View Full Version : 15/5/09 - Friday Latest
Just in the door a few mins ago from Terryland.3 cracking goals tonight,watch them on mns on Monday or on youtube later or tomorrow.Jay outside of right foot into top corner from 20 yards.Cian mc.Brien fired in from 20 yards into bottom corner and Jason Molloy had a nice finish for his goal.Yes,i know Bray were missing players but so were we.Joined 4th now:D:D,crowd estimate 1200/1300 approx.
would have guessed 950-1000 myself, very poor !!!! :(
MeathDrog
15/05/2009, 9:48 PM
Just back from Drogs V Dundalk. Good game. A real derby match. We could've and should've won it but a lack of clear cut chances let us down.
Crowd estimate: I'd say around 1,500 with the bigger away support obviously.
Ezeikial
15/05/2009, 9:53 PM
Just back from Drogs V Dundalk. Good game. A real derby match. We could've and should've won it but a lack of clear cut chances let us down.
Crowd estimate: I'd say around 1,500 with the bigger away support obviously.
Just back from Drogs V Dundalk. Poor game. A real derby match. Neither team could win due to a lack of clear cut chances!
MeathDrog
15/05/2009, 9:58 PM
Just back from Drogs V Dundalk. Poor game. A real derby match. Neither team could win due to a lack of clear cut chances!
Maybe from a Dundalk point of view, it would have been poor because yis weren't great, even with the 11 men. We were starting to control the game when you's got the penalty.
I do agree about the lack of clear cut chances, but we passed the ball well and it's probably the best I've seen us play this season.
wonder88
15/05/2009, 9:59 PM
I would estimate the crowd at Terryland at about 1000, don't think it was any higher. 3 great goals especially Jay O Shea's and 3 vital points.
Saint_Charlie
15/05/2009, 10:00 PM
We played a LOT better than we have been playing recently. The players actually looked up for it. Cawley scored a peach of a goal for us. Last minute goal for them, very disappointing way to draw the game. Such a kick in the teeth after a great performance (compared to recent efforts)
MeathDrog
15/05/2009, 10:15 PM
http://file049a.bebo.com/18/large/2009/05/15/22/3594588621a10828039392l.jpg
Drogheda banner at HT. :) You can guess the crest.
DRDoc
15/05/2009, 10:15 PM
Great game of football at belfield tonight I thought, along with shels longford last week the most entertaining games Ive seen this season
Ezeikial
15/05/2009, 10:35 PM
Maybe from a Dundalk point of view, it would have been poor because yis weren't great, even with the 11 men. We were starting to control the game when you's got the penalty.
I do agree about the lack of clear cut chances, but we passed the ball well and it's probably the best I've seen us play this season.
MeathDrog - I would genuinely like to see Drogheda do well this year (thats me in trouble around Oriel Park), but if that is the best Drogheda have played this year, I really fear for you guys.
I thought both teams were poor in the first half, but to go an entire 45 minutes against 10 men in the second half, and not create a single chance (or have even a shot on goal) is poor. Passing the ball around well against 10 men in not enough!
From Dundalks' perspective it was a missed opportunity - but satisfied with the point in the circumstances
Umberside
15/05/2009, 10:39 PM
Paul Peschisolido has resigned as assistant manager of St Patrick's Athletic following the club's 2-2 draw with Sligo Rovers.
http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=3029
Mr Maroon
15/05/2009, 10:39 PM
would have guessed 950-1000 myself, very poor !!!! :(
It was only 872. :o
eamo1
15/05/2009, 10:51 PM
So with him gone its not long now before Kenna jumps ship before he is sacked.
WoodquayBoy
15/05/2009, 11:10 PM
Just in from Terryland, good win but 3-0 very harsh on Bray. Still, 3 points, clean sheet and 5 teams below us all drop points, so a great night all round
15/05/2009, 11:10 PM
It's always the referee's fault with you lot.:rolleyes:
You got beaten by the better team: face facts lad.
Based on your appointment with the Revenue Commissioner we won't be the one facing the facts.
As for beaten by the better team, the scoreboard never lies.
But I thank my lucky stars every day we aren't managed by Doolin. Timewasting with 40 mins to go, playing one up front at home whenthe opposition is down to 10 men...
adamd164
15/05/2009, 11:12 PM
Pathetic, bitter Derry fans. What's new? Sore losers, always have been.
Where are your title aspirations now?
Can't wait for Kenny on MNS...."it was the ref's fault.... no wait, it was the lino's....no wait.....!!"
Comedy gold. Kenny is a loser, born and bred. Always second best.
15/05/2009, 11:28 PM
We played a LOT better than we have been playing recently. The players actually looked up for it. Cawley scored a peach of a goal for us. Last minute goal for them, very disappointing way to draw the game. Such a kick in the teeth after a great performance (compared to recent efforts)
Yeah good game. Sligo punished 2 poor bits of defending by us. Better performance and thought we'd done enough to win but Sligo battled to end.
15/05/2009, 11:32 PM
Where are your title aspirations now?On the basis we aren't listed in the High Court and aren't looking at a 10 point deduction as a best case scenario, pretty good actually.
On the basis we aren't listed in the High Court and aren't looking at a 10 point deduction as a best case scenario, pretty good actually.
im hoping we make a surge for 4th to get 2nd :confused:
that only makes sense in this league :cool:
L.T.F.C.
16/05/2009, 1:51 AM
And I'd disagree with both of you (both more so LTFC). It was an OK game, much better in the second half when an edge started to develop. Obviously different when it's your team that's involved though.
thats what i'm sayiing, i was a neutral!
adamd164
16/05/2009, 7:40 AM
On the basis we aren't listed in the High Court and aren't looking at a 10 point deduction as a best case scenario, pretty good actually.
That'd be Kenny's way alright... win things off the pitch cos his teams are so prone to falling short on it.:rolleyes:
You lot really are a bitter bunch alright. Hurts to always lose when it counts I s'pose.:o
16/05/2009, 10:10 AM
That'd be Kenny's way alright... win things off the pitch cos his teams are so prone to falling short on it.:rolleyes:At least they're still challenging without resorting to cheating...unlike certain top 2 clubs.
Youths4Ever
16/05/2009, 10:57 AM
Wexford played very well against Mervue still missing an out and out striker Sheenan looked good for last half hour hopefully he can start in next few weeks. Mervue seemed to lack much of a threat up front but where very dogged around the pitch and somewhat lucky not to finish up with 10 men. Some of the offsides decisions mentioned by others where incorrect but in fairness the majority seemed spot on.
Delighted that Waterford did not beat UCD after Henderson's comments on the radio during the week somewhere along the lines that if Wexford Youths can win sure so we definetely can. Not as easy as it seems Mr Henderson :D
16/05/2009, 11:17 AM
That'd be Kenny's way alright... win things off the pitch cos his teams are so prone to falling short on it.:rolleyes:
You lot really are a bitter bunch alright. Hurts to always lose when it counts I s'pose.:o
You were saying earlier about some one like Kenny getting his point across on MNS??? i doubt that seeing as its a nest of corkies ex players and manager
A N Mouse
16/05/2009, 11:25 AM
But we shouldnt have won in the Brandy, we invited ye on to us and defended awfully, at least toight when we invited ye on to us we defended well.
Fair enough Micls, can't comment on the game, but I was referring to this gem
It's always the referee's fault with you lot.
You got beaten by the better team: face facts lad.
Quality stuff, bear in mind I'm still thinking about Doolin's interview on mns after that first game, especially as he follows it up with this
Pathetic, bitter Derry fans. What's new? Sore losers, always have been.
Where are your title aspirations now?
Can't wait for Kenny on MNS...."it was the ref's fault.... no wait, it was the lino's....no wait.....!!"
Comedy gold. Kenny is a loser, born and bred. Always second best.
Because Doolin never came across as bitter or pathetic, or critcised officials. When was the last time he came out and said 'we got what we deserved' after droping points?
Oh, and everyone knows that Kenny invented the term 'RRS'
But as you say its just one plank. Suppose you should all make the most of it, you got bigger fish to fry.
Umberside
16/05/2009, 11:28 AM
Damien Richardson's latest blog on the MNS website states that clubs have to play an attacking style of football to increase attendances, and that simply winning isn't enough. I agree.
Cork keep winning 1-0 and it's a bit annoying (though much better than those 1-1s we always got last year) because we can score a lot more.
I thought going to the Cross last night it would be a goalfest, and yet it was a one goal win again.
But can I really complain? Fourth in the league twice in a row and not even European qualification last year? And we are now top of the league and we're complaining?
This season has been the most enjoyable since the title-winning season of 2005.
A lot of it comes down to players staying fit. Only three injuries, all coming at separate times means we've nearly always had a full squad to pick from.
Denis Behan barely played until O'Flynn and Mooney were sold last season, this time he's always started and scored three goals.
At the back we've brought in Greg O'Halloran to replace Darragh Ryan and Pat Sullivan has proved to be a great player.A very strong midfield consisting of Gamble, Healy, Dennehy, Kuduzovic and O'Donnell (when he's not injured or suspended) plus Behan up front and it's a strong team.
What Derry nave missed this season is fro a large part a scoring drought from Mark Farren and what seems to be a poor defence.
No doubt both teams will be still there going into the final round of games (as long as the Revenue Commissioners don't get their way) and we'll have a three-horse race for the title.
16/05/2009, 11:28 AM
Quality stuff, bear in mind I'm still thinking about Doolin's interview on mns after that first game, especially as he follows it up with this
Because Doolin never came across as bitter or pathetic, or critcised officials. When was the last time he came out and said 'we got what we deserved' after droping points?
Oh, and everyone knows that Kenny invented the term 'RRS'
But everyone knows Doolins a bitter, pathetic, whinging langer in interviews, including our fans who openly admit it....that doesn't mean Kenny isn't too which is something a lot of your fans don't accept.
MeathDrog
16/05/2009, 11:42 AM
MeathDrog - I would genuinely like to see Drogheda do well this year (thats me in trouble around Oriel Park), but if that is the best Drogheda have played this year, I really fear for you guys.
I thought both teams were poor in the first half, but to go an entire 45 minutes against 10 men in the second half, and not create a single chance (or have even a shot on goal) is poor. Passing the ball around well against 10 men in not enough!
From Dundalks' perspective it was a missed opportunity - but satisfied with the point in the circumstances
True enough but possession wise and the way the knoced the ball around, it's the best I've seen us play. ( I missed our win plus the 2-2 draw with Rovers)
Dundalk were dangerous on the break but Duffy sent in some great balls all through 2nd half but no one there to meet them.
As regarding any trouble, well I didn't see any. I saw a Drogs fan being thrown out for having a flare and that was about it.
Mind you, I was frisked for a good 10-15 seconds before I entered just because I was wearing a hoody. My mate wasn't wearing one and they told him to just go on in. :eek:
A N Mouse
16/05/2009, 11:45 AM
But everyone knows Doolins a bitter, pathetic, whinging langer in interviews, including our fans who openly admit it....that doesn't mean Kenny isn't too which is something a lot of your fans don't accept.
Kenny can whinge with the best of them, no doubt.
Doesn't mean he does it all the time. I'd say he does enough accepting the blame/not good enough/better team won (and last weeks - not me, it was the team) to come across as gracious a fair portion of the time. Ok so not saying much when compared some of what's in the league.
You'll also probably find that he's never (well, hardly ever) found whinging from a minority of one.
I imagine that if even money was offered - on Doolin to have a whinge about something, if interview shown, on mns this week - corkies would jump on it. Whereas 2/1 would the price for Kenny, despite the result and all the whinging elsewhere.
16/05/2009, 1:50 PM
2) High horses? There's people on your forum accusing the linesman, who sent off our player and called ridiculous offsides against us too, biased because of being from Cork.......should I judge all of ye based on that?
Hardly has any credence, given none of them were at the game.
As stated on our site, Cork were very very good in the first half. Lordan and Healy were immense with Gamble also very good. However our defending was all over the shop from the free which led to the goal.
Second half, we get a man sent off and yet for the rest of the game it appears as if it is Cork who are down to ten men. I reckon Silagis touched the ball about three times before he was changed. Cork just got sucked deeper and deeper and their internationally capped midfielders went AWOL.
It was Derry doing all the pressing in the second half but it wasn't to be.
Umberside
16/05/2009, 3:08 PM
Hardly has any credence, given none of them were at the game.
As stated on our site, Cork were very very good in the first half. Lordan and Healy were immense with Gamble also very good. However our defending was all over the shop from the free which led to the goal.
Second half, we get a man sent off and yet for the rest of the game it appears as if it is Cork who are down to ten men. I reckon Silagis touched the ball about three times before he was changed. Cork just got sucked deeper and deeper and their internationally capped midfielders went AWOL.
It was Derry doing all the pressing in the second half but it wasn't to be.
Credit Derry they tried to keep playing and are a great side to watch. One of the things I looked forward to last night was watching Derry because in my mind there the best attacking team in the league.
16/05/2009, 3:32 PM
UCD vs Waterford one of the worst games. about three shots throughout the game.
I thought it was quite entertaining. Both teams played pretty well, and there were far more than three shots in the game.
Umberside
16/05/2009, 4:22 PM
I thought it was quite entertaining. Both teams played pretty well, and there were far more than three shots in the game.
RTÉ certainly enjoyed in their match report.
16/05/2009, 5:02 PM
RTÉ certainly enjoyed in their match report.
They didn't spend too long talking about it though! http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0515/ucd_waterford.html
Umberside
16/05/2009, 5:26 PM
They didn't spend too long talking about it though! http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0515/ucd_waterford.html
Mind you they didn't write too much more for the Louth derby either.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0515/drogheda_dundalk.html
the-blue-harp
16/05/2009, 5:31 PM
now for the big game of the weekend....Finn Harps v Monaghan Utd. Epic encounter. :D
16/05/2009, 6:23 PM
That's pineapple stu- thought you knew that?;)
L.T.F.C.
16/05/2009, 6:57 PM
Limerick one up.
16/05/2009, 7:10 PM
1-0 to Monaghan, scorer, Clancy, in Finn Park and in case the teams aren't posted here yet here they are:
Finn Harps: Gallagher, Funston, Rossiter, Mukendie, Mailey, McGowan, Harkin, Huston, McDaid, Gethins, Brolly. Subs: Conaghan, Forker, Bonner, Coll, Cullen
Monaghan United: Kennedy, Whelan, Grimes, Byrne, Gartland, Tierney, O'Connor, Brennan, Bermingham, Hanaphy, Clancy. Subs: Freeman, McCrossan, Lynch, McKenna, McGann
16/05/2009, 7:21 PM
Harps equalise. Funston
16/05/2009, 7:21 PM
Limerick one up.
Who was the goalscorer?
16/05/2009, 7:24 PM
Corner, O'Connor takes goal mouth scramble but cleared out a bit and clancy almost found net again but cleared.
16/05/2009, 7:27 PM
Who was the goalscorer?
Lyons on 15.
16/05/2009, 7:33 PM
1 min added in Finn Park. There are 69 Mons fans here tonight! (Granted 60 of them are a visiting French school we are hosting but hey, fans are fans are fans!)
L.T.F.C.
16/05/2009, 7:45 PM
Limerick 1 Longford 1
Town Legend
16/05/2009, 7:50 PM
I thought we were playing at home???;)
16/05/2009, 7:54 PM
I thought we were playing at home???;)
i hope ye are cause otherwise i'm sitting at home on the laptop and i could be in jackman park watching the match :eek::p