View Full Version : Cork City Future.
adamd164
11/04/2009, 5:52 PM
It'll spread here eventually.
Tom Coughlan is through with the club after the Galway game.
400k tax bill.
FORAS have called an EGM for next week, but the problem is even if staff all agreed to terminate contracts there's no way the fans could foot a tax bill that size.
Club looks like folding. Will not be allowed into examinership again: straight to receivership (with zilch assets) and liquidation.
brianw82
11/04/2009, 5:53 PM
Whoa. That's crap.
holy sh1t.... thats not good.
Is there any way you can pull through adam? I hope you can. The league needs clubs like Cork.
adamd164
11/04/2009, 5:55 PM
Correction: players were NOT told this last night.
pól-dcfc
11/04/2009, 5:57 PM
Bloody nightmare. This is sh*t.
11/04/2009, 5:58 PM
Scandalous that this has been allowed to happen again (if it comes to pass). Coughlan must have personal assets that it'd be worth creditors trying to pursue. Screams of reckless or indeed fraudulent trading. As for the FAI and their compliance section..well words fail me. Padraig Smith and/or Fran Gavin should be sacked
adamd164
11/04/2009, 5:58 PM
holy sh1t.... thats not good.
Is there any way you can pull through adam? I hope you can. The league needs clubs like Cork.
Not sure mate. Looks very bad.... I don't see anyone bailing us out the way things are at the moment.
How in god's name did the examiner give this guy our club is what I wanna know.:(
why is Coughlan through with the club Adam?
terrible news.
11/04/2009, 6:04 PM
25 years, went long enough for a club from Cork. Feels like Christmas Eve right now :)
LeixlipRed
11/04/2009, 6:05 PM
If this is true it's a shambles of the FAI's own making. The blame lies with them for allowing Cork to get a licence.
adamd164
11/04/2009, 6:07 PM
If this is true it's a shambles of the FAI's own making. The blame lies with them for allowing Cork to get a licence.
I would question the examiner who handed it to him just as much (and I know for a fact alternatives were there). The guy gets paid a lot of money to ensure that things like this don't happen. What a halfwit.:mad:
11/04/2009, 6:09 PM
I would question the examiner who handed it to him just as much (and I know for a fact alternatives were there). The guy gets paid a lot of money to ensure that things like this don't happen. What a halfwit.:mad:
Haven't I read on here that Coughlan had to lodge 500,000 euros in an account to prove he was financially capable of taking over and running the club?
What happened to that money?
pól-dcfc
11/04/2009, 6:10 PM
This is a disgrace. I will be devastated if Cork go to the wall. Only one big team outside Dublin in a couple of weeks :(.
11/04/2009, 6:13 PM
Haven't I read on here that Coughlan had to lodge 500,000 euros in an account to prove he was financially capable of taking over and running the club?
Probably went out again as soon as the court had ruled and was given back to whoever gave it to him in the first place.
adamd164
11/04/2009, 6:14 PM
He also said he was gonna buy the Horseshoe pub next to the ground and turn it into a supporters' bar. This was central to his application and he pulled out of it in no time.
He is going to be public enemy #1 I feel. I don't understand what he wanted from this.... it seems like total madness. What was he hoping to achieve?! Words fail me with the guy.
11/04/2009, 6:17 PM
The league needs clubs like Cork.
No, it doesn't. A club in Cork, maybe, but Cork City have been ****ing about for long enough.
Shels and Drogs both survived and restructured after their financial troubles but Cork don't seem to have learned. I don't have any sympathy for the club if they still refuse to cop on.
Sorry for the fans though.
so who is this "club" that you have no sympathy for? Coughlan is "the club", he has apparently reneged on his promises to the fans. Your post makes no fckin sense.
Stop twisting my words. Of course the league needs a club like Cork.
well supported, outside of Dublin.
bad news this, hopefully something can be sorted out. The league needs our non-dublin based clubs up and running financially correct if the league is to grow.
11/04/2009, 6:40 PM
so who is this "club" that you have no sympathy for? Coughlan is "the club", he has apparently reneged on his promises to the fans. Your post makes no fckin sense.
The last owners of Cork City made a balls of it. Before that it was Lennox and, from what I've read on here, when he was in charge, Cork City were losing money as well. What's the common factor there? The club.
For years, the club have been spending money they obviously don't have. As we saw with Shels and Drogs, they cut back when their over-spending caught up on them and sacrificed future success, i.e. Shels in the First and Drogs already five points adrift at the bottom of the table.
What Cork City needs to do is stop spending the money it is. If it means cutting wages and getting rid of players then so be it. They've had enough warnings, imo. It just doesn't seem to have sunk in that the money isn't there to support the over-spending they've been doing for years. (Which obviously they are, or else they wouldn't be in trouble - again)
Partizan
11/04/2009, 7:00 PM
Lads, if the worst comes to pass, ye can always head up the N25 and support the most successful team in Munster :D
Yere more than welcome.
madblaa
11/04/2009, 7:00 PM
I'm sure theres a song somewhere, "I hate to tell you I told you so!", are you reading GreenWhiteRebel?
Partizan
11/04/2009, 7:07 PM
I'm sure theres a song somewhere, "I hate to tell you I told you so!", are you reading GreenWhiteRebel?
What happened to the mantra "live within your means"?
madblaa
11/04/2009, 7:15 PM
Cork people ( a generalisation, yes) are incapable of that, always spouting that they're better than everyone else and when it comes down to it, they're not, and you see what happens!?!
galwaygirl
11/04/2009, 7:17 PM
Terrible news.... hopefully it wont come to this and something can be sorted :(
adamd164
11/04/2009, 7:17 PM
Might have known the Waterford fans would be on here gloating.
Sad, bitter people.
CSFShels
11/04/2009, 7:18 PM
Terrible news.... hopefully it wont come to this and something can be sorted :(
It is terrible news, but it deserves to come to this, anything else would be unfair to the other teams in the league. Horrible for the fans though, I know that pain.
Dont see what they have to gloat about...:confused: Feel sorry for the fans in all this.
madblaa
11/04/2009, 7:21 PM
It is terrible news, but it deserves to come to this, anything else would be unfair to the other teams in the league. Horrible for the fans though, I know that pain.Shels didn't fold though and Shels well capable of going back up.
eelmonster
11/04/2009, 7:23 PM
€400,000 ... a bill that size isn't gonna pay itself.
So why on earth was there free admission to the match last week? What were they thinking. Hope something can be sorted out so that you can finish the season, at least.
madblaa
11/04/2009, 7:25 PM
Sad, bitter people.As long as I'm a Blues fan,we've had to listen to you lot giving us a hard time because of our hardships, and we've had a LOT to put up with, so just deserts really.
Personally, I don't want to see you disappear, I enjoy the banter. At the same time you'll be back under yet another guise soon enough, what'll you call yourselves this time, Cork Re-United?
Partizan
11/04/2009, 7:25 PM
Sad, bitter people.
who were the ones gloating when Jimmy McGeough got the boot? who were the ones gloating when we lost the 2004 Cup final and rubbed our noses in it by subjecting us to unmerciful abuse and Red FM sponsoring the pubs in Cork to show the match the following Monday...who were the ones gloating when we nearly went to the wall in 2005? All the cheap ass jibes down through the years. The typical C/\wkie superiority complex, the egos that went unchecked. We on the otherhand just put the head down, restructured and despite all the crap that we have been through down the years, we are still here 79 years young.
As for Evergreen/Celtic/Hibs/Alberts/FC/United/City etc, etc ad finitum.
11/04/2009, 7:27 PM
Terrible news. Hope this can be resolved somehow...doesn't look good though if this is true.
The league needs clubs like Cork.
The league doesnt need any club - I always laugh when people say things like - obviously good to have a good geographical spread in the league, but the league will be no worse off no matter who goes to the wall. Survived before after every other cork club went to the wall - in a years time, nobody will give a f***
Sad to see any club fold though
i know what you mean Cosmo, but it really does need a strong Cork team. I also believe it needs teams like Galway, Limerick, Waterford and Sligo to be strong too. The geographical spread is vital for the long term prosperity of the league in general.
corkharps
11/04/2009, 7:39 PM
A taxbill of 400k doesn't just appear from nowhere,Coughlan would have been made aware of this when he took control of the club, so how can he use this as an excuse? :confused:
11/04/2009, 7:40 PM
the league will be no worse off no matter who goes to the wall.
That's pure nonesense.
The Irish League lost a key part of its soul when Belfast Celtic pulled out in the 1940's. And another chunk of its credibility went when City pulled out in 1972.
To claim that any club can crash out of football without the league they're in being damaged is pure nonesense. Cork are an extremely important club for the attractiveness and viability of our league. It's the second city in the Republic, fer feck sake. From a sponsor's perspective alone, it would be bonkers to not value having a presence in the league's second city.
If Cork go to the wall it will be a very bad day for LOI football. The league survived the loss of numerous Cork teams before - but they were in much better times for football here.
Certain sections of the media will have a field day for a start....
madblaa
11/04/2009, 7:40 PM
i know what you mean Cosmo, but it really does need a strong Cork team. I also believe it needs teams like Galway, Limerick, Waterford and Sligo to be strong too. The geographical spread is vital for the long term prosperity of the league in general.Why? My message was too short to post so again, why?
11/04/2009, 7:44 PM
The last owners of Cork City made a balls of it. Before that it was Lennox and, from what I've read on here, when he was in charge, Cork City were losing money as well. What's the common factor there? The club.
Err - no actually. As you yourself allude to, it's a management issue, not a club issue. Good products can be run badly you know. Plus, it's as much an issue with our league. Practically everyone of our clubs has lost money at some point - that's the financial tightrope that even the best run clubs in Ireland have to walk across continually.
Those running a football club at any one time aren't the club. Just like the players and managers aren't. If anything is a club, then in reality its the fans - the one piece of continuity across generations.
If Cork City go to the wall, I hope FORAS set-up an AFC Wimbledon-esque fan owned team to fill its place. They have one of the best models for a football club that I have seen anywhere.
Why? My message was too short to post so again, why?
dcfcsteve touched on some of the reasons above. Would you rather see a league made up of 6 dublin teams, Bray, 2 louth teams and, say, Derry? Or one with, say, 3/4 dublin teams, Sligo, Galway, Cork, Derry, Waterford, Limerick and Athlone. The away trips, the catchment areas, the derbys. Far more attractive really and you should really be able to see why.
To claim that any club can crash out of football without the league they're in being damaged is pure nonesense.
Not at all.
the league is on its knees now anyway, in over 20 years following it, i cant see how its ever been in a worse mess - but it doesnt need any certain club
As I said in a years time, nobody will give a f*** about cork folding
11/04/2009, 8:00 PM
Not at all.
the league is on its knees now anyway, in over 20 years following it, i cant see how its ever been in a worse mess - but it doesnt need any certain club
As I said in a years time, nobody will give a f*** about cork folding
Just like no-one laments the loss of Belfast Celtic still, even after 61 years, and just like the Irish league have never tried to get Derry City back, yeah....? :rolleyes:
To be honest, the league was in a worse state in the early-to-mid 1980's in my view. Crowds were abismal - much worse than now, even at supposedly big clubs like Bohs and Pats, clubs were still falling out of the league all the time, grounds were even ****tier than they are now, 2/3 big clubs were actually homeless, our sponsorhsip by a Fried Chicken magnate made us a laughing stock, and a home draw in a European preliminary round fixture was akin to winning the world cup.
In fact - since the league was founded in 1922, there hasn't been a period of more than 3 seasons in a row EVER when the league didn't see some sort of flux in teams (joining, dropping out, changing name etc).
It's obvious we won't agree on this, and it's sad to say that the only way you can be proven wrong is if Cork do go out of business. The fact that so many Cork clubs have sprung up to replace defunct ones shows that having a club from the Republic's second city is considered important by at least Corkonians and the FAI/other clubs. And I suspect a new one would appear within a season or two if Cork City did go.
don ramo
11/04/2009, 8:21 PM
geograpical spread will be fine, all fans welcome down here in cobh (yes were still here), we might be in the A league but we dont plan staying here for long,
how is it that city got a premier licence while oweing so much to the taxman, we owe E160K, and couldnt get our licence on this basis, so i have to ask how the f*** city got one,
i honestly dont know if this is true, but if it is im not surprised, the whole of cobh know coughlan is a pure ganster, he turned one of the most succesfull nightclubs in east cork into a hotel (mind you it was a hotel nightclub but he shut the nightclub),
when he took over city he moved there offices to the hotel, and he charges city rent for it, he moved the club shop to his own building in the city and also charges rent,
how this man was given the club astounds me every time i think about it,
any kind of official word on this anyway
11/04/2009, 8:24 PM
while it is bad news that cork find themselves in trouble again, you cant pay 35,000 a week in wages pre examanership and then pay 32,000 post examanership. all that **** about coughlin putting in an assurity of 500,000 was spoof. he bought the club for one euro. cork need to quit, pull out this year and come back with Cork FC next year and will be viable just as long as they dont pay out silly money. not gloating but cork and ourselves are very similar. we both borrow grounds, we both have cities with huge sporting backrounds, corks spend per week is 32,000, limericks would be close to 2,000.as long as we dont own our own ground and dont have to pay out for expensive training facilities and grounds we will not be paying the silly money
We need to raise €500,000 in about 2 weeks in simple terms. Things look bleak at the moment for Cork City fc :(
Celdrog
11/04/2009, 8:27 PM
Is it a foreone conclusion?
And those of you dancing on Cork City's grave could very well be in the same situation in the next couple of years. Very sorry for the Cork lads if its true. Hope another club gets going there soon.
Lets all laugh at ManU or Liverpool hopefully imploding, not one of our own.
Oh well.
Not like the rest of us are going on to bigger and better things anyway.
Makes the FAI stewardship of this league even more of a joke though
Sunny Jim
11/04/2009, 8:38 PM
I *hope* that I speak for most LOI fans when I say that I hope CCFC don't go out of business. The league needs a team in Cork, full stop. And all this gloating turns my stomach. There but for the grace.............
To be honest the fans now are going to have to take things into our own hands and save CCFC if we want to sustain a professional club in Cork. It can be done,just look at Drogheda and Shamrock rovers.
corkharps
11/04/2009, 8:46 PM
Use what as an excuse?
When he was given control of the club, he obviously had to put a business plan together, ,which must have included the payment of the taxbill of 400k. Otherwise WHY was he allowed to con the fans and creditors that he was capable of trading out of trouble?????? The position of the examiner must be questioned here!