View Full Version : Weekend updates

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Umberside
29/05/2009, 9:03 PM
'Here to see the big club, you're only here to see the big club'

No seriously, great crowd. Wish we could get that for the return fixture. Last time we had a home crowd like that in the league was Shels back in Kenny's last season I think.

I think it's sad that Bohs only get 1,800 or so for their matches, they deserve a much bigger attendance when you consider they're the double winners.

dfclilywhite
29/05/2009, 9:21 PM
full time now nice 3 points surely its bye bye for connor now

I'd say he's got the 2 games next week to save his job. Personally I'd like him gone now.

The reaction at the end of the game certaintly told the board what the fans think.

oriel
29/05/2009, 9:29 PM
Mind you Dundalk have had good attendances this year. They've never gone below 2,000 and ye got 4,200 for the game with Bohs, which would be considered a big crowd for a Cork City game.

I would be amazed if we dont slip to less than 2,000 for the visit of Bray next Friday, the patience of the long suffering cant take much more of this rubbish

Umberside
29/05/2009, 9:35 PM
Overall attendances must be up this season. Shamrock Rovers are getting 3,500 at very game, we are getting an average of about 3,250 a game, Dundalk haven't slipped under 2,000, Galway must be getting better figures this year with the lower prices and better results.

However St Pats are definitely getting less, and Bray and Drogheda aren't getting that much (though in fairness they are very loyal fans).

I would still imagine that figures are very good this year.

sonofstan
29/05/2009, 9:48 PM
I think it's sad that Bohs only get 1,800 or so for their matches, they deserve a much bigger attendance when you consider they're the double winners.

Don't get me started.....last time we were reigning double winners we were getting about twice what we are now.

Overall attendances must be up this season. Shamrock Rovers are getting 3,500 at very game, we are getting an average of about 3,250 a game, Dundalk haven't slipped under 2,000, Galway must be getting better figures this year with the lower prices and better results.

Close to having the ten biggest clubs, in terms of optimum attendance, in the premier for the first time in a while......

Umberside
29/05/2009, 10:01 PM
Don't get me started.....last time we were reigning double winners we were getting about twice what we are now.

Close to having the ten biggest clubs, in terms of optimum attendance, in the premier for the first time in a while......

How much were at the match against Shamrock Rovers back in March? Looked like a good 3,000 there.

sonofstan
29/05/2009, 10:13 PM
How much were at the match against Shamrock Rovers back in March? Looked like a good 3,000 there.

Yeah, you can rely on Rovers matches to get 3-4k - but that's sometimes 50/50 split between each team (there were 'away' games for us through the Tolka years where we had more). You lot get that with at most a few hundred away fans.

GalwayRed
29/05/2009, 11:00 PM
Another important win tonight. We werent great but we got the job done just about. I thought with the early goal we might push on and to be fair in the first half it was a very comfortable 1-0. Second half we came out strong and missed our chance to kill off the game. Keeping it at 1-0 for 70 minutes seemed to get the Monaghan players confidence up and they started causing some problems. Deserved the equaliser for the pressure they were putting on. Luckily Bisto saved us right at the end there. Although we havent been great so far were still right up there and a win against Waterford next week could possibly see us top with a game in hand. Cant complain really.

29/05/2009, 11:04 PM
The Bohs-Cork result is good for us. Still don't think we have much chance though, but the difference being only four points gives us some hope anyway.

I don't think we'll win the league (lack of consistancy, imagination and creativity) but we won last night and our next few games are against Pats (H), Sligo (A), Bray (H), and Dundalk (A). With all due respect to the teams involved, they're the kind of games a championship winning side should win. I've said all along, we won't struggle much against Cork or Bohs this season, but we will drop points against sides who we really should be beating- it's the next 4 games that will have a greater significance at the end of the season rather than the ones after (Bohs, Cork, Shams). We're only 4 behind the leaders at the moment -if we can pick up a bit of momentum by collecting 10-12 points from those games, you never know.

29/05/2009, 11:43 PM
I'd say he's got the 2 games next week to save his job. Personally I'd like him gone now.

The reaction at the end of the game certaintly told the board what the fans think.

He should be gone after tonight. I feel we are going to be trampled on in Talla. Sean Connor out now.

Dalymountrower
30/05/2009, 12:15 AM
Credit to Munster FA, the ground looked fantastic tonight, and a great football atmosphere around the Cross.
After an even enough first half Deegan lorded over midfield for about 15 mins in the second half leading up to three missed chances before Byrne scored after a great build-up. Cork never really recovered after that but Mc Keown did his best to even things up with a series of baffling home town decisions. A brief five minute spell from Cork at the end without really threatening.
Deegan is some player though.
Hard to fathom that a club with Corks support can be in such difficulties

Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/05/2009, 1:12 AM
He should be gone after tonight. I feel we are going to be trampled on in Talla. Sean Connor out now.

Well I'd love to have sympathy with you but fans of both us and bohs warned ye that he was no good.

Spoofer.

30/05/2009, 1:24 AM
Yeah because it was our decision and our board were going to take the opinions of internet forums.

Fair enough they made a mistake, and now it has to be fixed.

Also I'm not being cheeky or have anything against ye, but from what I seen tonight, yiz are ****** playing in Europe.

Rovers Maniac
30/05/2009, 1:46 AM
Yeah because it was our decision and our board were going to take the opinions of internet forums.

Fair enough they made a mistake, and now it has to be fixed.

Also I'm not being cheeky or have anything against ye, but from what I seen tonight, yiz are ****** playing in Europe.

Thats half our team, no Cretaro, Almeida, Butler, Doherty and Parkhouse tonight anyway we could say that same about you lads in the premier division, enjoy it while it lasts.

Rovers fan
30/05/2009, 2:11 AM
Call me crazy, but I think it's a bit harsh that people are calling for Connor to be sacked. Ok, he is an arrogant muppet but look at the facts. Dundlk are a newly promoted side. People's expectations were too high for Dundalk this year. Just because he brought a few big names like turner and georgie does not mean they have a massive budget. There was pressure on connor before tonight's game, despite the fact that they were level on points with us going into tonight's game. Personally, I would have expected us to finish ahead of dundalk in the league, and I'm not calling for Paul Cook to be sacked.

Added to that, Connor has put together an almost completely new team, surely he should given time (at least half a season) to get them to where he wants them to be.

I think Connor did a good job with us. people harp on about a big budget in the 1st divison, but we still won it, that's all that matters. The other bull that people spin is that he fecked up our youth system. What bloody youth system? Name 3 players that came from in the 5 years before connor took over. I can't name one. He didn't do a bad job at bohs either imo.

If I was a dundalk fan at the start of the season, I would have jumped at a 5th or 6th place finish, and that is still attainable for them.

I suppose the fact that he is such a <insert abuse here> really has gotten in his way. Don't get me wrong, I'll be delighted if he does get the sack, I just don't think it will have been necessarily the right decision. Will be very hard to see him get another job in the premier division if he does get sacked.

Oh and as for the rovers fans who said we had warned dundalk fans and they wouldn't listen - what could they do? Obviously they had to back him, there would have been no point in saying "yeah yis are right".

I await the slating I'm gonna get over this post:D

brianw82
30/05/2009, 6:34 AM
No slating to give. One of the few Rovers fans to put the hatred of Connor aside and judge him on what he has achieved.

topia
30/05/2009, 6:42 AM
Call me crazy, but I think it's a bit harsh that people are calling for Connor to be sacked. Ok, he is an arrogant muppet but look at the facts. Dundlk are a newly promoted side. People's expectations were too high for Dundalk this year. Just because he brought a few big names like turner and georgie does not mean they have a massive budget. There was pressure on connor before tonight's game, despite the fact that they were level on points with us going into tonight's game. Personally, I would have expected us to finish ahead of dundalk in the league, and I'm not calling for Paul Cook to be sacked.

Added to that, Connor has put together an almost completely new team, surely he should given time (at least half a season) to get them to where he wants them to be.

I think Connor did a good job with us. people harp on about a big budget in the 1st divison, but we still won it, that's all that matters. The other bull that people spin is that he fecked up our youth system. What bloody youth system? Name 3 players that came from in the 5 years before connor took over. I can't name one. He didn't do a bad job at bohs either imo.

If I was a dundalk fan at the start of the season, I would have jumped at a 5th or 6th place finish, and that is still attainable for them.

I suppose the fact that he is such a <insert abuse here> really has gotten in his way. Don't get me wrong, I'll be delighted if he does get the sack, I just don't think it will have been necessarily the right decision. Will be very hard to see him get another job in the premier division if he does get sacked.

Oh and as for the rovers fans who said we had warned dundalk fans and they wouldn't listen - what could they do? Obviously they had to back him, there would have been no point in saying "yeah yis are right".

Thanks for that Sean. You shouldnt put yourself down quite so much though!

Some good points though, dont think he did a particularly good job at bohs, the Farrelly and Connor periods were like 1 bout of depression for Bohs fans! Also despite his achievements at Sligo, i doubt very many of ye would ever even contimplate having him back... I think my point is when you have such a personality (or mutilation, whatever you would like to call it) you need to perform beyond all expectations in order to make it bareable or worthwhile having you at the around. If you want to cause trouble no matter where you go you have to be very very good at what you do which probably doesnt help Seanie.

forza rovers
30/05/2009, 7:51 AM

The reaction at the end of the game certaintly told the board what the fans think.the 2 commentators on the radio were trying to give him every excuse under the sun,the boos were defining they want him out

BrayUnknowns
30/05/2009, 10:48 AM
Dave Mulcahy was involved as well, not his first time losing the plot.

WTF are you talking about ?

Mulchay had just scored a superb goal and was starting to take control of midfield and went on a surging run, he was fould about 4 times on his way but managed to stay on his feet, himself and Lester went into the challange 50 50, no malice by either of them. When Lester got up he decided to lunge at Mulcahy by pushing him in the face/neck area. Mulcahy pushed him away. Lester was already on a yellow card so deserved to go, Mulcahy IMO didn't.

Mark Gough had a shocking game, really really poor reffering. He also sent Chris Deans off for 2 bookable offences which the 1st one was an absolute disgrace.

BrayUnknowns
30/05/2009, 10:50 AM

However St Pats are definitely getting less, and Bray and Drogheda aren't getting that much (though in fairness they are very loyal fans).

I would still imagine that figures are very good this year.

Your right, we don't get any were near as much as you guys do but i'd be positive that our crowds are a little bit up on last season.

30/05/2009, 10:50 AM

I can see your point RF, but tbh it is clear that he does have a huge budget, when see players like O'Brien, O'Callaghan, Rogers, Singh, Mansaram, Turner, Burns all signing. They will all command high wages regardless of how good or bad we think they are.

However you're right in saying the Dundalk fans expectations were way too high. Even if you look at the four ex-Rovers lads signed, with the exception of Burns, all of them came mid-table with both Bohs and ourselves. THey don't turn into title-challengers over night, and there's a reason they were playing in teams that achieved mid-table.

The youth system though, in 2005 we got to a FAI youth cup final I believe and where are the players now? I mean you would think the odds were at least one would have surely got through to PL football here, but no. And I would safely say it's because Connor did fairly feck up our Youth system....

Sligo Rovers: Terry O’Malley, Emlyn Mulligan (John Gordon 54), Simon Kelly, Sean Kelly, Colin Gaule, Brian McMorrow, Mikey Creane, Gary Curran, John Maughan, John Bellew, John Scanlon

A few of them are actually back with our A Team now...

But I think you're right in saying that Connors main problem is his arrogance. He's got to stop talking himself up and really just get on with the job...

dfclilywhite
30/05/2009, 11:33 AM
I can see your point RF, but tbh it is clear that he does have a huge budget, when see players like O'Brien, O'Callaghan, Rogers, Singh, Mansaram, Turner, Burns all signing. They will all command high wages regardless of how good or bad we think they are.

What in your opinion is a huge budget?

Aaron
30/05/2009, 11:46 AM
Lets be honest here, Dundalk have just come back into the PD after years in the wilderness. They have a totally new squad of players. It dosnt matter what size their budget is, that squad will take time to gel together.

To call for a managers head at this stage is ludicrous. Its fair to say injuries havnt exacly helped Dundalk, plus the fact that Michael Collins was denied registration. Give him time and he will turn them around, he done it with Sligo and i'm sure he can do it with Dundalk

Rob_the_cat
30/05/2009, 1:22 PM
Dave Mulcahy was involved as well, not his first time losing the plot.

To my knowledge, that's the first red card of his LOI career, which spans almost a decade now, a very fair player.

Count yourselves lucky he allowed his contract with City to be terminated, and didn't go looking for money. Every penny counts.

brianw82
30/05/2009, 2:39 PM
Looks like Tallaght Stadium isn't sold out tonight, and tickets are on sale from 5.30.

Can anyone tell me if it's likely to sell out before the game starts? Should I be ok to get a ticket at the ground?

30/05/2009, 2:42 PM
Looks like Tallaght Stadium isn't sold out tonight, and tickets are on sale from 5.30.

Can anyone tell me if it's likely to sell out before the game starts? Should I be ok to get a ticket at the ground?

I think the last time they were on sale on the day they sold out before kick off. Hard to know today, I'd imagine a lot of people have headed for the beach don't know if many will want to leave their sun traps to watch the football.

30/05/2009, 2:56 PM
On our game we were poor. Bohs deserved their win and fairplay to their fans who travelled in big numbers. From my view in the shed they were treated poorly by the police/stewards. There seemed to be more of them then bohs fans at the time. Maybe it wasn't that bad though.

Apparently now you can get roughly manhandled and ejected from Turners Cross for accidentally getting a tiny little bit of water from a bottle bought in the shop inside the ground on a steward - done whilst celebrating a Bohs goal by jumping up and down with said bottle in hand...

brianw82
30/05/2009, 2:58 PM
I think the last time they were on sale on the day they sold out before kick off. Hard to know today, I'd imagine a lot of people have headed for the beach don't know if many will want to leave their sun traps to watch the football.

You're probably right, I'd say. Those damned housewives are ruining football.

I'll take a chance on it.

30/05/2009, 3:23 PM
Hard to know today, I'd imagine a lot of people have headed for the beach.

There's no game on at Terryland tonight surely? :confused:

Umberside
30/05/2009, 4:27 PM
There's no game on at Terryland tonight surely? :confused:

Mervue United.

30/05/2009, 4:29 PM
Sat, May 30, 2009
19:00 http://www.loi.ie/joomla//images/joomleague/teams/mervue.pngMervue United Vs http://www.loi.ie/joomla//images/joomleague/teams/limerick.pngLimerick FC

30/05/2009, 4:58 PM
There's no game on at Terryland tonight surely?
Mervue United.
Sat, May 30, 2009
19:00 http://www.loi.ie/joomla//images/joomleague/teams/mervue.pngMervue United Vs http://www.loi.ie/joomla//images/joomleague/teams/limerick.pngLimerick FCAnd thischarmingman's comment goes flying over both yer heads:D.

30/05/2009, 5:01 PM
Official Attendance at Turners Cross is 5,388.

when was the last turners x had a crowd like this??

stann
30/05/2009, 6:07 PM
Waterford: Devine; A Carey, Browne, Murray, Woodgate; McCarthy, Kearney, Fitzgerald, Waters; Cummins, Kiely - subs: Burns, Dunphy, Mulcahy, P Carey, Grincell
Wexford: Holden, Russell, White, Breen, O'Loughlin, P Rossiter, C Sinnott, Malone, Vickers, Sheahan, Doyle - subs: Dempsey, Kehoe, S Sinnott, Fitzgerald, G McCurtin

stann
30/05/2009, 6:31 PM
Youths 1 up
Gavin Doyle free kick 27 mins

Town Legend
30/05/2009, 6:39 PM
Is there any websites where I can keep an eye on the games tonight. extratime seems to have shut down for the night!!!

30/05/2009, 6:44 PM
Is there any websites where I can keep an eye on the games tonight. extratime seems to have shut down for the night!!!

http://futbol24.com/f24_livenow/LiveNow.html?__igp=1&l36=15037&l37=15036&submit.x=38&submit.y=13

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/SRFCTV

stann
30/05/2009, 6:49 PM
Blues 0-1 Yutes half-time

The Betting Man
30/05/2009, 6:55 PM
Rovers 1up Twigg 45 mins

The Betting Man
30/05/2009, 6:59 PM
Athlone 1up as well

Guitd
30/05/2009, 7:04 PM
H/T TERRYLAND Mervue 0 limerick 0 attendance about (140)100 limerick fans maybe 40 from mervue

30/05/2009, 7:10 PM
Rovers peno, handball in the box....

Saved..

Guitd
30/05/2009, 7:13 PM
mervue 1 up lee with the goal

the-blue-harp
30/05/2009, 7:14 PM
mervue 1 up on Limerick.

stann
30/05/2009, 7:23 PM
Dunphy on for Fitzgerald for Blues, McCurtin on for O'Loughlin for Youths. Still 0-1 - 65 mins.

30/05/2009, 7:31 PM
2-0 Wexford.

2-1 now.

Town Legend
30/05/2009, 7:31 PM
2-0 Youths

Town Legend
30/05/2009, 7:32 PM
2-1 now

30/05/2009, 7:34 PM
who got the goals?

stann
30/05/2009, 7:34 PM
Sheahan for them, Kiely for us. Come on now Blues!!!