View Full Version : Limerick Division 2A 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

francesco_1
04/09/2009, 9:37 AM
jesus easy easy i actually agreed with something you said:eek: did ray massey leave ye if he did he's a big loss!

Ray signed with Hill celtic, he is playing very well he scored a goal a game so far 4 from 4.

AllBalls
04/09/2009, 12:31 PM
Were all games off last night? are they on Saturday? Lookin for A good game to watch in 2A. I think Knocklong and Athlunkard are on, can anyone let me know if this is OFF.

AllBalls
04/09/2009, 12:33 PM
I see by the last post knocklong won1 and drew 1, did they play the game v st. Pats?

12 Inf Bn
04/09/2009, 2:51 PM
[QUOTE=mundener;1224910]

well said think your spot on there,when your playing bad and winning when you shouldn't have,rather to when your playing well and dont win!just as an example we played corbally last sat we drew 2-2 when on the day we missed aload of chances and could have won comfortable on another day,but we didnt get that bit of luck and dropped 2 pts!and then conlish missing players against corbally on tues and by all accounts they scrapped a win and gained 3 pts,there the games come end of the season that can win or lose you the league!there is a long season and im sure for alot of teams there luck will change!
well dkid, yeah consistency and a bit of luck will have a team there or there abouts come the business time of the season, we had our share of luck against corbally on tuesday, {but knowing we were missing 6 1st teamer's we had to play it smart} but we also set out with a game plan. they tried to break us down and they couldnt,and we hit em on the break, corbally had there chances and didnt take em, we could have scored 2 more but thankfully the 1 was enough. im not going to come on here and say we're cert's for the league or any of that rubbish! but id like to think that we would be somewhere in the mix come the end of the season

briancool21
05/09/2009, 7:27 PM
Caherconlish 4-4 Castle Rovers......We were 3-1 up at one stage but we threw the game away defence was pretty poor gave some sloppy goals went 4-3 down in the second half..Scored with the last kick of the game a free from the sideline that went all the way through we escaped luckily with a point. We'l have to buck up with tougher games than this to come

bigdick
05/09/2009, 8:03 PM
Results
HOLYCROSS w/o KENNEDY PARK
CASTLE ROVERS 4 4 CAHERCONLISH
HERBERTSTOWN 1 4 CORBALLY
KILFINANE 1 0 AISLING

Missing Results
ATHLUNKARD v KNOCKLONG
ST PATS v SHELBOURNE

mundener
05/09/2009, 9:16 PM
Results
HOLYCROSS w/o KENNEDY PARK
CASTLE ROVERS 4 4 CAHERCONLISH
HERBERTSTOWN 1 4 CORBALLY
KILFINANE 1 0 AISLING

Missing Results
ATHLUNKARD v KNOCKLONG
ST PATS v SHELBOURNE

knocklong 3 -1 athlunkard

very disapointed not to come away with something here....... but thats how it goes. 1 -1 at ht thought we were on the front foot in the 2nd half pushing for a winner then comes a sucker punch.... a goal from our corner, no 9 ran from inside his own half rounded the keeper and from and imposible angle puts it in the top corner( a cracker )........ knocklong play great football and in the last 5 mins we pushed for a draw but got caught out. great game v tight..... we can only leave knocklong saying if only!!

3 Heroes
05/09/2009, 9:40 PM
Shelbourne 2 - 3 St. Pats, played in Shelbourne Park

TopperHarley
05/09/2009, 10:16 PM
Shelbourne 2 - 3 St. Pats, played in Shelbourne Park
------------------------------------------------------------
Kp couldnt get a team together for 2nite things are lookin bad

mundener
06/09/2009, 7:21 AM
------------------------------------------------------------
Kp couldnt get a team together for 2nite things are lookin bad

why was that ? I hope they had good reasons...... what a disapointment for you.

Easy Easy
06/09/2009, 10:04 AM
why was that ? I hope they had good reasons...... what a disapointment for you.
-------------------------------------------------------
Our pitch was flooded so it was switched to holycross we only had 11 for the home game and with the switch 3 lads couldnt get out from work in time,only had 8 so had to give the walkover,looks like results went our way so we got a bita luck

bigdick
06/09/2009, 10:12 AM
Up to date

Team P W D L F A GD Pts

CAHERCONLISH 5 3 2 0 17 8 9 11
ATHLUNKARD 5 3 0 2 12 7 5 9
KILFINANE 4 2 2 0 8 6 2 8
KNOCKLONG 3 2 1 0 9 5 4 7
AISLING 5 2 1 2 12 9 3 7
HOLYCROSS 5 2 1 2 5 7 -2 7
KENNEDY PARK 5 1 2 2 5 6 -1 5
CORBALLY 4 1 1 2 6 5 1 4
ST PATS 3 1 1 1 3 5 -2 4
CASTLE ROVERS 5 1 1 3 11 14 -3 4
SHELBOURNE 4 1 0 3 4 14 -10 3
HERBERTSTOWN 2 0 0 2 2 8 -6 0

Super Rovers
06/09/2009, 9:50 PM
Caherconlish 4-4 Castle Rovers......We were 3-1 up at one stage but we threw the game away defence was pretty poor gave some sloppy goals went 4-3 down in the second half..Scored with the last kick of the game a free from the sideline that went all the way through we escaped luckily with a point. We'l have to buck up with tougher games than this to come

no disrespect meant here brian but when i payed against ye (with shelbourne) i thought yere defence looked very vunlerable. dont get me wrong ye have some very good players going forward but in defence i thought ye coughed up a few chances a bit easily for us even though we were missing numbers. ye will really need to strenghten there be it on the training ground or with new players if ye want to continue progressing through the leagues.

all the best for the season ahead aswell

fire away
07/09/2009, 9:55 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We were missing Jason Flanagan(left back)Stephen Rooney(Centre back)Evan Mcnamra(left wing)Jeff Williams(forward)
We had our forward at left back and midfielder center back vs ye so getting the lads back for saturday will hopefully make us stronger especially the defence
is flanagan still knocking about at left back think he is past it at this stage. :eek:

Dkid
07/09/2009, 9:56 AM
killfinan1-0 aisling conceded a freekick with a few mins to go from 30yards out and a great strike by the big lad of killfinane there only shot on target in the whole game,we felt we should have won the game missing a load of chances there keeper made some brillant saves especially 1 even when they scored we were denied a stone wall peno center half took our striker out,killfinane are the best side we've played so far some lovely footballers,i fancy them to be in the top 3, must say enjoyed some of there finest black stuff in o'hurleys pub after the game!

fire away
07/09/2009, 10:00 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We were missing Jason Flanagan(left back)Stephen Rooney(Centre back)Evan Mcnamra(left wing)Jeff Williams(forward)
We had our forward at left back and midfielder center back vs ye so getting the lads back for saturday will hopefully make us stronger especially the defence
think rooney is highly overrated his center half parter flanagan jr is far better and makes rooney look good imo.

TopperHarley
07/09/2009, 10:12 AM
think rooney is highly overrated his center half parter flanagan jr is far better and makes rooney look good imo.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Is that you Flangan Jr???:p:p:p
The player of the year will not be happy with that comment!!!

fire away
07/09/2009, 10:28 AM
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Is that you Flangan Jr???:p:p:p
The player of the year will not be happy with that comment!!!
everybody on the team has to win it once keeps everybody happy...

Fairkop
07/09/2009, 2:28 PM
no disrespect meant here brian but when i payed against ye (with shelbourne) i thought yere defence looked very vunlerable. dont get me wrong ye have some very good players going forward but in defence i thought ye coughed up a few chances a bit easily for us even though we were missing numbers. ye will really need to strenghten there be it on the training ground or with new players if ye want to continue progressing through the leagues.

would agree,i saw caherconlish v corbally and the defence were poor enough,having said that i also saw them last season and they looked rock solid but only recognised one of that back four playing v corbally.

briancool21
07/09/2009, 2:45 PM
Defence has changed a bit alright this year with aiden ryan leaving us and our captain was injured vs Castle but ya i totally agree we need to be better as the season goes on

12 Inf Bn
07/09/2009, 6:02 PM

not being funny but to be told our back line looks 'vunlerable' by a team we whacked 7-1 is abit irish,granted we havnt been firing on all cylinders at the bk but thats down to losing a great centre half from last season,and then our captain missed a game thru injury. with the 4-4 draw with castle 2 goals were scored from a free kick and a long range strike, that defence has seen us go from 3b to 2a,shutting out a few premier teams along the way,id be worried about your own house b4 you start worrying about ours pal.

mogus
07/09/2009, 6:04 PM
has anyone got fixtures for wknd. heard FAI draw comin up soon. anybody fancy causin an upset.

mogus
07/09/2009, 6:16 PM
not being funny but to be told our back line looks 'vunlerable' by a team we whacked 7-1 is abit irish,granted we havnt been firing on all cylinders at the bk but thats down to losing a great centre half from last season,and then our captain missed a game thru injury. with the 4-4 draw with castle 2 goals were scored from a free kick and a long range strike, that defence has seen us go from 3b to 2a,shutting out a few premier teams along the way,id be worried about your own house b4 you start worrying about ours pal.

sounds to me that your place is under threat:):):) and that seven one was against nine men if im not mistaken

20legend
08/09/2009, 10:59 AM
is flanagan still knocking about at left back think he is past it at this stage. :eek:

he is still knocking about and i'm just after hearing from some one involved with another club that he could be getting a transfer from kp along with one r two other's...ane one from kp want to shed light on this r ye loosing more player's this early on in the season????

pedigree
08/09/2009, 11:09 AM
-------------------------------------------------------
Our pitch was flooded so it was switched to holycross we only had 11 for the home game and with the switch 3 lads couldnt get out from work in time,only had 8 so had to give the walkover,looks like results went our way so we got a bita luck
thats no reason to give a walkover.cant you start a game with 8 players.and the 3 lads that couldn't make it in time.surely they could have followed us out and came on to bring the team back to 11 rather than laying down and giving up.who knows maybe when we got out there the match could have been called off if the ref thought the pitch wasn't playable.a stupid 3 points to just give away.as far as the the transfer rumours go i'd just say someone is just trying to stir things up.

20legend
08/09/2009, 11:42 AM
thats no reason to give a walkover.cant you start a game with 8 players.and the 3 lads that couldn't make it in time.surely they could have followed us out and came on to bring the team back to 11 rather than laying down and giving up.who knows maybe when we got out there the match could have been called off if the ref thought the pitch wasn't playable.a stupid 3 points to just give away.as far as the the transfer rumours go i'd just say someone is just trying to stir things up.

i have to agree with you that was a stupid way to lose 3 point's.whatever about playing poorly & losing,but to hand over the point's it's a disgrace.

pedigree
08/09/2009, 12:26 PM
i have to agree with you that was a stupid way to lose 3 point's.whatever about playing poorly & losing,but to hand over the point's it's a disgrace.
ya you could put up with playing poorly and losing but just to hand the points over is a shambles.

the snake
08/09/2009, 12:33 PM
ya you could put up with playing poorly and losing but just to hand the points over is a shambles.
Seems like things have gone down hill for kennedy park since colin left

howsheref
08/09/2009, 2:53 PM
Seems like things have gone down hill for kennedy park since colin left
thanks for the mention snake(J.R).you seem to like to mention me in a couple of your posts.just trying to stir the s**t i take it.KP have enough good lads up there and im sure they'l come good.work commitments and evening matches look to be catching em out but im sure once the evening matches are over the lads will pull together and have a good season.best of luck to them and you.

12 Inf Bn
08/09/2009, 4:03 PM
sounds to me that your place is under threat:):):) and that seven one was against nine men if im not mistaken
id be worried if my place was'nt under threat,there should be competition for places for decent teams. as for your 9 men comment, you play whats in front of you and if a team just down from 1b cant field 11 players then thats their hard luck story,teams play and fight that bit harder when their down 9 or 10 players.

fire away
08/09/2009, 7:05 PM
lads i hope kp can get it together they are a good side and always seem to be there
challaging for some sort of silverware every season....

howsheref
08/09/2009, 7:19 PM
lads i hope kp can get it together they are a good side and always seem to be there
challaging for some sort of silverware every season....
its early days yet pal im sure after the evening games things will come good for ye.

mogus
08/09/2009, 10:37 PM
id be worried if my place was'nt under threat,there should be competition for places for decent teams. as for your 9 men comment, you play whats in front of you and if a team just down from 1b cant field 11 players then thats their hard luck story,teams play and fight that bit harder when their down 9 or 10 players.
must have hit a sore point:cool:

Super Rovers
10/09/2009, 11:59 AM

ha ha. if you cant take constructive criticism then you shouldn't be playing sports of any kind. well personally i thought yere defence was very poor against us. a team with 9 men having at least 5 good chances in the first half is fairly poor defending in my opinion. ya i know our own house isn't in the best of order but at least we are willing to admit whats wrong and trying to rectify that. you on the other hand have decided that yere defence is one of the best in the league cause it took ye up from 3A. dont be ridiculous. every team needs new blood to freshen things up and to keep players on their toes.

12 Inf Bn
10/09/2009, 4:45 PM
ha ha. if you cant take constructive criticism then you shouldn't be playing sports of any kind. well personally i thought yere defence was very poor against us. a team with 9 men having at least 5 good chances in the first half is fairly poor defending in my opinion. ya i know our own house isn't in the best of order but at least we are willing to admit whats wrong and trying to rectify that. you on the other hand have decided that yere defence is one of the best in the league cause it took ye up from 3A. dont be ridiculous. every team needs new blood to freshen things up and to keep players on their toes.
ive no problem taking c.criticism,once they have a clue which it seems you dont, who ever made you all knowing shouldnt be upset if i dont accept your pearls of wisdom! no body said we had that best defence in the league but u? and i personally think that ye should spend less time on this thread and more time trying to field a full team

Dkid
10/09/2009, 6:50 PM
well lads whats anyone predictions for this weekend!

aisling vs holycross 1
shelbourne vs athlunkard 2
caherconlish vs killfinane x
corbally vs st pats 1
herbertstown vs castle 2

caherconlish and killfinane should be a tough match could be a few goals in that one,dont know much about holycross i fancy us to win at home,corbally are a hard team to beat on that disater of a pitch!herberstown and shelbourne would want to start getting a team together soon otherwise it will be a long season for them!pitty on shels always had good teams through the years now they can barely get a team!

briancool21
10/09/2009, 8:37 PM
Ehhh lads don't be fighting like theres no point like over something stupid yeah both sides have there problems like lets just leave it at that like. My predictions are

aisling vs holycross Home win
shelbourne vs athlunkard away win
caherconlish vs killfinane home win
corbally vs st pats draw
herbertstown vs castle Castle win

Don't know much bout kilfinane but from the results they don't seem to concede many so should be a good test for our poor defence haha

Easy Easy
10/09/2009, 9:59 PM
caherconlish vs killfinane Draw
corbally vs st pats draw
herbertstown vs castle Draw

bigdick
11/09/2009, 7:23 AM
Result from last night
St Pats 0 Herbertstown 0

12 Inf Bn
11/09/2009, 9:44 AM
caherconlish vs killfinane Draw
corbally vs st pats draw
herbertstown vs castle Draw
i'll take corbally for a home win and castle to take 3 points away, caherconlish for the win and athlunkard to run up a score

3 Heroes
11/09/2009, 8:47 PM

How's London kid?

Super Rovers
12/09/2009, 9:38 AM
How's London kid?

unreal. wont be back for about a month though. i have a watchful eye on things over here though ha ha

12 Inf Bn
12/09/2009, 8:18 PM
Caherconlish 2-1 kilfiane, hard fought win for us. great opening strike from our striker and should have finished off a few more, 2nd half kilfinane pressed us and had their chances before scoring an goal we thought to be offside in the last 10 mins, we came back strong and got our rewards with the winner. stong team with some handy players,expect teams to find it tough out there.

mundener
12/09/2009, 8:35 PM
Shels 1 - 4 Athlunkard.

3 Heroes
12/09/2009, 8:35 PM
Shelbourne 1 - 4 Athunkard Villa, no complaints about the scoreline, the referee was baffling at times though

mogus
13/09/2009, 12:55 AM
Shelbourne 1 - 4 Athunkard Villa, no complaints about the scoreline, the referee was baffling at times though
not a bad shelbourne team they will come good. think the small pitch helped them a bit but score line probably bout right.defence done well for us all game. lets hope weather keeps up for next few weeks bout time.

briancool21
14/09/2009, 3:37 PM
Laugh of the week has to go to kilfinane who upon equalising with 5 mins to go celebrated like they'd won the league and then what happens oops there own player hoofs the ball into the top corner with near enough last kick of game

bigdick
15/09/2009, 7:46 PM
Results tonight
HERBERTSTOWN 0 3 KNOCKLONG
CORBALLY 3 4 KILFINANE

League table including above
CAHERCONLISH 6 4 2 0 19 9 10 14
ATHLUNKARD 6 4 0 2 16 8 8 12
KILFINANE 6 3 2 1 13 11 2 11
KNOCKLONG 4 3 1 0 12 5 7 10
AISLING 6 3 1 2 17 12 5 10
CORBALLY 6 2 1 3 10 9 1 7
CASTLE ROVERS 6 2 1 3 14 14 0 7
HOLYCROSS 6 2 1 3 8 12 -4 7
ST PATS 5 1 2 2 3 6 -3 5
SHELBOURNE 5 1 0 4 5 18 -13 3
HERBERTSTOWN 5 0 1 4 2 14 -12 1

12 Inf Bn
16/09/2009, 9:58 AM
Results tonight
HERBERTSTOWN 0 3 KNOCKLONG
CORBALLY 3 4 KILFINANE

League table including above
CAHERCONLISH 6 4 2 0 19 9 10 14
ATHLUNKARD 6 4 0 2 16 8 8 12
KILFINANE 6 3 2 1 13 11 2 11
KNOCKLONG 4 3 1 0 12 5 7 10
AISLING 6 3 1 2 17 12 5 10
CORBALLY 6 2 1 3 10 9 1 7
CASTLE ROVERS 6 2 1 3 14 14 0 7
HOLYCROSS 6 2 1 3 8 12 -4 7
ST PATS 5 1 2 2 3 6 -3 5
SHELBOURNE 5 1 0 4 5 18 -13 3
HERBERTSTOWN 5 0 1 4 2 14 -12 1 was at the corbally match last nite but left with 20 mins to go,corbally were winning 2-1 and playing some great stuff while kilfinane were in a bad state. fair play for the come bk

AllBalls
16/09/2009, 1:19 PM
Table shown above is wrong, Knocklong played 5 and won 4 drew1

Table as below:

Team Played won draw lost + - G/D PTS
Caherconlish 6 4 2 0 19 9 10 14
Knocklong 5 4 1 0 16 5 11 13
athlunkard 6 4 0 2 16 8 8 12
Kilfinan 6 3 2 1 13 11 2 11
Ashling UL 6 3 1 2 17 12 5 10
Holycross 6 2 1 3 8 12 -4 7
Castle rovers 6 2 1 3 14 14 0 7