View Full Version : Bohs Away
MMVIII
18/06/2009, 3:44 PM
Suprised there's no thread about this already.
Anyways, really looking forward to this one. Should be a good crowd of us there with two buses going up. Should be plenty of us getting behind the Bit O' Red. Been a while since we won up here. If we won tomorrow night twud make it a truly magical week for any Rovers fan. My heart says 1-0 Rovers. :D
brianw82
18/06/2009, 3:48 PM
2 buses? That's pretty cool.
My heart says 1-0 too, but my head says 0-2. :(
I take it everyone will be in the far stand getting blinded by the evening sun?
18/06/2009, 3:54 PM
I take it everyone will be in the far stand getting blinded by the evening sun?
I'd say we'll be in the Jodi, to the right, hopefully!! Don't wanna go in that ****ty roofless stand.
18/06/2009, 4:02 PM
I can't update SR.com so:
Peers, Parkhouse and Holmes injured. Ryan and Noctor suspended. Boco on international duty.
Thanks Rory. Seriously threadbare all over the park for this. A draw would be a great result after the efforts on Tuesday. Great news to hear a couple of buses coming up from Sligo. Long may that continue.
By the way, isn't it 20 bucks into the Jodi Stand?
18/06/2009, 4:37 PM
We'll lose by at least 3 goals.
18/06/2009, 4:40 PM
I can't see us getting anything. But you never know.
I know it doesn't look good but Bohs definitely are not the team they were last season. We're probably gone backwards as well but anything's possible with this team.
MMVIII
18/06/2009, 4:52 PM
By the way, isn't it 20 bucks into the Jodi Stand?
Says on the Bohs website, admission is €15 for Adults, Students €10 and OAP/Kids €5.
Were categorized as a category B match so we'll be in the Jodi afaik.
hoop4life
18/06/2009, 8:31 PM
lads,
two questions and i know they're kind of off topic but this will be the most up to date thread. any responses will be greatly appreciated.
1. whats the story with eoin torphy recently, how come hes not playing??
2. where is yeats uniteds ground and what is it like?? that is where we are playing ye in the a league on saturday
cheers
18/06/2009, 9:30 PM
2. where is yeats uniteds ground and what is it like?? that is where we are playing ye in the a league on saturday
cheers1. Torpey had personal issues. He'll be starting in Dalymount tomorrow.
2. I know Aertel says Yeats United ground which is out past Drumcliffe but it was announced the other night that it's in Merville's ground at 2pm. Merville is across the road from the Showgies.
sligored
18/06/2009, 9:58 PM
1. Torpey had personal issues. He'll be starting in Dalymount tomorrow.
2. I know Aertel says Yeats United ground which is out past Drumcliffe but it was announced the other night that it's in Merville's ground at 2pm. Merville is across the road from the Showgies.
i think they said that the ladies first game v castlebar is to be played in merville on sunday. i never heard them mention an A game
18/06/2009, 10:03 PM
i think they said that the ladies first game v castlebar is to be played in merville on sunday. i never heard them mention an A gameThat's what I had thought but others said it was A team game. Must be the ladies one so.
sligored
18/06/2009, 10:04 PM
yeats uniteds pitch is in carney. through sligo heading for donegal for 5 miles and take the left turn 200 metres after the yeats tavern. continue for 1 mile and the pitch is behind the shop in the village on the right hand side and is clearly visible from the road.
Hope all is well in castlebar , and that mayo can beat the rossies on saturday(i will probably get stoned at the next match in the showgies for referring to the taboo that is gah).
i see we are 12/1 with betfair to beat bohs tomorrow night, that has to be worth a tenner.
LondonRover
19/06/2009, 8:27 AM
Slighly off topic (although at least Bohs related) - has the date for the League Cup semi final been set yet does anybody know?I know that it's for the beginning of the first week in August but have they decided which day yet?
Jeebus
19/06/2009, 8:31 AM
Slighly off topic (although at least Bohs related) - has the date for the League Cup semi final been set yet does anybody know?I know that it's for the beginning of the first week in August but have they decided which day yet?
I'm almost certain its Monday 3rd August, LR.
19/06/2009, 10:23 AM
Heard Paul Curry will be getting a game of some description this evening. Any of you seen him play for your U-20's or reserves?
srfc1928
19/06/2009, 10:46 AM
Ironically this is Jason McGuinness' first game back from suspension
Jason McGuinness returns to the Bohemians squad as the league leaders host Sligo Rovers at Dalymount Park tonight, kick-off 7.45pm.
McGuinness was given a five-game suspension for racially abusing Sligo's Romauld Boco in the previous fixture between these sides this season.
'That's all done and dusted. He's done his time,' said manager Pat Fenlon, whose only absentee tonight is the suspended Graham Carey.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0619/bohemians_sligorovers.html
Its gonna be a really tough one tonight, with all the injuries etc.
Hopefully we put up a good performance regardless of the result.
hoop4life
19/06/2009, 11:16 AM
cheers for responses lads.
joe, i heard that paul curry is gone to athlone town. maybe someone else can confirm this
rovers100%
19/06/2009, 11:30 AM
cookie says we will be struggling to field 11 tonight which is such a shame as we are on a high after cork on tue. hopefully we can come away with a point at least. bohs have been hit and miss this season so hopefully tonight will be there bad nite. think 2 buses travelling so support should be good. as they say anyting is possible, remember tuesday nite...............
Redie
19/06/2009, 11:37 AM
lads,
two questions and i know they're kind of off topic but this will be the most up to date thread. any responses will be greatly appreciated.
cheers
Probably the best pitch in the county.
19/06/2009, 1:25 PM
Heard Paul Curry will be getting a game of some description this evening. Any of you seen him play for your U-20's or reserves?
joe, i heard that paul curry is gone to athlone town. maybe someone else can confirm thisPaul Curry will be starting up front for us tonight.
LondonRover
19/06/2009, 1:28 PM
I'm almost certain its Monday 3rd August, LR.
Cheers Jeebus. Maybe somebody'll be able to get confirmation at Dalymount tonight.
sligofan4ever
19/06/2009, 2:56 PM
Paul Curry will be starting up front for us tonight.
Is that definate ? It will be a big first test to play a team like Bohs but lets hope he has a good game and keeps the good form of our rising players coming up this season, Keohane and Noctor have done well in their few games and will continue to do so, Curry from what has been said in pre-season, looks promising. Hopefully Danny Fallon is next in line to get playing, what position does he play ?
hoop4life
19/06/2009, 4:22 PM
Is that definate ? It will be a big first test to play a team like Bohs but lets hope he has a good game and keeps the good form of our rising players coming up this season, Keohane and Noctor have done well in their few games and will continue to do so, Curry from what has been said in pre-season, looks promising. Hopefully Danny Fallon is next in line to get playing, what position does he play ?
on his day, paul curry can be unplayable. big, strong, quick and a good finisher. will be a handful for any defence.
danny is a right winger or central midfield player. better in the middle. very good on the ball and good box to box, all action midfielder.
The Midget Gem
19/06/2009, 6:47 PM
Rovers are 11/1 to win tonight.... We haven't a hope in hell in other words!
red bellied
19/06/2009, 6:56 PM
Team
Brush
Cash Keane Feeney Keohane
Kelly Torpey O Grady Morrison
Curry Doherty
hoop4life
19/06/2009, 7:54 PM
sligo rvs v celtic now in mcsharry park at 2pm
sligofan4ever
19/06/2009, 9:56 PM
Team
Brush
Cash Keane Feeney Keohane
Kelly Torpey O Grady Morrison
Curry Doherty
They did well to make it to half time scoreless, but why were Raff and Ventre not playing ?
Rovers Maniac
19/06/2009, 10:51 PM
They did well to make it to half time scoreless, but why were Raff and Ventre not playing ?
Fair play excellent effort from the young lads considering the team we had out. Ventre and Cretaro both had knocks as far as i know and were rested. Hope the lads get a deserved rest after the last few weeks has it has been very tough on some of them.
Roll on the Europa league draw. :)
20/06/2009, 12:01 AM
Great effort by the lads tonight to be fair. Looking at both the teams on the pitch, Bohs should have hammered us but it was actually a very close match. Hopefully the rest will do them good now and come back fighting in Europe.
MMVIII
20/06/2009, 12:43 AM
The young lads done really well. Especially impressed by Danny Keohane, Eoin Torpey and Cizzy Kelly. Have the ability to be very good players, I know Cizzy has been around the club a long while and isn't as young as the other too but he played well tonight.
Roll on Europe :)
rovers100%
20/06/2009, 10:06 AM
the lads battled well considering they were playing the league champions in their own backyard. undoubtebly we rode our luck most the second half as once they scored they really went to town on us. first half was a great display and bohs looked very poor. i for one was proud of how the makeshift team battled and never gave up. we were very good in defence with keane brilliant. as for curry he looks very promising def one to watch and a better option to feeney upfront. the break has come at an excellent time as hopefully will give us time to recover from niggling knocks most of the squad has
The result was predictable enough. We put in a good effort in the first half. I think we were lacking physically in the second half and were second to every ball. Too easily knocked off the ball and no ideas up front.
Understandable considering the team we had out. Would have to disagree about Curry. Allowing for the fact that he was up against a good Bohs defence and had very little support he was shocking.
Nice to see Jason McGuinness getting a good bit of stick over the Boco incident.
20/06/2009, 4:08 PM
Thought it was a magnificent effort by everyone, we made a decent atmosphere too. Cook praised Bohs after the game, he's looking ahead though. Raf had a calf problem, Cook didn't want to risk him.
20/06/2009, 6:45 PM
as for curry he looks very promising def one to watch and a better option to feeney upfront.Don't know what game you were watching but Curry isn't good enough, even for the A team. His first touch (and second and third) is brutal.
brianw82
20/06/2009, 7:18 PM
I'm disappointed that we showed no ambition, but I guess it's understandable given the team we had to put out.
Curry, imo, did ok when you consider the role he was asked to play. He had a few decent touches and laid the ball off well a couple of times. I think he's worth another look.
sligofan4ever
20/06/2009, 10:13 PM
Just looking at the highlights on youtube, why do they have to bring out 1 team at a time instead of bringing out both teams together ?
Only for the travelling support, that place would be so quiet and virtually empty.
forzaredz
21/06/2009, 3:34 PM
overall the young players such as Danny Keoghan,Eoin Torpey and Danny Fallon gave a good account of themselves and look like that they will become good players in the future.
Dalymountrower
21/06/2009, 6:05 PM
Just looking at the highlights on youtube, why do they have to bring out 1 team at a time instead of bringing out both teams together ?
Only for the travelling support, that place would be so quiet and virtually empty.
Apart from the 2,100 home fans? Our crowd were very quiet admittedly,
hoop4life
21/06/2009, 8:13 PM
overall the young players such as Danny Keoghan,Eoin Torpey and Danny Fallon gave a good account of themselves and look like that they will become good players in the future.
did danny play??
21/06/2009, 8:16 PM
did danny play??
Which one? Both played Danny K started and did well. Fallon came on as sub, but wasnt really on for long enough to judge.
sligofan4ever
21/06/2009, 8:26 PM
Which one? Both played Danny K started and did well. Fallon came on as sub, but wasnt really on for long enough to judge.
How did Eoin Torpey cope this time around against Bohs ?
MMVIII
21/06/2009, 8:29 PM
Played well IMO. Has the makings of a very good player.
sligofan4ever
21/06/2009, 8:41 PM
Played well IMO. Has the makings of a very good player.
Good cover for CM when we need it, he has plenty of time to improve on his strength, thats what lets him down but hes only young and not even fully grown so only time will tell as he can easily get muscled off the ball, otherwise a very good player. Slowly but surely, the youths are coming up and performing again, Kizzy Kelly,Jason Noctor,Eoin Torpey and most noticably Danny keohane have all done well and Danny Fallon will hopefully be the next player to make a good impression.
Guts&Glory
21/06/2009, 9:38 PM
Great effort by the lads tonight to be fair. Looking at both the teams on the pitch, Bohs should have hammered us but it was actually a very close match. Hopefully the rest will do them good now and come back fighting in Europe.
It wasn't even a contest never mind a close match - Bohs could have had double figures had they taken their chances we didnt have a shot on goal in 90 minutes.
We did well to get to half time but considering the team we had out it was a great effort and Chris Kelly really impressed as did Keane at Centre Back (harsh pen from where I was sitting).
Redie
22/06/2009, 10:10 AM
The result was predictable enough. We put in a good effort in the first half. I think we were lacking physically in the second half and were second to every ball. Too easily knocked off the ball and no ideas up front.
Understandable considering the team we had out. Would have to disagree about Curry. Allowing for the fact that he was up against a good Bohs defence and had very little support he was shocking.Nice to see Jason McGuinness getting a good bit of stick over the Boco incident.
God, talk about writing a lad off after one game. You obviously made no allowance for the fact '.....he was up against a good Bohs defence and had very little support....' not to mention the fact the match was in Dalymount.
Have you any comprehension how much of a step-up that was for the youngster.
Sorry for expressing an incorrect view, Mr Shankly !
Was only commenting on what I saw and at no point did I write him off. Just said he had a stinker and I know that plenty who were at the game would agree.
Cloggs
20/07/2009, 11:28 AM
wasn't sure which thread to post this on so i settled on this one
just wondering when the game against bohs is in the ea cup?what date (if any)has been set?sometime around the august bank holiday?
20/07/2009, 11:37 AM
wasn't sure which thread to post this on so i settled on this one
just wondering when the game against bohs is in the ea cup?what date (if any)has been set?sometime around the august bank holiday?3rd August.