View Full Version : Fingal on Monday

Pages : 1 [2]

dong
18/05/2009, 11:15 PM
I thought we were worse in midfield in the second half when O'Grady came on. They threw everything at us and Brush saved our asses. We missed Cretaro as he had been doing well. Fair play to him, he keeps producing the goods.
The linesman on our side was shocking. The ref was poor as well. He was very keen to dish out yellow cards to our team. Peers' card was very debatable, Parkhouse got one for nothing unless he said something. Fingal got away with a couple of dodgy ones. Wasn't a dirty game or anything.
Parkhouse did well. Nice touches and good strength on the ball. If he keeps improving I'll just have to revise my opinion on him - again!
Fickle doesn't even come close to describing it.:D

Lamper.sffc
18/05/2009, 11:52 PM
Congrats on the win lads. Felt it was an even enough game. Pity we where missing so many of our first team( 5 or 6 players). We have a fair few injuries at the mo. I would have liked to have seen how our first 11 would do against top flight opposition. Best of luck in the next round.

19/05/2009, 12:56 AM
Even enough game, lucky to get through really. Brush made some great saves and Parkhouse has been improving lately, which is great to see. Hopefully he keeps it going.

Semi-Final:)

Rovers fan
19/05/2009, 1:46 AM
Best game from holmes and parky yet imo. Parkhouse is exactly what we needed. An alright rovers crowd. Fingal were all over towards us at the end and had 5 chances wiith Brush doing well. Rommy has been very good recently aswell. Not the best of performaces but we're into a semi so who cares!

CarrickFan
19/05/2009, 8:05 AM
Any idea when the semi Final draw is?..pressume shams and Bohs will join us and UCD...who would ye prefer?..a home draw would be great.

Rovers Maniac
19/05/2009, 8:22 AM
Great result last night and i thought we deserved it, should have killed off the game on about 4 occassions after we had taken the lead. The goal was a massive confidence boost and for a spell in the second half i thought we played some good stuff when we created 3 or 4 good chances. Cretaro was really brave for the goal and took a boot to the head and had to be taken off at the half with the injury he picked up.

Richi Ryan shaded my man of the match i thought he fought a lone battle at times in the middle and in the second half tracked back to deny a Fingal player what would have been a certain goal. Parkhouse and Peers were both excellent with Holmes playing well as well and Steve Feeney having a decent game at centre back. We opened them up at times which was good to see somethig we have not being doing to teams of late.

The only thing i seen that i did not like was Boco playing in the centre of midfield, he aint a centre of midfield player he is better deployed elsewhere imo. He is a quality footballer and beter playing him a position that suits. To be Fingal would not look out of place in the premier and played some good ball and up until we scored give us some real concerns.

Anyway roll on the semi final and the Galway we need to beat these in the Connacht derby this weekend, as i think there are signs that we may be starting to click :)

Edit: The penalty that was given against was very soft , linesman give it even though the ref had a perfect view of it and was right in front and closer than the linesman. The officials and i thought esp the lines the far side were the worst i have seen at a match in a while. The inesman the far (Ohe one lino give the pen) was the worst i have ever saw, they looked out of their depth.

Rovers Maniac
19/05/2009, 8:24 AM
Any idea when the semi Final draw is?..pressume shams and Bohs will join us and UCD...who would ye prefer?..a home draw would be great.

Monday week i think but not certain, great to be in it :)

Mayo Red
19/05/2009, 8:25 AM

A home tie against UCD would probably be the best draw for us but any one of them will be tough at this stage!

forza rovers
19/05/2009, 8:38 AM
A home tie against UCD would probably be the best draw for us but any one of them will be tough at this stage!not with the run their on at the moment

Well Red
19/05/2009, 9:26 AM
Rovers played with strong wind in first half, wind seemed to die in second half but sheet rain most of the match. We were much better in the second half as we tended to overhit the ball with the wind in the first half. Thought Brush's penalty was very good as he needed a very strong arm to put the ball over, never a penalty, referee was in great position but only blew when the hopeless linesman went mad with his flag. I suppose we have to live with the officials that are been dished up, can you imagine the uproar there would be if we had four officials doing a Sligo v Shams match in the Showgrounds and them all from Sligo . We will always have this problem. Fair play the rovers for working hard right up to the end, Cretaro was taken off after the injury just on half time but seemed none the worst of it when he came into the stand.

brianw82
19/05/2009, 9:52 AM
I suppose we have to live with the officials that are been dished up, can you imagine the uproar there would be if we had four officials doing a Sligo v Shams match in the Showgrounds and them all from Sligo . We will always have this problem. Fair play the rovers for working hard right up to the end, Cretaro was taken off after the injury just on half time but seemed none the worst of it when he came into the stand.

With 1/3 of the population from Dublin, it'd be hard to not get Dublin officials. They are highly unlikely to support SF anyway.

Only1Rovers
19/05/2009, 10:17 AM
Parkhouse was magnificent second half, he is improving.

Easy up Rory... lets not lose the run of ourselves....

:o

19/05/2009, 10:28 AM
Perhaps magnificent compared to previous performances :D

19/05/2009, 11:28 AM
not with the run their on at the momentRegardless of their run it'd still be the easiest option, assuming Shams & Bohs get through tonight.

19/05/2009, 12:06 PM
Brush made some great saves

And to think some doubted him...

Mayo Red
19/05/2009, 12:09 PM
Regardless of their run it'd still be the easiest option, assuming Shams & Bohs get through tonight.

My point exactly.

19/05/2009, 12:13 PM
And to think some doubted him...Did they?:confused:

1st time post
19/05/2009, 5:38 PM
well then im tipping us. 7/5 it is . do a double with ucd to beat galway at 5/1 and us at 7/5. a tenner will see ya return 144 yo yosCheers lad extremely good tipping and altho i didnt fancy ucd i jus had to put them into a double with us as well as backing us in a single.....waiting on wexford and waterford tonight for a ridiculous accum and an even better semi-final line-up for us:):):)

19/05/2009, 6:25 PM
Any idea when the draw is Dermot??

D Brannigan
19/05/2009, 6:27 PM
Great result, but it seems our 2nd half performance wasn't great, lets hope this gives them confidence for next Saturday as Galway will be low on it going out 2-0 to UCD. When will the draw for the semi finals be ?

SERIES NO. 22
Fri. 31 July Cork City v Bray Wanderers, Turner’s Cross 7.45 pm
Fri. 31 July Drogheda United v Bohemians, United Park 7.45 pm
Fri. 31 July Galway United v Sligo Rovers , Terryland Park 7.45 pm
Fri. 31 July St. Patrick’s Athletic v Dundalk, Richmond Park 7.45 pm
Sat. 1 August Shamrock Rovers v Derry City, Tallaght Stadium 7.00 pm
MIDWEEK – LEAGUE OF IRELAND CUP SEMI-FINALS

D Brannigan
19/05/2009, 6:30 PM
Any idea when the draw is Dermot??

No.But will try to find out.

D Brannigan
19/05/2009, 6:32 PM
Sorry my mistake.

red bellied
19/05/2009, 6:35 PM
Its along way off. The semi's should be down for the next bank holiday.

19/05/2009, 8:59 PM
Us, Bohs, UCD & Waterford in the semi-finals. Hopefully avoid Bohs in the draw.

Mayo Red
20/05/2009, 7:26 AM
Us, Bohs, UCD & Waterford in the semi-finals. Hopefully avoid Bohs in the draw.

Yep, it'd be great to get through the Semis and into the Final, been a while....!

roversforever
20/05/2009, 8:51 AM
Anybody at home.Ideally waterford but we're capable of beating anybody in the showgrounds,including bohs.

dublinred
20/05/2009, 9:07 AM
This is shaping up nicely Shams knocked out last night and the semis ain't till August,looking like Bohs will have to offload a load of players/bar staff in the window similar to what us and Galway diod last year so expect they will be a lot weaker then also.

dong
20/05/2009, 10:19 AM
This is shaping up nicely Shams knocked out last night and the semis ain't till August,looking like Bohs will have to offload a load of players/bar staff in the window similar to what us and Galway diod last year so expect they will be a lot weaker then also.
As long as we don't end up having the same problem again!! Would never rule anything out in this league.

20/05/2009, 12:04 PM
This is shaping up nicely Shams knocked out last night and the semis ain't till August,looking like Bohs will have to offload a load of players/bar staff in the window similar to what us and Galway diod last year so expect they will be a lot weaker then also.Bohs will find a way around it, doubt they're going to be much weaker after the window.

21/05/2009, 2:11 PM
just saw on one of the other threads, draw is meant to be on first week of June.

21/05/2009, 5:27 PM
FAI Cup draw is on Monday on MNS I think.

rovers100%
21/05/2009, 7:49 PM
Cheers lad extremely good tipping and altho i didnt fancy ucd i jus had to put them into a double with us as well as backing us in a single.....waiting on wexford and waterford tonight for a ridiculous accum and an even better semi-final line-up for us:):):)

your welcome mate, my tip for weekend is do a tenner fourfold with sligo rovers,wigan,bohs and man city to win will return 106 yoyos. had dollys hall in clonmel at 7.50 tonight at 6/1 but wasnt at home in time to tip it. good luck

srfc1928
21/05/2009, 10:57 PM
We also played Shams there under McInally (1999)

Rovers Old Boys ;)

McInally combines with Annand to Score a peach at Parkhead
xbHgMWstH4Y

Annand with a usual confident penalty, just after McInally goes off
_OQRsKPVoQE
Spot the big club V little club decision as well :eek:

Apologies to CelticV3 & Dimitri

But nice to see all the same

Rovers Maniac
21/05/2009, 11:34 PM
Eddie Annand what a finisher, quality player and one of my all time Rovers favs.

Scores two in this one, by the lol at the decision in the other youtube video above :)

kGnNxMm1V2g&feature=related

dong
21/05/2009, 11:49 PM
I loved Annand as well. The best finisher I've seen play for the bit o red.

Boo_Boy
24/05/2009, 9:01 AM
your welcome mate, my tip for weekend is do a tenner fourfold with sligo rovers,wigan,bohs and man city to win will return 106 yoyos.

If Wigan and Man City win today, i will love you forever :D

rovers100%
24/05/2009, 9:30 AM
i ill be happy myself lol. was sweating with bohs the other nite. 95th minute they scored !!! i had 200 on them to win with only a return of fifty but i thought it was like buying money. how wrong i nearly was !!!

1st time post
24/05/2009, 10:51 AM
ya im on too!!big fancy for man city today and have lumped on them in a single at 4/5 as well as in the accum you said!!

Boo_Boy
24/05/2009, 5:00 PM
Won €1000 on that fourfold !!:D:D:D

srfc1928
24/05/2009, 7:08 PM
Jesus, thats brillaint fair play to ye lads.
Thats Europe sorted for a few of ye.
1st class and 5 star hotels the whole way !!!

brianw82
24/05/2009, 7:48 PM
Won €1000 on that fourfold !!:D:D

Well done, man! Not often something like that comes off, so make sure to enjoy it. :)

sligofan4ever
24/05/2009, 8:32 PM

Congrats Boo_Boy! Enjoy it and use it wisely, that kind of money wont come so easy so often with the economic downturn.

rovers100%
25/05/2009, 10:37 AM
well done anyone who won a few pound it was a decent bet as most home teams last day of the season want to sign off on a win for the fans plus bolton and portsmouth had nothing to play for. will get around to collecting my winnings today had a few on the ponies yesterday so has been a good weekend for me

Rovers Maniac
25/05/2009, 11:52 AM
well done anyone who won a few pound it was a decent bet as most home teams last day of the season want to sign off on a win for the fans plus bolton and portsmouth had nothing to play for. will get around to collecting my winnings today had a few on the ponies yesterday so has been a good weekend for me

I wish somebody had tod Fulham about this :p, Well done lads thats Europe sorted.