View Full Version : Rovers v Galway Match

Mayo Red
19/05/2009, 8:14 AM
How do ye think we'll get on in the second Connaught Derby of the season? The first match in Terryland was fairly evenly matched and a 0-0 draw was probably a fair result, with both Danny and the Galway lad unfairly sent off. United are having a good season so far when they were tipped to struggle and instead it's us who are looking at the wrong end of the table but I don't see any reason why we can't beat them at home. Our point away to Pat's and win against Fingal should give us a bit of confidence and hopefully we can go on a bit of a run ourselves. I'll go for a 2-1 win to Rovers to get us pushing up the table again!

Any word on Raf, will he be fit for this game after going off against Fingal?

forza rovers
19/05/2009, 8:42 AM
were starting to come good now and well do the double on the them with us winning 2-0 and in the supporters game us winning 3-0

Rovers Maniac
19/05/2009, 8:48 AM
I think we are starting to have a better balance and shape to us, i think we are starting to see just little signs that we may be starting to click finally. I think we can win it for certain if we continue to improve, although we need to step up again to beat Galway but we are more than capable of it.

rovers100%
19/05/2009, 9:34 AM
sat nite will be a big test. was at the galway away tie earlier in the season and although we were not great i felt they were worse. jay o shea was missing that nite so be interesting to see is he living up to all the hype. this wil be a big test for us i feel this is the one we need to win to get our season going. a defeat will be detremental so lets hope for the win. hopefully the crowd will get behind the team for this derby and give the crusties a hammering. we are badly in need of a win and i feel we will get it here.

19/05/2009, 11:16 AM
I've got a good feeling.

Parkhouse double...

19/05/2009, 11:30 AM
Gary Breen is suspended for them as he was sent off in LC last night and they're knocked out so it transfers to the league.

Jay O'Shea is a big threat, if we can keep him under control then we'll win.

CarrickFan
19/05/2009, 12:31 PM
Would be a great boost to get a win and keep the momentum going..pressume Conor will be back in,should Almedia be fit to start again?..him and Peers together is quality..looking foward to seeing Parkhouse from the start and hopefully he continues his recent form...Jay O'Shea is a big threat ana Galway have some other decent players but still think we'll get the win we need before two away games against teams around us.

prodsc
19/05/2009, 9:39 PM
Very Important we get a win(been saying that for a while!!)

7.45 kick off, is this a permanent change as I see the next home game vs. Derry (now on Fri June 5th due to International game) is also 7.45??

srfc1928
19/05/2009, 9:45 PM
Very Important we get a win(been saying that for a while!!)

7.45 kick off, is this a permanent change as I see the next home game vs. Derry (now on Fri June 5th due to International game) is also 7.45??
Yeah, its 7.45 from now on

19/05/2009, 9:46 PM
7.45. Why? WHY?

gufc2000
19/05/2009, 9:54 PM
Gary Breen is suspended for them as he was sent off in LC last night and they're knocked out so it transfers to the league.

Jay O'Shea is a big threat, if we can keep him under control then we'll win.
Ya Gaz is missing along with Kelly, Murphy, Sinnott. We will have a makeshift centre half pairing for this one.

dong
19/05/2009, 10:00 PM
I've no doubts we can beat these. If they're not demoralised after losing to the students then they should be. I suppose there might be a backlash after a result like that but we should be able to put them away. 2 nil Rovers i hope. I'd play the same team as started the second half against Fingal, but drop Cash and move Boco to the wing. Hopefully Almeida can play again instead of Feeney.

srfc1928
19/05/2009, 10:01 PM
7.45. Why? WHY?

posted by Kevinl in another thread
Personally speaking I could have done with the extra 15 minutes but everybody I talked to on Saturday night from people helping out to supporters were in favour of it.Also I think the majority of games in our division start at 7.45pm.
It's amazing the amount of people that are "allowed" go to the game on a Saturday night based on the promise of taking the other half out afterwards.So some of these lads have now scored some serious Brownie points by securing that extra 15 minutes of "quality time" with their other half.
At the end of the day the Club is about and for the Supporters so if enough of you make representations, then I cant see any reason why it shouldn't be changed back.This would only take effect from next season though if successful.

So the bottom line lads is that all our home games from now on will start at 7.45pm - so spread the word.

Rovers Maniac
19/05/2009, 10:02 PM
Ya Gaz is missing along with Kelly, Murphy, Sinnott. We will have a makeshift centre half pairing for this one.

How many of those would get in the team though?

prodsc
19/05/2009, 10:13 PM
Yeah, its 7.45 from now on

Probably better for bringing kids to games. No live tv games(soccer) to compete with for a while either.

Mr Maroon
19/05/2009, 10:18 PM
How many of those would get in the team though?

Breen and Kelly definitely would be. Murphy might be.

Sinnott would have been if Breen wasn't if you know what I mean. Without either of them we're left with only 1 available centre back.

srfc1928
19/05/2009, 10:21 PM
Ah sure ye're not so bad.
The way things are going for us on the injury front we'll
be starting with a makeshift back four
in mid field we'll have a makeshift middle four
and up front we'll have a makeshift front two.
Danny Ventre will be starting in goals this week.
we're still confident, no excuses

srfc1928
19/05/2009, 10:23 PM
Probably better for bringing kids to games. No live tv games(soccer) to compete with for a while either.
Prefer the 8 o'clock kick off myself, but if it means more people can attend games then i can live with it

Sean South
20/05/2009, 12:41 PM
This should be a smashing game... Well the start of it anyway ;)

1st time post
20/05/2009, 2:20 PM
Big gme for us,Got to keep the momentum goin from the late equaliser in Pats and the good cup win on Monday. I think that this may be the time when we start to put some good results together especially at home considering weve only won once here all year and see us winning 2-1. First goal is crucial tho and if we dont get it could be a struggle.

prodsc
20/05/2009, 4:17 PM
Suspensions below

http://www.loi.ie/index.php/about/press-office/740-league-of-ireland-suspensions

20/05/2009, 7:41 PM
Team news here:

http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/761/1/

And

www.twitter.com/sligorovers

MMVIII
20/05/2009, 8:53 PM
This should be a smashing game... Well the start of it anyway ;)

Your some tease ya **** :D:p

23/05/2009, 10:25 AM
3 days and not one post.

We are playing today you know!

Extratime Preview (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11455/0/)

Mayo Red
23/05/2009, 12:15 PM
Extratime Preview (http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11455/0/)

"an orgy of ankle injuries have struck down a threesome of Tribesmen, Paul Sinnott, Shane Fitzgerald and Alan Murphy."

A strange turn of phrase to describe football injuries in a match preview, the guy that wrote it may have had his mind elsewhere at the time!!;)

Threesome of Tribesmen sort of rhymes too!!!

CarrickFan
23/05/2009, 12:16 PM
Not sure about Sligo Town but has been ****ING down here ALL morning...any Danger of the game being called off??

23/05/2009, 12:21 PM
"an orgy of ankle injuries have struck down a threesome of Tribesmen, Paul Sinnott, Shane Fitzgerald and Alan Murphy."

A strange turn of phrase to describe football injuries in a match preview, the guy that wrote it may have had his mind elsewhere at the time!!;)

Threesome of Tribesmen sort of rhymes too!!!

:eek::eek:

The horror!

23/05/2009, 12:22 PM
Not sure about Sligo Town but has been ****ING down here ALL morning...any Danger of the game being called off??

Seems ok here. No rain and I'm about 15 mins cycle away from the ground.

Mayo Red
23/05/2009, 12:33 PM
Seems ok here. No rain and I'm about 15 mins cycle away from the ground.

Must be just a big dark cloud over Carrick so, sun is shining here!!:)

Mayo Red
23/05/2009, 12:36 PM

The horror!

I know, someone should maybe take the soap out of the away dressing room this evening just in case!!;):D

23/05/2009, 12:39 PM
It was raining heavy this morning, but it's grand now and think it's expected stay ok for the weekend so match will be on.

CarrickFan
23/05/2009, 1:08 PM
Thanks lads...there is a dark cloud up here most of the year alright!!:)..looking foward to the game all week so hope weather doesnt affect it.

sligofan4ever
23/05/2009, 1:17 PM
Was worried this morning that the match might be called off when I woke up that weather! But now the sun is out, lets hope for the best that it stays for the day!.

gufc2000
23/05/2009, 1:21 PM
Hi lads, I'm travelling up to the Showgies tonight, what are the admission prices there? Was there last October but can't remember what they were

roversman
23/05/2009, 1:32 PM
15 euros in

gufc2000
23/05/2009, 1:36 PM
15 euros in
Thanks, and what is it for students and U14s

celticV3
23/05/2009, 1:41 PM
Thanks, and what is it for students and U14s

It's €10

gufc2000
23/05/2009, 1:42 PM
Thanks lads, hopefully there will be a good crowd up from the West.

nechayev
23/05/2009, 2:32 PM
gentlemen (he quipped!)

will we gather for a small libation before the gemme?

where?

DIMITRI

ps: 3:1 "oh baby baby it's a wild world...." - cat "mohammed yusuf" stevens

pps: i'm bringin' ma buits n gluvvs.... jist in cais!

23/05/2009, 3:20 PM
pps: i'm bringin' ma buits n gluvvs.... jist in cais!

http://icanhascheezburger.files.wordpress.com/2007/05/i-iz-reddy-to-play-nao-coach.jpg

Boo_Boy
23/05/2009, 7:32 PM
http://icanhascheezburger.files.wordpress.com/2007/05/i-iz-reddy-to-play-nao-coach.jpg

Poor kitty, who would put...a Buccaneers helmet on a cat? :D

brianw82
23/05/2009, 8:57 PM
So it ended 2-0. Good result.

How did we play?

23/05/2009, 9:07 PM
Good first half, very poor in the second.

Good strike from Holmesy for the first, but we should never have got the penalty for the second.

Meh, 3 points though, can't argue with it...

sligofan4ever
23/05/2009, 9:11 PM
So it ended 2-0. Good result.

How did we play?

Played some great football in the first half but we lost our momentum in the second half with Galway going all out attack. Holmes goal was brilliant, about 20-25 yards ? and Alan Keane with a well placed peno, we finally put one away :). Brush was outstanding once again saving us on a few occasions, Raf and Boco worked really hard but didnt get their reward with a goal, but they had their chances. Holmes is a player i'm really starting to like, hes improved so much and I think that spell on the wing he had on Monday helped him with confidence. The one negative from this one was Owen Morrison, was to greedy and had to many bad passes. Mauro Almeida played the full 90 mins but he went down in the first half after an awkward landing. Deserved 3 points, were reallty beginning to gel together it seems :D.

forza rovers
23/05/2009, 9:45 PM
did any one notice that mauro has lost a lot of weight.

Boo_Boy
23/05/2009, 9:49 PM
did any one notice that mauro has lost a lot of weight.

He's been injured.

If he was on any medication while injured that could be why. Or maybe it was just because he wasn't able to work out.

23/05/2009, 9:52 PM
Dreadful match and very disjointed performance. The fact that Richard Brush was our best player says it all. If we were at it at all we should win a match like this 6 0. Galway had Jay O'Shea and nothing else. That lad can play.

23/05/2009, 9:55 PM
Galway had Jay O'Shea and nothing else. That lad can play.

i thought he didnt play well at all, gave the ball away alot:confused:

23/05/2009, 9:56 PM
He was still their best player by a mile I thought.

23/05/2009, 9:58 PM
O'Shea tore us apart, again and again, and again.