View Full Version : Connor declares war on the League of Ireland (especially Bohs!!)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

pól-dcfc
06/05/2009, 12:27 PM
Knowing the absolute bias that is shown against teams outside of Dubland, i have to say i concur with most of his points.

Don't do it to yourself. Connor is a deluded arsehole.

wexfordned
06/05/2009, 12:46 PM
Knowing the absolute bias that is shown against teams outside of Dubland, i have to say i concur with most of his points.

But I'm sure like all Derry fans you're not bitter.

http://www.megacoolstuff.com/playwell/PlayWell.jpg

pól-dcfc
06/05/2009, 2:31 PM

Way to tar 3000 people with the same brush.

Ezeikial
06/05/2009, 3:11 PM
The stark absence of objectivity (with some notable exceptions) on this forum in relation to Sean Connor continues to astound me

While I can understand that Sligo and Bohemians fans have reasons to be blinkered (he took a lot of good players with him from Sligo, and of course he took a lot of good money with him from Bohs), I wonder about the lack of perspective from others.

So what did Sean Connor say, and what was his purpose?

Its pretty clear that the fundamental objective of his article is to galvanise support from the local supporters at a time when Dundalk are 2nd from bottom, face a crises of injuries and suspensions, and have four crucial games imminent. Whether this “siege mentality” call has the desired effect remains to be seen – I suspect that it may be of help in deflecting the growing dissatisfaction among some Dundalk supporters with the current league position.

So, apart from this rallying call for all the clubs supporters to get behind their team, what did he say that was so objectionable to so many foot.ie posters?

Referee's decisions in the Bohs game
The reality is that referee was abysmal. His failure to award even a free kick in either of the Paul Keegan fouls was beyond belief. Sean Connor reaches the conclusion it is part of a bias (Buttimer also gave a wrong decision against Simon Kelly for a penalty against Bray), while others might suggest that it is a grossly incompetent referee who is consistent in his ineptitude

Hostile atmosphere for visiting teams / Nastier approach in games

There is nothing wrong with the aspiration of creating an intimidating or daunting environment for opposition teams on the pitch, once the game is played fairly.

His “nastier approach” is simply advocating more resilience, toughness or physicality.

Naturally some here have chosen to interpret these aspects in a more sinister way - Sean Connor could have (should have) chosen better language. But then I doubt if he is particularly concerned about others intentionally misinterpreting them.

The test is if his comments have the desired impact on the pitch against Galway on Friday (and in Drogheda, Pats & Sligo games to follow).

The next few weeks should certainly be interesting!

06/05/2009, 3:18 PM
He's still an absolute ****bag though:)

06/05/2009, 3:45 PM
The test is if his comments have the desired impact on the pitch against Galway on Friday
Galway certainly should be up for it anyway!
Incidentally, who's Dundalk's Mr Nasty going to be? One might have expected Chris Turner to play the role to some degree, but that didn't work out too well in Dalymount.

forza rovers
06/05/2009, 4:14 PM
Galway certainly should be up for it anyway!
Incidentally, who's Dundalk's Mr Nasty going to be? One might have expected Chris Turner to play the role to some degree, but that didn't work out too well in Dalymount.he keeps that for off the field with his gloves :D

ndrog
06/05/2009, 4:20 PM
The stark absence of objectivity (with some notable exceptions) on this forum in relation to Sean Connor continues to astound me

While I can understand that Sligo and Bohemians fans have reasons to be blinkered (he took a lot of good players with him from Sligo, and of course he took a lot of good money with him from Bohs), I wonder about the lack of perspective from others.

So what did Sean Connor say, and what was his purpose?

Its pretty clear that the fundamental objective of his article is to galvanise support from the local supporters at a time when Dundalk are 2nd from bottom, face a crises of injuries and suspensions, and have four crucial games imminent. Whether this “siege mentality” call has the desired effect remains to be seen – I suspect that it may be of help in deflecting the growing dissatisfaction among some Dundalk supporters with the current league position.

So, apart from this rallying call for all the clubs supporters to get behind their team, what did he say that was so objectionable to so many foot.ie posters?

Referee's decisions in the Bohs game
The reality is that referee was abysmal. His failure to award even a free kick in either of the Paul Keegan fouls was beyond belief. Sean Connor reaches the conclusion it is part of a bias (Buttimer also gave a wrong decision against Simon Kelly for a penalty against Bray), while others might suggest that it is a grossly incompetent referee who is consistent in his ineptitude

Hostile atmosphere for visiting teams / Nastier approach in games

There is nothing wrong with the aspiration of creating an intimidating or daunting environment for opposition teams on the pitch, once the game is played fairly.

His “nastier approach” is simply advocating more resilience, toughness or physicality.

Naturally some here have chosen to interpret these aspects in a more sinister way - Sean Connor could have (should have) chosen better language. But then I doubt if he is particularly concerned about others intentionally misinterpreting them.

The test is if his comments have the desired impact on the pitch against Galway on Friday (and in Drogheda, Pats & Sligo games to follow).

The next few weeks should certainly be interesting!

The reason most fans have a problem with this is that it comes across like a load of moaning nonsense .Every club in the leauge could name countless decisions that have gone against them .All teams in the country think they are hard done by , we all have certain ref,s who screw us over .Alan Kelly take a bow .Its a very transparent atempt by connor to deflect the feeling in dundalk at the min .The natives are getting restless and hes starting to crap himself .Nothing more nothing less .

Celdrog
06/05/2009, 4:28 PM
Fabio must be on decent money anyway if he can go on the lash a few days before the Bohs game. Maybe Connor should look closer to home before blaming everyone else.
http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6347
http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=4915757767&PhotoAlbumId=10701462752&PhotoId=10701484895

http://file048a.bebo.com/0/large/2009/04/27/10/4915757767a10701484895l.jpg

Black and White
06/05/2009, 5:06 PM
Good man Celdrog, was waiting to see who would be the first sad individual to go looking at Bebo for this. You obviously have no life if this is the all only dirt you can get on our team atm. scoruign the socialising networks, what next maybe a piece and photo in the Drogheda Leader or what ever its called next week?

roversforever
06/05/2009, 5:15 PM
Fabio must be on decent money anyway if he can go on the lash a few days before the Bohs game. Maybe Connor should look closer to home before blaming everyone else.
http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6347
http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=4915757767&PhotoAlbumId=10701462752&PhotoId=10701484895

http://file048a.bebo.com/0/large/2009/04/27/10/4915757767a10701484895l.jpg

Robbing pics from the lad's bebo page and posting it here is out of order.Grow up.

06/05/2009, 5:21 PM
thats pretty low alright....:o

06/05/2009, 5:34 PM

I'm sure Steve Bruce is also astounded.
He's a crackpot, you'll be shouting 'Connor Out' soon enough.

By the way, I don't see what the issue is with providing links to a bebo page.

wexfordned
06/05/2009, 5:58 PM
One thing is for certain under Connor I'm sure Fabio gets plenty of time off from training. Under Connor Bohs players did far less training than under any other manager.

I noticed Thomas Heary was carrying an injury into the Bohs game on Friday & was only on the bench. I'm amazed he lasted this long. Its no wonder he claims the squad is strecthed thin when you sign sicknote players.

But it's not Sean's fault. It's all one big conspiracy against him

passerrby
06/05/2009, 7:25 PM
nothing really wrong with his attempt to rally the troops speech ,bit emotive but then its not geared to stir the blood of non believers

Hairy Bowsie
06/05/2009, 7:59 PM
I'm just curious as to what the general consensus is on Orielweb?

Celdrog
06/05/2009, 9:05 PM
Good man Celdrog, was waiting to see who would be the first sad individual to go looking at Bebo for this. You obviously have no life if this is the all only dirt you can get on our team atm. scoruign the socialising networks, what next maybe a piece and photo in the Drogheda Leader or what ever its called next week?I got in on Oriel web

How did you know the photos existed before i posted one of them?
It was Chris Turner who put them on the web, not me, then again he has form for this, doesn't he.

07/05/2009, 12:03 AM

You mean, in the same way that I'm sure like all Wexford fans you're not in love with your kid sister - it's just about the sex.....? :confused:

P.S. I love the way the picture you posted is from a web site called "mega cool stuff". Waw. I wonder what other mega cool treats those crazy guys have over there..... :o

Black and White
07/05/2009, 7:47 AM
I got in on Oriel web

How did you know the photos existed before i posted one of them?
It was Chris Turner who put them on the web, not me, then again he has form for this, doesn't he.

You put them up on a fans forum aka foot.ie, thats very low. If you read the posts on Orielweb you will see that the idiot who put them up there was told the exact same thing, Clown comes to word. Its sad and pathetic when you have to take these things and use them!get a life

ndrog
07/05/2009, 9:09 AM
jesus blackandwhite get off your highhorse ffs .Your stupid players are posting pics on a website of themselves twisted drunk and getting sick etc ! and your getting annoyed with someone putting them up here ? its totally related to connors paranoid rant .He needs to look a lot closer to home instead of blaming everyone else , it pathetic and embarrising :eek:

07/05/2009, 9:14 AM
I got in on Oriel web

It was a Drogheda fan that posted them there too though.. :rolleyes:

07/05/2009, 9:17 AM
You mean, in the same way that I'm sure like all Wexford fans you're not in love with your kid sister - it's just about the sex.....? :confused:

I think you'll find he's a Bohs fan.

And remember kids; incest is best ;)

shep
07/05/2009, 9:24 AM
it pathetic and embarrising :eek:

A bit like Drogheda United really.

Ezeikial
07/05/2009, 10:03 AM
Irish Independent In-Off-The-Post column, compiled by Neil Ahern and Daniel McDonnell, have confirmed their anti-Sean Connor stance in their declaration that they have a relationship problem with him!

"Sean Connor appears to be struggling in his relations with the written national press at the moment"

One translation of this could be - "We are the national press and we dont like you; we say your website article is a bizarre rant, because it dares to be crticial of us journalists!"

I was dubious as to why this programme article was published on the website in the first place, as at first look, it appears to be aimed exclusively at club supporters.
If Sean Connor was looking to get a reaction from others and build the "us against the world / seige mentality" he should send a thank you note to Messrs McDonnell & Ahern

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/connor-may-rant--but-table-doesnt-lie-1729601.html

wexfordned
07/05/2009, 10:05 AM

P.S. I love the way the picture you posted is from a web site called "mega cool stuff". Waw. I wonder what other mega cool treats those crazy guys have over there..... :o

I am confused I don't have a sister. :confused:

Question for you though where does the chip on the shoulder attitude that alot (not all) Derry fans have come from, although after reading Kenny's latest rant I suppose it's a cultre thing

pól-dcfc
07/05/2009, 10:14 AM
I am confused I don't have a sister. :confused:

Question for you though where does the chip on the shoulder attitude that alot (not all) Derry fans have come from, although after reading Kenny's latest rant I suppose it's a cultre thing

Every club who has underachieved in the league as we have for the past 10 years will have fans who have a chip on their shoulders. The fact that the majority of the refs are from Dublin and many of the teams we play against are also from Dublin doesn't help either.

And to link it to another thead, when you constantly get "Londonderry" thrown at you, it does tend to make you a bit bitter. It's not really as simple as a bit of grief, because many people have died in this city due to the presence of London.

That said, I don't think I have a chip on my shoulder. Others may disagree. Every club has people who will get wound up about decisions - Bohs fans are unbelievable on their message board for example.

Black and White
07/05/2009, 10:16 AM
jesus blackandwhite get off your highhorse ffs .Your stupid players are posting pics on a website of themselves twisted drunk and getting sick etc ! and your getting annoyed with someone putting them up here ? its totally related to connors paranoid rant .He needs to look a lot closer to home instead of blaming everyone else , it pathetic and embarrising :eek:

Jaysus lads...all the Drogs fans are worried about their more successful neighbours atm than their own club! I would suggest ye all worry about your own problems rather than scheming about ours!did you take a look at the league table lately, I do believe ye are propping it up!Relegaton and close of business at the end of the season!:D

WoodquayBoy
07/05/2009, 11:40 AM
Isn't that McDonnell feall from the Indo a Dundalk fan? If so, what is his agenda - wanting to get the best for his club?

wexfordned
07/05/2009, 11:43 AM
Irish Independent In-Off-The-Post column, compiled by Neil Ahern and Daniel McDonnell, have confirmed their anti-Sean Connor stance in their declaration that they have a relationship problem with him!

"Sean Connor appears to be struggling in his relations with the written national press at the moment"

One translation of this could be - "We are the national press and we dont like you; we say your website article is a bizarre rant, because it dares to be crticial of us journalists!"

I was dubious as to why this programme article was published on the website in the first place, as at first look, it appears to be aimed exclusively at club supporters.
If Sean Connor was looking to get a reaction from others and build the "us against the world / seige mentality" he should send a thank you note to Messrs McDonneel & Ahern

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/connor-may-rant--but-table-doesnt-lie-1729601.html

I disagree. They simply point the difference in Connor's attitude between the first week of the season & last week. Also as the heading of the articile is quite clear in relation to why they think Connor decided to throw a tantrum.

Ezeikial
07/05/2009, 12:23 PM
I disagree. They simply point the difference in Connor's attitude between the first week of the season & last week. Also as the heading of the articile is quite clear in relation to why they think Connor decided to throw a tantrum.

Heading: Connor may rant -- but table doesn't lie

rant (rānt) http://cache.lexico.com/g/d/dictionary_questionbutton_default.gif (http://dictionary.reference.com/help/ahd4/pronkey.html)
v. rant·ed, rant·ing, rants

v. intr.
To speak or write in an angry or violent manner; rave.
v. tr.
To utter or express with violence or extravagance: a dictator who ranted his vitriol onto a captive audience.
n.

Violent or extravagant speech or writing.
A speech or piece of writing that incites anger or violence

Yep - heading is justified!

Neil Ahern seems to be angry alright, so that qualifies as a rant. i wonder will Ahern erupt into violence from the press section on Friday night?

Larry 'da' Wyse
07/05/2009, 12:36 PM
Just checkin in to see if, like nearly every other thread that goes over a
few pages on foot.ie this one has evolved into a row or slaggin' match between a few people.

07/05/2009, 1:09 PM
Just checkin in to see if, like nearly every other thread that goes over a
few pages on foot.ie this one has evolved into a row or slaggin' match between a few people.

You startin?

wexfordned
07/05/2009, 2:06 PM
Heading: Connor may rant -- but table doesn't lie

rant (rānt) http://cache.lexico.com/g/d/dictionary_questionbutton_default.gif (http://dictionary.reference.com/help/ahd4/pronkey.html)
v. rant·ed, rant·ing, rants

v. intr.
To speak or write in an angry or violent manner; rave.
v. tr.
To utter or express with violence or extravagance: a dictator who ranted his vitriol onto a captive audience.
n.

Violent or extravagant speech or writing.
A speech or piece of writing that incites anger or violence

Yep - heading is justified!

Neil Ahern seems to be angry alright, so that qualifies as a rant. i wonder will Ahern erupt into violence from the press section on Friday night?

Without cutting & pasting from wikipedia all I assume Neil Ahern is pointing out is that Connor is moaning to take away attention from the club's position in the league table. It's not that complicated

07/05/2009, 6:25 PM
It was a Drogheda fan that posted them there too though.. :rolleyes:

Was it a Drogheda fan that put turners ahem 'gloves' video on the web too?

ndrog
07/05/2009, 6:46 PM
Jaysus lads...all the Drogs fans are worried about their more successful neighbours atm than their own club! I would suggest ye all worry about your own problems rather than scheming about ours!did you take a look at the league table lately, I do believe ye are propping it up!Relegaton and close of business at the end of the season!:D

eh this drogheda fan is well aware about the position his team find themselves in, we still have a club after the wonderful supporters and people of drogheda dug keep and saved the club ;) we are also fighting for survival at the bottom , a bit like yourselves , while you paying big money to players and a manager who just cant keep his silly trap shut , its just funny .And i have as much right to comment on it as anyone else .

LukeO
07/05/2009, 7:05 PM

If Sean Connor was looking to get a reaction from others and build the "us against the world / seige mentality" he should send a thank you note to Messrs McDonnell & Ahern

Are you Sean Connor by any chance?

eelmonster
07/05/2009, 7:09 PM

Jesus, you gypsies are almost as paranoid as our Sean. That's the third or fourth poster you've (collectively) accused of being SC :o

07/05/2009, 7:17 PM
Jesus, you gypsies are almost as paranoid as our Sean. That's the third or fourth poster you've (collectively) accused of being SC :o

He may have multiple accounts on here - who's to say? ;)

eelmonster
07/05/2009, 7:18 PM
He may have multiple accounts on here - who's to say?

Ha. I'm Seanacus!

Ezeikial
07/05/2009, 8:06 PM

I understand!

If anyone posts an alternative view in this anti-Connor forum, they must be either mad or SC (or even mad & SC) :)

Hairy Bowsie
07/05/2009, 8:26 PM
Can i just point out that i like Sean Conner, within this league he has provided me with the laughs that pretty much had left with the other deluded fool, Roddy Collins.

07/05/2009, 9:23 PM
Old Mad Tom seems to have disappeared - now we have Poor Mad Sean

sonofstan
07/05/2009, 9:33 PM
(or even mad & SC) :)

Definition of a tautology

07/05/2009, 9:46 PM
Definition of a tautology

What's the study of cakes got to do with this?

Or are we talking about torteology?

GuisaSaigon
08/05/2009, 1:21 PM
Old Mad Tom seems to have disappeared
He's still knocking about the place..........coming to a LOI Ground near you soon, no doubt!

08/05/2009, 1:23 PM
He's still knocking about the place..........coming to a LOI Ground near you soon, no doubt!

Met him on O'Connell bridge last Saturday, looking for a ticket for the Munshter game.:) Wouldnt let us go till he told us Cook won't last the season.

08/05/2009, 1:25 PM

Was at Drogheda-Derry last week. :)

GuisaSaigon
08/05/2009, 1:26 PM
What's the study of cakes got to do with this?

Everything! There are five pages about a fruit cake!

Ezeikial
08/05/2009, 9:46 PM
Perhaps Sean Connor's "rant" had the desired effect tonight.

Good crowd, vocal support, and 3 decent points to take Dundalk to 6th place

gufc2000
09/05/2009, 11:44 PM
]Perhaps Sean Connor's "rant" had the desired effect tonight.[/B]

Good crowd, vocal support, and 3 decent points to take Dundalk to 6th place
Maybe on the referees. Havin listened to the game the ref was poor, but seen as Dundalk won this match Sean won't complaind. Had we won he'd have had another rant

The man should be fined and banned. Nobody should be allowed to use programme notes to give out the way he did