View Full Version : Vocal supporters needed
10/02/2004, 8:36 PM
Saw the piece Beavis, small but nicely done, good graphics to grab the attention. Hope you get a load of responses.
11/02/2004, 12:17 PM
Was that in last night's Herald? Didn't notice it, I must have a look when I get home tonight.
Junior
11/02/2004, 12:20 PM
any link for the article??
11/02/2004, 12:33 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
Was that in last night's Herald? Didn't notice it, I must have a look when I get home tonight.
in or around the middle of the paper, in the City section. Picture of Ronaldo and the South Terrace draws you in.
11/02/2004, 12:40 PM
Originally posted by Junior
any link for the article??
couldn't find one, it's short enough so I'll post it up here later on
11/02/2004, 1:28 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
in or around the middle of the paper, in the City section. Picture of Ronaldo and the South Terrace draws you in. I only looked through the sport section, that would explain it.
11/02/2004, 7:07 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
couldn't find one, it's short enough so I'll post it up here later on
There's Ireland -v- Brazil tickets in the Free Ads section of the Herald for those that need them 100yoyos for the three.
anyway, as promised above.....
From the Evening Herald, 10th Feb 2004
Soccer body wants fans to go nuts for Brazil.
A new fans’ association wants Brian Kerr’s Green Army to issue war cries.
The South Terrace Vocal Irish group is searching for enthusiasts to join their “vocal supporters group” for the upcoming International between Ireland and Brazil.
Organiser (I won’t give your name away Beavis) believes the buzz is lacking at international matches.
“Everyone agrees that the atmosphere hasn’t been great at the matches for the last few years,” he said.“The Eircom League supporters used to be great but they’re up the North Terrace for most of the matches. So we thought we better get our act together and try and instigate a bit of liveliness in the South Terrace.”
The group is determined to improve the noise level at the ground for games by chanting throughout the ninety minutes.
“Everyone is welcome,” added (Beavis). “Whoever wants to come along top sing, or bring a bodhran or drums and is willing to make a bit of noise will be welcomed.”
Anyone interested is asked to meet the group who will be assembling an hour before kick-off directly behind the goal at the back of the south Terrace for the Brazil friendly.
For further info, contact VocalIrish@visiquiz.com or phone 087 790 7107.
Beavis
16/02/2004, 1:35 PM
Statement from Junior Vice President of the South Terrace Vocal Irish,Beavis:
'Due to the circumstances surounding the unavailabilty of tickets for the upcoming friendly international against Brazil,I am dissapionted to announce that the proposed South Terrace Vocal Irish supporters group will not go ahead as planned.The response to the recent newspaper article was unfortunately not as wholesome as one might have hoped.Some calls were made professing future interest but the absence of tickets was preventing them from getting involved for the coming friendlies.One group was interested for the game but with the majority of the founding members remaining ticketless,I have accepted that there probably will not be enough for any real crowd and that the idea should be dropped for the present.I would still encourage those going to the game to do what they can to get behind the team and hopefully a better atmosphere at Lansdowne can be persued by alternative means.
Finally a word of thanks for all contributions in this effort to improve noise levels at home fixtures and may the future be loud and buzzing'
16/02/2004, 1:49 PM
Don't give up on it Beavis. You've still got a sold out South Terrace to work with, and a noisy North to work off of. Loads of people will want to get involved in the atmosphere (apparently the Brazilians have an allocation of one thousand tickets and Dublin based Samba boys and girls are busy getting drums and colour organised), they just need someone to start the chant!!!
Beavis
16/02/2004, 3:06 PM
A full south terrace maybe but how many of them are going to see their favorite Premiership palyers,Real players,Milan palyer etc:rolleyes:
Appreciate the support tiktok but I know when the game's up and for the moment it is.I think I might be able to pick up a NT ticket so may just head there instead.
I said I'd get around to that hmyesheet anyway so I'll post any chants we've gathered so far and some appropriate ballads in due course when I get into college tommorow (too costly from home).
Beavis
16/02/2004, 5:54 PM
Just got off the phone with another interested in this but who's not in the south for the game and also got an email.Said that they'd be very interested in getting involved for future games and but it's just that we needed these friendlies to get some kind of establishment and if all went well possibly a ticket allocation.
Going straight into the qualifiers hardly stands much chance because everyone would be seated away from another.
There's does seem to be a market,for want of a better word,for such a this South Terrace Vocal Irish but just the timing seemed to be slightly off.If the games were not bought as a triple header I'd say we could have got it going for the second game.Anyway on the positive I have numbers of lads interested in singing and if the opportunity comes up to try the South Terrace thing again I can get them together.:)
That's it though for the while.Over and Out.
FinnanFC
18/02/2004, 10:25 AM
How're yiz lads!
Great idea I must say, I hope to get down there early tonight, but I'm a bit ****ed off to hear you say that you get looked at ike you've got two heads when getting vocal on the South Terrace. I've been going there regularly for years to every game I can get tickets for (mostly friendlies since the corporates get so many for the competitive games). By the way you lads have been going on you'ld swear you were the only ones making noise at all, which isn't true or fair to everyone else who makes an effort. I think the atmosphere has been getting back to somthing like it's best, particularly at the Australia game, I thought it was great and lots of people around where we were joined in regularly with songs and chants, many of them starting themselves (who knows, maybe I was standing beside you guys!)
Beavis
18/02/2004, 11:00 AM
Originally posted by FinnanFC
I'm a bit ****ed off to hear you say that you get looked at ike you've got two heads when getting vocal on the South Terrace. I've been going there regularly for years to every game I can get tickets for (mostly friendlies since the corporates get so many for the competitive games).
Exactly!Friendly days can be decent enough but the competitive games are dire down there.
The plan in the long run was to sort out the South Terrace for competitive games,by getting an allocation of tickets for the WC campaign.
18/02/2004, 12:26 PM
I know this is late in the day but there are tickets (http://www.buyandsell.ie/scripts/lootsite.dll?mfcisapicommand=search&Query=brazil+ticket&Location=0-15) here, and most at face value.
ProfFrink
21/02/2004, 4:29 PM
We all know that trying to get a name for our selves at the current friendies is going to be difficult as its impossible to get tickets. So I have an alternative solution.
We can get tickets to home matches for the womens senior matches, mens u21 and u19 matches. If we are to show ourselves as true irish fans then we should go to these matches and make some noise at them. The FAI will notice us at them and we get practice at being organised. We won't be able to go to them all, most likely only those held in the evening.
Is anyone interested in this idea as a possible way forward?
21/02/2004, 6:53 PM
cracking idea ProfFrink, with the advantage of getting to watch more football. win-win if you ask me, adn a great way to convince the FAI to get behind the idea of a vocal south terrace.
ger121
21/02/2004, 7:06 PM
yeah i would, eh except the womens football, i think you are pushing it there abit:D
Beavis
22/02/2004, 12:09 PM
I'm up for that.
Although I go to underage matches now and then and there's rarely anyone singing.We might seem a bit out of place but what matter.
22/02/2004, 1:14 PM
That sound good .... It is actually what happens in Italy ... Cup games are a bif thing but fans with stbbs from those games get priority for other games
23/02/2004, 9:56 AM
Yeah, I'd be up for that, been to a few underage games since I moved up to Dublin, been like a funeral sometimes
soccerc
23/02/2004, 10:35 AM
Originally posted by tetsujin1979
Yeah, I'd be up for that, been to a few underage games since I moved up to Dublin, been like a funeral sometimes
Rep of Ireland under 19's play Slovenia this evening 23 Feb at Richmond Park, Inchicore kicking off at 7:30pm
ProfFrink
23/02/2004, 1:06 PM
If we are going to go to this tonight then where should we meet up before what pub ie in town or in inichcore?
Beavis
23/02/2004, 3:14 PM
They're playing on Wendesday in Dalymount aswell,should we go with that instead,more time to plan.
ProfFrink
23/02/2004, 3:38 PM
I agree Beavis, today was a bit too short notice. Wednesday's game is on at 11.00am unfortunatly i'm in work then so I wouldn't be able to make that.
Here are some of the up coming fixtures from the FAI website, i'm sure they will add more as time goes by.
International Fixture List
Republic of Ireland Teams' Fixtures and Tournaments for 2004/05
For Ticket information click here
FEBRUARY 2004
18th February
Ireland Seniors v Brazil
Friendly
Lansdowne Road
Kick-off: 7.30pm
23rd February
Ireland Under-19 v Slovenia
Friendly
Home
24th February
Ireland Under-21 v Portugal
Tournament
Madeira
Kick-off: 11:00am
25th February
Ireland Under-21 v Italy
Tournament
Madeira
Kick-off 4:00pm
25th February
Ireland Under-19 v Slovenia
Friendly
Dalymount Park
Kick-off: 11.00am
27th February
Ireland Under-21 v Madeira
Tournament
Madeira
Kick-off 10:00 am
27th February
FAIS v Scotland
Friendly
Home
MARCH 2004
10th March
Ireland Women's Seniors v Holland
Friendly
Holland
12th March
Austria v FAIS
Friendly
Away
15th March
Ireland Women's Under-19 v England
Friendly
Away
26th March
England v FAIS
Friendly
Away
31st March
Ireland Seniors v Czech Republic
Friendly
Lansdowne Road
APRIL 2004
2nd April
FAIS v Northern Ireland
Friendly
Home
6th April
Ireland Juniors v Netherlands
Friendly
Holland
6th April - 11th April
Ireland Under 19 v Portugal/Norway/Ukraine
Tournament
Portugal
6th April - 11th April
Ireland Under 16 v Portugal/Russia/Turkey
Tournament
Portugal
10th April
Ireland Women's Seniors v Croatia
European Qualifier
Venue: tbc
12th April
FAIS v New Zealand
Friendly
Home
19th-25th April
Ireland Women's Under-19 v Denmark/Spain/Slovakia
European Qualifiers
Spain
22nd April
Turkey v Ireland Under 17
Friendly
Turkey
24th April
Turkey v Ireland Under 17
Friendly
Turkey
27th April
Ireland Under-16 v Holland
Friendly
Dublin
29th April
Ireland Under-16 v Holland
Friendly
Dublin
MAY 2004
1st May
Romania v Ireland Women's Seniors
European Qualifier
Romania
7th May
Ireland Under-15 v Northern Ireland
Friendly
Dublin
7th May
Ireland Under-15 v Northern Ireland
Friendly
Dublin
9th May
Bosnia-Herzegovina v Ireland Women's Seniors
European Qualifier
Bosnia-Herzegovina
19th May
Belgium v Ireland Under 19
European Qualifier
Belgium
21st May
Serbia and Montenegro v Ireland Under 19
European Qualifier
Belgium
23rd May
Norway v Ireland Under 19
European Qualifier
Belgium
27th May
Ireland Seniors v Romania
Friendly
Lansdowne Road
JUNE 2004
25th June
Ireland Women's Seniors v Malta
European Qualifier
Venue: tbc
23/02/2004, 3:48 PM
Ditto, wednesday's game is out of the question for me due to work :(
The way things are in here right now I doubt I'll be able to make tonight's game either :((
Beavis
23/02/2004, 6:14 PM
I didn't know it was on at 11.00 sorry lads.There doesn't seem to be an underage match until well after the senior Czech game.:(
I think if yous try we'll be able to get tickets for the Czech game.Already the Buy and Sell has them going at face value as the glamour game punters want out.