View Full Version : Crowd trouble at NI v Poland

Pages : 1 [2] 3

awec
30/03/2009, 11:06 AM
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/display.var.2498737.0.poland_keeper_artur_boruc_dr opped_and_sent_back_to_celtic_after_world_cup_blun ders_against_northern_ireland.php

He's been dropped, sent back to Celtic.

Steve Bruce
30/03/2009, 11:36 AM
Would McCourt or mcGinn have been booed if they played? Can't think of any other reason NI fans would boo Boruc

McGinn has already played for NI with no problems ;)

Also why shouldn't NI fans boo Boruc, he breaks under the pressure.

But could be worse, we could have booed a player because he has the same name as a former Rangers player like they did in dublin a few short years ago;)

Or is that different:rolleyes:

Pike B
30/03/2009, 4:11 PM
Told my missus as I watched the match, 'Bet you there'll be trouble in Belfast tonight.'
Somehow there always is with you lot.

30/03/2009, 4:19 PM
Also why shouldn't NI fans boo Boruc, he breaks under the pressure.

But could be worse, we could have booed a player because he has the same name as a former Rangers player like they did in dublin a few short years ago;)

Or is that different:rolleyes:

If you read the whole thread you'll find I made the point that it is absolutely no different

Sandro
30/03/2009, 6:49 PM
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/1523/74831275.jpg

This picture tells most of the story

awec
30/03/2009, 8:20 PM
Told my missus as I watched the match, 'Bet you there'll be trouble in Belfast tonight.'
You do realise this is the first time there has been trouble at any of our games for YEARS?

Or are you just conveniently ignoring that/ are you brainwashed?

Pike B
30/03/2009, 8:48 PM
You do realise this is the first time there has been trouble at any of our games for YEARS?

Or are you just conveniently ignoring that/ are you brainwashed?
Then your behaviour Saturday is just fine then?
You were due a bit of prejudice violence were you?

Spare me..

awec
30/03/2009, 9:08 PM

Spare me..
What? Where did I say it was fine? What the hell are you waffling about?

There's only one person demonstrating prejudice on this thread. :rolleyes:

old git
30/03/2009, 9:22 PM
I can accept we were involved in trouble.

I won't accept the picture some people try to paint that we are always just a bunch of rioting bigots.

rioting bigots never !! .. but in the bad old days just bigots :mad:... but this seems to have thankfully changed over the last number of years .. unfortunatly every club / international teams everywere wil allways carry a few holligans among the genuine fans :ball:

awec
30/03/2009, 9:24 PM
rioting bigots never !! .. but in the bad old days just bigots :mad:... but this seems to have thankfully changed over the last number of years .. unfortunatly every club / international teams everywere wil allways carry a few holligans among the genuine fans :ball:
I won't dispute anything about the bad old days.

Pike B
30/03/2009, 10:14 PM
What? Where did I say it was fine?

Saying that it was years since you last behaved in this manner doesn't excuse it.

Mr_Parker
30/03/2009, 10:27 PM
Hmm indeed. There was NOTHING sectarian shouted at Boruc.

Boruc you're a w**ker, and the video I posted, is the height of it.

Got the occasional "Boruc, give us a wave", but other than it, nothing.

On other forums NI fans who were at the game have stated that while their was no mass chanting etc he was subjected to sectarian abuse from individuals.

As for the 'famine song' it was stated that it was not sung but that a version along the lines of "we're in recession why dont you go home" or similar was by small groups.

There is no doubt that there were a large group of Polish fans intent on trouble and they got what they wanted and were the main protaginists. There also some so-called NI fans who were 'up for it' and several innocent Polish fans, and NI fans who tried to defend them, got beatings in and around the ground.

The Poles intent on trouble, the poor levels of policing around the game and the willingness of some 'locals' to engage with both, as well as those forced to defend themselves from the Poles combined to leave a bad image imo.

30/03/2009, 11:02 PM

Saying that it was years since you last behaved in this manner doesn't excuse it.Make up your mind :rolleyes:

Most of the posts on this thread are tired stereotypes. I've no desire to follow Norn Ireland but I know enough people who will attest to the progress made.

I can guarantee many of the offended Boruc supporters, when the shoe is on the other foot (Rangers players playing against Ireland) would say there's no harm to it.

If anyone has any experience of Polish football or got close to their Ultras at the match in November, you'd know fairly quickly they are a nasty piece of work.

awec
30/03/2009, 11:46 PM
On other forums NI fans who were at the game have stated that while their was no mass chanting etc he was subjected to sectarian abuse from individuals.

As for the 'famine song' it was stated that it was not sung but that a version along the lines of "we're in recession why dont you go home" or similar was by small groups.

There is no doubt that there were a large group of Polish fans intent on trouble and they got what they wanted and were the main protaginists. There also some so-called NI fans who were 'up for it' and several innocent Polish fans, and NI fans who tried to defend them, got beatings in and around the ground.

The Poles intent on trouble, the poor levels of policing around the game and the willingness of some 'locals' to engage with both, as well as those forced to defend themselves from the Poles combined to leave a bad image imo.

Oh come off it Parker. :rolleyes:

awec
30/03/2009, 11:47 PM
Make up your mind :rolleyes:

Most of the posts on this thread are tired stereotypes. I've no desire to follow Norn Ireland but I know enough people who will attest to the progress made.

I can guarantee many of the offended Boruc supporters, when the shoe is on the other foot (Rangers players playing against Ireland) would say there's no harm to it.

If anyone has any experience of Polish football or got close to their Ultras at the match in November, you'd know fairly quickly they are a nasty piece of work.
Well said. It's good to see an honest post on the subject. :)

SolitudeRed
31/03/2009, 1:51 AM
We have? :rolleyes:

When was the last time there was trouble at a NI game?

Well was there not trouble over in Cardiff a few years back, It wasn't at the match but was there not fighting between the opposing fans at a bar after the match?

31/03/2009, 7:48 AM
I think this is blown way out of proportion - the links show very little riotous behaviour - just a lot of angry men shouting and throwing bollards

what does Pike make of the booing of rangers players by irish fans - i wonder?

and isnt this football - not rugby - different fans with different set of coeds and rules - are we not allowed to take the pish anymore in chants?

Gather round
31/03/2009, 8:00 AM
Told my missus as I watched the match, 'Bet you there'll be trouble in Belfast tonight.' Somehow there always is with you lot.

There isn't, unlesss you have any evidence to the contrary?

No it doesn't. Two footballers celebrating winning a football match is hardly the issue here?

Spare me..

I'd be delighted to be spared reading you, Pike. Nobody has claimed that either

a) Saturday was just fine, or

b) anyone was due a bit of violence.

Stop stirring, eh?

Saying that it was years since you last behaved in this manner doesn't excuse it.

No-one's seeking to excuse it. He was only answering your false claim that it happens at every game.

The Poles intent on trouble, the poor levels of policing around the game and the willingness of some 'locals' to engage with both, as well as those forced to defend themselves from the Poles combined to leave a bad image imo

Fair points. Do you know how the Police presence compared with other recent NI home games?

Most of the posts on this thread are tired stereotypes. I've no desire to follow Norn Ireland but I know enough people who will attest to the progress made

Tsk. Cruel but possibly true. Can't speak for others on the thread, but I'd say consistent, factual answer to others' comments rather than stereotype :)

Well was there not trouble over in Cardiff a few years back, It wasn't at the match but was there not fighting between the opposing fans at a bar after the match?

Didn't see or hear of any after the game (assuming you mean the 2-2 game in 2004). I saw a brief scuffle in the big open plan bar on the stadium side of St mary's St before the game- caused apparently by some local Cardiff (City) fans taking exception to Swansea's posse bringing a union jack over to a group of our fans.

The worst trouble I've ever seen at an Irish game in Cardiff was many years ago- 1997 I think. A senior poster on this site and of the London RISSC was threatened with a kicking by the Cork boys after spending the entire game shouting abuse at Roy Keane :(

I think this is blown way out of proportion - the links show very little riotous behaviour - just a lot of angry men shouting and throwing bollards?

Plenty of witness accounts though. I don't think we can deny it shows NI football and the city of Belfast generally in a bad light abroad.

Mr_Parker
31/03/2009, 10:24 AM
Oh come off it Parker. :rolleyes:

What, are you calling the NI fans who were at the games liars :confused:

Roadend
31/03/2009, 10:35 AM
and isnt this football - not rugby - different fans with different set of coeds

Was it like the coed stuff I saw on the net, that was damn good entertainment

Hibernian
31/03/2009, 12:07 PM
Having read all the posts here I think that we need to understand that there is only a small minority of fans from both sides who caused this trouble.

The northern Ireland fans created a fantastic atmosphere on Saturday and those chants and singing after the game is something we could learn from as ROI fans how get behind a team.

I was in the Big Tree on Saturday before game while the N.Ireland game was on and I must say there were few smart comments coming from a minority of ROI fans towards the the northern boys there accents tell they from from north themselves. My point is that if this had been other way around we be on there backs like we are right now about it.

In one instance when Evans scored there was a few boys at the back applauded and they got few dirty looks, one dirty look came from guy who was wearing a "premier league" football jersey with a foreign name player on the back.. There he was nodding in disgust at the boys for going for the north and then he (I presume he was going to game) had the arrogence to do what he did.

Im not trying to have a pop at my fellow Irish fans im just basically trying to point out that EVERY country has a few idiots who try to ruin and put a bad name on the rest of us..

The reason ROI fans are considered the best is that when we go to different countries we get the real fans the fans who enjoy the craic and they are the real fans who have led by example throughout the world how to enjoy themselves and are a credit to this island.

Yes the North irish should get heavy fine for the coin throwing with the linesman but it was only one stupid idiot that did this and im sure many 99% of Northern fans were well annoyed and upset by all this nonsense.

It seems to me like the Poland fans started it as of the nine arrested the whole lot were from there. Surley if there was Northern Boys causing trouble then they would have got arrested too. Mybe they had no other choice but to defend themsleves?

99% of people go to football games go for just that football and the love of there club or country.. as they say theres always one, and these must never win over the majority who love the game.

Wangball
31/03/2009, 12:08 PM
In the Ireland U21 match against Spain the young Rangers lad Aaron Niguez came on as a late substitute and I can't recall him being booed once

31/03/2009, 12:23 PM
In the Ireland U21 match against Spain the young Rangers lad Aaron Niguez came on as a late substitute and I can't recall him being booed onceSectarian knuckledraggers don't make a habit of going to underage games IMO. They aren't bandwagon enough for them.

cheifo
31/03/2009, 12:33 PM
The progress made by N.I. over the last ten years or so to remove the sectarian element frome home games has been great work and given their genuine fans their team back.

Nobody should live in fantasy land though and their is always going to be a minority who will let you down.

Lets go back to the "Love Ulster" riots a couple of years ago.All our hoolies were there in their Celtic tops making a bloody disgrace of us.

Boruc is an attention seeker and deserves to get stick.

There are a lot of people in the Republic who love to tut tut at this rather than having a mature/unbiased look at what went on.

I have spoken to people in Belfast and the trouble was blown out of proportion.

I could be wrong but I sense there is people on here who just don't like N.I fans being proud of and supporting their team.

As Dodge pointed out, Rangers players have got booed here so we should know to be careful to point out- while we are discussing NI affairs- we are aware from our own experience that these situations are always created by a minority of really dumb people.

BTW is it right the Polish fans responsible got a suspended sentence?

Gather round
31/03/2009, 12:41 PM
Good points by Chiefo, ORA and Hibernian.

I also heard the Polish fans arrested were given suspended sentences. To be honest isn't this the norm throughout Europe? Unless the visiting team's hooligans are convicted of the most serious violence offences (murder or attempted, say), the local Police and courts will want to get them out of the country soonest.

31/03/2009, 12:50 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7973647.stm

Irish Football Association President Raymond Kennedy said they would come down hard on so-called Northern Ireland fans who step over the mark.

Kennedy delivered his rebuke after the IFA has imposed a life ban on the fan who struck an official with a coin during the game against Poland.

Well done to the IFA, and well done to other fans who (apparently) identified him to the authorities.

Awec, you cannot categorically state there were absolutely no sectarian comments made by any fan during the game. Mr. Parker (or was it Gather Round) has pointed out that fans on other forums have said they did hear some sectarian comments. It doesn't mean everybody is tarred with the same brush, and it doesn't mean a return to darker days. If comments were made, it is just a couple of idiots making idiotic comments, probably to entertain themselves.

And ROI fans who seem to be enjoying these incidents from on top of their high horse should realise these things could happen anywhere, with ROI no exception.

Gather round
31/03/2009, 1:19 PM
pointed out that fans on other forums have said they did hear some sectarian comments

I was watching on Sky TV and although they filter crowd noise I could hear the Sloop John B tune (whatever the words) and a long-standing chant of 'Artur Boruc you're a w*nker'.

I'd like to see the coin thrower prosecuted more than a 'lifetime' ban from a season ticket (which in any case doesn't stop him travelling away, or buying one-off tickets once the stadium is extended/ moved).

31/03/2009, 5:00 PM
Booing a player because he plays for Celtic/Rangers is ridiculous, booing Boruc cos he's a d*ck is fair enough. Im sure there were one or 2 sectarian comments from individuals, in the same way that Id be certain the same would happen about a Rangers player in Dublin. Every fanbase has ignorant, sectarian racist *****s, its simply a matter of statistics. I see nothing to suggest the NI fans were worse than anyone else

It seems clear from all reports that there was a substantial group of polish hoods who went looking to cause trouble. Anything Ive read seems to say that the locals who reacted violently were not at the game, given that the polish hooligans didnt have tickets this makes sense. It also makes the arguments of people who would love to blame NI fans for everything look silly.

Im sure there were a few NI fans that got involved unnecessarily, and they deserve the same treatment as the Polish scumbags but anyone who tries to claim the same wouldnt happen in Dublin if the Polish started wrecking the place like they did above is simply full of ****. Every town has people who are delighted with the chance to get involved with something like this.

The people who came to cause trouble dont care, theyl head home and carry one while the local Polish will have to deal with the aftermath. Theyre are tensions building already all over the UK and here between some locals and the foreigners 'stealing jobs'. This just adds fuel to those flames and there will be innocents caught in the middle.

Sandro
31/03/2009, 6:14 PM
http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/1523/74831275.jpg

No it doesn't. Two footballers celebrating winning a football match is hardly the issue here?

Celebrating??? :rolleyes:

31/03/2009, 6:17 PM
Celebrating??? :rolleyes:

:confused: What do you think is happening there?

Sandro
31/03/2009, 6:35 PM
I see an irrsponsible idiot doing his best to start troubles.

31/03/2009, 6:37 PM
I see an irrsponsible idiot doing his best to start troubles.

Seriously? If you didnt know anything about the game or events would you say the same?

Or are you attributing something you think could be there to an innocent photograph?

My first thought when Id seen what you'd posted was that you'd posted the wrong image because to me that photo looks like millions of others the world over from last weekend...

Sandro
31/03/2009, 6:48 PM
A little help... the irresponsible idiot is wearing green and appears on the right side of the photo

to me that photo looks like millions of others the world over from last weekend...

Now, find another one and post it here if you can. I am waiting...

awec
31/03/2009, 6:51 PM
A little help... the irresponsible idiot is wearing green and appears on the right side of the photo

Whaaaaaaaaaaat? :D:D

You must be taking the ****? Surely nobody actually thinks like this? :eek:

Tell me what Craigan is doing wrong then?

31/03/2009, 7:01 PM

Not sure how to post images.

Here is a picture from our game last Friday against Bray, player celebrating with raised clenched fist
http://corkcityfc.ie/gallery/displayimage.php?album=69&pos=12

I really dont see how else your photo could be interpreted but please explain if there's something Im missing.

awec
31/03/2009, 7:07 PM
Even if Craigan were making a gesture (which he isn't), is Sandro going to condemn Boruc for crossing himself in front of our fans?

For, if Craigans apparent gesture is irresponsible, then Boruc's was too.

Edit: I just checked and Sandro apparently lives in Italy. The gesture Craigan is making means something in Italy (Healy got sent off by an italian ref in the 2-2 Wales game in Cardiff), but it doesn't mean anything here. So dismount your horse please sir.

Sandro
31/03/2009, 7:10 PM
Oh yeah, exactly the same. You can surf the net all night long, you won't find any, well maybe in some Talebans lower division. I think we can as well stop here, by the way

31/03/2009, 7:16 PM
Oh yeah, exactly the same. You can surf the net all night long, you won't find any, well maybe in some Talebans lower division. I think we can as well stop here, by the way

You've completely lost me tbh...I've absolutely no idea what you're talking about.

awec
31/03/2009, 7:17 PM
You've completely lost me tbh...I've absolutely no idea what you're talking about.
Same.

Pike B
31/03/2009, 7:17 PM
http://www.dailyhun.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2008/04/boruc-pope-t-shirt.jpg

He should have worn this one.. :D:D

Sandro
31/03/2009, 7:20 PM
For, if Craigans apparent gesture is irresponsible, then Boruc's was too.

Definitly another irresponsible idiot. Like Gazza a few years ago and everybody else who doesn't care about the consequences of their behaviour
And as far as I know Boruc is an idiot in many Poles' opinion regardless of his gesture in Glasgow and his poor display in Belfast

Edit: I just checked and Sandro apparently lives in Italy. The gesture Craigan is making means something in Italy (Healy got sent off by an italian ref in the 2-2 Wales game in Cardiff), but it doesn't mean anything here. So dismount your horse please sir.

It means something everywhere. That's why UEFA and FIFA ban players

31/03/2009, 7:27 PM
Lets go back to the "Love Ulster" riots a couple of years ago.All our hoolies were there in their Celtic tops making a bloody disgrace of us.

WTf thats something different altogether:rolleyes:

31/03/2009, 7:28 PM
Definitly another irresponsible idiot. Like Gazza a few years ago and everybody else who doesn't care about the consequences of their behaviour
And as far as I know Boruc is an idiot in many Poles' opinion regardless of his gesture in Glasgow and his poor display in Belfast

I assume you are assuming that the player is making a "up yours" gesture similar to this one (apologies, it is the first one I could find)

http://z.about.com/d/politicalhumor/1/0/c/O/bush_upyours.jpg

And I'd guess that is what the player is doing.

But whats your point? A player gesturing to fans? Hardly a new thing is it?

What story does it tell?

awec
31/03/2009, 8:01 PM

It certainly doesn't mean whatever you are trying to make out.

Gather round
01/04/2009, 10:37 AM
The gesture Craigan is making means something in Italy (Healy got sent off by an italian ref in the 2-2 Wales game in Cardiff), but it doesn't mean anything here. So dismount your horse please sir

Healy's sending off in Cardiff was because after scoring he

a) deliberately ran towards Welsh fans in the east stand (we were all in the north-west corner), picked up the corner flag and waved it provocatively at them

b) got a deserved booking, argued it and got another.

That said, I'm sure Sandro's onto a non-story here.

Post bizarre allegation, fail to back up, flounce from thread. Do better.

Gather round
01/04/2009, 10:44 AM
WTf thats something different altogether:rolleyes:

I think I mentioned 'Love Ulster' first. Apologies for the 'whataboutery', but my point was not to have a go at Celtic/ RoI/ any other football fans, merely to show that urban riots can kick off in any country. As far as I could see, the main motivation of most involved was to glass and then loot the shops in Grafton and O'Connell Streets.

Sandro
01/04/2009, 11:06 AM
Still waiting

Gather round
01/04/2009, 11:14 AM
Still waiting

Sandro. I was in San Marino recently. When Grant McCann scored in that game he ran over to us and made a similar gesture. None of the officials, local Police or fans took any notice. You are just stirring for the sake of it here.

SolitudeRed
01/04/2009, 6:36 PM
Didn't see or hear of any after the game (assuming you mean the 2-2 game in 2004). I saw a brief scuffle in the big open plan bar on the stadium side of St mary's St before the game- caused apparently by some local Cardiff (City) fans taking exception to Swansea's posse bringing a union jack over to a group of our fans.

Well I was told from a NI fan who was there who was there that Northern Ireland fans 'charged' a bar full of Wales supporters maybe he was overexaggerating or spoofing but hes not the sort of guy that does that, Anyway to be fair I'd say the majority of NI fans were well behaved at the end of the day and there was probably a bit of abuse being given to Boruc from the type of blow ins who probably wouldn't have went near a NI game 5 years ago. Unfortunately you get these sorts everywhere.

EalingGreen
17/04/2009, 5:47 PM
I had intended to respond earlier to some of the criticism levelled at the NI support around the Poland game, especially the more outrageous accusations, smears and outright horsesh1t from the likes of "SligoBhoy67" and "Sandro", who not only were not at the game, but have possibly never attended an NI international in Belfast in their entire life, yet still presume to tell the rest of us who do, just what "the score" is (3-2, btw! ;)).

Anyhow, seeing as how other posters (esp. Gather Round and Mr. Parker) have supplied a balanced, informed and reasonable commentary in rebuttal, you'll all no doubt be pleased to know that I shall refrain in this instance from responding to the criticisms in detail.

However, prompted by a news item earlier today, I shall still take this opportunity to remind posters of some background, which provide a degree of perspective (to those prepared to listen objectively, at any rate).

1. Here are some comments from Polish football fans concerning the previous two occasions we played them, home and away in 2004:

"Jurek" on the Belfast game (3-0 to Poland):
"The final whistle blows and the Polska supporters are overjoyed, they'd travelled all this way and their team had done them proud. Outside the ground the atmosphere continues and the mood is celebratory as spontaneous groups are formed for impromptu photographs. The mood continues on the walk back into Belfast, groups of Irish supporters gracious in defeat, shake our hands and wave us on. Although distraught at their own teams failure, they seem happy for us and we all agree that the Northern Irish are a great set of supporters"
http://www.kibice-uk.net/northernirelandvpoland1.htm

The return in Warsaw (1-0 to the Poles)
"The game itself was less then enthralling with a stubborn Northern Irish defence holding out and Maik Taylor having another outstanding game in the Irish goal but the fact that we had got in at all after all the previous disapointments easily made up for it. Aleks made a new friend in the shape of an old boy who claimed that the Polish number 5 was his son.
The Irish fans in the stand above us were superb, singing all the way through the match and not letting up even when Zurawski stole in at the back post to steal a cheeky headed goal in the 86th minute.
At the final whistle Poles and Irish saluted each other by chanting each others teams and applauding one another. I look forward to being drawn in another qualification group with Northern Ireland as the supporters are some of the best in the world."
http://www.kibice-uk.net/polandni05.htm

("Tosh" on the Warsaw game)
"After the impressive performance against Azerbaijan, I was looking forward to this game immensely. Myself and the four other English lads were doing as much partying and sightseeing as possible. The anticipation of another good result was very high and the atmosphere around Warsaw was gradually getting more intense. While walking around Stare Miasto and the City Centre, more Northern Ireland fans were arriving. Quite a few were staying in our hostel and the reception they gave us was fantastic. I’ve never met such fun and charismatic fans in all my life. They were already conceding defeat to Poland but were more than happy to see what Polska had to offer and have a good time with us all. There was absolutely no tension between the fans and no language barrier either. I think out of all the nations in the world, the Polish and Irish are the most fluent in the language of “one piwo please!”
http://www.kibice-uk.net/nitosh.htm

2. The following is a statement released today by Maciek Bator of the Polish Community Forum of NI:

Groups representing Polish people in Northern Ireland have said they regret the trouble at last month's World Cup qualifier in Belfast.

There was trouble before and after the fixture, damaging community relations in the south of the city.

The Polish Community Forum of Northern Ireland criticised the "intolerable behaviour" of so-called Polish fans.

After the match several Polish families in Northern Ireland were attacked or intimidated, mainly in the loyalist Village area of south Belfast.

Mr Bator said about 40 people were forced to leave the Village area because of the intimidation, but that most still wanted to live and work in Northern Ireland.

Since the trouble there have been intense efforts to rebuild relations with the community.

"We felt we had to tell communities in Northern Ireland that we were ashamed by this violence and want to rebuild relations," he said.

The forum, whose groups also come from towns such as Newry, Londonderry and Portadown where large numbers of Poles are living, represents about 27,000 Polish people living in Northern Ireland.

"As has been repeatedly indicated, as Polish immigrants living in Northern Ireland we disassociate ourselves in every respect from the group of so-called supporters who came to Belfast not for the football match but deliberately to bring about rioting," the forum said in its statement.

There are tens of thousands of Polish people living and working in Northern Ireland, drawn in during the boom years when work was easier to find.

Mr Bator said that after the football violence "a few" Poles had decided to leave, but said trouble finding employment had been a large factor in this and the trouble was being used as an excuse.

"We have to explain that the Polish community is here for the long-term," he added.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8001650.stm

3. Four days after the Poland game, another Eastern European team (Slovenia) came to Belfast, albeit with many fewer supporters than the Poles, and everyone had a wonderful time, without the slightest hint of trouble by or for anyone. Oh, and we won that one, too! ;)