View Full Version : Rovers v Galway Match

Pages : 1 [2]

dong
23/05/2009, 9:58 PM
Delighted with the win but it would be nice to get a bit more value for money.
Second half was forgettable.

dong
23/05/2009, 10:02 PM
O'Shea tore us apart, again and again, and again.
They only got a couple of shots on target so I don't know how this could be true. Brush made some good catches from crosses alright. I thought we were never in any danger though.

23/05/2009, 10:07 PM
He was still their best player by a mile I thought.

oh aye, i agree, just shows how disappointing Galway were..

23/05/2009, 10:17 PM
Good win, Galway are very poor, we really should have put more past them, last season's team would have. We gave them way too many chances 2nd half and if they were any good, they could have actually taken them. Still, good to get the 3 points and now unbeaten in three games...hopefully keep it going now.

23/05/2009, 10:22 PM
They only got a couple of shots on target so I don't know how this could be true. Brush made some good catches from crosses alright. I thought we were never in any danger though.

37' O'Shea Picks out O'Brien with great vision, who takes on Keane and shoots low, but saved by Brush
54' O'Shea Free hits Wall
62' O'Shea Header Hits Crossbar
63' O'Shea great run through defence, beats several players, takes it to the left,shoots wide.
67' O'Shea turns and shoots from 18 yards. Over, but ever threatening.
75' O'Shea again threatens.

Rovers Maniac
23/05/2009, 10:23 PM
Proper jekyll and hyde performance from our boys tonight, although a win is a win and derby games are rarely good football matches. I thought in the first half we were very good, passing was sharp ball played to feet men backing up each other, players looking for the ball, it was great to see. The second half was totally the opposite, they dominated the midfield and ran the show and Galway got themselves back into the game.

Brush was our man of the match i would say followed by Holmes, Boco and Cretaro (No need to mention Peers anymore in these match threads imo as he is always good). Morrisson was poor in the second half and O'Grady very poor. We seem to lose control of the midfield in the second half totally, i honestly don't think it is a fitness thing but i could be wrong.

Anyway great to get a home win and hopefully more of the first half and less of the second half in future, also not sure who you would play left back but would rather see Holmes on the left hand side of midfield. Up to 7th now but a big game next week but hopefully the confidence continue to grow and performances continue to improve, and we put Connor under more pressure by taking the 3 points.

Rovers fan
23/05/2009, 10:39 PM
I thought it was a good enough win. 2-0 against a side that are doing well enough this season. Considering we only had two league wins all season going into this one I'm not complaining.

Played some great football in the first half. Holmes played well. I think Boco has been fantastic in recent weeks. He's taken for granted imo. He links everything up so well (kinda like Rooney at Man U).

Obviously we took the foot of the pedal in the econd half but 3 points is 3 points so I'm happy.

Not a great crowd for a derby match.

srfc1928
23/05/2009, 11:16 PM
2-0 home win
We'll take it.

red bellied
24/05/2009, 1:51 AM
That was poor but the side is obviously limited to last year missing crtain players. Galway looked like the Rovers of last year and played good football especially in the second half. I seen O Shea last year in the Showgrounds and he never bothered his arse but tonight he was central and plus O Brien.

rovers100%
24/05/2009, 9:27 AM
i have to say jay o shea is in a different league to most loi players. his flicks, touches and vision and control is first rate. the problem with him last nite was he tried to do it all on his own. personally i thought their no.8 russell is it was excellent on the wing until he got his marching orders i wouldnt mind signing him. its nice to see a winger take the defender on and beat him which he did to holmes a fair bit especially in first half although i have too say holmes did do well throughout. again no centre of midfield !!! o grady and ryan not doing it for me this year. at least o grady puts in the work rate richie does not. no service for the strikers in the game raf was chasing scraps. i thought keane was excellent he looks a great signing. morrison was greedy but at least he was getting on the ball and making himself known to the galway defence, ya couldnt say the same for doherty or cash. if morrison learned to play for the team and have an end product he mite turn a good player but i doubt it will happen with us. dont get me wrong im not a morrison fan ! back four looked confident and thats a big bonus as we looked shaky for most the season so far. great display from brushie in goal, turning into a top keeper. pity parkhouse went off injured he needs a run of games, he done ok but we need to see more of him in the air. i think the big bonus tonight was the clean sheet we really needed a good performance from the back four. we must kick on from here the next 2 games are tough but very winable imo. last word boco was not as effective on the wing but ya know ya will always get 110% from the ld

1st time post
24/05/2009, 10:49 AM
Jesus cant believe some of the negative comments here. 2-0 against our local rivals in only our 3rd league win of the season ya gotta be happy with that!!ok we were poor in 2nd half but never did the lead feel insecure. We were never gonna go on to hammer them as we would have last season because at the minute the team might be just that little short of confidence at the minute hence the 2nd half display but ill take that 2nd half display every week if it means that were 2-0 up!!!

roversforever
24/05/2009, 11:28 AM
Why do some people here have to always have a scapegoat?There's lads here lining up to have a go at morrisson and its not helping anyone.I didn't think he done badly at all last night,in fact he played a couple of lovely passes out to the right wing in the second half but still people are criticising. He has loads of ability and will turn out to be a great signing. It was the same with faz,people abusing him when he was low on confidence and to all those people remember how stupid you ended up looking there!Get behind morrisson and the lad can be one of the best players in the league.

showgies
24/05/2009, 11:32 AM
A good result and some good performances.

We did sit back a bit in the second half, and if Galway had managed to score it would have left us hanging on. Sitting back for 45mins is a dangerous game. I could accept it if we had players clinical enough to take the chances on the break but I don't think we do.

sligofan4ever
24/05/2009, 12:07 PM
Why do some people here have to always have a scapegoat?There's lads here lining up to have a go at morrisson and its not helping anyone.I didn't think he done badly at all last night,in fact he played a couple of lovely passes out to the right wing in the second half but still people are criticising. He has loads of ability and will turn out to be a great signing. It was the same with faz,people abusing him when he was low on confidence and to all those people remember how stupid you ended up looking there!Get behind morrisson and the lad can be one of the best players in the league.

I'm only criticising Morrison's greediness with the ball, he often lose's it, I remember on one occasion last night he had open players to pass the ball to but his attempted cross went out of play for a goal kick. Unfortunatly he's not the Morrison that played for Derry we were all looking forward to, I still remain confident that Morrison will be become a good player he just needs to pass the ball more often when players are free instead of trying to get around defenders, altought there was times when he did make his way around them on his own but he didnt make much of the posesion afterwards.

Only1Rovers
24/05/2009, 12:32 PM
someone said shouldn't have been a peno. I was standing at the railway end for the first half... It was a clear foul.

Morrison had a better game lastnight. He was making good ground on the wing at times and providing good crosses for Parky and co. to try and get onto.

24/05/2009, 12:57 PM
someone said shouldn't have been a peno. I was standing at the railway end for the first half... It was a clear foul.

Not in a million years. Player didn't even touch him and we were right behind it in the Jinks.

Although from the Railway end it would look like a penalty, but not in a million years was there contact.

eamo1
24/05/2009, 12:58 PM
We were so poor in the first half.Gave away 2 s*itty goals.We have no ball winner in midfield at the moment with Kelly injured and it showed.We did improve in the second half but while we have creative players like Jay,O'Brien,Russell and Cian Mc Brien we have no out and out goal scorer.Ye sat back and apart from a scare or 2 yer keeper hadnt much to do.
John Russell would be my fave Utd player and thought his sending off was VERY harsh as he GOT the ball:(.
Both sides will do ok this season,neither of us will go down as i think Drogs,Dundalk,Bray and even Pats are not as good and play hoof ball while we try play it on the ground.

red arrow
24/05/2009, 12:59 PM
great to get the win. a big plus was mauro on for the 90 mins but he is still struggling and if his injury improves this week after playing 90 mins he could go from strength to strength. morrison does some very good things but he just maybe needs to release the ball that bit earlier sometimes. what people hear are forgetting is that the pitch is very bad and does not allow quick one touch football. whereas we have footballers like boco , creataro and morrison who can up the tempo of the game in crucila areas of the pitch. i hear that some work is going to be carried out over the next month or so, maybe that will improve things for us. it will be intersting to see how we perform on dundalk's astro turf.

The Midget Gem
24/05/2009, 1:07 PM
It was a peno. He did make bit of a meal of it, but he had every right to go down when the contact came in and i thought it was brilliant little play sucking in the defender like that inviting him to make the mistake.

Morrison for me was poor. What this about a scapegoat? It'd be great to say everyone played brill but thats never the case and the fans will always mention the bad as well as the good. We had a three on two situation at one stage in the first half. Morrison could have played either Raf or Parky in but he chose to go it alone and he lost it, just kind of summed him up for me. Hes just to greedy, and for him to change like Faz did into a good player he will need to learn to make decisions for the team rather than his own personal benefit(ie.glory hunting). I'm not a fan of his yet.

Good result. Average preformance, bring on the Dunnies!

lowroadrover
24/05/2009, 7:19 PM
Good result , Galway were very poor ,without O'Shea they had nothing. Still think we are giving away the ball far too easily ,its putting un-needed pressure on the midfield. On the other hand it was my sons first time at a game and he's hooked. My work is done.

srfc1928
24/05/2009, 7:43 PM
On the other hand it was my sons first time at a game and he's hooked. My work is done.
Welcome aboard to the wee man, great to hear :)

brianw82
24/05/2009, 7:53 PM

There are also a lot of people here who seem to take any criticism of any players personally, and hide behind this 'Get behind the players!' banner. I don't see any need for it.

Everyone is here because he or she is a Rovers fan. Calling it as one sees it doesn't make one any less of a supporter. We have to be realistic, considering where we are in the League table and the accepted ability of our players. We know what Morrison can do, and that's why Midget Gem, sligofan4ever and others are critical of him at times when he doesn't play to his potential.

sligo23
24/05/2009, 8:04 PM
There are also a lot of people here who seem to take any criticism of any players personally, and hide behind this 'Get behind the players!' banner. I don't see any need for it.

Everyone is here because he or she is a Rovers fan. Calling it as one sees it doesn't make one any less of a supporter. We have to be realistic, considering where we are in the League table and the accepted ability of our players. We know what Morrison can do, and that's why Midget Gem, sligofan4ever and others are critical of him at times when he doesn't play to his potential.
maybe you should look up the word 'support';)

brianw82
24/05/2009, 8:24 PM
I have. I don't confuse it with 'blind faith.' :p

24/05/2009, 9:08 PM

Unfortunately what people forget is that these lads are just earning a living, putting bread on the table at the end of the day.

I'm sure you wouldn't like if everything you did in your day-to-day job was scrutinised in public view by dozens of people on the internet!

gufc2000
24/05/2009, 9:36 PM
Good win, Galway are very poor, we really should have put more past them, last season's team would have. We gave them way too many chances 2nd half and if they were any good, they could have actually taken them. Still, good to get the 3 points and now unbeaten in three games...hopefully keep it going now.
Was that last nights performance you are referring to, or is it in general that we are very poor according to yourself?

Yes last night we were shocking, worst performace so far this season imo. But in general we this season we have been good, and have put together some good results

roversforever
25/05/2009, 6:31 AM

I have seen incidents at games where he has done nothing wrong at all and people are shouting "for f**k sake morrisson!' How is that supporting?If it was another player they wouldn't take any heed. When a player is low on confidence he needs encouragement,not grief from his own supporters.

25/05/2009, 9:05 AM
Unfortunately what people forget is that these lads are just earning a living, putting bread on the table at the end of the day.

I'm sure you wouldn't like if everything you did in your day-to-day job was scrutinised in public view by dozens of people on the internet!

You could say that but also it's those very people that are scrutinizing him that are putting the bread on his table for him. When people are being critical of players , they do so out of frustration , I doubt those who said Morrisson played badly were booing him or getting on his back at the game cos that for me serves no purpose

rovers100%
25/05/2009, 10:45 AM
well this is a FORUM so this is the place to praise or criticise in fairness. if we cant talk openly and freely and express our opinions here where can we. we will all give support at the games and try and spurn any player on whether we like him or not but we come on here to express our views and the reason there is a lot of negativity is that we know ourselves we can do so much better just look at the league table from last year. morrison has a load of ability but your wearing blinkers if you think he is playing well, he frustrates us so much because ya know he can beat a defender (doherty & cash cant) and pick a pass. hopefully he will realise he needs an end product and then we would have a tremendous player

25/05/2009, 1:32 PM
You could say that but also it's those very people that are scrutinizing him that are putting the bread on his table for him. When people are being critical of players , they do so out of frustration , I doubt those who said Morrisson played badly were booing him or getting on his back at the game cos that for me serves no purpose

Likewise I could say that I buy something from a salesman so I'm putting the bread on the table for him. It's essentially the same for every form of work.

I just feel that people tend to forget that footballers are people too, and just trying to earn an honest living like everyone else.

roversforever
25/05/2009, 1:44 PM
well this is a FORUM so this is the place to praise or criticise in fairness. if we cant talk openly and freely and express our opinions here where can we. we will all give support at the games and try and spurn any player on whether we like him or not but we come on here to express our views and the reason there is a lot of negativity is that we know ourselves we can do so much better just look at the league table from last year. morrison has a load of ability but your wearing blinkers if you think he is playing well, he frustrates us so much because ya know he can beat a defender (doherty & cash cant) and pick a pass. hopefully he will realise he needs an end product and then we would have a tremendous player

And do ye think the players don't read whats written here?trust me they do. But go on ahead and shatter the lads confidence if it makes ye happy,im not going to bother arguing anymore!

rovers100%
25/05/2009, 2:03 PM
looking at the league table should shatter their confidence a lot more than our comments here. i stress this a forum which means an online discussion group where participants can openly discuss issues of common interest. that means we can praise or criticise as we see fit.........

WoodquayBoy
25/05/2009, 2:23 PM
Well done Rovers, created the better chances and deserved the win. From a non-Sligo point of view, can't see why ye are getting on Morrison's back, thought he did okay against us the last night. Can't understand the praise for Holmes, he was skinned a number of times by John Russell, hardly our quickest player. You can't blame O'Shea for trying to do it all himself - he clearly wasn't getting much support from the rest of them, especially in the first half. Peers was a rock for ye, Almeida looked like he is still feeling his way back.
In fairness, if that was the first time ye had close to your full squad to choose from, then I'd be a happy Rovers fan. We have Derry and Bohs next - by the time the FAI CUp third round comes along on June 12-14, ye could well be above us in the league

CarrickFan
25/05/2009, 2:44 PM
Fair play Woodquayboy..always good to see fair comments from opposition fans...As regards the Morrison/forum debate...can see both sides...it's true these Forum are here for fans to give opinions no matter what it is..eveyone is entitled to do so...personally dont like being overly critical of players..should try and support the club at all times..Morrison has a huge amount of ability..hopefully we can all get behind him and we will see more from him.

rovers100%
25/05/2009, 4:44 PM
morrison has a load of ability but your wearing blinkers if you think he is playing well, he frustrates us so much because ya know he can beat a defender (doherty & cash cant) and pick a pass. hopefully he will realise he needs an end product and then we would have a tremendous player[/quote]

i agree he is a good player, i just believe he has a lot more to offer if end product was more productive he is like ronaldo a few seasons back when his decision making was poor, i would love to see him play well as he can beat 2 and 3 defenders. what annoys me most from any player is not the lack of ability its lack of workrate

Red Star
25/05/2009, 5:19 PM
This should be a smashing game... Well the start of it anyway

Now I get it :D

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/9866/crusties1.png

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4900/crusties2.png

Boo_Boy
25/05/2009, 6:01 PM
I was wondering what they were talking about !!:D