View Full Version : Keegan for town...

Xlex
22/01/2004, 4:41 PM
www.flansiro.net

Paul Keegan has swapped the red and black of Bohs for the red and black of Longford Town....

techs
22/01/2004, 8:03 PM
When did this come about? Thought his agent was still waiting for Bohs to make an offer he couldn't refuse...With Kenny at the helm Keegan was always going to leave Bohs though as soon as he could and he was always had great admiration for de town... So this counts Mr Murphy out of coming to the club....Shame,need a good attacking player who can play in the middle of the park..

sorbothegreek
22/01/2004, 9:46 PM
Jesus i dont know about this one. I'll give the boss the benifit of the doubt as far as Mr Baker is concerned, but coupled, i just cant see the need for this at all.

sorbothegreek
22/01/2004, 9:56 PM
Sorry cont'd...

As far as Dessie Baker is concerned, he's still a reletively young fella, and even though last season wasn't near his best, i'd still say that he has plenty to offer given the right circumstances.
But Keegan, im far from convinced!
Im not out deliberatly to have a go at him, but to me it seems obvious that he peaked a couple of years ago.

This is two posts about our close season signings that im ending like this, but again, I'd love to be proved wrong.
this time i think it's less likely..

22/01/2004, 10:18 PM

Xlex, where did you hear the news on Paul Keegan? Clicked on flansiro.net and there was no news on him.

Bit surprised on the signing, a bit too old for my own liking. He is a bit past his best.

Xlex
23/01/2004, 8:22 AM
Hit refresh...

I have to disagree slightly with you Sorbo. Bohs fans are mad for keegan to sign... I would rather Keegan than Baker... I think Keegan will make a fantasic contribution... he's a real good footballer, he will provide some ammunition... Still can't see much changing with

Digger,

Dillon Ferguson McGovern Paisley
Kirby Vinny Pip Prunty
Barrett Francis

being my starting 11...

23/01/2004, 8:48 AM
keegan is good in the air and with barry's love of booting the ball forward this might help.

i will wait to pass my judgement, his elbows fly a lot and yellow cards could fly too.

Xlex
23/01/2004, 8:52 AM
if Barry had Midfielders to take/protect the ball then he might not hoof...

23/01/2004, 8:53 AM
well said, but it does it a little to often for my liking, its his only bad point for me, oh yeah flansiro won't load for me ??? no its ok now !!

23/01/2004, 9:04 AM
FFS, very suprised at this signing, for 2 reasons...

1) Where the fúck is the money coming from? I assume he'll be full time?

2) Where the fúck does it fit in? Strikers at the club: Francis; Barret; Hasbeen; A Murphy; Baker; Kelly supposed to be back.... And now Keegan..... And still no quality midfielder....

Like Sorbo I have to reserve judgement based on the last two seasons results, but remain to be convinced this is a good signing...

23/01/2004, 9:05 AM
Macy Murphy hasn't signed yet, has he ??

23/01/2004, 9:15 AM
Adrian....

23/01/2004, 9:17 AM
oh yeah, ita a bit early fot me, i think he should go on loan to the first division for a bit of experience, but thats old ground.

Xlex
23/01/2004, 9:31 AM
Originally posted by Macy
FFS, very suprised at this signing, for 2 reasons...

1) Where the fúck is the money coming from? I assume he'll be full time?

2) Where the fúck does it fit in? Strikers at the club: Francis; Barret; Hasbeen; A Murphy; Baker; Kelly supposed to be back.... And now Keegan..... And still no quality midfielder....

it's a little worying... perhaps this trip to America with the FAI cup is a fundraising activity :rolleyes:

Francis
Barrett
Hasbeen... supposed to be going on loan up north...
A Murphy... supposed to be going to UCD
Kelly.... prob won't be back
Baker.... Bum boy...
Keegan... can play a bit...

a potiential trio who may not be at town next year...

I'd be questioning Baker long before I would Keegan... I certainly don't think a Baker is a longford town type at all.... Keegan and Baker are both excessive but I think Keegan, although older is more likely to repay Matthews, like Francis has done...

At the end of the day the board are responcible for finances and it's them I blame not Matthews if it's financially risky... Depends on who you blame at Leeds, Risdale or O'Deary...

:ball:

23/01/2004, 9:36 AM
the mananger can only spend the money he is given, if someone keeps giving you money you'll kepp spending it won't you, anyway with Alans finanical background i don't think he'll overspend

23/01/2004, 9:49 AM
Originally posted by Xlex
it's a little worying... perhaps this trip to America with the FAI cup is a fundraising activity :rolleyes:
At this rate we'll need NORAID......

Dunno, Baker is potentially a long term signing, Keegan is definitely short term. Plus he is only going to encourage long ball rubbish football...

Xlex
23/01/2004, 9:58 AM
Keegan is definitely short term. Plus he is only going to encourage long ball rubbish football...

Hadn't thought of that...

I also think that if Keegan is short term then in the short term Adrian Murphy will be ready.... also the short term long term arguement doesn't really wash when we haven't paid any fees...

Xlex
23/01/2004, 10:01 AM
possible, I jumped the gun...

I'll explain later.... depending on what transpires....

Will say one thing for Matthews... Looks like hs's handy hammering out deals... he isn't easy on these guys.... don't seem to suffer fools....

23/01/2004, 1:38 PM
[i]

At the end of the day the board are responcible for finances and it's them I blame not Matthews if it's financially risky... Depends on who you blame at Leeds, Risdale or O'Deary...

:ball: [/B]

Well Alan is given his budget at the start of the season and its up to him to fit in the players he wants into it, which he's managed to do so far. He's workin on the same budget he had last season, not like he's been given a huge increase. Can see the exit looming for Lavine if it all possible..Presuming Keegan is coming which tbh i hadn't heard about til now..Kelly definitely wont be back if Keegan signs, even if he doesnt cant see Kelly coming back, he's carrying an injury which needs surgery..

longfordjk
23/01/2004, 1:55 PM
Have you guys not seen any games lately?????? We don't need 2 midfielders - just one to play alongside Pip. Our best signing for years!!
We need an attacking midfielder to score goals. As for Barry hoofing it - the odd time he gave it to the midfiled, they actually created something!

Xlex
23/01/2004, 1:58 PM
just one to play alongside Pip. Our best signing for years!!

yur absolutely right... And if Bary and Mc Govern keep the ball on the deck then we'd be creative....

23/01/2004, 2:04 PM
vinny is mid field, but if barry stops trying to score points in pearce park i'd be a lot happier

longfordjk
23/01/2004, 2:08 PM
Vinny has served us well, but time for sentiment is gone - we need a young-ish attacking midfielder to score GOALS!!!

23/01/2004, 2:11 PM
Originally posted by longfordjk
Have you guys not seen any games lately?????? We don't need 2 midfielders - just one to play alongside Pip. Our best signing for years!!
If you look at several other threads you'll see that Pip is rated by most on here...

See here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9551&perpage=15&pagenumber=1) :D

23/01/2004, 2:11 PM
we don't have a holding mid field player, vinny and tackle and do the simple things, pip is pushed off the ball too easily, but i do agree he was a good signing,

any sign of sheridan do be brought around the back of the stand and shot ???? hasbeen tried but he missed ( what a surprise there )

23/01/2004, 2:44 PM
A Murphy... supposed to be going to UCD He's a stiker isn't he? We could do some more options up-front. Where'd you hear this?

Xlex
23/01/2004, 2:48 PM
round town I hear... I certainly hope it happens.... he needs experiance...

23/01/2004, 2:49 PM
Is he any good?

Xlex
23/01/2004, 2:54 PM
an excellent prospect... and a season or two'sexperiance would have him ready for the town cause....

23/01/2004, 2:55 PM
I certainly hope it happens.... he needs experiance...
Only hope it happens if it's on loan. We'll never see him again if he leaves, despite his connections to the club.

23/01/2004, 2:57 PM
an excellent prospect... and a season or two's experiance would have him ready for the town cause.... Nice one, we're really short up front as it stands.

Xlex
23/01/2004, 3:07 PM
Only hope it happens if it's on loan. We'll never see him again if he leaves, despite his connections to the clubs.

the way I look at it is. He needs experiance, experiance we aren't likely to grant him. Now wheither or not he goes to the 1st division on loan is, IMO, largely irrelevent, what matters is that he doesn't leave the club feeling rejected or feeling aggrieved. If he understands the motives then we have to trust that he will answers Longford's call once again...

Gary maybe the same because the nature of it is that the pressure to always add to the points on the board and you have to send out your strongest 11 to do this. With the addition of Keego and Baker, in Adrians case, and the addition of a midfielder, we can hope, these Lads get squeesed further down the pecking order. Gary Cassin was in the same boat. In three years time we could have four local players in the side and this would be a blessing... in another three maybe more...

On Gary Cassin, If he is such the prospect we've been hearing about, two seasons in the first division may have granted him the experiance to fill diggers boots next year if his proposed retirement is carried out. But he's unlikely to do this because he's being sitting on the bench collecting horrible money....

sorbothegreek
23/01/2004, 5:51 PM
Where is or was the clarification on this deal?
The crowd on the Bohs message board dont seem to be aware of him moving...

techs
24/01/2004, 2:53 PM
Yeh, what's the story with Keegan, I know he's in talks with the club,but there has been no announcement yet..He is an admirer of the club so if a good deal would be sorted out I'd say he'd snap it up or is Matthews stalling seeing that Alan Murphy is back home after his trip to Aberdeen..A Rovers fan was telling me that Liam Kelly had gone back to them,thank god for that..He was a good player years ago with Shels & Pat's but I'm afraid he's not up to it now...

RockofGibraltar
24/01/2004, 11:06 PM
My friend is mates with young adrian murphy and to put it bluntly he said that he doesnt give a fu*k that he is not playin a lot of games for the seniors...he is just happy to be involved!.So i dont know what ye lads are talkin about, about him leavin the club feeling rejected or aggrieved cos thats not the story at all

26/01/2004, 7:45 AM
Originally posted by techs
A Rovers fan was telling me that Liam Kelly had gone back to them,thank god for that..He was a good player years ago with Shels & Pat's but I'm afraid he's not up to it now...
On half money he wasn't bad, and I thought he did okay when called upon.

Xlex
26/01/2004, 8:17 AM
Originally posted by sorbothegreek
Where is or was the clarification on this deal?
The crowd on the Bohs message board dont seem to be aware of him moving...

taking a step back and putting my head in the sand...

Xlex
26/01/2004, 8:21 AM
Originally posted by RockofGibraltar
My friend is mates with young adrian murphy and to put it bluntly he said that he doesnt give a fu*k that he is not playin a lot of games for the seniors...he is just happy to be involved!.So i dont know what ye lads are talkin about, about him leavin the club feeling rejected or aggrieved cos thats not the story at all

well, thank God for that... but in essence all I said was that I'd hope he doesn't feel fúcked about.... And it also doesn't say too much about the guy if he feels just happy to be involved. I think he should have played lots more games this season then he actually did...

sorbothegreek
03/02/2004, 5:08 PM
Could it be that Xlex has the inside link to beat all?:eek:

03/02/2004, 11:07 PM
looks like Xlex your source was right after all . Sorry for doubting you what can i say! And as player coach!:o

Xlex
04/02/2004, 8:30 AM
where did youse hear this... Player-coach... worth it...

BTW, it was Sinead's info...

05/02/2004, 9:02 AM
Well Alan Murphy has signed for Derry, so I suppose we can concentrate on midfield now..... Good to see we didn't break the bank to pay silly money for him. May he prove to be as good a snatch of us as Moran was.....

Xlex
05/02/2004, 9:26 AM
according to my sources, Alan is chasing a midfielder from England who is on the expensive side and he's hoping to get as good a deal for us as he can, but because of the quality around it's hard work landing them.

05/02/2004, 9:49 AM
according to my sources, Alan is chasing a midfielder from England who is on the expensive side and he's hoping to get as good a deal for us as he can, but because of the quality around it's hard work landing them.
Well good in one way, bad in another as it means no return of Stuey... :(

05/02/2004, 9:51 AM
macy, macy ,macy.... your a big boy now and you have to understand that its only a dream....its time to move on.

Xlex
05/02/2004, 11:08 AM
I'm not getting your hopes up, just cos I was right before....

techs
05/02/2004, 8:49 PM
Well Alan Murphy has signed for Derry, so I suppose we can concentrate on midfield now..... Good to see we didn't break the bank to pay silly money for him. May he prove to be as good a snatch of us as Moran was.....

From what I was told from a source close to Murphy,Alan Matthews never approached him,think Murphy's still waiting for that elusive phone call from Matthews..From this source I know that Murphy would have been interested in coming to us,he didn't care about the money,Longford was handy while he finished his degree and he could still keep his job in Galway..I know that Aaron made an enquiry about him last season(before he went to Athlone)..Think Murphy would have been out of place in Longford, seeing that Matthews is turning it into a Dublin side!!!Anyway according to Matthews why go after Murphy when he has Baker (keep hallicinating Alan)

06/02/2004, 7:38 AM
wht but francis when we have lavine ??? nuff said.

06/02/2004, 8:05 AM
Originally posted by techs
From what I was told from a source close to Murphy,Alan Matthews never approached him,think Murphy's still waiting for that elusive phone call from Matthews..From this source I know that Murphy would have been interested in coming to us,he didn't care about the money,Longford was handy while he finished his degree and he could still keep his job in Galway..I know that Aaron made an enquiry about him last season(before he went to Athlone)..Think Murphy would have been out of place in Longford, seeing that Matthews is turning it into a Dublin side!!!Anyway according to Matthews why go after Murphy when he has Baker (keep hallicinating Alan)
You're some muppet - the close season after our 2 most successful seasons ever and you implying that Matthews isn't up to it.

Don't know what your fúckin source is on, but the club spoke to Murphy, and his demands were €900 per week, 52 week contract. He wasn't willing to drop, so was told to do one.... Whether we talked to him when he came back from the trials I don't know, but we wouldn't/shouldn't have matched Derry's €700, 52 week contract for an unproven player.

Galway player, Dublin player doesn't matter to me. Like to see the locals making the breakthrough but only if they're good enough. Personally, I wouldn't like to see another overpaid Galway based player "training" on his own several times a week.

Why go after Murphy when we have kept Francis and Barrett (first choice), have brought in Keegan and Baker and still have young Murph. On top of that we can't offload hasbeen (nothing to do with Matthews, it was the committee's decision not to accept the money from Derry).

Xlex
06/02/2004, 8:36 AM
I second that, techs your full of **** and probably one of those who can't see anyone better than Kenny... Murphy was courted long enough and to say that that guy wasn't interested in money is beggers belief.

he didn't care about the money,Longford was handy while he finished his degree and he could still keep his job in Galway

I think this best implys what exactly what your prepared to put up with and it's not good enough in the interests of LTFC. I can count at least 5 and maybe 6 times Lavine wasn't fit enough to catch a cold. What make you think Murphy would be any different for €900 a week. A team that trains together will win more than the scatterings of team such as Derry. Matthews has brought us our two most successful seasons and I believe that 3rd is within our grasp, that would be big news. If we were more killer at home we'd bve a cracking side....

so whats your problem with Matthews...