View Full Version : Bohs Away

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

03/08/2009, 10:09 PM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0803/bohemians_sligo.html

misterk
03/08/2009, 10:31 PM
Lads what was the story with Boco playing right back, is this due to injuries or has a new position been found for him? I was very impressed with him. On the red, I thought it was definite, the Sligo left back sliced it backwards and Byrne nipped in ahead of Camano who took him down. Definite red.

Sligo played well and were unlucky; Brush however didn't inspire confidence for you lot at all, flapping at balls all the 2nd half.

Jeebus
03/08/2009, 11:11 PM
Gutted, I feel raped after that. Winters & his "assistants" were a joke. Why the fcuk wasnt their keeper sent off for the peno incident??

goatboy_rua
03/08/2009, 11:41 PM
have to say we lost heart once it hit extra time but when every decision seems to be going against you its easy to see how. blinkhorn looked wrecked on his todd against the entire bohs defence so it was hard to see us getting a winner on the break. winters and his assistants were cat, but the defence letting the likes of ndo waltz through them without so much as a tackle was our real downfall tonight. over all though a good performance and deserved alot more than the scoreline shows

Rovers Maniac
04/08/2009, 12:43 AM
Just home and can't believe we were cheated out of it by that clown again Richie Winters. He should be banned from reffing after that. We played very well and deserved to win it. We were holding them well i thought at 1-0 and then ball screws off one of our lads and comes to one of their lads and Camano brings him down red card, ok, Cretaro straight through and Keeper brings him down yellow card, JOKE !!!! Lines woman give them a throw that clearly has gone off one of their lads to them deep into injury time, which would have relieved the pressure on us, it was not even close to be their throw. Really annoyed after that. Seriously that woman running the line i know it's PC correct in all and looks "great" for the league that we have woman officials at games but she is not good enough and there is no point in having her there for the sake of having her there as she is not good enough.

Positives we looked good, we had a proper shape i think it was our best performance in months and Richie Ryan made his comeback tonight which was good to see, O'Grady had easily his best game of the season as well. Boco and Keane were superb Camano looked solid, and i thought Cash done well too. Hopefully we can pick ourselves up for Dundalk but this was a sore one to be honest tonight.

sligofan4ever
04/08/2009, 12:49 AM
Just home and can't believe we were cheated out of it by that clown again Richie Winters. He should be banned from reffing after that. We played very well and deserved to win it. We were holding them well i thought at 1-0 and then ball screws off one of their lads and Camano brings him down red card, ok, Cretaro straight through and Keeper brings him down yellow card, JOKE !!!! Lines woman give them a throw that clearly has gone off one of their lads to them deep into injury time, which would have relieved the pressure on us, it was not even close to be their throw. Really annoyed after that. Seriously that woman running the line i know it's PC correct in all and looks "great" for the league that we have woman officials at games but she is not good enough and there is no point in having her there for the sake of having her there as she is not good enough.

Positives we looked good, we had a proper shape i think it was our best performance in months and Richie Ryan made his comeback tonight which was good to see, O'Grady had easily his best game of the season as well. Boco and Keane were superb Camano looked solid, and i thought Cash done well too. Hopefully we can pick ourselves up for Dundalk but this was a sore one to be honest tonight.

Good to hear we actually had a good game of football, somone said a few pages back "this match will show us whos up for it and who are passengers" by the sounds of it, not one of those players were passengers, if they keep this up all season they might just finish in a respectable plac ein the table. How did we manage to concede 2 in 2 minutes ? were the lads jaded or simply because we were down to 10 men ? Its a disgrace Richie Winter was the referee 1)hes a dub, no surprise there 2) hes clueless 3) no matter what match he is in that involves Sligo Rovers, he always seems to be the party pooper and ruin our chances of picking up 3 points or in this case, a chance in the final.

Rovers Maniac
04/08/2009, 12:59 AM
Good to hear we actually had a good game of football, somone said a few pages back "this match will show us whos up for it and who are passengers" by the sounds of it, not one of those players were passengers, if they keep this up all season they might just finish in a respectable plac ein the table. How did we manage to concede 2 in 2 minutes ? were the lads jaded or simply because we were down to 10 men ? Its a disgrace Richie Winter was the referee 1)hes a dub, no surprise there 2) hes clueless 3) no matter what match he is in that involves Sligo Rovers, he always seems to be the party pooper and ruin our chances of picking up 3 points or in this case, a chance in the final.

To be honest i thought Blinkhorn should have been taken off as the lad had given everything, so it was like playing with 9 men at that stage as it was simply backs against forwards. Their second goal was a cross that was nodded down and their lads was unmarked for the goal. Very good crowd up from Sligo, poor home support though. Winters should have sent Gregg off like Camano and to be honest you could go through the whole game and the officials were just shocking.

Edit: Just remembering there was a brutal tackle done on Cretaro as well, lucky he did not do serious damage to Cretaro. Also the ugly elephant man look-a-like Oman, was he booked already as he should have got a yellow for that **** with Blinkhorn.

CF1989
04/08/2009, 1:03 AM
dont know what to say....devestated.
winter again was so bad, never see him having a good game. no point in the lineswoman being there, she only flagged for throw ins, hardly any offsides, and was too shy to put up the flag for any fouls in front of her. cowardly!!

the lads gave it everything, thought everyone played really well, hard to single people out.....

no luck again tonight, camano's was a red to be fair but gregg had to go sure he was the last man aswell....duno why he didnt get sent off!? winter bottled it!

Rovers Maniac
04/08/2009, 1:08 AM
dont know what to say....devestated.
winter again was so bad, never see him having a good game. no point in the lineswoman being there, she only flagged for throw ins, hardly any offsides, and was too shy to put up the flag for any fouls in front of her. cowardly!!

the lads gave it everything, thought everyone played really well, hard to single people out.....

no luck again tonight, camano's was a red to be fair but gregg had to go sure he was the last man aswell....duno why he didnt get sent off!? winter bottled it!

I think if we had a 11 men on the field we would have made our superiority count with a second as Bohs did not even have a shot on target or a chance up until we went down to 10 men.

CF1989
04/08/2009, 1:19 AM
I think if we had a 11 men on the field we would have made our superiority count with a second as Bohs did not even have a shot on target or a chance up until we went down to 10 men.

yeah i agree, i think when we went down to ten and it was only blinky on his own up front it was alot harder for him, he was creating chances as was turner i thought both caused some problems for the bohs defence, i think we would have had it in us to go on and get another one with 11 men.

people were saying camano got the ball i didnt see it from my angle, just thought he took byrne down (last man back...red card)...but if he won the ball its another howler by the referee.

The Midget Gem
04/08/2009, 1:27 AM
Devastated.:mad:

That woman official was an utter joke, the only thing worse tonight was the man in the middle. But honestly, the lass didnt have the balls to make any decisions, she tried to stay under the radar by not making any big(ie. free kicks) decisions. All she did was throw ins and she even got that wrong.
She was just a token gesture in there tonight.

We were basically robbed by a lack of consistancy in decision making, Bohs keeper must have been sent off as last man if Camaro was sent off as last man. Dont need to mention that horror challenge on Raf.

We were oh so close:(

MMVIII
04/08/2009, 1:31 AM
Gutted is all I can say after that.

Woman should have nothing to do with refeering football, on any level. Don't care what anybody else thinks. Also Winters is a joke. Coward.

The only positive was a slick right hook by someone who will remain anoynomous and Forza Foreskin.

MarkyH
04/08/2009, 8:22 AM
The officials were a joke last night alright:mad:. Bohs should have been down to 10 men in the 1st half after cronin's lunge on Raf. I actually thought the peno we got was dubious enough. But as Winter has given it, surely he has to send the keeper off. Where is the consistency? Camano didn't look like he got the ball to me and I don't think anyone could argue with a red card for a professional foul. And the throw in that lead to their 2nd equaliser should definetly have been given to us.

I thought Brush lost his nerve somewhat as the 2nd half went on. He was flapping at crosses and punching badly. The defence lost confidence in him and were defending deeper and deeper - Keane was blocking shots inside the six yard box! The goals in extra time were inevitable.

Good crowd up from Sligo, maybe 250/300. Rovers officials were counting at the turnstiles as we went in, so we must get a cut of the gate, which is good news for the club.

Following rovers can be heartbreaking stuff. It's what makes the little bit of success that we enjoy every now and then (11 years since we won the LC) all the more worthwhile. We now need to concentrate on picking up points in the league and hopefully beating Derry in the cup.

dublinred
04/08/2009, 8:44 AM
Bohs threw Kitchen sink at us for last 30mins and we somehow looked like holding out until that late blow in injury time after that there was only one winner as we were knackered , shocking display by the ref and the linesbird, Oman was all over Blinkhorn everytime yet kept winning the frees from the ref don't know how Cronin stayed on the pitch for that tackle on raf in the first half , just before the equaliser we had a clear peno disallowed , hadn't a great view of the sending off but it looked like a foul on the edge of the box thought straight red was a bit harsh can't understand how if the keeper is last man back and fouls in the box to concede a peno that he remains on the pitch the whole thing just stunk in the build up to bohs third goal an outswinging cross went miles over the endline but was not flagged. Thought Boco had a great game as did Blinkhorn very surpsied that Cook didn't bring on fresh legs for the last 10mins of normal time as we were jaded and hanging on by then great crowd up for game would say 302 (300 fans and Keith Foy....)

Da Real Rover
04/08/2009, 9:19 AM
Gutted, :(.
But if anyone does find some puke, foreskin or Mouseys dignity please do contact the Dooley Express.

dong
04/08/2009, 9:50 AM
On another note, 20 quid in is too expensive as well. I don't know how Bohs can justify it.

04/08/2009, 11:16 AM
Hurts way too much to even discuss the game...some pics here (http://www.inpho.ie/fotoweb/search-results.fwx?folderid=5005&columns=5&rows=4&search=(IPTC103%20contains%20030809_01)).

sligofan4ever
04/08/2009, 11:42 AM
Devastated.:mad:

That woman official was an utter joke, the only thing worse tonight was the man in the middle. But honestly, the lass didnt have the balls to make any decisions, she tried to stay under the radar by not making any big(ie. free kicks) decisions. All she did was throw ins and she even got that wrong.
She was just a token gesture in there tonight.

We were basically robbed by a lack of consistancy in decision making, Bohs keeper must have been sent off as last man if Camaro was sent off as last man. Dont need to mention that horror challenge on Raf.

We were oh so close:(

Well its understandable really.

04/08/2009, 12:02 PM
We just don't get the luck, do we? Suppose when Richie Winter is ref, and you have a pair of tits on the sideline, what do you expect. Not a chance was that a Bohs ball a the sideline before their second, the ball clearly came off the Bohs player. Ball clearly crossed the line before Bohs third too.

:mad:

Feel sorry the players more than anything. They proved they can go with the best in the country, and gave everything.

Sicuani
04/08/2009, 12:36 PM
As a neutral i`d rather not talk about the referee, i`d like to talk about one of the ball boys...we will call him Mr.Autumns, Mr.Autumns ie either inept at doing his job or he is a cheat.

Rovers fan
04/08/2009, 12:56 PM
Basically if the lines woman had made the right call at the end, we'd be through. That's depressing. The lads fought so hard and fair play to them, but they will have to keep the heads up because the game against dundalk is vital.

CRFC&SRFC
04/08/2009, 1:42 PM
I honestly believe the standard of referring needs to be looked at if the league is going to take itself seriously.

Down in Galway the Referee was horrendous for both sides. Last night in Dallymont was worse. No consistency,a lineswoman who hadnt a clue. Was clearly a throw in for us in lead up to bohs injury time equaliser. And for their 3rd, ball went out of play and curled back in on endline and she wasnt even watching it happen. Id safely say she quessed 50% of the calls she made. Bohs should have had 2 straight reds also

If the league is ever going to grow and attract new fans, which it needs to survive we need a decent if not fair standard of refereeing. Very easy to get disillusioned watching officiating like that. Im involved with juniour football here and i dont think ive ever seen a performance as bad as those last 2 games with any of our local refs

On the game itself I thought we played well against all the circumstances that were working against us. Thought Ogrady was superb in middle of park. Spanish lad at back had a commanding game until sending off which i couldnt see properly but it did look like a red.

Boco was excellent too. Majority of players out there gave everything which i dont think could be said for the Galway performance.

Hopefully players can lift themelves for dundalk. Still loads to play for and if we put in regular performance like last nights and get fair officiating we should avoid relegation and have a good chance of a trophy. Keep the faith

akearins
04/08/2009, 3:37 PM
Says it all when the refereeing makes the headlines.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/winter-sparks-discontent-as-bohs-put-on-late-late-show-to-sink-sligo-1850031.html

dublinred
04/08/2009, 3:59 PM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/winter-sparks-discontent-as-bohs-put-on-late-late-show-to-sink-sligo-1850031.html

I thought the whole thing stinked it was like watching Juventus a few years ago still shocked at some of the decisions at least I had only a short journey home last night, felt sorry for anyone who had to face a long trip back to Sligo after watching that thankfully Cook and the rest of the players managed to keep their dignanty and avoid further red cards.

Da Real Rover
04/08/2009, 4:05 PM
felt sorry for anyone who had to face a long trip back to Sligo.
Believe me the trip home wasnt all bad, some memories.

dong
04/08/2009, 4:27 PM

And that's just the way he likes it Alan.

04/08/2009, 4:57 PM

Con disagrees:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/conmurphy/

oh wait.. he supports a Dublin team:rolleyes:

rovers100%
04/08/2009, 5:22 PM
hard to criticise players after that. a few made mistakes but everyone tried hard and we came within 60 seconds of triumph. last nite felt like i won the lotto and then realised i lost the ticket lol. everygame i say bout standard of officiating and lat nite no different but that woman linesman should fook off home and look after her kids cos thats the only job she is good for and i still pity her children !!! that was a soul destroying nite i still feel depressed:mad:

sligofan4ever
04/08/2009, 5:50 PM
hard to criticise players after that. a few made mistakes but everyone tried hard and we came within 60 seconds of triumph. last nite felt like i won the lotto and then realised i lost the ticket lol. everygame i say bout standard of officiating and lat nite no different but that woman linesman should fook off home and look after her kids cos thats the only job she is good for and i still pity her children !!! that was a soul destroying nite i still feel depressed:mad:

The housewives are at it again.

MMVIII
04/08/2009, 6:10 PM
Kirky Burkey

And Oran Killoran

Boo_Boy
04/08/2009, 6:31 PM
Stop making up names FFS, It was Xano.

18 games, 19 goals for the A-Team. Bout time Cookie brought him into the 1st team.

brianw82
04/08/2009, 6:37 PM
No arguments from me on the officials. Absolutely beyond brutal, all night long. The most basic decisions wrong, time after time. Even the few decisions we got, like Keane slicing the ball out for a corner, and a goal kick being awarded! The Dublin ref thing doesn't wash with me - Winter is just an idiot, full stop. That was still no excuse for a so-called Rovers 'fan' throwing a coin at the officials as they walked into the tunnel. You're a big man. Well done, sir.

The team played well but the equaliser was inevitable. We were still carved apart too easily. Ventre's move to central midfield didn't give us the anticipated bite. Cash played well for once, and should've done better with one of those 2 chances he had. No qualms about the effort of the team though.

04/08/2009, 6:39 PM
And Oran Killoran

Oh my Gad.

Well Red
04/08/2009, 7:48 PM
Kind Regards
Pat Kelly
Manager Referees Department
Football Association of Ireland
National Sports Campus
Abbotstown
Dublin 15
Ireland
pat.kelly@fai.ie (pat.kelly@fai.ie)

00 353 1 8999528 (http://www.plaxo.com/click_to_call?lang=en&src=jj_signature&To=00+353+1+8999595&Email=nofarrell@fai.ie)
00 353 1 8999511
087 2258945

Referee Winter is a disgrace and your comments should be addressed to Pat Kelly at the FAI. Winter should not be allowed referee another game at the level he operates at and tell Pat Kelly this, probably will do no good but better to highlight it to him anyway.

Well Red
04/08/2009, 7:55 PM
Sorry about my last post which is somewhat jumpled up but what I was saying was to contact Pat Kelly at the FAI who is manager of Referees Department Email patkelly@fai.ie.

rovers100%
04/08/2009, 8:36 PM
wrote to him ther i will wait eagerly for a reply !!! my message was as follows

Hello Pat, Pat i am an avid supporter of sligo rovers and follow them every week regardless of home or away, rain or shine but every week i seem to spend the car journey home talking about the same thing................ officials !!!!! i was at the bohs v sligo ea semi final and belive me i see Mr. Richie Winters as the most inept referee in our great league and i emphatise great league no matter what people think, as going following your local club is far more personal than your big english clubs and i have been in old trafford 22 times. the standard of officiating in the semi final was little short of atrocious. Mr. winters is, im actually struggling to think of how bad the poor man is !!! and the only thing worse than Sir Richie was the lineswoman. oh my god she did not get one decision correct for either team. she was afraid to make a decision and wanted to stay under the radar but in doing so only highlighted herself. i have nothing against women officials i was actually delighted to see a woman come out as tradionally women are the fairer sex !!! but it is unfair to blame just these two as it is rampant throughout the league, i firmly believe as our games are not live the bad decisions are going un-noticed. this is a plea from not only a sligo rovers fan but as an eircom league follower to review and continually assess the officials performances as it is getting to the stage that the game is being marred as all we talk about is how bad the officals are. believe me its not that we dont get the fair share of decissions as i believe it was a soft penalty we got monday nite and the week before john russell should never have been sent off but something badly needs to be done if you want the league to grow and improve because all your doing is turning current and potential supporters away. please come to a game sometime albeit undercover !!! and witness for yourself how bad thing have become. i hope you do not discard this message as if you take pride in your job and want the league to grow and prospour you will realise if a normal joe soap takes time out of his day to write to you take this as customer satisfaction review and things are not all good. i look forward to hearing from you.

rovers100%
04/08/2009, 8:37 PM
now i may have exaggerated some things a small bit as nowhere near 22 times in old trafford but we need to make a point !!!!

sligofan4ever
04/08/2009, 8:41 PM
now i may have exaggerated some things a small bit as nowhere near 22 times in old trafford but we need to make a point !!!!

It dosent matter so long as you made the point clear about officials. Maybe everyone who was at last nights game should send in their own e-mail, just to show how serious and conerned we are over the standard of officials in this league.

Lads just out of curiosity, this wouldn't happen to be the same lineswoman who was at our home game against St.Pats last season ? I remember she could barely call one right decision all game and was calling offside alot for both teams, even when some players were battling for position when they were deemed offside!

rovers100%
04/08/2009, 8:45 PM
exactly get 200 or 300 emails into him and suely he will take notice. lets stop airing our anger here and put it to someone who can actually do something about it !!!!!

redtildead
04/08/2009, 8:47 PM
or we could all just not waste our time...
nice idea in theory but wont make a blind bit of difference. winters and the rest will be out makin the same mistakes this weekend and for the forseeable future. just somethin we hav to deal with no matter how hard it is to take

rovers100%
04/08/2009, 8:50 PM
in theory your right but if we all said that then we know 100% absolute that nothing will get done. if it only makes pat kelly go to one game personally we have achieved something no matter how small ;)

sligofan4ever
04/08/2009, 8:51 PM
or we could all just not waste our time...
nice idea in theory but wont make a blind bit of difference. winters and the rest will be out makin the same mistakes this weekend and for the forseeable future. just somethin we hav to deal with no matter how hard it is to take

True, it might not work. But we need to get the message out there and what us, the fans think of the standard of officials in this league and see what the FAI will do (wouldnt hold my breathe) but the standard has well and truely gone beyond a joke in this league. The referee in our game against Vllaznia compared to any LoI ref, well, when you compare the standard, they are worlds apart and those are the kinds of referee's this league needs.

srfc1928
04/08/2009, 9:41 PM
absolutley gutted.

R Winter was terrible,
but the woman lino was by far the worst offical i have ever seen.
it was embarrasing

Brian Boru
04/08/2009, 10:44 PM
True, it might not work. But we need to get the message out there and what us, the fans think of the standard of officials in this league and see what the FAI will do (wouldnt hold my breathe) but the standard has well and truely gone beyond a joke in this league. The referee in our game against Vllaznia compared to any LoI ref, well, when you compare the standard, they are worlds apart and those are the kinds of referee's this league needs.

Totally agree. The ref at the home Vllaznia game was excellent.

Pity about last night. Great Rovers support though.

prodsc
04/08/2009, 10:58 PM
He will probably point out that the Eircom League doesn't exist and thank you for your comments that will be noted!

How many times have the officals been booed of the pitch at the Showgrounds this season, thought the St Pats game was brutal, then there is the lino that runs down the tunnel the sec the whistle blows- doesn't wait for the ref.

I did email in the past about this(and other matters) without response..but if there's a campaign...............

sligofan4ever
04/08/2009, 11:00 PM
He will probably point out that the Eircom League doesn't exist and thank you for your comments that will be noted!

How many times have the officals been booed of the pitch at the Showgrounds this season, thought the St Pats game was brutal, then there is the lino that runs down the tunnel the sec the whistle blows- doesn't wait for the ref.

I did email in the past about this(and other matters) without response..but if there's a campaign...............

Drog's 3-3 last season when we should've had apenalty and Cork a few weeks ago just to name a few anyways, I remember those 2 occasions the darted down the line into the tunnel

rovers100%
05/08/2009, 12:31 PM
my email failed to deliver did anyone have the same problem ???:(

Well Red
05/08/2009, 4:09 PM
my email failed to deliver did anyone have the same problem ???:(

Try pat.kelly@fai.ie

This worked ok for me.