View Full Version : Cyprus away (5th September 2009) - flights

06/07/2008, 12:05 PM
Mod edit - out of the way, gpsain! :)

Post any info on flights to and from Cyprus here. I'll keep a summary of links and what have you in this post.

For other info on the game, see -

Accommodation (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=119323) (hotels to campsites)
Charter travel (incl tour operator bookings, charter buses, taxis, etc) (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=119325)
The game (match tickets, kick off time, directions to the ground, etc) (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=119327)
Places (towns, internal travel, reccies, etc) (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=119326)
Pubs (incl meet ups) (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=119332)
General (things to do, other chat) (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=119331)

And now back to gspain...

I think I went through Prague in 2005. Sad that i can't remember for sure but seemed to be going through Prague on all trips at the time. I went through London in 2006. The best deals are if you go for a week on a package before they cop the game and double/treble the prices as per 2005. Otherwise flights didn't appear to move too much as they start out expensive but don't get much dearer based on our groups for the last 2 trips.

cobra
29/09/2008, 12:43 PM
Have flights and accommodation booked 7 nights@ €380 each, out of leeds/bradford, hopefully ryanair bring out the cheap 1c flights to connect to leeds

zenokelly
01/10/2008, 5:39 PM
Have flights and accommodation booked 7 nights@ €380 each, out of leeds/bradford, hopefully ryanair bring out the cheap 1c flights to connect to leeds

Who are you flying with?

cobra
02/10/2008, 11:18 AM
Who are you flying with?

Jet2.com, hopefully their still in exsistance then

zenokelly
02/10/2008, 9:15 PM
Jet2.com, hopefully their still in exsistance then

Cheers, looked a great option but Ryanair's first daily flight to Leeds from Dublin at the moment is 09:25 which would mean that you'd probably have to spend the Tuesday night in Leeds:p

02/10/2008, 9:24 PM
Sure what could go wrong in Leeds.

cobra
02/10/2008, 10:08 PM
Cheers, looked a great option but Ryanair's first daily flight to Leeds from Dublin at the moment is 09:25 which would mean that you'd probably have to spend the Tuesday night in Leeds:p

Ye, have that taken into account, if schedule out of dublin does not change, can fly out of belfast to leeds on 7am flight

Colie
07/10/2008, 9:06 PM
Jet2.com, hopefully their still in exsistance thenWhere are ye based thought? Ayia? Jet2 doesn't seem to do Ayia?

cobra
07/10/2008, 11:18 PM
Where are ye based thought? Ayia? Jet2 doesn't seem to do Ayia?

Just booked flights with them and booked apts separately in ayia napa, we have stayed in them on our last 2 visits there for the cyprus games

zenokelly
13/10/2008, 5:24 PM
Just booked flights with them and booked apts separately in ayia napa, we have stayed in them on our last 2 visits there for the cyprus games

Do you have any links? Is the accomodation far from the centre?
Cheers

cobra
14/10/2008, 10:30 AM
Do you have any links? Is the accomodation far from the centre?
Cheers

Will PM ye later this evening with link.

zenokelly
14/10/2008, 3:57 PM
Will PM ye later this evening with link.

Cheers for that.

We booked flights yesterday: Wednesday - Monday

It works out around €340 return which is decent enough.

WED:
Dublin - Birmingham €27 (Aer Lingus)
Birmingham - Larnaca €136 (Cyprus Airways)

MON:
Larnaca - London Stansted €146 (Cyprus Airways)
London - Dublin we've yet to book

The times are reasonable as well. We leave Dublin at 13:00 and arrive in Larnaca at 22:45; and we leave Larnaca at 12:45 on Monday, arriving in London at 15:35.

Greenforever
07/12/2008, 6:46 PM
Easyjet have just put Cyprus on sale, about €150 return from Manchester or Gatwick. Fly into Paphos.

The Scientist
25/02/2009, 10:22 AM
prob going to base ourselves in aiya napa for the week!!

bit of a balls of a trip to organize! have flights out for €108 but trying to find something thats not a rip off to back here on the sunday is tough!!

25/02/2009, 5:51 PM
prob going to base ourselves in aiya napa for the week!!

bit of a balls of a trip to organize! have flights out for €108 but trying to find something thats not a rip off to back here on the sunday is tough!!

Thomas Cook into Manchester after the game from Larnaca and back to Dublin on Aer Lingus or Ryanair on the sunday morning. Cost me almost €200one way. You did very well to get out for €108.

25/02/2009, 6:45 PM
Easyjet have just put Cyprus on sale, about €150 return from Manchester or Gatwick. Fly into Paphos.

Back in December, booked up LGW to Larnaca with Easyjet, out on Friday at 1355 and arriving back 0030 Monday, cost £106stg. Dublin to and from LGW with Aer Lingus, out at 1000, back at 0845, cost 54 euro.

09/04/2009, 7:26 PM
Just booked Cyprus Air Heathrow to Larnaca and Larnaca to Stanstead out on Thursday and back on Monday for 250 sterling.

Out to London from Dublin on the Wed night with Aerlingus and styaing in mates house near Heathrow.

Back Ryanair to Shannon on the Monday night and set for the game in Thomond on Tuesday.

All in for 325 inc taxes and credit card charge too.

Babysis
11/04/2009, 12:35 PM
Neil McD I think Im, going to be booking that too. At least if Im with you lot I know Im alot less likely to get grief again.

11/04/2009, 3:25 PM
Famous last words. I think the Mule and the Hornet are on the same flight out. What meal option are you guys going for !!!

Moscow Mule
13/04/2009, 9:36 AM
Famous last words. I think the Mule and the Hornet are on the same flight out. What meal option are you guys going for !!!

I think i'll take the liquid option:p

13/04/2009, 11:43 AM
Is that before or after.

Moscow Mule
13/04/2009, 9:11 PM
Is that before or after.

During:)

been there
15/04/2009, 2:42 PM
Booked with Lufthansa Dep 3sept Dublin/Frankfurt/Laranca Return 7 e274 the price has
probably gone up since i booked in January A big Hi to Sligo Hornet and Neil McD this is
my 1st post since i got my wings by the lads all in good fun

15/04/2009, 3:12 PM
Great deal you got there. Fair play and a big hello again. See you in Bulgaria I am sure too.

Saint Tom
18/04/2009, 3:52 PM
Booked with Lufthansa Dep 3sept Dublin/Frankfurt/Laranca Return 7 e274 the price has
probably gone up since i booked in January A big Hi to Sligo Hornet and Neil McD this is
my 1st post since i got my wings by the lads all in good fun

good man malachy, hope you got back in one piece from bari. where are you staying? lot of us staying in Larnaca for a change

22/04/2009, 1:17 PM
Booked Flights via Galway/Luton/Larnaca Return and accomadation Mondat to Monday for €505 per perso.Galway airport is 20 mins from home so saving on transport and parking as well. Skipping Sofia as this will be a holiday combined with soccer.

Claret Murph
24/04/2009, 6:20 AM
Booked Flights via Galway/Luton/Larnaca Return and accomadation Mondat to Monday for €505 per perso.Galway airport is 20 mins from home so saving on transport and parking as well. Skipping Sofia as this will be a holiday combined with soccer.

I would say lucky you are not parking at Galway international airport :p as for a weeks parking could have tipped you over the €600 mark :eek:

Fair play gufct .

11/06/2009, 12:23 PM
going monday to monday flying galway/luton aer arann and monarch to larnaca.Staying in Ayia Nappa as we did in 05/06 had a great time and there is alot more to nappa than the young scene.Best restaurants in any resort i have been and there is a huge choice and there is bars and clubs for all ages.Were staying near the harbour which is a bit quieter than up in the square.

Newryrep
11/06/2009, 1:09 PM
I'm just doing a 24 hour trip in friday night and leave 00.30am sunday morning.

from Dublin gspain ? cost ?

11/06/2009, 2:27 PM
from Dublin gspain ? cost ?

booked in January more like 28 hours. :D

Cost approx €370 total for the 4 flights

I'll only need a hotel for the friday night.

AER LINGUS EI 236 Z/ECONOMY CLASS CONFIRMED

DEP DUBLIN FRI 4SEP09 10.00AM

ARR LONDON/GATWICK FRI 4SEP09 11.05AM

Easyjet

LGW -TERMINAL S - SOUTH TERMINAL ZONE Bflight 8815; dep. Fri 04 Sep 13:55
arr. Fri 04 Sep 20:35

6 September 2009 Larnaca (LCA) to Manchester (MAN)
Flight: TCX559L Departs: 00:35 Arrives: 03:45

AER LINGUS EI 203 A/ECONOMY CLASS LOW FARE CONFIRMED
DEP MANCHESTER SUN 6SEP09 8.00AM
MAN -TERMINAL 1 - TERMINAL 1
ARR DUBLIN SUN 6SEP09 9.00AM

11/06/2009, 2:31 PM
Note I mean 28 hours in Cyprus. Obviously travelling time extends this greatly.

I did book my trip to Tbilisi last year which would have meant just 24 hours in the country but that again in travelling time. We all know what happened to that one.

Newryrep
11/06/2009, 2:45 PM
Note I mean 28 hours in Cyprus. Obviously travelling time extends this greatly.

I did book my trip to Tbilisi last year which would have meant just 24 hours in the country but that again in travelling time. We all know what happened to that one.

Cheers, I would be happy with 8hrs in Cyprus I am struggling with time/money but toyed with the idea of late fri to Sunday* if possible but will probably have to give this one a miss .

*Thats even before I try and persuade Mrs Newryrep

reder
12/06/2009, 8:13 AM
Just finalising ours now. Looks like we are going to go on the Friday leaving London Heathrow at 22.00 ish arriving in Larnaca at 0400 ish and fly back to Stansted on the Sunday afternoon. Flights are £190 all in. Cant see anything cheaper.

12/06/2009, 12:42 PM
Post any info on accommodation in Cyprus here. I'll keep a summary of links and what have you in this post.

For other info on the game, see -

Accommodation (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=119323) (hotels to campsites)
Charter travel (incl tour operator bookings, charter buses, taxis, etc)
Tickets (match tickets)
Places (towns, internal travel, reccies, etc)
Pubs (incl meet ups)
General (things to do, other chat)

12/06/2009, 12:58 PM
It doesnt look like there is much interest here?!

12/06/2009, 2:31 PM
reckon we could have well over 5,000 on this one as loads I know are travelling due to the Location and importance of the game. A win there and then we can all start dreaming.

Greenforever
16/06/2009, 8:06 PM
Does anyone know about ferrys between Turkey and Cyprus. The daughter is hoping to do a week in Turkey and get a ferry over for the match, and spend as little time as possible in overpriced Cyprus....

I've tried a few websites but havent been able to get any real info

JT,New'09
17/06/2009, 11:58 AM
Does anyone know about ferrys between Turkey and Cyprus. The daughter is hoping to do a week in Turkey and get a ferry over for the match, and spend as little time as possible in overpriced Cyprus....

I've tried a few websites but havent been able to get any real info

Good Morning all,

10 of us have just booked the Cyprus trip
Thrus to Sunday got flights for €330 inc taxes- stop overs not too long :D

Outbound Thrus 3rd @7am
Dublin - Frankfurt (ryanair 1 way ) -Frankfurt - Larnaca ( cyprus airways)

HOME - Sunday 6th 10am
Larnaca - Frankfurt ( cyprus airways) - Frankfurt - Dublin (airlingus 1 way)
Have not booked hotel / apt as yet as were not sure where to stay Limassol or Ayna Napa :confused:

17/06/2009, 12:22 PM
Hoping to see the price of the Charter as a relatively swift attack would suit my financial woes better!

Claret Murph
17/06/2009, 12:54 PM
Same as you Ronnie :o

aidz1
17/06/2009, 12:57 PM
Good Morning all,

10 of us have just booked the Cyprus trip
Thrus to Sunday got flights for €330 inc taxes- stop overs not too long :D

Outbound Thrus 3rd @7am
Dublin - Frankfurt (ryanair 1 way ) -Frankfurt - Larnaca ( cyprus airways)

HOME - Sunday 6th 10am
Larnaca - Frankfurt ( cyprus airways) - Frankfurt - Dublin (airlingus 1 way)
Have not booked hotel / apt as yet as were not sure where to stay Limassol or Ayna Napa :confused:

you do realise that the ryanair "frankfurt" is not the same airport as the cyprus air used frankfurt?? About 90mins transfer time between the 2 i think.

Paddser
17/06/2009, 3:05 PM
you do realise that the ryanair "frankfurt" is not the same airport as the cyprus air used frankfurt?? About 90mins transfer time between the 2 i think.

:eek: I really hope they have!!

JT,New'09
17/06/2009, 3:44 PM
:eek: I really hope they have!!

ah no way !! what will we do , are u serious

17/06/2009, 6:40 PM
Go to Aer Lingus andn book with them out and lose the Ryanair flight. Too much hassle otherwise. Unless you have loads of time between the flights.

Greenforever
17/06/2009, 6:58 PM
ah no way !! what will we do , are u serious

Are you sure that you're not with aerlingus into frankfurt main, they fly at 7am, the ryanair flight on that day is much later on, and wouldnt give you enough time to transfer

AidoM
17/06/2009, 8:19 PM
Are you sure that you're not with aerlingus into frankfurt main, they fly at 7am, the ryanair flight on that day is much later on, and wouldnt give you enough time to transfer

Ryanair flight arrives in to Frankfurt HAHN @ 13.55 and Cyprus Airways leaves from the main Frankfurt Airport @ 14.35 and defo no way you'd make it (even with those times for Aer Lingus). Get the Aer Lingus flight as G4E says. It will work out with no hassle with plenty of time for the transfer (like 4.35 hours :eek:) but Frankfurt is a huge airport

Greenforever
17/06/2009, 8:27 PM
Ryanair flight arrives in to Frankfurt HAHN @ 13.55 and Cyprus Airways leaves from the main Frankfurt Airport @ 14.35 and defo no way you'd make it (even with those times for Aer Lingus). Get the Aer Lingus flight as G4E says. It will work out with no hassle with plenty of time for the transfer (like 4.35 hours :eek:) but Frankfurt is a huge airport

And there is a great bar in Frankfurt Main, spent several hours there on many trips...great beer :D:D

17/06/2009, 9:24 PM
Plus its only 30 euro for that flight. Actually free flight but 30 euro taxes. Could have been a lot worse, not too bad to just have to pay 30 Euro extra. Reminds me of the guy who booked Prague for the Czech game for the dates for the home game in Dublin. Classic.

JT,New'09
18/06/2009, 8:15 AM
Plus its only 30 euro for that flight. Actually free flight but 30 euro taxes. Could have been a lot worse, not too bad to just have to pay 30 Euro extra. Reminds me of the guy who booked Prague for the Czech game for the dates for the home game in Dublin. Classic.

Hi all,
Thanks for all your advise and help, I have it sorted.
We are flying into Frankfurt on Air Lingus we did this one way as the return on the Sunday was 8pm and we land at 1.pm.

We had booked Ryanair home at 6pm, I have rang the airport and organised a taxi bus to take us to Frankfurt Ham( the other airport ) for the Ryanair flight , works out at €20.00 a head in taxi bus , and we have 4-5 hours wait anyhow, so should be ok , the man said it should be about an hour to hour and half drive between , so you reckon we will be ok ??

Junior
18/06/2009, 8:35 AM
Hi all,
Thanks for all your advise and help, I have it sorted.
We are flying into Frankfurt on Air Lingus we did this one way as the return on the Sunday was 8pm and we land at 1.pm.

We had booked Ryanair home at 6pm, I have rang the airport and organised a taxi bus to take us to Frankfurt Ham( the other airport ) for the Ryanair flight , works out at €20.00 a head in taxi bus , and we have 4-5 hours wait anyhow, so should be ok , the man said it should be about an hour to hour and half drive between , so you reckon we will be ok ??

Good recovery - glad you got it sorted!!