View Full Version : Cyprus away (5th September 2009) - flights

Pages : 1 [2] 3

18/06/2009, 8:39 AM
Hi all,
Thanks for all your advise and help, I have it sorted.
We are flying into Frankfurt on Air Lingus we did this one way as the return on the Sunday was 8pm and we land at 1.pm.

We had booked Ryanair home at 6pm, I have rang the airport and organised a taxi bus to take us to Frankfurt Ham( the other airport ) for the Ryanair flight , works out at €20.00 a head in taxi bus , and we have 4-5 hours wait anyhow, so should be ok , the man said it should be about an hour to hour and half drive between , so you reckon we will be ok ??

Fair play glad you got it sorted. I wonder how the lad who booked prague got on.

Sligo Hornet
18/06/2009, 8:43 AM
Plus its only 30 euro for that flight. Actually free flight but 30 euro taxes. Could have been a lot worse, not too bad to just have to pay 30 Euro extra. Reminds me of the guy who booked Prague for the Czech game for the dates for the home game in Dublin. Classic.

Fair play glad you got it sorted. I wonder how the lad who booked prague got on.

I remember that......he was so proud of the good deal he had struck and posted the details with a swagger:D

I wonder what he thought the minute he read the next post that said " Aren't we at Home on that day?" :D:D

JT,New'09
18/06/2009, 9:25 AM
I remember that......he was so proud of the good deal he had struck and posted the details with a swagger

I wonder what he thought the minute he read the next post that said " Aren't we at Home on that day?" :D:D

ha ha well im new to this , and im a girl so i have an excuse !
Were sorted anyhow , so roll on cyprus.
Dont know where im getting the money from but feck it :D

18/06/2009, 9:48 AM
HAHA, who was that lad, classic. what a dumbo, in fairness we could all make that mistake!! i wonder did he go out to prague and watch it in an "irish" bar?! :D

18/06/2009, 10:44 AM
HAHA, who was that lad, classic. what a dumbo, in fairness we could all make that mistake!! i wonder did he go out to prague and watch it in an "irish" bar?! :D

I think it was something mule, not sure :) Moscow possibly.

18/06/2009, 10:58 AM
Wasn't it one of the Limerick fans?

Paddser
18/06/2009, 11:49 AM
Reminds me of 2 of the lads I know who went to the Bernabeu for the Real Madrid-Liverpool game last season. Had a great trip, and got to the airport to come home, only to be told the flights they had booked home were for the following month! It just so happened the days and dates were the same in March and April! They eventually got home the next day :D

18/06/2009, 12:54 PM
Believe me, it's not funny! I booked a wrong flight home from a course in London for work; booked the day after. Only saw the mistake on the way out to the airport. All I had to pay was the difference in the standard fare (ex taxes) between what I paid and the new, that night, flight that I wanted instead. I had paid zero, but the flights were now E250 plus tax. Won't make that mistake again.

Greenforever
18/06/2009, 1:08 PM
Dont know where im getting the money from but feck it :D

It could hapen to a Bishop

I booked 9 of us to Aarhus a week early there and back

And I'm not even a Bishop :D

AidoM
18/06/2009, 1:09 PM
Dont know where im getting the money from but feck it

Blonde :confused: :rolleyes: :D

Greenforever
18/06/2009, 1:11 PM
Blonde

You're lucky you didnt call me blonde :eek::eek:

Sligo Hornet
18/06/2009, 1:28 PM
Blonde :confused: :D

You can't help yourself Aido.........always on the pull!;)

Sligo Hornet
18/06/2009, 1:30 PM
You're lucky you didnt call me blonde :eek::eek:

Your lucky he didn't ask for your 'phone number!:D

horney
18/06/2009, 3:09 PM
ryanair and monarch €229 right now sounds good hotel about €5o a nite but not many left

Moscow Mule
18/06/2009, 8:57 PM
I think it was something mule, not sure :) Moscow possibly.

Behave! Mules might be dumb but this one is as smart as it comes.:mad:

AidoM
18/06/2009, 9:28 PM
Behave! Mules might be dumb but this one is as smart as it comes.:mad:

What happened stubborn :o

JT,New'09
19/06/2009, 8:26 AM
Blonde :confused: :rolleyes: :D
ha ha nope red ! not carrot red tho ,.

19/06/2009, 8:30 AM
Oh nothing wrong with carrot red. There are a few top class birds on this site who are carrot red.:)

Sligo Hornet
19/06/2009, 8:39 AM
Oh nothing wrong with carrot red. There are a few top class birds on this site who are carrot red.:)

I can't think of any!

19/06/2009, 11:18 AM
Is there anybody waiting to see if they can get a last minute package deal for a week in Cyprus rather than just going for the match?........thats what i'm doing anyway.

JT,New'09
19/06/2009, 11:49 AM

Ha ha i didnt mean anything wrong with it, just dont want to be called carrot head :o

markmc
22/06/2009, 9:48 PM
Is there anybody waiting to see if they can get a last minute package deal for a week in Cyprus rather than just going for the match?........thats what i'm doing anyway.

Thats what I'm hoping for. I heard a travel agent on the radio the other day and she was saying lots of people are pulling out of sun holidays that they had put deposits on. The travel company then has a firesale.

24/06/2009, 3:09 PM
hows it going lads,

i lurk more than post nowaydays but thinkin of heading to the Cyprus game. Have been to a few away games but our mate books everything normally,hes moved to the States now so i said il have a look into doing it this time.

The hotels part i can manage (i think) but the flights have me worried. Where is best to book with? Havent got tickets but should be able to get them over there....shouldnt i? Thinkin of going Fri - Sun/Mon or a full week if i have to.

Any help is much appreciated,

Thanks,

Newbie.

24/06/2009, 4:19 PM
hows it going lads,

i lurk more than post nowaydays but thinkin of heading to the Cyprus game. Have been to a few away games but our mate books everything normally,hes moved to the States now so i said il have a look into doing it this time.

The hotels part i can manage (i think) but the flights have me worried. Where is best to book with? Havent got tickets but should be able to get them over there....shouldnt i? Thinkin of going Fri - Sun/Mon or a full week if i have to.

Thanks,

Newbie.

Tickets almost certainly won't be a problem.

Why not apply to the FAI - bbers get priority but there will be enough to go around.

plenty of flight options but www.skyscanner.net is normally the best I find.

24/06/2009, 10:50 PM
Cheers Gspain

JT,New'09
25/06/2009, 8:15 AM
hows it going lads,

Thanks,

Newbie.

:o
Hi,

We have booked Dublin Frankfurt Dubiln ( Air lingus & cyrpus air )
Out Thursday Morning Arrive Larnaca 6pm ( stop off in Frankfurt 3 hours)
Back Sunday morning. Total inc taxes € 330
We then booked Estellas Hotel 3 nights €64 euro each
Total 394

Funniest thing is :
747 Have a package deal , going out the Thursday flying through the night not arriving until 5.30am !
Coming home the Monday evening flight. Staying in same Apartments Estellas
TOTAL € 759.00 ------ What a joke , for the sake of stopping off for a couple of hours id pay the 394.00 and the crack on the stop off is always good !

Sligo Hornet
25/06/2009, 8:22 AM
Hi,

We have booked Dublin Frankfurt Dubiln ( Air lingus & cyrpus air )
Out Thursday Morning Arrive Larnaca 6pm ( stop off in Frankfurt 3 hours)
Back Sunday morning. Total inc taxes € 330
We then booked Estellas Hotel 3 nights €64 euro each
Total 394

Funniest thing is :
747 Have a package deal , going out the Thursday flying through the night not arriving until 5.30am !
TOTAL € 759.00 ------ What a joke , for the sake of stopping off for a couple of hours id pay the 394.00 and the crack on the stop off is always good !

747.......a Jumbo rip-off!:mad:

Claret Murph
25/06/2009, 9:05 AM
Everyone should know by now that is is sooooooooo much cheaper if you book things yourself then going with an agent .
Now if you have bags of money or have trouble finding your way out of the bathroom than agents are the way for you to go ;)

Greenforever
25/06/2009, 9:29 AM
Hi,

Funniest thing is :

Dont forget the taxes and insurance will add another €70 or so, bringing it well over €800 but 747 will save you having to pay €5 for a bus to the match :D:D

Greenforever
25/06/2009, 9:39 AM
Don't know if it has been confirmed before on this site but according to both FAI and Cyprus FA websites the game is in Nicosia.

Another route worth looking at is Via Istanbul with turkish airlines and then istanbul to Nicosia all in about €330.

AidoM
25/06/2009, 10:22 AM
Don't know if it has been confirmed before on this site but according to both FAI and Cyprus FA websites the game is in Nicosia.

Another route worth looking at is Via Istanbul with turkish airlines and then istanbul to Nicosia all in about €330.

The FAI website DOES NOT say the match is in Nicosia. It says TBA = To be Announced. They have to notify us officially 8 weeks before the game where it is. They have played all their qualifiers in this group in Larnaca

25/06/2009, 12:09 PM
The FAI website DOES NOT say the match is in Nicosia. It says TBA = To be Announced. They have to notify us officially 8 weeks before the game where it is. They have played all their qualifiers in this group in Larnaca

FIFA do say Nicosia though

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/matches/group=250479/index.html

The city has to be confirmed 90 days beforehand. The kickoff time 60 days beforehand.

Although all previous group games have been in Larnaca this looks like it will be back in Nicosia.

25/06/2009, 12:13 PM
Pretty sure there's no airport in Nicosia? (Or at least, there is one, but it's under UN occupation and not being used for commercial flights)

25/06/2009, 1:19 PM
Pretty sure there's no airport in Nicosia? (Or at least, there is one, but it's under UN occupation and not being used for commercial flights)

Assume this is to the Nicosia airport in North Cyprus - eg the Turkish part. Crossing between the 2 can be tedious. However this is certainly a good option for those who haven't booked.

Greenforever
25/06/2009, 3:51 PM

Oh yes it does :D

Kick Off time is to be announced

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=86&Itemid=135

Now whos blonde :D:D

Greenforever
25/06/2009, 3:55 PM

Ercan airport is in Nicosia, only found out the other night, after contacing Turkish Airlines to see how one can get from Turkey to Cyprus as one of my daughters is intending doing a week in Turkey 1st. It is the only airport on the Island that accepts has flights from Turkey. You can fly from Istanbul for as little as €30 into Ercan.

Greenforever
25/06/2009, 3:57 PM
Assume this is to the Nicosia airport in North Cyprus - eg the Turkish part. Crossing between the 2 can be tedious. However this is certainly a good option for those who haven't booked.

Is Nicosia not in the TUrkish part? We've never had a problem travelling from Limassol to Nicosia but maybe the stadium is in the Greek part??

AidoM
25/06/2009, 4:18 PM
Oh yes it does
Kick Off time is to be announced

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=86&Itemid=135

Now whos blonde :D

I think we might both be right Green ;).

In the fixtures Section in the International Senior Section it states that the venue is TBA (to be announced)

www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content& view=article&id=57&Itemid=32

I hadn't looked in that section of the new site.

My hair colour remains intact :D

A case of left hand and right hand etc ..........................

AidoM
25/06/2009, 4:23 PM
Is Nicosia not in the TUrkish part? We've never had a problem travelling from Limassol to Nicosia but maybe the stadium is in the Greek part??

I think Nicosia is actually divided between the Turks and Greeks with the stadium in the greek part. It has never been a problem getting to the stadium in Nicosia from the Greek part of the Island which is where most if not all the Irish stay

25/06/2009, 4:35 PM
I think Nicosia is actually divided between the Turks and Greeks with the stadium in the greek part.
Spot on. Just check out the north Nicosia airport (if that is what it is), as a Northern Cypriot visa rules you out of entry into some other countries. When I crossed over by foot from south to north, I had a piece of paper stamped (instead of my passport), which had to be given back at the end of the day, when I returned.

Here's Nicosia International Airport (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicosia_International_Airport). Here's Ercan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ercan_airport) - only flights are to and from Turkey.

Greenforever
25/06/2009, 4:52 PM
Spot on. Just check out the north Nicosia airport (if that is what it is), as a Northern Cypriot visa rules you out of entry into some other countries. When I crossed over by foot from south to north, I had a piece of paper stamped (instead of my passport), which had to be given back at the end of the day, when I returned.

Here's Nicosia International Airport (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicosia_International_Airport). Here's Ercan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ercan_airport) - only flights are to and from Turkey.

Thanks for that, I've emailed the Cypriot Embassy and will post the reply. Looks dodgy Eircan alright.

We had originally boked with a group for a week in Cyprus, but it fell through so now looking at spending a few days in Istanbul on the way over as its our 3rd trip to Cyprus in a short time.

Greenforever
25/06/2009, 4:53 PM
A case of left hand and right hand etc ..........................

shame on you to suggest the FAI could be guilty of the above :rolleyes:

hope Joe McG's not looking at your posts :rolleyes:

25/06/2009, 8:22 PM
Thanks for that, I've emailed the Cypriot Embassy and will post the reply. Looks dodgy Eircan alright.

We had originally boked with a group for a week in Cyprus, but it fell through so now looking at spending a few days in Istanbul on the way over as its our 3rd trip to Cyprus in a short time.

There is nothing dodgy about it but just that you'll have to cross an International border (albeit not a recognized one) to get to the game. The border crossing is in the middle of Nicosia with the stadium on the Greek side.

North Cyprus gets plenty of tourists albeit most stay on the coast rather than Nicosia.

Just allow plenty of time to get across and make sure the border will be open after the game.

26/06/2009, 9:57 AM
It all does not get away from the fact that AidoM was wrong and as a result its his job to sort out a magic bus from Larnaca to Nicoisa.

Greenforever
26/06/2009, 1:11 PM
It all does not get away from the fact that AidoM was wrong and as a result its his job to sort out a magic bus from Larnaca to Nicoisa.

Would you trust him :eek:

He probably would end up having you all late ;)

AidoM
26/06/2009, 1:14 PM

No problems I'd get y'all to the stadium in Larnaca :p

26/06/2009, 2:54 PM

Ahh I will let him organise it then go one of the pub buses instead.

green army
28/06/2009, 9:16 AM
chances are that i will have a bit of time off around the cyprus game. anyone know if you get a boat from athens or possibly bari to cyprus. i tried looking but didnt find anything

Greenforever
28/06/2009, 12:41 PM
Try Olympic Airlines, plenty of direct flights daily Athens to Larnaca, from €39 ew plus taxes

green army
28/06/2009, 7:26 PM
Try Olympic Airlines, plenty of direct flights daily Athens to Larnaca, from €39 ew plus taxes

cheers. much appreciated.