end.Thats what I hate about the contenential game the diving the rolling around and the refs still fall for it.
Shame about the result,Vienna would have been a nice earner!
09/07/2009, 8:14 PM
Can you not see the stickied 5 page long thread?
sligofan4ever
09/07/2009, 8:20 PM
Credit to all who travelled too, ye created a great atmosphere and could be heard throughout the game.
red bellied
09/07/2009, 9:09 PM
Fair play to anyone that travelled and it took nearly nine hours to travel from Croatia to Albania. They were cat but scored the same goal as the Showgrounds running and no tackles. Jaysus but I thought they would never score, it could of been ten two and Keane had great chance to sidefoot an opener at the end. Feeneys miss was worse though from two yards.
oldrover
09/07/2009, 9:12 PM
Well done to the travelling supporters.
We blew it in the first leg,hard to believe that they won with about three or four shots on goal in the two matches combined.
the important thing now is to refocus on the league. We also have the league cup and the FAI cup. Come on the bit o red
Boo_Boy
09/07/2009, 9:27 PM
Just wanted to say well done to all the lads who travelled over to the game. Sang all game and done the club proud, my brother watching at home could hear you all game he said.
Never usually stand amongst the singing crowd until today.
On the game, it was there for the taking. We had enough chances but just couldn't convert, can't help but think if Morrison was on the pitch longer it would have been a different result. He was great when he came on and got a good few crosses in while on the pitch. Have to focus on the league now.
Had a bit of trouble leaving the ground, got spat at outside the place they call a stadium and my girlfriend got grabbed and pushed by a guy in a baseball cap for no reason at all. If we weren't in fecking Albania i would have laid the bitch out.
showgies
09/07/2009, 10:25 PM
I am gutted tonight. I genuinely thought we would get through this tie. Nothing that I saw of the Albanians will convince me that they are any better than us. This is a missed opportunity to progress and make a bit of money for the club.
Am I only one beginning to feel that Cookie is an unlucky manager when it comes to cup competitions, missed penalties, OG's, crap penalty shoot outs, injuries to players at key times....I could go on.
Onwards to Sunday, a win against Cork really would be a good tonic.
sligofan4ever
09/07/2009, 10:42 PM
I am gutted tonight. I genuinely thought we would get through this tie. Nothing that I saw of the Albanians will convince me that they are any better than us. This is a missed opportunity to progress and make a bit of money for the club.
Am I only one beginning to feel that Cookie is an unlucky manager when it comes to cup competitions, missed penalties, OG's, crap penalty shoot outs, injuries to players at key times....I could go on.
Onwards to Sunday, a win against Cork really would be a good tonic.
Apart from the Europa League he's finally gotten it right in the cup competition and hopefully if the Setanta Cup goes ahead we can only hope for a good run. I know this was about a week ago, but did I read correctly that Cook wants to commit his short term future to Sligo Rovers and see where it takes him or something along those lines ?
Just wanted to say well done to all the lads who travelled over to the game. Sang all game and done the club proud, my brother watching at home could hear you all game he said.
Never usually stand amongst the singing crowd until today.
On the game, it was there for the taking. We had enough chances but just couldn't convert, can't help but think if Morrison was on the pitch longer it would have been a different result. He was great when he came on and got a good few crosses in while on the pitch. Have to focus on the league now.
Had a bit of trouble leaving the ground, got spat at outside the place they call a stadium and my girlfriend got grabbed and pushed by a guy in a baseball cap for no reason at all. If we weren't in fecking Albania i would have laid the bitch out.
I take it you mean that in the gangsta rap sense, if not your a serious wife beater Boo boy?:D
The boys sounded great. I was watching it online and you could hear them singing up the whole way through.
As I said after the first leg, they are sh*te but the harsh reality is the result and that doesn't lie. We came up short and it's a pity.
TheBoss
09/07/2009, 11:30 PM
The performance from the players was very good, just lacked that killer touch up front, if Sligo could have a decent front man, they could have won that game quite easily.
The game might have been much different, if that Albanian defender was sent off early in the game and ref gives a free out !, shocking ref, up there with the worst decisions ever imo. Not only that, he fails to give clear free kicks for either side through the whole game.
Those Albanians like hitting out at players, first the goalie, than that defender and the striker late in the game, dirty dirty side.
forza rovers
10/07/2009, 7:53 AM
gutted after a 7 hour trip to a dump!we should have bet these they were poor,and people complain our ground is bad,this place is a state!1 toilet for men and women no shop,fair play to the team who gave us a case of water,the seats were falling apart,police every where had to get a police escort out of the dump.you wouldn't put animals in the place.