View Full Version : If it's Monday - it must be European Draws Day...

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Infadel
22/06/2009, 12:44 PM
I see former Bohs player the Ukrainian/Latvian Pereplotkins [Open for correction on spelling] is on Skonto's squad

dynamo kerry
22/06/2009, 12:47 PM
If you understand any german this is a good read.

They referred to dalymount as "a bit mad" when compared to croke park. (where they initially thought the game would be on)
http://redbulls.com/soccer/salzburg/de/forum.html?showtopic=19915

22/06/2009, 12:47 PM
lads i missed the draws and stuff can someone provide a link?

pól-dcfc
22/06/2009, 12:48 PM
Bohs are not as good as people think, they have one player Jayo, if you can stop him, you stop them.

Corrected ;)

22/06/2009, 12:48 PM
I see former Bohs player the Ukrainian/Latvian Pereplotkins [Open for correction on spelling]
So is he, considering he changed it from Pereplyotkin when he decided he was Latvian!

Duggie
22/06/2009, 12:49 PM
my prediction

bohs to get knocked out over 2 legs.
pats...with quigley out now, i can see them going out. could be most disappointing.
sligo rovers - hard to tell. very small squad, not to hopefull here.
derry city - best hope i reckon. derry to go through there.

hope im wrong on 3 of these.

TheBoss
22/06/2009, 12:52 PM
Corrected ;)

Do you have something about against Bohs, maybe Fenlon ;)

Fester
22/06/2009, 12:52 PM
lads i missed the draws and stuff can someone provide a link?

Chap league http://www.uefa.com/live/competitions/ucl/draw/2010.qr1-2/draw_basic.html

Europa: http://www.uefa.com/live/competitions/uefacup/draw/2010.qr1-2/draw_basic.html

Infadel
22/06/2009, 12:56 PM
So is he, considering he changed it from Pereplyotkin when he decided he was Latvian!
Its actually his name translated from Ukrainian to Latvian although it has Russian letters in it. I assume he got Latvian citizenship because he was playing over there for a few years now.

pól-dcfc
22/06/2009, 12:58 PM
Do you have something about against Bohs, maybe Fenlon ;)

Not at all!

http://www.slowfoodusa.org/images/ark_products/ark-prod-meyer_lemon.jpg

Nah I just don't think they'll get through against decent Austrian team. I still think they are gonna have to cut their squad drastically this window, so I don't think they'll be good enough.

TheBoss
22/06/2009, 1:05 PM
Time will tell young man, time will tell.

Inside Man
22/06/2009, 1:08 PM
Very hard draw for Bohs. When i looked at it before the draw was made i singled out Salzburg as the worst possible draw.

Rovers have got a tough one. Albania. Into the unknown here, they have a big staduim anyway which shows they cant be all that bad in fairness.
Second round if we get through would be impossible. Rapid Vienna, running away with the Austrian league. Maybe a bit of a glamour tie and we'll pack the showgies for it and get a bit of cash(if we go through that is). If we can get our squad together we have a chance. There will be a bit of pressure on us to bring something to Albania for the second leg.

As for the Pats and Derry games, if either of them were to be knocked out they would have to be very dissapointed. Big chance for both of these to bring up our co-effs.

22/06/2009, 1:16 PM
Derry lads should love Riga. I know we did. We played in the stadium too.

We contacted a Bar over there called Stella Bars and they arranged for us to get 20% off all food/drink (they gave you a little card ans swiped it at till)

If anyone wants any info PM me.

On our draw, I suppose we have to be happy trip wise, considering it could've been Azerbaijan. More than likely Iceland but flights are expensive. On the flip side the recession may help us over there

MeathDrog
22/06/2009, 1:23 PM
Can someone please give me a list of the Irish team's draws? Thanks.

Dalymountrower
22/06/2009, 1:29 PM
lets all laugh with boez

Absolutely D24 thanks for the good wishes. Aer Lingus to Munich, train to Saltzburg, all-in for under 200 Euro return!!!

Am happy enough with the draw, no -ones giving us a chance so will be all the sweeter if we can get through.

Best of luck to all LOI teams playing international opponents in competitive matches this summer.

22/06/2009, 1:31 PM
Best to luck to all LOI teams playing international opponents in competitive matches this summer.

I'd echo that sentiment, with the obvious proviso that I'll also revel in your discomfort if you get annihilated. :cool:

Dalymountrower
22/06/2009, 1:46 PM
I'd echo that sentiment, with the obvious proviso that I'll also revel in your discomfort if you get annihilated. :cool:

Spoken like a true Finn Hoop:D

22/06/2009, 1:52 PM
I was applying that to all teams, not just Bohs. And it would certainly extend to Rovers if they were in Europe too.

22/06/2009, 1:54 PM

For me, thats what is beautiful about this league.

HarpoJoyce
22/06/2009, 2:00 PM
Absolutely D24 thanks for the good wishes. Aer Lingus to Munich, train to Saltzburg, all-in for under 200 Euro return!!!

Am happy enough with the draw, no -ones giving us a chance so will be all the sweeter if we can get through.

Best of luck to all LOI teams playing international opponents in competitive matches this summer.

I'll offer you best wishes.

Small Europa League draw manipulation:
Anyone who waited 'til the bitter end of the draw would have been kept waiting as Slavija of BiH and Winners of match 19 were the last two teams awaiting confirmation to play each other.
What happened was that the screen changed and Sarajevo (BiH), who were drawn versus AaB, went back in the pot and Slavija replaced Sarajevo. Also Steau went back into the pot and were matched with Ujpest. I dont know who Ujpest had already.

Without confirming it, I believe the two Bosnian clubs and Ujpest Dozsa were on the borderline of the seeding and with the likes of Rosenborg in the 1stRd.q., the three former clubs were pushed down below the line. As anticipated by a number of posters on this website and that other chappie in the Rhienland.

soccerc
22/06/2009, 2:51 PM
Derry lads should love Riga. I know we did. We played in the stadium too.

We contacted a Bar over there called Stella Bars and they arranged for us to get 20% off all food/drink (they gave you a little card ans swiped it at till)

If anyone wants any info PM me.

Stella bars are gone, we drank them dry and they went bust the following week.

Riga is apparently not doing too well economically and many tourist spots have closed in recent weeks.

A few lads were there recently for a stag and found it almost deserted but still great value.

22/06/2009, 3:14 PM
More than likely Iceland but flights are expensive. On the flip side the recession may help us over there

Iceland is amazing, if you can afford it, definitely go.

Was very expensive when we were there but well worth it. make sure ye take a trip to the Blue Lagoon.

Valur were very poor when we played them 2 years ago, and they won the league the year after.

Definitely a winnable tie, depending on which Pats team turns up.

Best of luck to all the teams

The Betting Man
22/06/2009, 3:15 PM
Booked my flights,fly to London Monday night,stay in the airport and catch the 6.30 am flight to Salzburg,stay there for 2 days and head back the same way on Thursday morning,cost around €200

robbieos88
22/06/2009, 3:18 PM
Really hoping we get the Maltese team instead of the Iceland. Cheaper and easier to get to

22/06/2009, 3:41 PM
Nice exclusion there!

I'm sorry, my mistake. :o

Good luck too, to Salzburg, even if they probably won't need it. :)

22/06/2009, 4:18 PM
It's the guts of €300 to Riga. Direct flights from Ireland are up around €500. Not fantastic really.

22/06/2009, 4:40 PM
Pats have a great chance if they can get their act together for Europe.

Derry will find it tougher i think. 50/50 tie i reckon, hard to call.

Rovers shouyld progress beyond the first round. Away leg will be really tough.

Bohs have it all to do. :(

Good luck to all.

22/06/2009, 5:45 PM
It's the guts of €300 to Riga. Direct flights from Ireland are up around €500. Not fantastic really.Try via Hamburg/Dusseldorf with Aer Lingus and Air Baltic. I got booked for about €260. more than I expected to pay for Riga, but it could've been much worse.

22/06/2009, 6:00 PM
It's the guts of €300 to Riga. Direct flights from Ireland are up around €500. Not fantastic really.

I went last year via Stanstead. Mightn't be handy for the Derry lads but Dublin to Stanstead flights nearly always cheap

22/06/2009, 6:01 PM
I'm surprised that some people on here are expecting Derry to go through.

Last year, Pats won 3-0 against JFK Olimps, who were no big shakes in Latvian terms, and Bohs went out 2-2 to the team that finished fourth (or sixth, depending which table you look at).

I think the Latvian teams are a bit stronger than people may think.

pól-dcfc
22/06/2009, 6:14 PM

Last year, Pats won 3-0 against JFK Olimps, who were no big shakes in Latvian terms, and Bohs went out 2-2 to the team that finished fourth (or sixth, depending which table you look at).

But if youlook at the teams Skonto have went out to in Europe over the past few years, they are no better than Derry. I don't think we should go an fear the team tht finished 3rd in the Latvian league. We should be confident.

22/06/2009, 6:17 PM

Last year, Pats won 3-0 against JFK Olimps, who were no big shakes in Latvian terms,

Are you criticising pats for only winning 3-0 on agg and winning both legs?

Pats were comfortbale throughout both legs and but for better finishing could've had 3/4 in each game. Now obviously Skonto are a step up from that but there's a reason why Derry are seeded above them

22/06/2009, 6:32 PM
Whatchoo talkin' about, superfrank? I expect Derry to go through, although it won't be an earth-shattering shock if they don't. No-one's saying they're going to walk it.

22/06/2009, 6:46 PM
Really dont know what to expect from us tbh. It's entering into the unknown with this opposition. In fact, I wouldn't be confident at all. Depends on what sort of result we can get at home first.

green army
22/06/2009, 7:49 PM
for the derry fans, i would recommend staying in the albert hotel. the ground is around the corner. (we could see the ground out our window). great hotel thats dirt cheap.would stay away from the irish pub (thinks its mc carthys).

hopefully pats get through. did cork fans stay in the capital (cant spell it) when yis went to iceland.

22/06/2009, 8:47 PM
Are you criticising pats for only winning 3-0 on agg and winning both legs?
No, I was suggesting that JFK Olimps are not the cream of Latvian football, as indicated by their league position in 2008. 10 out of 10 and then bottom of the relegation group. They only stayed up because the promoted teams witdrew from the league.

http://www.rsssf.com/tablesl/let08.html

22/06/2009, 10:12 PM
No, I was suggesting that JFK Olimps are not the cream of Latvian football, as indicated by their league position in 2008. 10 out of 10 and then bottom of the relegation group. They only stayed up because the promoted teams witdrew from the league.

But why bring them into your argument at all then?

brianw82
22/06/2009, 10:45 PM
But why bring them into your argument at all then?

I think what he means is that people are expecting Derry to have an easy game because Pats disposed of Latvian opposition fairly easily last season, but that team seemed to be on the way down at the time.

22/06/2009, 11:17 PM

its quite reassuring to see that the problems of some leagues - such as the illustrious Latvian example above - rival our own...

nice one :o

pól-dcfc
23/06/2009, 12:20 AM
its quite reassuring to see that the problems of some leagues - such as the illustrious Latvian example above - rival our own...

nice one :o

Isn't there something mental that happened that season? Like all the big clubs in the top flight have some sort of federation that bribes and intimidates the clubs in the division below? Or is that a different league?

TheBoss
23/06/2009, 12:21 AM
I think that was Poland ?

pól-dcfc
23/06/2009, 12:25 AM
I think that was Poland ?

Quite very possible. :o

Colbert Report
23/06/2009, 6:10 AM
I'm too lazy to read through this thread, can someone please post a list of fixtures complete with dates, cheers.

Candystripe
23/06/2009, 6:24 AM
I'm too lazy to read through this thread, can someone please post a list of fixtures complete with dates, cheers.

CL.

Bohs V TNS (Wales) Winners play Barcelona AFC.

Sligo or Falkirk V Fulham.

St Pats V PSV Eindhoven (Pats away 1st leg)

Derry V Linfield( Linfield hoe game to be played in Glasgow as Windsor Pk under redevelopment).

http://www.uefa.com/DRAWFORpeoplewhocan'tbebotheredlookingfortherealdr aw

23/06/2009, 8:44 AM
Isn't there something mental that happened that season? Like all the big clubs in the top flight have some sort of federation that bribes and intimidates the clubs in the division below? Or is that a different league?
Was that Lithuania? A couple of the bigger teams pulled out of the Lithuanian league because (in part) they weren't allowed pick referees for their own matches.

There's an ongoing corruption investigation in Poland; one team who finished fifth this year are going to be relegated no matter what, and the second division champions are involved in a legal battle too. Boavista in Portugal were relegated to the second division for bribery and have just been relegated to the third division; they may well go bankrupt. There's lots of messing around Europe. Even in Albania, there's about 15 managerial changes a year in a 12-team league.

23/06/2009, 9:37 AM
Tough for Bohs - but it will be a good game to see the true level of the LOI, to see if the league has progressed at all. Will be a close tie

Sligo have a tough one too, and I dont think they will do it, esp as the second leg is away.

But great draws for Derry and St Pats. Latvian league football is pants, and Pats should beat a team from iceland/malta

anyone know the dates of the games?

also wonder what ye guys reckon would be the cheapest away game to see - as I might chance some this year:)

23/06/2009, 9:42 AM
CL.

Bohs V TNS (Wales) Winners play Barcelona AFC.

I'd fancy us to beat TNS TBH.

Barcelona will be a tough place to go to. But their defence is in transition and we might get something from the game.

(I've always wanted to write that.)

1895ringsend
23/06/2009, 9:45 AM
I,m actually in salzburg at the moment. My girlfriend is from the city and we,re back visiting her parents so it was fairly funny for me when the draw was made. Basically from listening to the media and locals here they reckon their gonna steam roll all over bohs. Their not giving them a prayer and the papers this morning are very dismissive and have been going on about the poor record of irish clubs in europe. Irish minnows is being used a far bit!! Bohs máy catch this lot on the hop.

I,ve been coming to austria for years with my better half so i,ve been to loads of matches here. I know a lot about austrian football. Rapid and graz have been in the champions league and Austria Vienna, salzburg and rapid have all been in european finals. The standard is very good and the austrian league would be the league we,d all love the LOI to be. stadiums are of excellent quality and the crowds are quite big. Since the redbull franchise took over salzburg have had gates of nearly 20,000 for all league games thats nearly double what they used top get.

the old SV salzburg are back in the 4th tier having been prommoted 3 times in the last 3 years. Their fans will defo be up for bohs i,d imagine. Footballwise the redbul shower isolated the citys real football fans so expect a real prawn sandwich brigade when you visit them. I went to see salzburg a few times last season and was never really that impressed with them considering the money they,ve spent. Saw them get a hiding off Rapid so i,d give bohs a decent chance.

23/06/2009, 9:46 AM
Barcelona will be a tough place to go to. But their defence is in transition and we might get something from the game.

It's only Barca AFC though - they're rubbish.

Infadel
23/06/2009, 9:47 AM
Was that Lithuania? A couple of the bigger teams pulled out of the Lithuanian league because (in part) they weren't allowed pick referees for their own matches.

There's an ongoing corruption investigation in Poland; one team who finished fifth this year are going to be relegated no matter what, and the second division champions are involved in a legal battle too. Boavista in Portugal were relegated to the second division for bribery and have just been relegated to the third division; they may well go bankrupt. There's lots of messing around Europe. Even in Albania, there's about 15 managerial changes a year in a 12-team league.
That would be Kaunas and I think Atlanas in Lithuania but Kaunas were in the draw yesterday for the Europa league